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Dear Montana Taxpayer,

We want to thank you for filing your Montana tax return. Your timely filing and prompt 
payment of taxes greatly benefits your community and helps to make Montana a better 
place for all of us.

We continue to encourage you to file electronically if possible. 93 percent of individual 
Montana taxpayers electronically filed their 2020 tax returns.

Take advantage of these benefits with electronic filing:

	● Taxpayers have found that e-filing is easy, convenient, and ensures more 
accurate processing.

	● Electronic filing can also help you more quickly receive any refund you are owed. 
Be sure to visit MTRevenue.gov to learn more about filing options.

	● Montanans with simple taxes can use MT QuickFile, our new online service. Please 
visit MTRevenue.gov to see if you qualify for this service.

We are committed to assisting you with any questions you may have about your 
filing requirements. If you need more information or would like help, please visit 
MTRevenue.gov, call (406) 444-6900, Montana Relay at 711 for the hearing impaired, 
or email DORHelp@mt.gov.

Best regards,

Your Montana Department of Revenue

https://MTRevenue.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
mailto:DORHelp%40mt.gov?subject=
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These instructions are designed to address the laws for most tax filing situations. If you have a 
unique situation that is not addressed in the booklet, please refer to Title 15 of Montana law found 
at leg.mt.gov or call us with your questions.

What’s New?
Updates and items of interest relating to individual 
income tax.

Federal Changes
The American Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2 
(ARPA), provided nearly $2 billion in funding to 
Montana. The ARPA contained limits on the uses 
of those funds. To address these limits, the 2021 
Montana Legislature provided contingency language 
in certain bills that have the potential to reduce tax 
revenue. Please see MTRevenue.gov for more 
information about the ARPA savings clauses.

2021 Montana Legislative Changes
Reporting Federal Adjustments (HB 53). In addition 
to changes made to how partnerships report federal 
adjustments on their Montana tax return, House 
Bill 53 increased the amount of time individuals 
have to amend their Montana return after a federal 
adjustment. Individuals now have 180 days to file an 
amended Montana return after a federal income tax 
adjustment has been finalized.
Family Education Savings Accounts (HB 129). 
Individuals may now use the funds from Montana 
Family Education Savings Accounts on a wider variety 
of education expenses. See the Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 17 instructions for a detailed list of 
eligible education expenses.
Trades Education and Training Credit (HB 252). 
Employers may take a tax credit for the expenses 
incurred in providing employees with education and 
training for a trade profession. The credit is worth 
up to 50% of the cost of qualifying trades education 
or training expenses, not to exceed $2,000 per 
employee and $25,000 total. Report the amount 
of your Trades Education and Training Credit on 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 14.

Montana Entrepreneur Magnet Act (SB 184). 
Beginning in Tax Year 2026, the net long-term capital 
gain or exchange of certain capital stock will not be 
subject to tax. The exclusion is not available until Tax 
Year 2026, but some requirements take effect starting 
in 2021. In order to be eligible, the sale or exchange 
of the stock must be from a corporation that, prior to 
the sale or exchange of the stock, has:

	● at least 60 consecutive months of new business 
activity in Montana beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021,

	● more than half of its officers residing in the state 
for the previous 36 months,

	● at least 30% of its employees residing in the 
state for the previous 12 months, and

	● at least 25 full-time employees residing in the 
state for the previous 36 months.

Mobile Home Park Capital Gain Exclusion (SB 269). 
The exclusion of the capital gain from the sale of an 
eligible mobile home park has increased. One hundred 
percent of the capital gain from the eligible sale of 
a mobile home park is excludable from Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income. Report the amount of the 
exclusion on Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 31.
Double-Weighted Receipts Factor (SB 376). 
The Montana Legislature passed Senate Bill 376 to 
modernize the apportionment formula for sourcing 
purposes. Multistate businesses with a tax year starting 
after June 30, 2021, will count the receipts factor twice 
in determining the apportionment factor.
Montana Medical Savings Account (MSA) 
Investment Options (SB 253). In addition to 
checking and savings accounts at financial 
institutions, Montana MSAs may now be invested in 
stocks, bonds, mutual funds, a combination of both, 
or in an account that is allowable for a federal Health 
Savings Account (HSA). Note that while the MSA may 
be placed in an investment vehicle used for HSAs, the 
MSA cannot also be an HSA. To claim a subtraction 
for an MSA, the contributions and earnings must be 
included in Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

http://leg.mt.gov 
https://MTRevenue.gov
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2022 Montana Legislative Changes
Income Tax Reduction Bill (SB 159). Senate Bill 159 
lowered Montana’s top tax rate from 6.9% to 6.75% for 
Tax Years 2022 and 2023 subject to an American Rescue 
Plan Act (ARPA) Savings Clause. The Savings Clause 
may cause the rate to increase back to 6.9% for 2022 and 
2023 if Montana’s receipt of ARPA funds is jeopardized. 
Please see MTRevenue.gov for more information.
Income Tax Simplification Bill (SB 399). Beginning 
in Tax Year 2022, the following tax credits have been 
repealed. Tax Year 2021 is the last year these tax 
credits will be available. Credits denoted with an 
asterisk may be carried forward until the amount of 
the credit is exhausted or the carryforward period 
expires, whichever comes first.

	● Adoption Credit*
	● Alternative Energy Production Credit*
	● Alternative Energy System Credit*
	● Alternative Fuel Credit
	● Biodiesel and Blending Credit*
	● College Contribution Credit
	● Dependent Care Assistance Credit*
	● Elderly Care Credit
	● Emergency Lodging Credit
	● Empowerment Zone Credit*
	● Energy Conservation Installation Credit
	● Geothermal System Credit*
	● Health Insurance for Uninsured Montanans Credit
	● Mineral and Coal Exploration Incentive Credit*
	● Oilseed Crush Facility Credit*

Student Scholarship Organization Credit and 
Innovative Education Program Credit (HB 279). 
The tax credit for contributions to approved Student 
Scholarship Organizations and Innovative Education 
Programs for Montana public school districts 
increases from $150 to $200,000 per person in 
Tax Year 2022 subject to an American Rescue Plan 
Act (ARPA) Savings Clause. The Savings Clause 
may cause the tax credit to be limited to $150 for 
2022 and later tax years if Montana’s receipt of ARPA 
funds is jeopardized. Please see MTRevenue.gov 
for more information. Eligible contributions for 2022 
may be made directly with the Student Scholarship 
Organization or any Montana public school district.

Increased Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit (HB 191). 
House Bill 191 increases the Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit to $1,150 and modifies the definition of 
household income in 2022. The updates to the tax credit 
are subject to an American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) 
Savings Clause. The Savings Clause may cause the 
tax credit to be limited to $1,000 for 2022 and later tax 
years if Montana’s receipt of ARPA funds is jeopardized. 
Please see MTRevenue.gov for more information.
Note: Additional information about other legislative 
changes that become effective in Tax Year 2022 will 
be included in the 2022 Form 2 instructions.

Form Changes
The Form 2 has been updated to reflect changes made 
to the federal Form 1040. On page 1, lines 10a, 10b, and 
10c were removed and replaced with a single line 10.
Schedule 1 on page 3 has several new lines. Lines 8a 
through 8d and 8o were added to include lines for the 
items that are most commonly reported on the Form 2. 
The line numbers correspond to the lines on the federal 
Form 1040, Schedule 1. Line 8x was added to report 
the total of all other income from the federal Form 
1040, Schedule 1. The tuition and fees deduction line 
was removed because the deduction was repealed as 
a part of Taxpayer Certainty and Disaster Tax Relief Act 
of 2021. A line for Archer MSA deductions and a line for 
other adjustments were added to mirror the update to 
the federal Form 1040, Schedule 1.
The checkbox to waive a carryback of a Montana net 
operating loss (NOL) was updated to only allow for 
an election of a waiver of a carryback of an NOL from 
a farming business. The checkbox was also moved 
from page 3 to page 2.
The Partial Pension, Annuity, and IRA Income 
Exemption Worksheet has been updated to change its 
name and to improve reporting for married filing jointly 
taxpayers. It was renamed to the Partial Pension, 
Annuity, and IRA Income Exemption Schedule for 
internal processing purposes. Lines 3a and 3b were 
added to assist married filing jointly taxpayers in 
totaling the amount of pension, annuity, and IRA 
income eligible for the income exemption.
The Taxable Social Security Benefits Worksheet 
was renamed to the Taxable Social Security Benefits 
Schedule for internal processing purposes.

https://MTRevenue.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
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General Instructions
Filing Requirements
Do you have to file? In general, if during the tax year 
you were a resident or part-year resident of Montana, 
or if you were a nonresident who received Montana 
source income; and, if your federal gross income, 
excluding unemployment compensation, is equal to 
or greater than the threshold for your filing status as 
listed in the chart below, then you must file a Montana 
income tax return.

