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Daylight Savings Time 2023

ARM 42.13.110 - Hours of operation change twice yearly due to daylight savings time.

The change in time will occur at 2:00 a.m. Therefore:

(a) In the fall, the establishment must close at 2:00 a.m. and then set the clock back
to 1:00 a.m.; and
(b) In the spring the establishment must close at 2:00 a.m. and then set the clock

forward to 3:00 a.m.

So, what does that mean for me this spring? Business as usual. Close at 2:00 a.m., set the clock
forward to 3:00 a.m., and open at my regular time the next day.

Daylight Savings Time (DST) in most of the United States starts on the second Sunday in March
and ends on the first Sunday in November.

Spring

DST in 2023 is 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 12. People sometimes say “spring forward” to remember
it as the day clocks move forward one hour. When you spring forward, set the clocks forward
one hour ahead at 2 a.m.

Fall

In the fall, you must remember to set your clocks back one hour.

This year 2023 we will set our clocks back on Sunday, November 5. The sale of alcohol may not
occur once clocks have been set back. On-premises locations must close their doors at 2 a.m.
and then set their clocks back one hour. They may not re-open and continue to sell alcohol for
that extra hour. Off-premises locations do not need to close but must stop the sale of alcohol at
2 a.m., and then set their clocks back one hour. They may continue all other sales except alcohol.

All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules.

ARM 42.13.110

4.2023 Please note that the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded,
or made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to
verify the current validity of any Department of Revenue communication, please contact us.
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https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E110
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E110

