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Questions? Call us at (406) 444-6900, or Montana Relay at 711 for hearing impaired.

Date

Applicant name FEIN

Mailing address

City State ZIP Code + 4

Contact Name Contact Phone Number

Contact Email Address

Name of Production

Type of Qualified Production

Amount of MEDIA Credit requested

Department of Commerce Application Submission Date Production Number

Principal Photography Dates Beginning Ending

MEDIA Credit Year

Mark if you are electing to combine tax years. If so, which tax years?

Submission Date of Submission of Costs

CPA Montana License Number

Submission Date of CPA Report

Fee If base investment is less than $350,000 $500

If base investment is $350,000 or more $1,000

(Please mark the applicable fee)

Submission date of MEDIA Credit Application fee

The below contacts are authorized to discuss matters related to the MEDIA Credit Application

Authorized Contact Name Contact Phone Contact Email

Provide Fee with MEDIA Credit payment voucher available at MTRevenue.gov.

Signature Date

Under penalties of false swearing, I declare that the information provided above is accurate and that I am an employee of the production company 
above, or I have been assigned to perform services for the production company above.

https://MTRevenue.gov


MEDIA CREDIT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Who is required to submit the media credit 
application?
The media credit applicant is the same person that 
has applied for the media credit with the Department 
of Commerce. For example, Production Company is a 
wholly-owned subsidiary of Parent. Production Company 
applied for the media credit with the Department of 
Commerce and is, therefore, responsible for submitting 
the media credit application with the Department of 
Revenue. The media credit would be issued to the 
Production Company.

When do I submit the media credit application?
Submit the media credit application after you have completed 
principal photography, along with your CPA Report. This 
application must be submitted with your CPA Report.

What are the different types of qualified 
productions?
Qualified productions include: film, video, digital projects, 
series for theaters, television, streaming pilots, movies and 
scripted shows made for television or streaming, televised 
commercial advertisements, music videos, corporate 
videos, industrial films, production for website creation, 
television specials, sports events, video games, interactive 
entertainment, pre-released interactive games, and sound 
recording projects used in a feature film, series, pilots, or 
movie for television.
Qualified productions do not include coverage of 
news, local interest programming, instructions videos, 
commercials distributed only on the internet, infomercials, 
solicitation based productions, nonscripted television 
programs, feature films consisting primarily of stock footage 
not originally recorded in Montana, or projects containing 
obscenity as defined in 45-8-201(2), MCA.

What is the submission date of the 
Department of Commerce application?
The submission date of the Department of Commerce 
application is the date when both the application and 
application fee are submitted to the Department of Commerce. 
If the application fee is submitted after the application, the 
submission date is when the application fee is paid.

What is the production number that is issued 
from the Department of Commerce?
The production number is included with the certification 
letter provided by the Montana Film Office, as part of 
its application process. The production number, for 
example, has the following alpha-numeric sequence: 
20-PROD-90-001.

What is the beginning and ending date of 
principal photography?
“Principal photography” means the time period the 
fundamental component of the project is materialized in 
Montana. The beginning date of principal photography 
is the starting date of shooting and the ending date 
of principal photography is when the production has 
completed wrap.

What is the Media Credit Year?
The Media Credit Year is the first year the credit can be 
claimed or transferred. The applicable Media Credit Year of 
the media credit is the year the production company incurred 
its expenses related to the production. For example, if a 
production company incurs all of its expenses in the year 
2022 and it submits the “Submission of Costs” within 60 
days of principal photography, then the credit has a Media 
Credit Year of 2022. However, if the “Submission of Costs” is 
not submitted within 60 days of principal photography, then 
the credit has a Media Credit Year of 2023.

What is the Media Credit Year if the production 
is filmed over several years?
If a production spans over multiple years, the applicable 
Media Credit Year for the production may vary. A production 
company has the option to submit media credit applications 
for each year, or it can submit one media credit application 
in the year principal photography is deemed complete. For 
example, Production Company begins filming in 2021 and 
ends filming in 2022. Production Company may submit two 
applications, for 2021 and 2022, and will receive credit for 
expenditures incurred in each of those years. Production 
Company would receive a certificate with a 2021 Media Credit 
Year and another certificate with a 2022 Media Credit Year.
Alternatively, Production Company may submit one media 
credit application for the year 2022 and will receive one 
certificate with a Media Credit Year of 2022.

