

Cannabis Control Division Montana Medical Marijuana Cardholders

30-Day Rolling Period for Cardholders

Medical marijuana cardholders can purchase up to 5 ounces of usable marijuana (8 ounces with an approved <u>physician's petition</u>) in a rolling 30-day period. The rolling 30-day period tracks purchases that are similar to normal purchasing habits. This process allows for purchases to be added and removed over the course of 30 days, and not based on each calendar month.

Tax Rate

State taxes that are imposed upon marijuana sales are determined by the Montana Legislature. This tax is applied at the retail-level only.

The state tax rate for medical marijuana is 4%.

Local option tax rates are set by each Montana county, up to a maximum of 3%, on adult use sales, medical sales, or both.

Allowable Amounts

Administrative Rule of Montana <u>42.39.118(2)</u> establishes allowable amounts of marijuana and marijuana products:

- 1 ounce of marijuana flower.
- 800 milligrams of THC in marijuana products, including edibles.
- 8 grams/8 milliliters of marijuana concentrate.

Medical Delivery & Designated Purchaser(s)

Delivery

Medical cardholders are eligible to have their marijuana delivered to them. They are also permitted to have their marijuana delivered to them via curbside from the dispensary.

Designated Purchaser(s)

A cardholder may designate up to two (2) other individuals to acquire, and deliver their medical marijuana to them.

Designated purchasers must be 21 years of age or older.

Qualifying for a Medical Card

- Individuals must be a Montana resident.
- Individuals must have a qualifying medical condition.
- For more information on applying for a medical card, please visit this <u>link</u>.

CCD Contact Info: (406) 444-0596 DORCCD@MT.GOV