IF your filing status 
is…

AND at the end of 
2021 you were…

THEN you must 
file a tax return if 

your federal gross 
income, excluding 

unemployment 
compensation was at 

least…

Single, or 
married filing 
separately

Under 65 $4,830

65 or older $7,410

Head of household
Under 65 $9,660

65 or older $12,240

Married filing jointly 
with your spouse

Both under 65 $9,660

One spouse 65 or 
older $12,240

Both spouses 65 or 
older $14,820

You are entitled to an additional exemption if you are 
blind or your spouse is blind. Increase the federal 
gross income minimums in the last column by $2,580 
to determine if you must file.
If you are not sure about your filing status, see page 5.
Important: You may qualify for the Elderly 
Homeowner/Renter Credit even if you do not have 
a Montana filing requirement. See page 3 for 
instructions on how to claim this credit.
To claim the Earned Income Tax Credit, you must still 
complete Form 2, pages 1 and 2, even if you do not meet 
the filing thresholds shown above. For more information 
about the Earned Income Tax Credit, see page 11.
Filing requirement for taxpayers with losses. If you 
incurred or reported losses (including passive losses 
and net operating losses), you must file a Montana 
tax return to track the sourcing of the losses and 
to use those losses in calculating your tax liability. 
Unreported losses may lead to the disallowance of 
their use in future years.

Remote Workers
If you worked remotely from Montana during 2021 
and are not a resident, you have a filing requirement. 
Montana source income includes wages, salary, tips, 
other compensation, and business income for services 
performed while physically located in Montana. See 
section 15-30-2110(18), MCA for more information.
Nonresident or part-year resident individuals must 
report income earned in Montana on the Nonresident/
Part-year Resident Ratio Schedule. Wages, salaries, 
tips, and other compensation is included in Montana 
source income to the extent that it was earned while 
physically located in the state. Business income from 
a sole proprietorship, partnership, S corporation, 
or disregarded entity is apportioned using the 
appropriate apportionment schedule. Partnerships and 
S corporations use the Form PTE to determine Montana 
source income. Montana source income is reported to 
members, partners, and shareholders on the Montana 
Schedule K-1 (PTE). Single member LLCs owned 
by nonresidents file the Form DER-1 and calculate 
Montana source income on the Worksheet DE. All 
other disregarded entities may use the Form DER-1, 
Worksheet DE to determine Montana source income. 
Attach the worksheet as a part of the Form 2 filing.
Some remote workers may establish residency while 
working in Montana. More information on residency is 
found on page 7.

Nonresident Military Servicemembers 
and Spouses
In general, if you are a military service member, or the 
spouse of a military service member, and are located in 
Montana solely in compliance with military orders, you 
do not acquire residency status in Montana.
Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, if you 
are a service member located in Montana solely in 
compliance with military orders, you retain residency 
in the state you were a resident of before moving to 
Montana. Your military compensation is not Montana 
source income.

Spouse of Active Duty Servicemember
You qualify for relief under the Military Spouse 
Residency Relief Act if:

	● You are the spouse of a nonresident military 
servicemember; and

	● You are in Montana solely to be with your military 
spouse who is serving in compliance with military 
orders; and

	● Both spouses are residents of the same state.
If you meet all three of these conditions, your 
compensation for personal services earned in 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0300/part_0210/section_0100/0150-0300-0210-0100.html


Page 22021 Montana Form 2 Instructions

Montana cannot be sourced to Montana, but remains 
taxable in your state of residency.
If you or your spouse have Montana source income, 
such as rental income from real property located in 
Montana, you must file as nonresidents. You must 
exempt the military compensation on the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 13, if you included this 
compensation in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
The compensation for services rendered in Montana and 
received by the nonresident non-military spouse are not 
Montana source income and are not included on your 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 1.
If you meet the requirements of either situation described 
above and you do not have any Montana source income, 
you do not have a filing requirement in Montana.

Enrolled Member of a Tribe
If you are an enrolled member of a tribe and you live 
on the reservation governed by your tribe, you can 
subtract your income sourced to your reservation from 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. Other items of 
income are taxable and must be reported on Form 2.
Income that can be sourced to the reservation 
governed by your tribe includes:

	● wages earned within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● all interest, dividends, pensions, annuities, and 
any income received from the use of intangible 
properties;

	● income, including farming, from real properties 
located within the exterior boundaries of your 
reservation;

	● business income from activities carried on within 
the exterior boundaries of your reservation.

Income sourced elsewhere includes:
	● wages earned outside the exterior boundaries of 

the reservation governed by your tribe;
	● any income linked to real estate properties 

located outside the exterior boundaries of the 
reservation governed by your tribe;

	● any business income stemming from activities 
carried on outside the exterior boundaries of the 
reservation governed by your tribe.

You may source business income from a pass-through 
entity to your reservation using a reasonable method 
suited to the nature of the business. Income already 
sourced to a state other than Montana can never be 
sourced to your reservation.
If all your income can be subtracted from Montana 
income tax as a tribal member, you do not have to file 
a Montana income tax return, Form 2. Instead, you 
must file Form ETM.

If only part of your income can be subtracted from 
Montana income tax, and your nonexempt income 
exceeds the filing thresholds, you must file Form 2 with 
Form ETM. When you are required to file a Form 2, 
use the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 8.
Important: If you live outside the boundaries of the 
reservation governed by your tribe, or if you live on 
another reservation that is not governed by your 
tribe, none of your income can be sourced to the 
reservation governed by your tribe.
Income derived directly from allotted or restricted 
lands that are held in trust by the United States and 
exempt from federal income tax is also exempt from 
Montana income tax.

When Must You File?
File Form 2 and pay the tax due by April 18, 2022. An 
automatic extension of six months applies for filing your 
return, but this extension does not apply to payments. 
If you file after the extended due date, you may have 
to pay a penalty for late filing. See instructions about 
interest and penalties on page 46.
If you were serving in, or in support of, the U.S. Armed 
Forces in a designated combat zone or contingency 
operation, the extension of time to file your Montana 
tax return is the same as the extension you receive for 
your federal tax return. See the IRS Publication 3 for 
more information.

How to File
Electronic Filing
Filing electronically is recommended for faster, more 
accurate, and more secure service. If receiving 
a refund, you will receive it more quickly by filing 
electronically than if you file on paper.
You may be eligible for free tax software from Free File 
Alliance. Find Free File Alliance offers at MTRevenue.gov.

Paper Filing
If you are filing your return on paper, you must include any 
applicable federal forms and schedules we requested on 
the return. You do not need to provide us with your entire 
federal return when you file your Montana return unless 
you are a nonresident or part-year resident. However, you 
should retain your federal return in your tax records and 
be able to provide it to us upon request.
Include only the pages of Form 2 on which you entered 
information. For example, if you are a resident and you 
only had to complete Form 2, Schedule 1, the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, and you chose the standard 
deduction, you will only need to send pages 1, 2, 3, and 5.
If you choose to file a paper return, you must 
complete your federal Form 1040 first. Use blue or 

https://MTRevenue.gov
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black ink to complete Montana Form 2.
You must sign and mail pages 1 and 2 to us. 
Include all pages with a completed schedule.

TIP: You will only need to send pages 1 and 2 of 
Form 2 if you meet all of the following:

	● You only received wages, dividends, or taxable 
interest;

	● You have fewer than four dependents;
	● You do not report any adjustments to income 

(see page 3);
	● You do not have any Montana additions or 

subtractions (see pages 4 and 5);
	● You chose the standard deduction for 2021; and
	● You are not claiming any credits in 2021.

Important: If you wish to contribute to a check-off 
program, you will have to use the Contributions, 
Penalties, and Interest Schedule, and include page 11 
with the return you are mailing.
Easy Steps to Assemble Your Return as Shown Below–
Do Not Staple

From Top to Bottom
1.	 Payment Voucher, if you are making a payment
2.	 Forms W-2 and 1099 reporting Montana 

Withholding
3.	 Montana Form 2, pages 1 and 2
4.	 Montana Form 2, other pages with completed 

schedules
5.	 Copy of your federal tax return: Nonresident/part-

year residents must include a copy of their entire 
federal return.

6.	 Copy of your federal schedules: Nonresident/
part-year residents must include a copy of their 
completed federal schedules.

6

Please Do Not Use Staples
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We have two different mailing addresses for your 
paper return, if you choose not to file electronically. 
We do this so that if you are asking for a refund, 
we can get your refund processed and to you more 
quickly and efficiently.
If you do not owe taxes or are expecting a refund, 
mail your tax return to:

Montana Department of Revenue 
PO Box 6577 
Helena, MT 59604-6577

If you are making a payment with your tax return, mail 
your tax return and check to:

Montana Department of Revenue 
PO Box 6308 
Helena, MT 59604-6308

Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit
Before you begin, gather all the information about the 
income of all the members of your household. You will 
need this information to verify eligibility and calculate 
the credit.
If you are required to file a return, you can calculate 
the credit on page 10 of Form 2 and claim it on the 
Other Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule on 
page 11.
If you are not required to file a return, and you wish to 
claim the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit, you can do 
so on our TransAction Portal (TAP) https://tap.dor.mt.gov 
or on paper by completing just Form 2, pages 1, 2, 10, 
and 11, in the following order:

	● Page 10:
	○ First, complete the Elderly Homeowner/

Renter Credit Schedule (and, if applicable, 
the Long-Term Care Facility Rent Calculation 
Worksheet) to determine eligibility and 
calculate the amount of credit.

	● Page 11:
	○ Enter the amount of credit on the Other 

Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule, 
line 6.

	● Page 1:
	○ Provide your identification and filing status 

used to determine your filing requirement;
	○ Check “Resident full-year” or “Resident part-

year.” (To claim the credit, you must be a 
resident of Montana and have resided in the 
state for at least nine months of 2021);

	○ List dependents, if any;
	○ Mark the box “65 or older” in the exemption 

section if applicable;
	○ Complete lines 1, 4a, 5a, and 6a when 

applicable. (Use any Forms W-2 and 

https://tap.dor.mt.gov
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SSA-1099 or 1099-R you may have received 
to complete those sections);

	○ Report the amount of credit on lines 22 and 27.
	● Page 2:

	○ Complete the direct deposit section;
	○ Sign at the bottom.

