The Montana Disabled Veterans (MDV) Assistance Program helps disabled veterans or their unmarried surviving spouse by reducing the property tax rate on their home. The veteran must have 100% disability from an injury related to service.

The MDV reduction is based on income and marriage status as shown on the table below.

For homes on agricultural or forest land, the benefit applies to the home and one-acre homes site.

Eligibility

To qualify for MDV, you must:

  • Own or currently be under a contract to purchase a home
  • Live in the home as your primary residence for at least seven months of the year
  • Have a letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) showing your current disability status is 100% for a service-connected disability
  • Have a 2016 Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI)—excluding capital income or loss—below the threshold
    Single
    $49,956
    Married or Head of Household
    $57,642
    Unmarried Surviving Spouse
    $43,551

A surviving spouse must also have a letter from the VA showing their deceased spouse

  • Died in active duty, or
  • Died from a disability related to service and was rated 100% disability at the time of their death

If you are a new Montana resident, include a copy of your 2016 federal income tax return with your completed application.

If you are married, include your spouse’s income in your FAGI regardless of whether they are a co-owner of the home.

If your only income is from social security, veterans’ benefits and/or other nontaxable sources, include a copy of your social security statement and other income documentation with your completed application.

Benefit

Depending on your marital status and income, the reduction is 100%, 80%, 70%, or 50% of the normal tax rate.

You may use this table to find which level or reduction you will receive if you qualify for this program.

SingleMarried or Head of HouseholdSurviving SpouseReduction
$0–$38,427$0–$46,113$0–$32,022100%
$38,428–$42,270$46,114–$49,956$32,023–$35,86680%
$42,271–$46,113$49,957–$53,798$35,867–$39,70870%
$46,114–$49,956$53,799–$57,642$39,709–$43,55150%

The income ranges are updated each year for inflation.

Forms

To apply for MDV, you must complete the Montana Disabled Veteran Property Tax Relief Application (Form MDV)  and return it to your district office.

Your application must be post marked or hand-delivered by April 15.

If you miss the deadline, we will consider your application for the following year.

Related Laws

As long as you own and live in your home, your application will remain active. We will send you a letter each year with your current Montana Disabled Veterans Program status.

Quick Information

Due Date

April 15

Related Forms and Links

Other Helpful Information