Nursing Facilities in Montana pay a utilization fee for each inpatient bed day.
An inpatient bed day is a day of inpatient care provided by a nursing facility and includes:
- Each day a resident is in the facility receiving nursing care including the day admitted and day of the resident’s death
- A bed held for a resident while the resident is on temporary leave from the facility.
Montana charges $15.30 per inpatient bed day.
Reporting and Payment Options
Reports and payments are due the last of of the month following the calendar quarter:
- First Quarter
- April 30
- Second Quarter
- July 31
- Third Quarter
- October 31
- Fourth Quarter
- January 31
Penalties and Interest
The Nursing Facility Utilization Fee (NFBT) is subject to uniform penalties and interest.
Revenue collected for Nursing Facility Bed Fees goes to:
- $2.80 to the state General Fund
- $12.50 to a state special revenue fund