Revenue Department Certifies 2018 Taxable Values for Montana Counties

Helena -The Montana Department of Revenue announces it has successfully completed its annual requirement to certify taxable values of property in the state’s 56 counties. Under state law, the department’s property assessment offices are responsible for providing the total taxable value of property to each taxing jurisdiction by the first Monday in August. The certified […]

Read More

Tax Year 2018 Updates to Exemption for Dependent Child with Disability

The exemption for a dependent child with disability is twice the amount of the personal exemption. In 2018 this exemption is $4,880 (2 x $2,440). To be eligible, the taxpayer must provide written documentation by a licensed physician showing that the child has a permanent disability constituting not less than 50% disability to the body […]

Read More
Red Angus Calf

Livestock Per Capita Fee Payments due May 31

The Montana Department of Revenue will mail 2018 livestock per capita fee bills this week. Payment is due by May 31. Livestock owners can pay online at ReportYourLivestock.mt.gov or by mail with a check. March 1 was the deadline for livestock owners to report livestock they owned as of February 1. If owners already paid […]

Read More