

2023 Montana First-time Home Buyer Savings Account

FTB V1 4/2023

Annual Reporting Information for Self-administered Accounts

15-63-101 through 15-63-205, MCA

First Name and Initial		Last Name	Social Security	/ Number			
Name a	and address of the financial institution where	your Montana first-time home buyer s	savings account	is established:			
Your Mo	ontana first-time home buyer savings accou	nt number					
Part I.	Allowable exclusion calculation						
1.	Current year deposits (Column A if using F	TB-Worksheet)1.	\$				
2.	Deposits from prior years not previously e	xcluded2.	\$				
3.	Add lines 1 and 2	3.	\$				
4.	Enter the lesser of the amount on line 3 or	⁻ \$3,000		4. \$			
5.	Interest and other income (Column B if us	ing FTB-Worksheet)		5. \$			
6.							
7.	7. If the amount on line 3 is greater than \$3,000, subtract line 4 from line 3.						
	These are your excess deposits that may	be excluded next year		7. \$			
Part II.	Nonqualified withdrawals						
1.	Nonqualified withdrawals (Column D if usi	ng FTB-Worksheet)		1. \$			
	Enter this amount on Form 2, Montana Ad	ditions Schedule, line 7.					
2.	Enter the withdrawals on line 1 made on the	he last business day in 2023		2. \$			
3.	Subtract line 2 from line 1			3. \$			
4.	Multiply the amount on line 3 by 10% (0.10 Penalties, and Interest Schedule, line 5. T	,		4. \$			

The Montana First-time Home Buyer Savings Account Worksheet (FTB-Worksheet) is available to help you reconcile the activity on this form. It provides a log to track deposits, withdrawals, fees, and other transactions. It is not required to be completed or included with your tax return. (The FTB-Worksheet follows the instructions for this form.)

If you file your Montana tax return electronically, you do not need to mail this form to us unless we ask you for a copy. When you file electronically, you represent that you have retained the required documents in your tax records and will provide them upon the department's request.

Form FTB Instructions

Purpose of this form. A resident who establishes a first-time home buyer savings account to pay eligible costs for the purchase of their first single-family residence is allowed to exclude contributions of up to \$3,000 annually in determining Montana adjusted gross income, as well as interest and other income earned on the account. This form needs to be included each year with the account holder's individual income tax return.

Definitions

First-time home buyer is a Montana resident individual who has never individually or jointly owned or purchased under a contract for deed a single-family residence in Montana or out-of-state.

Single-family residence is an owner-occupied residence in Montana. The term includes a manufactured home, trailer or mobile home if the running gear is removed, if it is attached to a permanent foundation, and if your statement of intent declaring it as an improvement to real property has been recorded with the county clerk and recorder on a form furnished by the Department of Justice. The term also includes a condominium unit.

Eligible costs are the amounts that you pay for the down payment and allowable closing costs for the purchase of your single-family home in Montana.

Nonqualified withdrawals are any withdrawals from your account that are not used for the down payment and allowable closing costs.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is required to establish a Montana first-time home buyer savings account?

This account is available to you if you are a resident of Montana who has never owned a single-family residence either jointly or alone and you established a first-time home buyer savings account either alone or jointly with another person, who also qualifies as a first-time home buyer. You can deduct annual contributions to the account of up to \$3,000 or, if you are married and you file a joint return with your spouse, of up to \$6,000. Your account has to be a new account established in the first year that you claim the deduction. Existing accounts do not qualify.

How much can I contribute to my Montana first-time home buyer savings account this year, and how much of this amount can I exclude from my federal adjusted gross income for 2023?

There is no limit in any one year on the amount that you may deposit into your Montana first-time home buyer savings account, but there is a limit on the amount that you can exclude from your federal adjusted gross income to arrive at your Montana adjusted gross income.

If your filing status is single, head of household, or married filing separately, the maximum amount that you can exclude from your federal adjusted gross income in any one year is \$3,000 plus the interest or other income earned on this amount. If you are filing your return jointly with your spouse, the maximum amount that you can exclude from your federal adjusted gross income is \$6,000 plus the interest or other income earned on this amount. Amounts deposited over the limitations listed above cannot be excluded on your 2023 income tax return but may be excluded in future years.

