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Overview

The Department of Revenue’s Cannabis Control Division administers the licensing and taxation of
medical and adult-use cannabis in Montana.

The passage of Ballot Initiative-190 in November 2020 legalized adult-use cannabis in Montana. The
2021 Legislature then passed HB 701 which laid out the administrative framework for the department.
The department subsequently created the Cannabis Control Division and assumed the administration
of the medical cannabis program from the Department of Public Health and Human Services on July
1, 2021. Legal sales of adult-use cannabis began January 1, 2022. There is currently an 18-month
moratorium on the issuance of new provider licensees, meaning that only existing medical providers,
licensed as of November 3, 2020, may participate in the adult-use market until July 1, 2023.

HB 701 included an opt-in/opt-out provision where counties that voted in favor of I-190 are
automatically opted-in to allowing dispensaries to sell adult-use and medical cannabis in those
counties. Counties that voted against I-190 are opted-out and do not allow dispensaries to sell to
adult-use consumers within their counties. All counties still have the opportunity to opt-in/opt-out
through a vote of the electorate. Counties and municipalities are also able to enact a local-option
cannabis tax of up to 3% through a vote of the electorate.

The following map shows the current “red” counties where adult-use cannabis businesses are illegal
and “green” counties where adult-use cannabis businesses are legal, as well as the “blue” counties
that have also passed a local option cannabis tax. Counties that voted against I-190 are opted-out
and do not allow dispensaries to sell adult-use cannabis within their counties.

7 No Adult-Use Sales
[l Adult-Use Sales
M Local Option Tax

Cannabis Control Division
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State Comparison

Washington and Colorado were the first states to legalize adult-use cannabis in 2012, with sales
beginning in 2014. As of August 2022, 19 states and the District of Columbia have now fully legal-
ized adult-use cannabis. An additional 18 states permit the sale of medical cannabis, while seven only
allow CBD oil. Cannabis remains fully illegal in six states but has been decriminalized in two of those
(Nebraska and North Carolina). The following table shows the tax rates for the states with legalized

adult-use cannabis.

State Tax Rates
$50 per oz flowers, $15 per oz stems and leaves, $25 per oz immature
Alaska
flowers/buds
Arizona 16% excise tax
California 15% excise tax on wholesale and per oz cultivation tax ($9.65 flowers, $2.87
leaves, $1.35 fresh plant), state sales tax of 7.25% applies
Colorado 15% excise tax on retail and wholesale, local option tax of up to 8%

Connecticut

Tax per milligram of THC: $0.00625 in flowers, $0.0275 in edibles, $0.009 in
other products. 6.35% retail sales tax and 3% municipal sales tax

District of Columbia

Possession legal but no retail sales.

7% excise tax on growers; 10% on flowers; 20% on cannabis infused

Hlinois products; 25% on products > 35% THC; Medical subject to 1% sales tax.
Mai 10% sales tax plus excise tax of $335/Ib flower; $94/Ib trim; $1.5 per
aine . :
immature plant/seedling; $0.3 per seed.
10.75% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6.25% and local option tax of up to
Massachusetts N .
3%, medical exempt
—_ 10% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6%. 3% on grower’s gross receipts for
Michigan :
medical
Montana 20% sales tax, 4% on medical, local option tax of up to 3%
Nevada 15% excise tax on wholesale and 10% on retail plus state sales tax of 6.85%
New Jersey $10 to $60 per oz depending on average retail price from $350 per oz down
to less than $200 per oz.
: 12% excise tax, increasing to 18% in 2025 plus state and local sales tax of at
New Mexico o
least 5%
Tax per milligram of THC: $0.005 in flower, $0.008 in concentrates, $0.03 in
New York . o .
edibles. 13% total excise tax
Oregon 17% sales tax, local option sales tax up to 3%
Rhode Island 10% excise tax plus 3% local excise tax and 7% state sales tax
Vermont 14% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6%
Virginia 21% sales tax, local option sales tax of 3%
: 37% sales tax plus state and local general sales tax of at least 6.5%. Medical
Washington

is exempt from sales tax

https.//www.taxadmin.org/assets/docs/Research/Rates/marijuana.pdf
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Legislative History

2017

2019

2021

Created a 4 percent tax on medical cannabis, later decreased to 2
percent on July 1, 2018. Implemented a license fee for dispensaries,
required providers to obtain a nursery license, and required
implementation of the seed-to-sale tracking system.

Untethered providers from cardholders and established canopy tiers and
licensing fees. Extended the 4 percent tax rate for 2 years, until October
1, 2021, when it was scheduled to decrease to 2 percent.