Nonresident Tax
Nonresidents are taxed on their Montana source 
income. This tax is first calculated based on taxable 
income determined as if the taxpayer was a resident, 
and then apportioned to the amount of Montana 
source income included in Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income. This apportionment is determined using the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule. Do 
not exempt non-Montana source income on Montana 
Subtractions Schedule.

Example: Marla is a nonresident. Her Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is $50,500 and includes 
$10,000 of rental income from a real property she 
owns in Montana. The rental income is Montana 
source income.

Marla must first calculate her taxable income as if 
she were a resident and calculate her resident tax. 
Her Federal Adjusted Gross Income includes $500 of 
interest that is exempt in Montana. Since she reports 
the same additions and subtractions as a resident, 
she reports this interest on her Montana Subtractions 
Schedule. After additions and subtractions, Marla’s 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income is $50,000.
Marla must first calculate her taxable income as a 
resident. After claiming her itemized deductions and 
her personal and dependent exemptions, her taxable 
income is $30,000.
Marla then calculates her nonresident ratio using the 
Nonresident Ratio Schedule on Form 2, page 8. She 
reports $10,000 of rental income on line 10 so her 
nonresident ratio is 20 percent ($10,000/$50,000).
Marla calculates her tax on the Tax Liability Schedule, 
line 1, which is $1,471. Her nonresident tax is $294 
($1,471 x 0.20). She reports $294 on her Tax Liability 
Schedule, line 3a, and on Form 2, line 18.
Part-year residents calculate their tax like nonresidents. 
However, a part-year resident must include in the 
numerator of their ratio all their income received while 
they were a resident.
See the residency instructions on page 7 to determine 
your residency status.

Amending Your 2021 Return
If you are amending your 2021 return, you must 
complete a new Form 2 with all the schedules, even 
if none of the amounts previously reported on them 
have changed, and do the following:

1.	 Mark the box on the top left of page 1.
2.	 Make sure you sign and date your return.
3.	 Complete the Amended Return Information 

section on page 2.
4.	 Include any payments made with or after filing the 

original return on line 7 of the Other Payments 
and Refundable Credits Schedule on page 11.

5.	 If you requested a refund or if you carried over 
all or part of the overpayment reported on your 
original return to 2022, make sure that you 
completed line 2 of the Contributions, Penalties, 
and Interest Schedule on page 11.

Important: If you file an amended tax return that 
reflects an increased tax liability, you may have the 
late payment penalty waived. To receive the waiver, 
simply mark the “Amended Return” box on the top 
left-hand corner of the tax return and pay the tax and 
applicable interest in full when you file the amended 
return. By marking this box and paying all tax and 
interest, you are treated as having requested a waiver 
of the late payment penalty.
If the Internal Revenue Service changes or makes 
corrections to your federal Form 1040 or if you amend 
your federal return, you will need to amend your 
Form 2 within 180 days of receiving the notification of 
the corrections made to the federal Form 1040 or within 
180 days of filing your amended federal tax return.

Interest Rate for 2022
Effective January 1, 2022, the annual interest rate 
assessed on outstanding balances is 3 percent. This 
rate also applies to underpayment of estimated taxes. 
Interest is calculated daily.
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Line Instructions
Personal Information
Enter your name, address, and Social Security Number 
(SSN) or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN). An 
incorrect number may delay your refund.
Enter the address where you receive your mail. We 
will use this address to send correspondence and 
your refund (if applicable).
If either the primary taxpayer or the spouse died prior 
to filing this return, enter the date of death in the field 
next to his or her name. Include a copy of the federal 
Form 1310 unless you use Filing Status 2a (married 
filing separately on the same form) or Filing Status 4 
(married filing jointly) on this return.

Filing Status
(Mark only one box)
Montana law does not require you to claim the same 
filing status that you claimed on your federal tax 
return. For example, if you are married and you filed 
your federal income tax return jointly, you and your 
spouse have the option to file your Montana tax return 
either jointly or separately.

TIP: If you are married, and both spouses report 
income, filing separately may result in less tax due.

Filing Separately When Married.
If you and your spouse choose to file separately, you 
and your spouse must each report your own adjusted 
gross income. You cannot arbitrarily assign income or 
deductions between the two of you.
When filing separately, you must select whether you and 
your spouse are filing on the same form (Filing Status 2a), 
on separate forms (Filing Status 2b), or separately with 
your spouse not filing (Filing Status 2c).
When you choose to file separately, you are filing a 
separate return from your spouse, even if you file on 
the same form.

How to allocate income and deductions when 
filing separately.
Apply the following general rules as you allocate 
income and deductions between you and your spouse.
When filing separately on the same form this 
allocation is done between Columns A and B, with 
each column constituting its own return.
Allocation of income. If you filed your federal tax 
return separately, report the items of income the same 
way you reported them on your federal Form 1040.

Allocate income as follows:
	● Income from wages, salaries, bonuses, 

commissions, and other income that is earned from 
providing personal services as an employee or as 
an independent contractor should be reported by 
the spouse who earned it.

	● Income such as capital gains or losses, rents, 
royalties, dividends, and interest should be 
reported by the spouse who owns the property 
from which the income is derived. If you and 
your spouse jointly hold the property, you must 
split the income equally between both spouses 
unless you and your spouse can show a different 
proportional ownership.

	● Income from your or your spouse’s ownership 
in a sole proprietorship (federal Schedules C 
or F), partnership, S corporation, or trust must 
be reported by the spouse who is the owner. 
An allocation for services rendered by a spouse 
can also be made (see instructions for Montana 
Additions and Montana Subtractions Schedules.)

Allocation of deductions. In general, if you filed your 
federal return separately, report the items of deduction the 
same way you reported them on your federal Form 1040.

	● Spouses must either both claim the standard 
deduction, or both itemize their deductions. You 
are not allowed to claim one method for one 
spouse and another method for the other spouse.

	● Deductions that are attributable to only one spouse 
must be claimed by that spouse. This includes, for 
example, federal income tax withheld from your 
wages, and the Student Loan Interest Deduction.

	● Payments made from accounts owned by both 
spouses that pertain to expenses not attributable 
specifically to one spouse can be allocated to 
either spouse in any proportional amount.

Important: Review the following before choosing 
Filing Status 2a (Married Filing Separately on the 
Same Form).
The Filing Status 2a election includes:

	● An authorization to direct the department to 
automatically apply the overpaid tax reported 
by one spouse to the tax due by the other 
spouse, including when the return is revised. 
For example, if we discover a math or other 
computational error when processing the form, 
the correction may result in our applying one 
spouse’s refund to the other spouse’s increased 
tax automatically, even when neither of the 
spouses were expecting a refund.
	○ If you file separately on the same form, 

before requesting any refund, you must apply 
your overpayment on Form 2, line 27 to the 
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amount owed by your spouse, if any, on 
Form 2, line 26. See Filing Status 2a Payment 
Schedule on Form 2, page 2.

	● An authorization to allow department employees 
to discuss all information on the form with either 
spouse, as permitted by Montana law. The 
department may also discuss any subsequent 
adjustments with either spouse.
	○ The law, however, does not allow you to 

make decisions for your spouse or to receive 
information about an amount your spouse 
may owe.

	● The opportunity to qualify for the Household and 
Dependent Care Services itemized deduction, if 
you are married and you do not file jointly.

	● The requirement to calculate your interest 
on underpayment of estimated tax on a 
combined basis.

If none of the above provisions apply to your tax 
situation and you still want to file separately, you must 
file on separate forms and choose Filing Status 2b.

Filing Status 1–Single
You can claim this filing status if on December 31, 2021, 
you:

	● were single;
	● were legally separated according to your state 

law under a decree of divorce or separate 
maintenance; or

	● were widowed before January 1, 2021, and you 
did not remarry in 2021.

If your filing status is Single, report your income and 
deductions in only column A.

Filing Status 2a–Married Filing Separately on 
the Same Form
You can use Filing Status 2a if both spouses are 
residents or both spouses are nonresidents receiving 
Montana source income.
Although submitted on the same form, married 
taxpayers electing to file using this filing status are 
submitting two tax returns, so each spouse must 
complete their own column.
Penalties and interest are calculated separately. 
Do not forget to reallocate estimated tax payments 
to your spouse, on your Other Payments and 
Refundable Credits Schedule, page 11, if you 
determine that all or part of these payments should be 
applied to your spouse’s account.

Filing Status 2b–Married Filing Separately on 
Separate Forms
You can choose Filing Status 2b if you are both 
residents, and choose not to file on the same form.
You and your spouse must use Filing Status 2b if one 
spouse is a resident of Montana and the other spouse is 
a nonresident who has Montana source income.
When you select this filing status, you must include 
your spouse’s Social Security Number.

Filing Status 2c–Married Filing Separately and 
Spouse Not Filing
You can use Filing Status 2c when:

	● Both you and your spouse are nonresidents and 
one spouse has no Montana source income;

	● You are a resident and your spouse is a nonresident 
who has no Montana source income; or

	● Another taxpayer claims your spouse as a 
dependent. When you select this filing status, you 
must include your spouse’s Social Security Number.

