



# Know Before You Grow:

Are you a Montana resident, 21 years of age or older, and interested in self-cultivation and self-storage of your own personal marijuana?

The Cannabis Control Division has information for those individuals interested in personal marijuana cultivation who are unsure of the current rules and regulations.

### Who is eligible to cultivate and store their own personal marijuana?

- Montana adult registered cardholders or their caregiver:
  - Homeowners
  - Renters—with written permission from their landlord
- Montana adult consumers—Montana adults who are residents and 21 & older:
  - Homeowners
  - Renters—with written permission from their landlord
- Minor registered cardholders-a parent or legal guardian may cultivate for them with a background check

\*Minor registered cardholders may only use marijuana products; they cannot smoke marijuana or marijuana products

### What does self-cultivation entail?

- Possessing marijuana, including:
  - Harvesting marijuana
  - Drying marijuana
  - Processing marijuana
  - Manufacturing marijuana

#### Where may marijuana be grown for personal cultivation?

- In or on the grounds of a private residence
- An individual may not cultivate marijuana in a manner that is visible from the street or other public area

# What is the penalty for cultivating marijuana plants that are visible from a public place?

 A person who cultivates marijuana plants that are visible by normal, unaided vision from a public place is subject to a civil fine not exceeding \$250.00 and forfeiture of the marijuana

#### What is the maximum number of plants allowed for self-cultivation?

 Montana registered cardholder = \*Four (4) mature marijuana plants and four (4) seedlings

\*If multiple registered cardholders share a residence, not more than twice the number of marijuana plants permitted may be cultivated in or on the grounds of a single private residence simultaneously

Montana adult consumer = \*Two (2) mature marijuana plants and two (2) seedlings

\*If multiple adults (21+) share a residence, not more than twice the number of marijuana plants permitted may be cultivated in or on the grounds of a single private residence simultaneously

#### How must excess marijuana be stored?

- Marijuana plants and any marijuana produced by the plants in excess of one (1) ounce must be kept in a locked space in or on the grounds of one (1) private residence
- Excess marijuana that has been stored may not be visible by normal, unaided vision from a public place

#### What are the penalties for incorrectly storing excess marijuana?

 A person who stores marijuana outside of a locked space (i.e. visible by normal, unaided vision from a public place) is subject to a civil fine not exceeding \$250.00 and forfeiture of the marijuana

# Can a marijuana business share, rent, or lease space from a private residence that cultivates marijuana?

 No portion of a private residence used for the cultivation of marijuana and/or manufacture of marijuana products may be shared with, rented, or leased to a marijuana business

#### Is self-cultivation of marijuana considered agriculture?

 Marijuana and marijuana products are not agricultural products and are not subject to regulation by the Department of Agriculture, unless expressly provided

#### **Do I pay taxes on my personally cultivated marijuana?**

- Any product cultivated for personal use is not taxable
- State and local taxes only occur at the retail level on end-user purchases

## What if my plants/seedlings are seized by law enforcement?

• A law enforcement agency in possession of mature plants and/or seedlings seized as evidence is not responsible for the care and maintenance of the plants and/or seedlings

# **Forms and Resources**

- <u>Property Owner Permission Form</u>
- <u>Fingerprint Instructions</u>
- Consent to Fingerprint Form
- Physician Statement for a Debilitating Condition
- Physician Statement for Minors
- Montana Code Annotated §16-12-106-Personal Use and Cultivation of Marijuana-- Penalties\_