# **Event Venues**



## **Alcohol Guide for Event Venues**

An event venue is a dedicated space or location ranging in size designed to host various types of events, gatherings, or functions. It serves as a backdrop for special occasions such as weddings, corporate conferences, trade shows, concerts, parties, and more.

When there is an event and alcohol will be involved, the activities at the event venue must follow the alcoholic beverage laws and regulations set forth by the state of Montana. "Cash bars" are only allowed when held at a licensed premises or operated by an alcoholic beverage license with a catering endorsement.

## Event venues without an alcoholic beverage license

- May:
  - Charge for the use of the venue
  - Have the event catered by someone with an alcoholic beverage license with a catering endorsement
  - Allow the guests to bring alcoholic beverages on-site if it is a private party and not open or advertised to the public
- May NOT:
  - Host an event open to the public where alcoholic beverages are being offered for a fee by someone other than a licensed alcoholic beverage business
  - Host an event open to the public and allow people to bring their own alcoholic beverages
  - Sell and serve alcoholic beverages
  - o Include alcohol with the venue rental
  - o Allow the service of alcoholic beverages to anyone under the age of 21
  - Allow the service of alcoholic beverages to intoxicated guests

### Event venues with an alcoholic beverage license

- May:
  - Sell and serve alcoholic beverages
  - o Include alcohol with the venue rental
- May NOT:
  - o Allow the service of alcoholic beverages to anyone under the age of 21
  - o Allow the service of alcoholic beverages to intoxicated guests
  - o Allow people to bring their own alcoholic beverages

### **Fines/Penalties to Unlicensed Businesses and Individuals**

- Alcoholic Beverage Control Division may assess a fine of up to \$500 to individuals or entities for serving alcoholic beverages or allowing the consumption of alcoholic beverages without a license (See <u>Bottle Club</u> <u>Fact Sheet</u> for more information)
- Sale of alcoholic beverages without a license is a criminal offense. Local Law Enforcement may assess the following:
  - Fines up to \$5,000;
  - o Jail time 1 to 5 years; or
  - o Both

All licensees and members of the public must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules. SECTIONS <u>16-6-302</u>, MCA selling without a license; <u>16-6-304</u>, MCA sale to intoxicated people and <u>16-6-305</u>, MCA sale to underage.

6.2023 Please note the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify the current validity of any Department of Revenue communication, please contact us.) Scan OR code for more fact sheets