Note: When you use this filing status, you cannot claim 
your spouse as an exemption on your return.

Filing Status 3–Head of Household
You qualify to file as Head of Household on your 
Montana tax return if you qualify as Head of 
Household for federal income tax purposes. When 
you use this filing status, include your federal 
Form 1040, page 1, with your Montana tax return.
Generally, when your filing status on your federal 
Form 1040 is Qualifying Widow(er), you can use 
Head of Household status. Verify that you qualify 
using the instructions for federal Form 1040 or IRS 
Publication 17.

Filing Status 4–Married Filing Jointly
You can claim this filing status if you were married as 
of December 31, 2021, even if:

	● You did not live with your spouse at the end of 
2021; or

	● Your spouse died in 2021 and you did not 
remarry in 2021; or

	● You were married as of December 31, 2021, and 
your spouse died in 2022 before filing a 2021 return.
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Residency Status
Your Montana income tax liability depends on your 
residency status.
Montana has three residency statuses:

	● Resident
	● Part-Year Resident
	● Nonresident

Resident
You are a Montana resident if you are domiciled or 
maintain a permanent place of abode in Montana. 
Montana taxes all of a resident’s income, even if that 
income is earned out-of-state.
There are a variety of factors when determining 
whether a person is domiciled or maintains a 
permanent place of abode in Montana.
These include, but are not limited to:

	● Voting in or registering to vote in Montana
	● Having a Montana driver’s license
	● Having a Montana ID card
	● Having a Montana resident hunting or fishing license
	● Claiming Montana residency when applying for 

admission or financial aid at a Montana college 
or university

	● Receiving services from a program administered 
by the Montana Department of Public Health 
and Human Services, which is only available to 
Montana residents

	● Having a concealed weapon permit in Montana
	● Claiming Montana residency for tax purposes in 

prior or current years
	● Where an individual registers his or her motor 

vehicles
	● Where an individual owns, rents, or occupies a 

developed real estate property, a mobile home, 
or a recreational vehicle with sleeping and 
cooking arrangements, during the tax period

	● Where the individual regularly receives his or her 
mail

	● The location of an individual’s principal place of 
business, profession, or occupation

	● Where an individual’s professional licenses were 
issued and used during the tax year

	● Where an individual obtains professional, financial, 
or healthcare services on a regular basis including, 
but not limited to, legal advice, accounting advice, 
dental care, or primary healthcare

	● Where an individual attends or is a member of 
his or her place of worship

	● The location of any social, fraternal, athletic 
organizations, clubs, or lodges in which the 
individual is a member

This is not a complete list and a person does not 
need to meet all of the factors listed to be considered 
a resident. Each individual’s circumstances and 
intentions are considered when determining residency.
If an individual maintains a place of abode in both 
Montana and another state, and both show similar 
permanency characteristics, the department may look at 
whether the individual has abandoned residency of one 
state in favor of another state through affirmative actions.

Example: Jim works in Wyoming for 11 months 
out of the year. However, Jim owns a home in 
Montana, is registered to vote in Montana, holds 
Montana resident hunting and fishing licenses, 
and holds a Montana driver’s license. These are 
all indications that he is a Montana resident. As a 
result, all of Jim’s income, even what he earned in 
Wyoming, is taxable on his Montana tax return.

Note: If you are married and one of you is a resident 
of Montana and the other is a nonresident of 
Montana, you cannot claim two residency statuses 
on the same return. You must file separate Montana 
tax returns and file using Filing Status 2b or 
Filing Status 2c described above.

Part-Year Resident
You are a part-year resident of Montana if you either:

	● Were a Montana resident at the start of the year 
and then established residency in another state 
during the year, or

	● Were a nonresident at the start of the year and then 
established residency in Montana during the year.

Part-year residents must file an income tax return as a 
part-year resident and use the Nonresident/Part-Year 
Resident Schedule to determine their Montana tax liability. 
Montana taxes the income that a part-year resident 
receives while living in Montana plus any income received 
from Montana sources when not living in Montana.

Example: Pam lived in Montana for four months 
of the year, then moved to Pennsylvania. The 
income she earned during those four months is 
considered Montana source income and is taxable 
in Montana.

The following individuals are examples of who would 
not be considered part-year residents:

	● Retirees (commonly referred to as “snowbirds”) 
who are residents of Montana but live in another 
state for a portion of each year.

	● A resident of another state who works in 
Montana on a seasonal basis but does not 
establish residency in Montana.

	● A Montana resident attending an out-of-state college 
who has not established residency elsewhere.
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Nonresident
You are a nonresident of Montana if you are neither a 
resident of Montana nor a part-year resident. Montana 
taxes all of a nonresident’s income from Montana 
sources. Nonresidents may still owe Montana income 
tax if they received Montana source income.

Example: If you lived and worked in California for 
part of the year, then worked remotely in Montana 
for the rest of the year, your wages earned while 
working in Montana are considered Montana 
source income. These wages are subject to tax, 
even though you are a nonresident.

North Dakota Reciprocity
Montana has an income tax reciprocity agreement 
with the state of North Dakota that allows a resident 
of one state to be exempt from wage withholding and 
individual income tax on compensation received for 
work performed in the other state.
If you are a resident of North Dakota, wages you 
received in 2021 for work performed in Montana are 
not taxable in Montana. The following instructions 
are for residents of North Dakota whose income from 
Montana is only wages.
If your employer withheld Montana income tax you 
must complete Form 2, pages 1 and 2, to request the 
refund as follows:

1.	 Complete the personal information section at the 
top of page 1, as instructed.

2.	 File this form as a nonresident.
3.	 Mark the box for “North Dakota Reciprocity.”
4.	 Leave the dependents and exemptions sections 

blank.
5.	 Enter the Federal Adjusted Gross Income shown 

on your federal Form 1040, line 11.
6.	 Fill in the amount of the Montana income 

tax withheld from your wages on Form 2, 
line 21, and also include this amount on Form 2, 
lines 25 and 27.

7.	 File this form with a copy of your federal return 
and Form(s) W-2 showing Montana income tax 
withholding.

If you received wages and other types of income from 
Montana, you must complete Form 2 following the 
instructions. See the Nonresident/Part-Year Resident 
Ratio instructions for the treatment of your wages.
If you do not want your employer to withhold Montana 
income tax from your wages, you must claim the North 
Dakota reciprocity exemption on Montana Form MW-4 
and give that form to your employer.

Dependents
List each dependent’s first name, last name, 
Social Security Number, and his or her relationship to 
you. If you have more than three dependents, you need 
to include a separate list of these additional dependents.
A person who meets all the following requirements 
is considered your dependent for Montana income 
tax purposes. Some of Montana’s dependency 
requirements are different from the federal 
dependency requirements.
Your dependent is an individual:

	● for whom you have provided more than half his 
or her support during the tax year; and

	● who does not have gross income of more than 
$2,580, unless the dependent is a “qualifying 
child” according to the federal rules; and

	● who is not filing a joint tax return with his or her 
spouse during the same tax year.

In addition to the requirements mentioned previously, 
your dependent must be:

	● a relative to you (or your spouse if you are filing a 
joint return) in one of the following ways:

Child Mother Aunt
Stepchild Grandparent Son-in-law
Grandchild Stepfather Daughter-in-law
Brother Stepmother Father-in-law
Sister Nephew Mother-in-law
Stepbrother Niece Brother-in-law
Stepsister Uncle Sister-in-law
Father

or
	● an individual who for the tax year has shared 

your home as his or her principal home, and has 
been considered a member of your household;

or
	● a cousin (or other descendant of your uncle or 

aunt) who is receiving institutional care because 
of a physical or mental disability and was a 
member of your household before receiving the 
institutional care.

Note: When the terms nephew, niece, uncle, or aunt 
are used, they mean a direct relative of yours. You 
can claim your uncle as a dependent, but you cannot 
claim your uncle’s spouse. Similarly, you cannot 
claim your spouse’s uncle as a dependent, only your 
spouse can.
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A child who is under age 19 at the end of the year (or 
under age 24 and a full-time student) and lived with 
you for more than half the year can be considered 
a dependent even if they have more income than is 
otherwise allowed.

Disabled Child
In addition to the dependent exemption, you are 
entitled to another exemption for a child who is 
disabled. If your child is disabled and you qualify for 
this additional exemption, place an “X” in the “Mark 
if Disabled” column in the same row you listed your 
disabled child.
You are allowed this disabled child exemption if you 
meet all the following requirements:

	● You provide more than half the disabled child’s 
support.

	● Your home is the disabled child’s principal home.
	● The disabled child has a permanent disability to 

50 percent or more of the body. Deafness and 
blindness do not meet this requirement.

	● A licensed physician has certified the child’s 
disability. If this is the first year that you are 
claiming the additional exemption for this child, 
you must include a physician’s certification of this 
qualifying disability with your tax return.

This physician’s certification filed with us during the 
first year of eligibility remains in effect in subsequent 
years. We do not require you to file it again until the 
circumstances of your disabled child change.