Are you electing to combine tax years and, if 
so, which tax years?
Productions that span more than one calendar year 
may elect to combine credit years into the most recent 
calendar year. For example, Production Company begins 
filming in November 2021 and ends filming in May 2022. 
Production Company may elect to treat all qualified 
expenses as part of a 2022 Media Credit Year application. 
Otherwise, Production Company would need to submit two 
applications, one for 2021 and another for 2022.

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0450/chapter_0080/part_0020/section_0010/0450-0080-0020-0010.html


If I elect to combine tax years, how does that 
impact the requirement to add-back expenses 
when claiming the media credit?
To claim the media credit, a production company must 
add-back expenses to the return on which it is claiming 
the media credit. For example, Production Company has 
elected to combine expenses from 2021 and 2022, as 
part of their 2022 application. Production Company must 
add-back all expenses from 2021 and 2022 on its 2022 
Montana return to claim the media credit.

What is the “Submission of Costs” and what 
is the submission date?
The “Submission of Costs” includes the media credit 
application fee and information used to substantiate the 
media credit. For example, if would include the following:

	● Media credit spreadsheet provided by the Montana 
Department of Revenue

	● General ledgers
	● Invoices and purchase orders
	● Earnings reports and payroll reports
	● Check stubs
	● Form Media-Comp for each employee and loan-out
	● Loan-out withholding agreements
	● Verification of loan-out withholding payments
	● Other supporting documentation to substantiate 

qualification for the media credit
The submission date of the “Submission of Costs” is the 
date when both the media credit application fee has been 
paid and the supporting documentation has been uploaded 
to Montana’s File Transfer System. If the fee and supporting 
documentation are not provided concurrently, then the 
submission date occurs when supporting documentation 
is uploaded to Montana’s File Transfer System, or on the 
postmark date of the check, whichever is later.

Can I submit my “Submission of Costs” 
separately from this application?
You may submit your “Submission of Costs” separately from 
this application. The “Submission of Costs” consists of both 
substantiating documentation for the media credit, and the 
media credit application fee. Each item may be submitted 
separately. For example, Production Company completes 
principal photography on July 15, 2022, and submits 
substantiating documentation for the credit as part of the 
“Submission of Costs” on September 10, 2022. Also, as part 
of its “Submission of Costs,” it pays its application fee on 
September 11, 2022. Production Company submits its CPA 
Report on April 10, 2023. Production Company’s “Submission 
of Costs” is deemed submitted on September 11, 2022, 
after payment of the application fee and the media credit 
application is deemed complete on April 10, 2023.

Who is the CPA?
The CPA is the individual that provided the CPA Report 
as part of the media credit application. The CPA must be 
authorized to practice in Montana. You must provide the 
CPA’s Montana license number. 

What is the submission date for the CPA Report?
The submission date for the CPA Report is the date it is 
uploaded to Montana’s File Transfer System.

What is the application fee and how do I pay it?
An application fee varies depending on the amount of the 
base investment. A base investment of less than $350,000 
requires a $500 fee whereas a base investment of $350,000 
or more is $1,000. The fee can be submitted at any time but 
is required for an application to be considered complete. 
Please refer to the Media Credit Payment Voucher at 
MTRevenue.gov for instructions on submitting the fee. You 
may also visit the media credit homepage for instructions.

Is my media credit reserved with submission 
of this application?
The media credit is reserved on a first-in-time basis when a 
complete media credit application is submitted. A complete 
application includes the “Submission of Costs” and the 
CPA Report. If, after review, the Department of Revenue 
determines that a complete application has been submitted, 
then the amount of credit requested will be reserved.

Who should I include as persons authorized 
to discuss matters related to the media credit 
application?
Include all persons with authority to discuss any and all 
matters related to the media credit application. If there is 
insufficient space on the form, include additional persons as 
an attachment. If you need to make any modifications to this 
list,  you will need to re-submit this form with the modifications. 
Re-submitting this form to include or remove additional 
persons does not result in a new media credit application.

Who should sign the media credit application?
The individual signing the media credit application should 
have contractual authority to bind the production company 
into agreements, such as an officer, manager, or other 
personnel designated by the company.

https://MTRevenue.gov
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