Laid out licensing and tax requirements for the administration and
regulation of adult-use cannabis by the Department of Revenue
following the passage of I-190. Administration of the medical cannabis
program was moved from DPHHS to the department and combined with
adult-use cannabis licensing. Set the adult-use tax rate at 20 percent
and allowed for a local option tax of up to 3 percent on adult-use and/
or medical cannabis sales. Eliminated the scheduled reduction in the
medical cannabis tax and kept it at 4 percent going forward.
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Medical Cannabis Tax Rate and
Revenue

Statute: 15-64-102, MCA

Fiscal Year | Total Revenue $7.0
2012 $0
2013 $0

2014 $0 $5.0

2015 $0

2016 $0 $4.0

2017 $0 $3.0

2018 $1,836,085

2019 $1,626,805 $2.0

2020 $3,871,936

2021 $6,319,828 $1.0 I I
2022 $5,595,671 $0.0

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Fiscal Year

$6.0

Total Revenue (Millions)

The figure above shows the medical cannabis tax collections for the last five fiscal years since the tax
took effect in Fiscal Year (FY) 2018.

The 2017 Legislature enacted a tax on medical cannabis sales as part of their revision of the regulation
of medical cannabis. From July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018, the tax was 4 percent of gross sales.
From July 1, 2018 through September 30, 2020, the tax dropped to 2 percent of gross sales. The

tax rate increased back to 4 percent on October 1, 2019 and was kept at 4 percent by the 2021
Legislature.
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Adult - Use Cannabis Tax Rate and
Revenue

Statute: 16-12-102, MCA

Fiscal Year | Total Revenue $20.0
2012 $0 $18.0
2013 0] 2 <160
2014 01 2 (1,0
2015 0| = '

S $120
2016 o o '
2017 so| 2 %100
2018 s0| 5 980
2019 $0| = %60
2020 $0 % $4.0
2021 $0 = $2.0
2022 $18,816,673 $0.0

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
Fiscal Year

The figure above shows the adult-use cannabis tax collections for FY 2022, which represent the first
six months of legal sales.

Following the passage of Initiative-190 and HB 701, adult-use cannabis is taxed at a rate of 20 percent
of the retail price, with sales beginning January 1, 2022.

Filing and Payment

The tax is collected by the dispensaries from the consumers at the time of the sale. The
dispensaries are required to file sales reports and remit the tax collections to the department
within 15 days of the end of the quarter. These reports can then be compared with the Metrc
seed-to-sale data by the department for auditing purposes.
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Licensing Fee Revenue

Statute: 16-12-201 to 226, MCA

- $3.5
Fiscal Year | Total Revenue
2012 $0 'g $3.0
2013 $0| o ,
2014 $0 E $2.5
2015 $0 < $20
2016 $0| =
c
2017 s0| ¢ %15
Q
2019 $0( =
2020 s0| £ $05
2021 0
2022 $3,062 1§1 $0.0
! ! 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Fiscal Year

The license fee revenue is deposited into the cannabis state special revenue account with the tax
revenue from above, and all the distributions are made from this account.

The Cannabis Control Division is responsible for the licensing of all participants in the cannabis
industry in Montana. There are different license types for each stage within the industry, ranging
from cultivation, manufacturing, and dispensary. The following lists the license types required for
participation in the cannabis industry with the corresponding license fees:

License Type Count Fee (initial & renewal)
Cultivator 402 Tier based - see cultivator tiers
Dispensary 444 $5,000 per licensed premises
Manufacturer 217 Tier based - see manufacturer tiers
Testing Lab 6 $5,000 per licensed premises
Testing Lab Storage Facility 2 $1,000 per licensed storage facility
Transporter 4 $10,000 (2-year)
Combined-use Cannabis 0 $7,500
Cannabis Medical Registry ID 27,298 $20; $10 for a replacement card
Cannabis Worker Permit 4,745 $50; $10 for a replacement permit
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Cultivator License Tiers and Fees