Exemptions
You and your spouse are entitled to an additional 
exemption if you are age 65 or older at the end of the tax 
year, and an additional exemption if you are blind.
a–Yourself. You are always allowed one exemption 
for yourself. We placed an “X” in your box for you. 
Even if you are claimed as a dependent on another 
person’s tax return, you are still entitled to your one 
personal exemption.
b–Spouse. Mark the box only if you are married and 
filing jointly with your spouse, or if you file separately 
on the same form. No exemption for the spouse is 
allowed on this form if you and your spouse chose 
Filing Status 2b or 2c.
c–Exemptions for Dependents. You can claim a 
dependent exemption for each person who qualifies 
as your dependent.
If you are filing separately, and the same individual 
is the dependent of both, you must allocate this 
dependent to one or the other spouse. The same 
dependent cannot be claimed twice.
When adding your exemptions for dependents, add two 

exemptions, instead of one, for each dependent who 
is a disabled child in the column or on the form of the 
spouse claiming the dependent.

Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Your income on your Montana tax return begins with 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. Refer to your 
federal income tax instructions for detailed information 
about how to complete Form 2, lines 1 through 11 and 
Form 2, Schedule 1, on page 3. Selected lines have 
been identified in these instructions to provide additional 
information about specific Montana tax details.
If you were required to complete and include a 
federal schedule for any of the items on these lines, 
also include those schedules when you submit your 
Montana tax return.

Lines 1 through 11
On lines 1 through 11, enter the amounts corresponding 
to your federal tax return Form 1040. Complete the 
Form 2, Schedule 1 on page 3, if needed.
Line 3b–Ordinary Dividends. Enter the total ordinary 
dividends that you reported on your federal Form 
1040, line 3b. Montana taxes all dividends as ordinary 
dividends and does not have a specific qualified 
dividend tax rate.
Lines 4a-5b–IRA Distributions, Pensions and 
Annuities. IRA distributions, pensions, and annuities 
may entitle you to a partial exemption. See the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 35, and related instructions.
Lines 6a and 6b–Taxable Social Security Benefits. 
Your Montana taxable amount of Social Security benefits 
may be different than your federal taxable amount if 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income differs from your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income. First, Montana grants a 
partial exemption for pension, annuity, and IRA income 
to some taxpayers. Second, the state uses the adjusted 
gross income after Montana additions and subtractions, 
including the exemption amount, to determine the 
taxable and excludable portion of your benefits. These 
adjustments to your taxable amount of benefit must be 
reported on the Montana Additions Schedule on page 4 
or the Montana Subtractions Schedule on page 5.
Line 7–Capital Gain or (Loss). Enter the same 
amount of your capital gain or loss that you reported 
on your federal income tax return.

Treatment of losses. Married taxpayers who are 
filing jointly for federal tax purposes, but separate 
for Montana tax purposes, may allocate the 
amount of losses shown on the federal joint return 
between the spouses. If you and your spouse 
jointly held the property, you must split the income 
equally between both spouses unless you and 
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your spouse can show a different proportional 
ownership.
Example: Jack and June are married and file 
jointly for federal tax purposes and separately for 
Montana. They sold a property they jointly owned. 
They realized a loss and reported $3,000 of capital 
losses directly related to that sale on their federal 
Form 1040. Jack and June can claim $1,500 loss 
each. If June had owned the property, June could 
have reported $3,000 of capital loss and Jack $0.

If you are married and are both residents, and you 
filed a joint return for federal tax purposes, you can 
also report your gains or losses individually and 
separately. You must follow the federal rules for 
filing separately, including the limitation on losses in 
Internal Revenue Code 1211. In addition, reporting 
your gains and losses individually and separately 
may result in short-term gains or losses for one of the 
spouses. When using this method, we recommend 
each spouse recompute their own net gain or loss 
using the federal Schedule D.
Caution: If each spouse has capital gains and losses, 
this method can result in additional Montana tax being 
imposed on some of the gains and/or a different amount 
of carryover losses for Montana tax purposes than for 
federal tax purposes.

TIP: If you are a resident, reporting capital gains on 
this line entitles you to a tax credit of 2 percent of the 
amount reported. See the Nonrefundable Credits 
Schedule, line 1, and related instructions.

Nonresident and part-year residents calculate their 
capital gains credit using the amount reported on the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 7.

Line 11–Federal Adjusted Gross Income. If you 
are filing Single, Married Filing Jointly, or Head of 
Household, this amount must correspond to the 
amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income you 
reported on your federal Form 1040.
If you file separately, the sum of both columns must 
equal the Federal Adjusted Gross Income reported on 
your federal Form 1040.

Montana Taxable Income
Line 12–Montana Additions. Montana additions 
are all items of income that are not included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income and that must be added to 
determine Montana Adjusted Gross Income. To figure 
the amount of additions you must report on this line, see 
the instructions for the Montana Additions Schedule on 
page 16. If you report one or more additions, you must 
include page 4 of Form 2 with your return.

Line 13–Montana Subtractions. Montana subtractions 
are all items of income that are included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income and that must be deducted to 
determine Montana Adjusted Gross Income. To figure the 
amount of subtractions you must report on this line, see 
the instructions for the Montana Subtractions Schedule on 
page 19. If you report one or more subtractions, you must 
include page 5 of Form 2 with your return.
Line 15–Standard or Itemized Deductions. You 
must choose between the standard deduction 
or itemized deductions. To figure which is more 
beneficial (generally the larger of the two) complete 
the Standard Deduction Worksheet and the Itemized 
Deductions Schedule on page 7.
When you and your spouse file, you must both use 
the standard deduction or itemize your deductions. 
You cannot use two different methods. If one spouse 
itemizes, the other one must itemize as well.
When you elect to itemize your deductions, you 
must mark the box and include page 7 of Form 2 
with your return. If you do not mark the box or do not 
include page 7, the processing of your return may be 
delayed, or your return may be adjusted using the 
standard deduction.
Line 16–Exemptions. Multiply $2,580 times the 
number of exemptions that you calculated on the 
Exemptions Section, line d.

Tax, Credits and Payments
Line 18–Tax Liability Before Credits.
Residents: If you are a full-year resident, and you owe 
neither any recapture tax (see page 35), nor any taxes on 
lump-sum distributions (see page 36), compute your tax 
using the following table and report the result on line 18.
2021 Montana Individual Income Tax Table

If Your 
Taxable 

Income Is 
More Than

But Not 
More Than

Multiply 
Your 

Taxable 
Income By

And 
Subtract

This Is 
Your Tax

$0 $3,100 1% (0.010) $0
$3,100 $5,500 2% (0.020) $31
$5,500 $8,400 3% (0.030) $86
$8,400 $11,400 4% (0.040) $170

$11,400 $14,600 5% (0.050) $284
$14,600 18,800 6% (0.060) $430
More Than $18,800 6.9% (0.069) $599

If you owe recapture taxes or the tax on lump-sum 
distributions, see the instructions on page 35 to complete 
the Tax Liability Schedule on Form 2, page 8, to figure the 
amount you need to report on line 18.
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Nonresidents and part-year residents: See the 
instructions on pages 30 through 35 to complete the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio and Tax Liability 
Schedules and report the amount of tax liability on 
line 18. Include Form 2, page 8, with your return.
Line 19–Nonrefundable Credits. For information 
about nonrefundable credits, including the capital 
gains credit and credit for taxes paid to another state, 
see the instructions on page 36.
If you are claiming a nonrefundable credit you must 
include Form 2, page 9, with your return.
Line 21–Montana Tax Withheld on Forms W-2 and 
1099. Enter the sum of all the Montana income tax 
withheld from any Forms W-2 or 1099 you received.
This includes, for example, Forms W-2 and any 1099 
received related to wages, pensions, self-employment, 
or royalties (including mineral royalties):

	● If you received wages, the Montana tax withheld is 
reported in Box 17 of your federal Form W-2.

	● If you received pensions, the Montana tax 
withheld is reported in Box 14 of your federal 
Form 1099-R.

	● If you received Montana mineral royalties, the tax 
withheld is generally reported in Box 15 of your 
federal Form 1099-MISC. Royalty payments made 
to owners of Montana mineral rights are subject 
to state tax withholding if certain thresholds are 
met. This amount is no more than 6 percent of 
your Montana royalty payments and should not be 
confused with the production taxes that are also 
subtracted from your royalty payments.

When you claim Montana income tax withheld, you are 
required to include a copy of your withholding statements 
(federal Forms W-2 or 1099-R) with your return.
Line 22–Other Payments and Refundable Credits. 
This line consists of all other refundable credits, 
including the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. See 
the instructions on page 45 to complete the Other 
Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule. Include 
page 11 of Form 2 with your return.
If you or an entity made estimated tax payments on 
your behalf, pass-through entity withholding payments 
on a Montana Schedule K-1, or any other payments not 
reported on Forms W-2 and 1099, you must complete 
the Other Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule.
Line 23–Earned Income Tax Credit. You are allowed 
a Montana Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) of 3 
percent of the federal EITC claimed on your federal 
return. Your Montana EITC is refundable. This means 
that if the credit is more than your Montana tax liability 
after applying withholding taxes and credits, the 
difference will be refunded to you.

If you use your 2019 earned income to determine 
your 2021 federal EITC, you must do the same to 
determine your 2021 Montana EITC.
Nonresidents and married taxpayers filing separately 
on separate forms do not qualify for the Montana EITC. 
If you are a nonresident or married filing separately on 
separate forms, enter 0 (zero) on line 23a and line 23b.