How long can I invest in and maintain my Montana first-time home buyer account?

You can contribute to your Montana first-time home buyer savings account for 10 years. The funds you have in your Montana first-time home buyer account will have to be used to pay for eligible costs for purchasing your first-time home within 10 years after the year you establish your account. Any principal and income in your first-time home buyer account not used to purchase your home within this 10-year period, or after you have purchased your home, is taxed as ordinary income.

I opened my Montana first-time home buyer account by transferring more than \$3,000 from my regular savings account to my first-time home buyer savings account. Can I exclude my excess deposits into my first-time home buyer savings account in subsequent years?

Yes. As long as you remain a first-time home buyer and have not purchased your first-time home, you can deposit into an account more than the maximum exclusion in any given tax year and may exclude in subsequent years any amounts previously deposited and not excluded as principal in a prior year.

Once you purchase your single-family residence, you are no longer a first-time home buyer. You cannot exclude from federal adjusted gross income any amount deposited into your first-time home buyer account or any excess deposits that were previously made to your first-time home buyer account after purchasing your home.

I have a Montana first-time home buyer savings account. I withdrew funds during 2023 that were not used to purchase a home. Are these withdrawals considered nonqualified withdrawals and are there any penalties related to them?

Yes, these would be considered nonqualified withdrawals. When you withdraw funds from your first-time home buyer account that are considered nonqualified withdrawals, there are two tax consequences. First, the withdrawals are taxable as ordinary income. Second, you are also subject to a 10% penalty on these withdrawals. You will need to complete Part II of this form to calculate your penalty. Nonqualified withdrawals that are withdrawn on the last business day of your tax year are not subject to this 10% penalty, but they are included as taxable income and are included as an addition to federal adjusted gross income in arriving at Montana adjusted gross income.

I have a Montana first-time home buyer account that I established while I was a resident of Montana. I have now moved to another state. Can I still maintain my Montana first-time home buyer account?

No. A nonresident who files a final return in Montana must report, as income in the final year of residency, the amount of principal and interest previously excluded from adjusted gross income.

As a nonresident, your withdrawal from the account is considered a nonqualified withdrawal and the amount of principal and interest or other earnings previously excluded from Montana adjusted gross income is considered ordinary income to Montana and subject to tax and the 10% nonqualified withdrawal penalty unless it is withdrawn at the end of the tax year.

Administrative Rules of Montana: 42.15.901 through 42.15.907

Montana First-time Home Buyer Savings Account Worksheet (FTB-Worksheet)

Acc	ount Hold	der				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·						
Fina	ancial Ins	titution										
Acc	Account NumberFor Year Ended											
	Deposits, Withdrawals and Other Transactions											
	Date	Description	Column A Deposit Amount	Column B Interest and Other Income	Column C Qualified Withdrawals	Column D Nonqualified Withdrawals	Column E Fees and Other Charges					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
			\$	\$	\$	\$	\$					
	Totals \$ \$ \$											
			Accour	nt Reconciliation	n							
1.	Beginnii	ng balance. If this is a new a	account, enter 0			1	I. \$					
2.												
3.	Total int	\$										
4.	Add line		1. \$									
5.	Total wit	\$										
6.	Total fee											
7.	Add line	7	7. \$									
8.	Ending balance. Add lines 1 and 4 and subtract line 78. \$											

The worksheet is provided to help you track and record the information related to your first-time home buyer savings account. You are not required to use this worksheet nor include a copy when you file your income tax return.

If your tax return is selected for review because you claimed the deduction for deposits into a first-time home buyer savings account, this worksheet can be submitted as a summary. However, you may still be asked to provide other information such as copies of bank statements and cancelled checks.

Questions? Please call us at (406) 444-6900, or Montana Relay at 711 for the hearing impaired, or access the Montana State University Extension MontGuide at their website: https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/publications.html.