Cultivator Canopy Size Fee
) (max square feet and Licensees | # Facilities (Initial &
Tiers facilities) Renewal)
Micro tier 20squarefeetat 25 25 $1,000
one indoor cultivation facility
1
Tier 1 000 square feetat 102 102 $2,500
one indoor cultivation facility
Tier 2 2500 square feetat 65 88 $5,000
up to two indoor cultivation facilities
. 5,000 square feet at
T
ler3 up to three indoor cultivation facilities 34 48 TGN
. 7,500 square feet at
Tier 4
o up to four indoor cultivation facilities ! 15 $10,000
: 10,000 square feet at
T
ler> up to five indoor cultivation facilities 2! >6 Y
. 13,000 square feet at
-
ler 6 up to five indoor cultivation facilities ! 17 $15.000
: 15,000 square feet at
Tier 7 2
€T up to five indoor cultivation facilities ! S0
. 17,500 square feet at
T 1
ler up to five indoor cultivation facilities 4 $20,000
Tier 9 ZO,QOO tsquare.f.e.et at up to six indoor 1 5 $23,000
cultivation facilities
Tier 10 30,900 .square.f.e.et at up to seven indoor 7 24 $27.000
cultivation facilities
Tier 11 40,900 .square.f.e.et at up to eight indoor 0 0 $32.000
cultivation facilities
Tier 12 SO,QOO .square.f.e.et at up to nine indoor 3 14 $37.000
cultivation facilities
Manufacturer License Tiers and Fees
Manufacturer Tiers Tier Parameters Count | Fee (Initial & Renewal)
. Pr I han ten
Tier 1 oduces less than ten pounds 62 $5.000
of concentrate per month
Produces between 10 and 15
Tier 2 pounds of concentrate per 7 $10,000
month
. Produ
Tier 3 ces 15 or more pounds 148 $20.000
of concentrate per month

*Manufacturers that produce more than 15 pounds of concentrate per month, shall pay an additional $1,000 per pound
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Tax Revenue Distribution

Statute: 16-12-111, MCA

The process of distributing cannabis tax and license fee revenue begins with the revenue collected
from adult-use and medical cannabis taxes and license fees being deposited in the state’s cannabis
special revenue account.

The revenue from this account is first used to cover the administrative costs of the department. At the
end of the fiscal year, the remainder is distributed as follows:

« $6 million to the marijuana Healing and Ending Addiction through Recovery and Treatment
(HEART) fund account established in MCA, 17-6-606

« 20% to FWP for wildlife habitat as provided in MCA, 87-1-209

» 4% each to the state park account, trails and recreational facilities account, and the nongame
wildlife account

« 3%, up to $200,000, to veterans and surviving spouses state special revenue account

« $300,000 for the biennium beginning July 1, 2021, to the Department of Justice (DOJ) for grant
funding to local and state law enforcement for drug-detection canine training

« $150,000 per year to the board of crime control

« The remaining funds are placed in the general fund

Distribution of Cannabis Taxes and Fees

Fund FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020( FY 2021 FY 2022
HEART fund $0 $0 $0 $0| $6,000,000
Wildlife Habitat $0 $0 $0 $0| $4,437,772
State Parks $0 $0 $0 $0 $887,554
Trails and Recreation $0 $0 $0 $0 $887,554
Nongame Wildlife $0 $0 $0 $0 $887,554
Veteran's Affairs $0 $0 $0 $0 $200,000
DOJ Grant Funding and Board

of Crime Control ° $0 $0 $0 $0 $450,000
General Fund $0 $0 $0 $0| $14,238,426
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Local-Option Cannabis Taxes

Statute: 16-12-309 - 317, MCA

Individual municipalities can require a 3 percent local option cannabis tax be collected in addition to
the state tax for adult-use cannabis, medical cannabis, or both.

Counties That Currently Have a Local Option Tax

County Tax on Medical and/or Adult Use |Effective Date
Big Horn County Both 10/29/2022
Blaine County Both 9/1/2022
Carbon County Both 9/5/2022
Dawson County Both 4/2/2022
Deer Lodge County Both 9/5/2022
Lake County Both 9/5/2022
Lewis & Clark County Both 10/1/2022
Missoula County Adult-use only 1/31/2022
Park County Both 2/11/2022
Powell County Both 10/1/2022
Ravalli County Adult-use only 10/1/2022
Richland County Both 1/1/2023
Roosevelt County Both 1/31/2023
Rosebud County Both 9/1/2022
Silver Bow County Both 10/6/2022
Yellowstone County Both 1/31/2022
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Distribution of Local-Option Tax Revenue:

» 50 percent to the county

» 45 percent to the municipalities within the county based
on population

« 5 percent to the Department of Revenue for
administration costs

FY 2022 Local Option Collections and Distributions by County

Count Effective f)o%cizohofaa): County 50%| Municipalities State 5%

y date P . Share 45% Share Share
collections

Dawson 4/2/2022 $42,381 $21,191 $19,072 $2,119

Missoula 1/31/2022 $336,215 $168,107 $151,297 $16,811

Park 2/11/2022 $66,170 $33,085 $29,776 $3,308

Yellowstone | 1/31/2022 $641,772 $320,886 $288,797 $32,089
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