Line 23a. Enter the federal earned income credit 
amount from your federal Form 1040, page 2, line 
27a on line 23a.
Line 23b. Multiply line 23a by 3 percent (0.03) and 
enter the result on line 23b (Example 1) ONLY if you 
are a full-year resident and you are not:

	● an enrolled tribal member living on the 
reservation of your tribe; or

	● a member of an agricultural organization 
provided for in section 501(d) of the Internal 
Revenue Code.

If your filing status is 2a (Married and Filing 
Separately on the Same Form), the amount of the 
credit may be allocated between spouses. See 
Example 2.
Example 1: Filing status is Single, Head of 
Household, or Married Filing Jointly.

Your EITC claimed on your federal return is 
$2,000. Enter $2,000 on line 23a. Your Montana 
EITC is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). 
Enter $60 on line 23b.
Example 2: Filing status is Married Filing 
Separately on the Same Form (Filing Status 2a).

Your EITC claimed on your federal tax return is 
$2,000. Enter $2,000 on line 23a. Your Montana 
EITC is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). You 
may choose to enter any portion of $60 in any 
column of line 23b, and the remainder on the other 
column. For example, you may enter $20 on line 
23b, column A and $40 on line 23b, column B, for a 
total of $60.

If you are a part-year resident, an enrolled tribal 
member living on the reservation of your tribe, a 
member of an agricultural organization provided for 
in section 501(d) of the Internal Revenue Code, or a 
servicemember of the armed forces, you are allowed 
the Montana EITC in the proportion of your Montana 
earned income over your total earned income. Use 
the Montana EITC Reduction Worksheet on page 10 
to calculate the amount you can claim on line 23b.
On this worksheet, Montana earned income means 
the following:

	● If you are a part-year resident, earned income 
used for the calculation of the federal EITC that 
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was earned in Montana while you were a resident. 
In general, Montana earned income is the addition 
of all income reported on the Part-Year Resident 
Ratio Schedule, lines 1,6, and 11. Earned income 
sourced to Montana while you were not a resident 
is not Montana earned income. See Example 3.

	● If you are an enrolled tribal member living on the 
reservation of your tribe, the amount of earned 
income received for services performed outside 
the reservation. See Form ETM to calculate your 
Montana earned income.

	● If you are a member of an agricultural 
organization provided for in section 501(d) 
of the Internal Revenue Code, your Montana 
earned income is your federal earned income 
minus any dividends received from the 
agricultural organization that are included in 
the federal earned income used to calculate 
the federal EITC.

	● If you are a servicemember with the armed 
forces, the amount of earned income that is not 
exempt from individual income tax in Montana. 
See Example 6.

Montana EITC Reduction Worksheet
1 Enter the federal EITC reported on page 1, line 23a
2 Multiply line 1 by 3% (0.03)
3 Enter your federal earned income used for the 

calculation of the credit
4 Enter your Montana earned income
5 Divide line 4 by line 3, 
6 
 

Multiply line 2 by line 5. 
This is your Montana EITC.  
Report the result on Form 2, page 1, line 23b.
Example 3: Part-year Resident. You are Married 
Filing Jointly (Filing Status 4) as part-year 
residents who received $30,000 of earned income 
including $15,000 of wages in Montana while 
being residents, $5,000 of wages earned in 
Montana while being nonresidents, and another 
$10,000 of wages in another state. Your Montana 
earned income is $15,000. Assume your federal 
EITC is $2,000. Your Montana EITC before 
reduction is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). 
Your Montana EITC after reduction is $30 ($60 x 
$15,000 / $30,000).

Example 4: Enrolled Tribal Member. You are 
single and an enrolled member of a tribe living 
on the reservation of your tribe in Montana. You 
received $30,000 of earned income including: 
$10,000 of wages earned while working outside 
the reservation, and another $20,000 earned on 
your reservation. Your Montana earned income 
is $10,000. Assume your federal EITC is $2,000. 

Your Montana EITC before reduction is $60 (3 
percent of your federal EITC). Your Montana EITC 
after reduction is $20 ($60 x $10,000 / $30,000).

Example 5: Member of a 501(d) Organization. You 
are Married Filing Jointly (Filing Status 4), and a 
member of an agricultural organization provided 
for in section 501(d) of the Internal Revenue Code, 
and you received $30,000 of earned income. On 
your federal Form 1040, you included $10,000 of 
dividends received from the agricultural organization 
as earned income for the purpose of determining 
your federal earned income. Your Montana earned 
income is $20,000. Assume your federal EITC is 
$2,000. Your Montana EITC before reduction is $60 
(3 percent of your federal EITC). Your Montana EITC 
after reduction is $40 ($60 x $20,000/$30,000).

Example 6: Member of the Armed Forces. You are 
a resident member of the armed forces Married 
Filing Jointly (Filing Status 4), who is also a 
resident of Montana. Your federal earned income is 
$30,000, including wages of $5,000 earned by your 
spouse. Your military compensation is exempt from 
taxation in Montana. Assume your federal EITC 
is $2,000. Your Montana EITC before reduction 
is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). Your 
Montana EITC after reduction would be $10 ($60 x 
$5,000/$30,000).

Line 24–Contributions, Penalties, and Interest. 
Complete this schedule if you are:

	● Making one or more contributions to a voluntary 
check-off program (see page 46)
	○ Nongame Wildlife Program
	○ Child Abuse Prevention Program
	○ Agriculture Literacy in Montana Schools 

Program
	○ Montana Military Family Relief Funds 

Program
	● Filing an amended return and your initial return 

showed an overpayment, (see page 46), or
	● Reporting interest or penalties related to savings 

and management accounts (see page 47)
Line 26–Tax Due. If line 25 is less than line 20, 
subtract line 25 from line 20 and enter the result on 
line 26. This is the amount you owe.
Important: If your filing status is 2a (Married Filing 
Separately on the Same Form) and your spouse has 
an amount overpaid on line 27, go to Filing Status 2a 
Payment Schedule before making a payment. If you 
both have an amount owed on line 26, you may make 
two payments.
You can pay the amount you owe by:
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	● Electronic funds withdrawal when e-filing return. You 
can schedule your withdrawal for a later date.

	● E-check or credit/debit card. Visit MTRevenue.gov 
and click on “Filing and Payment Options” and 
choose TransAction Portal (TAP). There is a fee 
when paying with a credit or debit card.

	● Personal check, money order, or cashier’s check. 
Include the payment voucher available at 
MTRevenue.gov. Make your check payable to the 
Montana Department of Revenue, sign your check, 
and write your Social Security Number and 
“Tax Year 2021” on the memo line.

Note: If the payment is not in U.S. funds, the bank 
will convert the payment to U.S. funds based on 
an exchange rate, potentially reducing the amount 
credited to your tax account.
Interest and late payment penalties will be assessed 
on any amount not paid when due.
If you cannot pay the entire amount that you owe 
with your tax return, we encourage you to file your 
return on time and pay as much as possible. By filing 
and paying as much as you can by April 18, 2022, 
you may not have to pay a late filing penalty and you 
can reduce the amount of your late payment penalty 
and interest. If you need to establish a payment plan, 
visit our TransAction Portal at https://tap.dor.mt.gov 
or call us at (406) 444-6964, option 1, as soon 
as possible to discuss your payment options and 
make arrangements.
Taxpayers filing separately on the same form may 
make two payments if both owe taxes.
Line 27–Overpaid tax. If you report overpaid tax 
on line 27, go to the Refund Schedule on page 2 to 
determine if you want this overpaid tax applied to your 
2022 estimated tax, deposited into a 529 Qualified Tuition 
Program (Family Education Savings Account) or 529A 
Achieving a Better Life Experience Account, or refunded.
Important: If your filing status is 2a (Married Filing 
Separately on the Same Form) and your spouse has 
a tax due on line 26, go to Filing Status 2a Payment 
Schedule first. Your overpaid tax must be reduced by 
the tax due by your spouse before you can calculate 
your refund.

Filing Status 2a Payment Schedule
This schedule must be used by taxpayers who are 
married filing separately on the same form and when 
one of the spouses has a tax due while the other has 
an overpaid tax. By choosing Filing Status 2a, you 
elect to have your overpaid tax applied against the tax 
due by your spouse.

Example: Kerri reports tax due of $60 on line 23. 
Steve has an overpayment of $100 on line 24. 

Kerri and Steve must complete the Filing Status 2a 
Payment Schedule to figure if Kerri has a net amount 
due or if Steve has a net overpayment. On the 
Filing Status 2a Payment Schedule, Kerri reports $60 
on line 1 and Steve reports $100 on line 2. As a result, 
line 3 shows zero net amount due, and line 4 shows 
a net overpayment of $40 ($100-$60) that Steve may 
enter on his column of the Refund Schedule, line 1.

Line 1. Enter the amount from line 26. This amount 
may be in column A or B.
Line 2. Enter the amount from line 27. This amount 
may be in column A or B.
Line 3. If you are the spouse with an amount on line 26, 
this is the net amount of tax due. See instructions for 
line 26 on how to make a payment.
Line 4. If you are the spouse with an amount on line 27, 
this is the net amount of overpaid tax. Go to the Refund 
Schedule and report this amount in your column.

