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Nonprofit Arts Beer and Table Wine License 
 
Basics 
To qualify for a nonprofit arts beer and table wine license, an organization must be governed 
under Title 35, chapter 2, and organized and operated for the principal purpose of providing 
artistic or cultural exhibitions, presentations, or performances for viewing or attendance by the 
public. Examples are: 

• Exhibitions or presentations of works of art. 
• Exhibitions of objects of cultural or historical significance, such as those commonly 

displayed in art or history museums. 
• Musical or dramatic performances or series of performances. 

 
The license is not a quota license and is non-transferable. 
 
Costs: 

• $250 original license fee 
• $400 application processing fee 
• $250 annual renewal fee 

 
Apply by filling out the Nonprofit Arts Organization Beer and Table Wine License Application 
online on our TransAction Portal (TAP). The form is also available at MTRevenue.gov. 
 
Allowed: 

• An organization may also apply for a special permit (see Special Permits Fact Sheet). The 
event may not be on the licensed premises 

• Must purchase beer from licensed beer wholesalers and breweries 
• Must purchase table wine from licensed table wine distributors and wineries 

 
Not Allowed: 

• Gambling 
• Catering 
• Concession agreements 
• Off-premises sales 
• Allowing other non-profit organizations to have special permit events on the licensed 

premises 
• Outside alcohol 

 

Questions? Contact a licensing specialist for your county (Contact a Licensing Specialist 
list). 
All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules.  
SECTIONS 16-4-303, and 16-3-316, MCA  
11.2023 Please note the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or 
made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify 
the current validity of any Department of Revenue communication, please contact us.)  

Scan QR code for more fact sheets 

https://tap.dor.mt.gov/_/
https://mtrevenue.gov/forms/
https://mtrevenue.gov/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2023/05/Licensing-Specialists-Contact-Sheet.pdf
https://mtrevenue.gov/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2023/05/Licensing-Specialists-Contact-Sheet.pdf
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0030/section_0030/0160-0040-0030-0030.html
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0030/part_0030/section_0160/0160-0030-0030-0160.html
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