

2025 Livestock Reporting Form

L	ivestock
V1	10/2024

REVENUE						
Mark if this is a corrected re	eport Liv	LPC				
			ID Type			Deceased?
Primary Owner's Name (Requir	ed)		equired)	Date of Death		
			SSN FEIN			
						Deceased?
Secondary Owner's Name		ID Type	SSN or FEIN	Date of Death		
			SSN FEIN			
Current Mailing Address (Requi	City (Required)			State	ZIP Code	
Phone Number	Email Address					
	Mark if you woul	d like to receive	email remin	ders for reporting	and billi	ng statements.

1. Did you own livestock on February 1? Yes (continue to step 2) No (sign this return and send it to DOR)

2. Are you reporting in multiple counties? Yes No

3. County livestock are located in as of February 1, 2025 (Required) ►

To report livestock owned in multiple counties, copy this report and provide counts for each county respectively.

Livestock	A–Quantity (as of 02/01/2025)	B-Rate	C–Calculate Fees (Column A x B)	Age and Livestock Type to Include (9 months and older, unless otherwise specified)
Horses, Mules, Asses		x \$6.09 =		Horses, mules, asses, ponies, donkeys, burros
Cattle		x \$2.39 =		Heifer and steer calves 9 months and older, yearling, cows and bulls
Domestic Bison		x \$4.52 =		
Sheep		x \$0.56 =		
Swine		x \$0.82 =		3 months of age or older
Goats		x \$0.56 =		
Poultry		x \$0.06 =		All ages of chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks, and other domestic birds raised as food or to produce feathers.
Honey Bees		x \$0.42 =		Number of hives
Alternative Livestock		x \$27.40 =		Privately owned caribou, mule deer, whitetail deer, elk, moose, antelope, mountain sheep, mountain goats
Ratites		x \$10.12 =		Ostriches, rheas, emus
Llamas, Alpacas		x \$10.12 =		
Add amounts in colum Per Capita Fee	nn C. This Amount due fo	s is your total r this county.		

Affirmation and Signature I affirm that the information provided in this reporting form is true, correct, and complete.

Livestock Owner Signature

Report and Payment are due March 1, 2025.



Mail form to: Montana Department of Revenue PO Box 6169 Helena, MT 59604-6169

Date _

2025 Livestock Reporting Form Instructions

Montana law requires all livestock owners to annually report the number of livestock owned as of February 1, <u>15-24-902, MCA</u>.

What do I need to do?

By March 1, 2025 report and pay for the number of livestock you owned as of February 1.

What kind of livestock do I need to report?

See the list of livestock types in the reporting table provided. You are required to report if you:

- Own livestock as of February 1. Even if you owned just one horse and a few chickens: or
- Reported owning livestock last year, but do not own livestock this year. You must submit a reporting form reflecting that you own zero livestock.

How do I report and pay?

There are two ways to report livestock. The reporting form and payment are both due **March 1, 2025**. If you do not pay by **March 1, 2025**, you will be billed on **April 1, 2025**. Penalty and interest will begin to accrue on **March 2, 2025**.

Online through our TransAction Portal (TAP):

- Go to https://tap.dor.mt.gov.
- At the bottom of the page, under the Livestock Reporting tile, select File a Report.
- Pay by e-check (free) or credit/debit card (additional processing fees).

or

Mail a completed livestock reporting form and payment to:

Montana Department of Revenue PO Box 6169 Helena, MT 59604-6169

What are livestock per capita fees used for?

Per capita fees fund Department of Livestock programs that monitor animal health, monitor, and restrict livestock imports, track animal movements, prevent and investigate livestock theft, and manage predators.

Note: Some counties have a separate fee at the local government level to fund predatory animal control (PAC) for cattle and sheep. The cattle and sheep head counts collected by the Department of Revenue for per capita fees are also used by the local county treasurer's office for PAC fee collection on personal property or real property tax bills.

What if I have questions?

- Call us at (406) 444-6900, or Montana Relay at 711 for the hearing impaired.
- Visit <u>MTRevenue.gov.</u>

Livestock Reporting Form Instructions:

- Amended checkbox Mark this box if you have previously submitted a livestock reporting form for this year and are making changes.
- 2. **Owner's Information** Complete all fields for the owner's information including name, IDs, address, and contact information.
 - If there are more than two owners, additional owners do not need to be included.
 - For a deceased livestock owner or closed business, please submit a zero Livestock Reporting form or contact us to close the account. The new owner of the livestock must report with their name and information.
 - If you did not own any livestock on February 1, 2025, submit a zero Livestock Reporting form so we may close your account. This will prevent us estimating your headcount and subsequently issuing a bill. If you acquire livestock in the future, you will have a reporting requirement again.
- 3. **County** Report the county where your livestock are located on February 1, 2025 and provide the head count of each livestock type in that county. If you have livestock in multiple counties, complete a separate report for each county and enter the total per capita fee amount at the bottom of the reporting form.
- Calculate Fees Calculate the fees due per livestock type. Multiple the head count by the fee amount and enter the amount in column C. (column A x column B = column C)
- 5. **Amount due** Add the total fees due in column C and enter the total at the bottom of the reporting form. If you're reporting multiple counties, complete this for each table.
- 6. **Affirmation and Signature** Sign the form and mail to Montana Department of Revenue. Livestock reporting form is due March 1, 2025, with or without payment.



Livestock Per Capita Fee Reporting Payment Instructions

Pay Electronically



Visit <u>https://tap.dor.mt.gov</u> to quickly and easily pay for e-filed or paper-filed returns by e-check (for free) or by credit/debit card (for a small fee).

Payments of \$500,000 or more must be made electronically.

Pay by Check

• If you are paying for multiple Reporting Periods, use separate vouchers for each tax period.

TransAction Portal (TAP)

• Complete and detach the voucher below and mail it with your check to:

Montana Department of Revenue PO Box 6169 Helena, MT 59604-6169

			C1	1 ±	ling						
	Form LPC-1 V1 4/2021 Livestock Per Capit Payment Vouch		ta Fee		Help us apply your payment. Send this voucher with your check including your ID and reporting period on the check memo line.						
		Name		1.	FEIN or SS	N					
14AG0101	Mailing Address City, State, ZIP		2. Reporting		Period by Year		0 1	3 1 2	0	2 5	
	Contact Phone Number		3.	Montana Account ID					L I	PC	
	Mail form to: Montana Department of Revenue		4.	Amount Pa	id						
		PO Box 6169 Helena, MT 59604-6169					Pa	y onli	ne at <u>MT</u>	Rever	nue.gov