Refund Schedule
Line 1. Enter your overpaid tax here. If your filing 
status is 2a and part of your overpaid tax was used 
to pay your spouse’s tax due, enter the amount from 
Filing Status 2a Payment Schedule, line 4.
Line 2. This is the amount from your overpaid tax you 
want applied to your 2022 return. The amount you 
carry forward to your 2022 return is applied to your 
first Tax Year 2022 estimated tax quarterly payment. 
See Publication 1, Prepaying Income Tax, for further 
information on your obligation to prepay income tax.
Line 3. If you want all or part of your refund deposited 
into a Family Education Savings (FES) account or 
an Achieve a Better Life Experience (ABLE) savings 
account, complete Schedule MT-529 and report the total 
amount deposited on this line. See Form 2, page 12, for 
Schedule MT-529 instructions.
Line 4. This is your refund. This amount cannot be 
less than zero.

Direct Deposit
If you would like to use direct deposit, enter your financial 
institution’s routing number (RTN#) and your account 
number (ACCT#) in the space provided. Your routing 
number is nine digits and your account number can be 
up to 17 characters, including numbers and letters. Mark 
whether your account is a checking or savings account 
and if your refund will go to a bank outside of the United 
States and its territories (Midway Islands, Puerto Rico, 
American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Federated States 
of Micronesia, and Guam).
If you and your spouse are due a refund, each of you 
will get a direct deposit.

https://MTRevenue.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
https://tap.dor.mt.gov
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If your financial institution does not accept the direct 
deposit, we will mail you a refund check. If both you 
and your spouse are due a refund, you will each 
receive a refund check.
A sample of a personal check is provided for your 
reference.

Signature, Paid Preparer, and Third-Party 
Designee
Your tax return is not complete unless you sign it. If 
your filing status is Married Filing Jointly or Married 
Filing Separately on the Same Form, your spouse 
must also sign.
Incomplete returns cannot be processed and require 
us to contact you for additional information.
If you have someone prepare your return, you are still 
responsible for the correctness of the return.

Electronic Return Signatures
If you are filing your return electronically, the act of filing 
your return electronically signifies your declaration, 
under the penalty of false swearing, that:

	● You are the taxpayer identified in the return; and
	● The information in the return is true, correct, and 

complete.
Your filing electronically, with this declaration, is your 
signature.

Daytime Phone Number
Providing your daytime phone number may help speed 
the processing of your return. We may have questions 
about items on your return and if you are able to 
answer our questions over the phone, we may be able 
to continue processing your return without mailing you 
a letter. If you are filing a joint return, you can enter 
either your or your spouse’s daytime phone number.
If your paid preparer is also a third-party designee 
(see below), you can enter your paid preparer phone 
number here.

Paid Preparer
Signature. Anyone you pay to prepare your return 
must sign it. Someone who prepares your return but 
does not charge you should not sign your return.

PTIN/SSN. The paid preparer must include his or 
her Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) in the 
space provided.
FEIN. The paid preparer must also include his or her 
firm’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), 
if applicable.
Third-Party Designee Box. You (not the paid 
preparer) must mark the box if you want the paid 
preparer to be a third-party designee. When the third-
party designee box is not checked, we cannot talk to 
the paid preparer about your return, which may delay 
the processing of the return. For more information 
about third-party designees, see below.
The paid preparer must give you a copy of the return 
for your records.

Third-Party Designee
To allow us to discuss your 2021 Form 2 return with 
your paid preparer and/or your friend, family member, 
or any other person you choose, mark the appropriate 
boxes and provide the required information on Form 2, 
page 2, Signature, Paid Preparer, and Third-Party 
Designee section.
The Paid Preparer designation box is located to the 
right of the “Firm’s FEIN” boxes. You must include the 
Preparer’s daytime phone number.
To designate someone other than, or in addition to, the 
paid preparer, mark the box below the “Paid preparer’s 
signature” field and above the “Name” field. You must 
include your designee’s name and phone number.
By selecting a Third-Party Designee, you are 
authorizing the designee to:

	● Discuss your 2021 Form 2 return;
	● Give us any information that is missing from your 

return, such as a missing Form W-2;
	● Call us for information about the processing of your 

return or the status of your refund or payments; and
	● Respond to notices from us about math errors, 

offsets, and return preparation. Note: the 
department will only send notices directly to you, 
not to the third-party designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to discuss any 
other tax year, receive any refund check, bind you to 
anything, or otherwise represent you before us.
The third-party designee authority only lasts one year 
from the due date of the 2021 return (without regard to 
extensions) and is invalid for amended returns filed one 
year after the original due date. This is April 18, 2023, 
for most people.
Please be aware that you cannot revoke this 
authorization.
If you want to expand the third-party designee’s 
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authorization (for example, to verify any estimated 
payments you’ll be making in the future or to discuss 
other tax years), use Form POA (Power of Attorney, 
Authorization to Disclose Tax Information). Form POA 
is available at MTRevenue.gov, or you can submit 
a POA through our TransAction Portal (TAP) at 
https://tap.dor.mt.gov.
If you are married filing separately on the same 
form or filing a joint return, review the following 
instructions carefully:

	● If you and your spouse are filing separately on the 
same form or filing a joint return, and a Third-Party 
Designee is marked, each of you is authorizing us 
to discuss the return with the designee.

	● If you are filing a joint return, you are 
automatically authorizing us to discuss the joint 
return with either spouse.

Farming Business Net Operating Loss 
Carryback Waiver
Mark the box if you choose to not carry back a 
farming business loss calculated on the 2021 
Montana Form NOL. You must make this election by 
the due date, including the extension for filing Form 2. 
This election cannot be revoked.

Amended Return Information
When amending a return, check the appropriate 
box(es) reflecting the reason(s) why you are 
amending your return. In the table, provide 
information about the lines you corrected that result 
in a change to your taxable income or to the credit(s) 
you are claiming.

Form 2, Schedule 1
Additional Income and Adjustments to Income
Line 1–Taxable Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of 
State and Local Income Taxes. Enter the same 
amount that you reported on your federal tax return. 
You need to include your state tax refund here and 
then report it as a subtraction from income on your 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 1, to calculate 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
Line 7–Unemployment Compensation. Enter the 
same amount of the unemployment compensation 
that you reported on your federal tax return. 
Unemployment compensation is exempt from 
Montana tax. Subtract this same amount on the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 7.
Lines 8a – d, o, and x–Other Income. Enter the 
amounts from federal Form 1040, Schedule 1, lines 
8a, 8b, 8c, 8d, and 8o on the corresponding lines. 
Combine the amounts from federal Form 1040, 

Schedule 1 lines 8e through 8n, 8p, and 8z and enter 
on line 8x.
Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income (GILTI): 
Include the same amount of GILTI that you included 
on your federal income tax return. If you made the 
election to have your GILTI taxed at the corporate 
rate for federal tax purposes under Internal Revenue 
Code 962, this election does not apply for Montana 
individual income tax. Your GILTI will be taxed at the 
individual income tax rate.
Line 13–Health Savings Account Deduction. Enter 
the same amount of federal health savings account 
contributions that you reported as deductible on your 
federal tax return.
Note: Be careful not to confuse this deduction with the 
Montana Medical Care Savings Account subtraction.
Line 24–Other Adjustments. List the type of other 
adjustments you are taking. If additional space is 
needed, attach a statement. Enter the amount from 
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 25.

Montana Medical Savings Account 
(MSA) Schedule
An account holder who establishes a Medical Savings 
Account (or whose employer establishes an account 
for them) to pay for eligible expenses can exclude 
contributions plus interest and other income earned 
on the account during the year. In 2021 contributions 
are limited to $4,000.
Do not confuse this Montana MSA with the federal 
Health Savings Account (HSA) that is deductible 
on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 13. You can participate 
in both programs. See your federal income tax 
instructions for information on your federal HSA.
MSA accounts are usually self-administered. If you 
are married filing jointly with your spouse or married 
filing separately with your spouse, each of you can 
qualify for your own Montana MSA and you each can 
exclude up to $4,000 plus interest or other earnings 
earned on this account during the year. You must 
each establish a separate account. In addition, you 
cannot commingle other funds with an MSA account.

Subtraction
Each MSA account holder must report their beginning 
and ending balance in this section.
Line 2–Total contributions for the year. Report the 
total amount of contributions for the year, limited to 
$4,000 in 2021.
Line 3–Earnings from the account: interest, 
dividends, capital gains, etc. Report the earnings 
for 2021 on line 3. Earnings can be found on the 

https://MTRevenue.gov
https://tap.dor.mt.gov
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Form 1099 you received from the financial institution 
where the account is held. Do not include earnings 
that are tax-exempt for federal purposes on this line.
Only residents of Montana are eligible to be account 
holders. If you established residency in another state, 
your ending balance must show 0 (zero) on line 5.

Nonqualified Withdrawal and Penalty
When you withdraw funds from your Montana 
Medical Savings Account for some purpose other 
than payment of eligible expenses, you must add 
this nonqualified withdrawal to Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 6. You incur a 10 percent penalty on 
these withdrawals unless you withdraw them on the 
last business day of your tax year.
Eligible expenses are medical and dental expenses 
usually allowed as itemized deductions under Internal 
Revenue Code 213(d), long-term care expenses, 
annuities and insurance, and family leave expenses. 
An eligible expense can be withdrawn from the account 
until January 15 of the following tax year, even if you 
established residency in another state.
A family leave expense means an expense, calculated 
monthly, approximating wages lost by an immediate 
family member for the purposes allowed under 
the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. The 
approximation is reached by multiplying the hourly 
wage that the caregiver would have been paid by the 
number of hours of work lost.
Line 1–Total withdrawals made during the year. 
Report your total withdrawals made during the year. 
In general, this line must equal the beginning balance 
minus the ending balance, plus the subtraction 
calculated for the year on line 4.
For accounts other than traditional savings and checking 
accounts (e.g., investment accounts), where the 
balance may vary periodically, report the total amount 
you withdrew on this line without regard to the formula 
referenced in the instructions. This reporting will reflect 
the actual withdrawals of your MSA for the year.
Line 2–Withdrawals for eligible expenses. Report 
your withdrawals of eligible expenses on line 2. You 
must be able to substantiate your eligible expenses 
with appropriate documentation. Any expense not 
substantiated by an invoice, receipts, or an employer’s 
statement, depending on the circumstances, is not an 
eligible withdrawal and cannot be reported on this line.
Line 3–Nonqualified withdrawals. Calculate your 
nonqualified total withdrawals by subtracting eligible 
withdrawals on line 2 from total withdrawals on line 1.
Line 4–Nonqualified withdrawals not subject to 
the 10 percent penalty. Report your nonqualified 
withdrawal not subject to the 10 percent penalty. 

It includes nonqualified withdrawals made on the 
last business day of the year, and if you established 
residency in another state, the balance on your 
account on the date you became a nonresident.
Line 5–Nonqualified withdrawals subject to 
penalty. The nonqualified withdrawal subject to penalty 
is calculated by subtracting line 4 from line 3. If you 
established residency in another state during the year 
and the result is less than zero, enter 0 (zero).
Your penalty on nonqualified withdrawals must be 
reported on your Contributions, Penalties, and Interest 
Schedule, line 5.

Montana Additions Schedule
To determine your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
you may have to make some additions to your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

General Additions
Line 1–Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted 
in 2020. If you received a federal income tax refund in 
2021 from federal taxes you claimed as an itemized 
deduction on your 2020 Montana tax return, you may 
need to report a portion or all your federal refund as 
income on your Montana tax return.
No addition is necessary if you claimed the standard 
deduction on your Form 2 for 2020, or if you limited 
your deduction to the amount of income tax after 
nonrefundable credit included on your 2020 return.
If you did not limit your 2020 deduction to federal 
income taxes assessed on your federal Form 1040, 
after nonrefundable credits, you may have to include 
a recovery on your Montana Additions Schedule. 
Payments of refundable credits are not included in 
this calculation because these refundable credits are 
not deductible as itemized deductions.
If your deduction for federal taxes paid in 2020 was 
limited to $5,000, or $10,000 if you filed jointly, your 
refund may or may not be taxable.

TIP: Use the Recovery of Federal Income Tax 
Deducted in 2020 Worksheet on Form 2, page 4, to 
figure how much of your refund is taxable.

If you and your spouse filed your federal tax return jointly 
and are now filing your Montana tax return separately, 
you each need to complete a separate Recovery of 
Federal Income Tax Deducted in 2020 Worksheet. 
Prorate your federal income tax refund between you and 
your spouse by applying the ratio of your 2019 federal 
income tax deduction to the total federal tax deducted.
If you received a refund for an amount deducted in 
2020 other than federal income tax, you must report 
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any recovery of that refund on Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 2.

Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted in 
2020 Worksheet
Line 2. Include in your federal refund the portion 
of payments that you deducted as payments of 
federal income tax but that were used to pay taxes 
which were not income taxes.
Some of the payments included on Itemized 
Deductions Schedule, lines 4a and 4b of your 2020 
return may be pre-payments of taxes other than 
federal income tax. For the purpose of the federal 
income tax deduction, federal income tax includes:

	● tax calculated on line 16 of your federal 
Form 1040, excluding any repayment 
of excess advance payments of the 
Health Coverage Tax Credit from federal 
Form 8885;

	● Alternative Minimum Tax reported on your 
federal Form 1040, Schedule 2, line 1;

	● Net Investment Income Tax reported on 
your federal Form 1040, Schedule 2, 
line 8 (federal Form 8960);

	● any recapture tax based on any federal 
credit or deduction;

	● Internal Revenue Code 965 net tax liability 
reported on your federal Form 1040, 
Schedule 2, line 9;

	● tax on excess golden parachute payments, 
Form W-2, code K; and

	● tax on accumulation distribution of trusts, 
federal Form 4970.

If the combined amount of federal tax withheld 
(line 4a) and the federal estimated tax payments 
(line 4b) reported in 2020 is more than the sum of all 
the taxes listed above after deduction of all federal 
credits on your 2020 federal Form 1040, enter this 
excess on line 2 of the worksheet. This amount 
includes the refund you received in 2021 and the 
payment that you were not allowed to deduct in 2020 
that did not result in a refund of your federal taxes.
Line 6. If you claimed nonrefundable credits, 
reduce the amount of your income taxes included 
on your 2020 federal Form 1040, line 16, by the 
amount of nonrefundable credits reported on your 
2020 federal Form 1040, line 21.

Line 2–Other Recoveries of Amounts Deducted 
in Earlier Years that Reduced Montana Taxable 
Income. To the extent that an itemized deduction you 
claimed on one of your previous Montana returns 
reduced the amount of your Montana income tax 
liability, any subsequent refund of the amount deducted 
is considered income in the year the refund is received.

If you received a refund of an expense you could have 
claimed as an itemized deduction in the year you used 
the standard deduction, your refund is not taxable.
For example, you may have received a refund in 2021, 
such as a federal income tax refund from 2019 and 
a casualty loss reimbursement for a loss claimed as 
a deduction in 2020. You elected to use the standard 
deduction in 2019. No addition is needed related 
to your refund from 2019 federal income tax return. 
To the extent that your deduction for casualty loss 
reduced your 2020 tax liability, you must include this 
reimbursement as income in 2021.
Recoveries must be added to your Montana income 
in the year you received the funds, up to the amount 
that the deductions reduced your Montana tax in 
the earlier year. To calculate your recovery, you 
will need to use the Taxable Recovery for Itemized 
Deductions Worksheet, on page 50 of the instructions. 
This worksheet helps you determine the amount of 
this addition for each previous tax year that some 
recovered funds were itemized. Complete a separate 
worksheet for each year.
Line 5–Adjustment for Smaller Federal Estate and 
Trust Taxable Distributions. The Montana taxable 
distribution that you received from an estate or trust 
may be greater than your federal taxable distribution 
from the same estate or trust. If so, the difference is 
an addition to Federal Adjusted Gross Income and 
you report it on this line.
Caution: Your Montana Schedule K-1 (FID-3) 
received from the trust or estate may show some 
specific additions, such as interest and mutual fund 
dividends from state bonds. Report these additions 
to the corresponding lines on the Montana Additions 
Schedule, not on this line.

Savings Accounts
Line 6–Medical Savings Account. If you made some 
nonqualified withdrawals from your account in 2021, 
report the amount here. See the Montana Medical 
Savings Account Schedule instructions on page 15.
Line 7–First-time Home-Buyer Savings Account 
Nonqualified Withdrawals. If you made nonqualified 
withdrawals from your account in 2021, report the 
amount here. Refer to Montana Form FTB for detailed 
instructions.

Business Additions
Line 8–Allocation of Compensation to Spouse in Sole 
Proprietorship. If you are the spouse of a sole proprietor 
reporting net income on your federal Schedules C or F, 
and you regularly and systematically provide substantial 
personal services in the operations of the business and 
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are not paid a salary or wage, your spouse can allocate 
a reasonable amount of compensation to you to reduce 
his or her taxable income.
This allocation of income is available only if you file 
separately (Filing Statuses 2a, 2b, or 2c).
Your spouse must base this allocation on an amount 
that is equivalent to the value of the services that you 
provide. It is considered taxable income to you.
Services that you provided for operating your household 
or services that are incidental to your spouse’s operations 
cannot be used as a basis for allocation of income.
Report on this line the amount of income allocated to 
you corresponding to the subtraction on the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 21 (on the spouse’s 
column if using Filing Status 2a).
Line 9–Federal Net Operating Loss Deduction. 
The federal Net Operating Loss deduction that 
you reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 8a, may 
be different from the amount of your Montana Net 
Operating Loss deduction calculated on the Montana 
Form NOL. Enter the amount of your federal Net 
Operating Loss carryover from line 8a. You will need 
to determine your Montana Net Operating Loss 
deduction using Montana Form NOL and report it on 
the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 22.
Line 10–Addition for Dependent Care Assistance 
Credit Adjustment. If you claimed business expenses 
for providing dependent care assistance on your 
federal Schedules C, E, or F and now are claiming the 
Montana Dependent Care Assistance Credits on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 21, you must 
add the amount of the dependent care assistance 
expenses used to calculate your Montana Dependent 
Care Assistance credits on Montana Form DCAC as an 
addition to Federal Adjusted Gross Income on this line.
Line 11–Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account Taxable Distributions. A distribution from 
your Montana Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account is taxable in either of the following situations:

	● The distribution is from a fund that was 
previously excluded from Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income as a Farm and Ranch Risk 
Management Account deposit; or

	● The distribution was not distributed within five years 
from the date the original deposit was made.

Refer to Montana Form FRM for detailed instructions. 
Report your Montana Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account taxable distributions as an addition to your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income on this line.

You may also be subject to a penalty on your Farm 
and Ranch Management Account distribution if it 
is not distributed within five years from the date 
of the original deposit. See the instructions for 
Contributions, Penalties, and Interest Schedule, 
line 5, for more information on the Farm and Ranch 
Risk Management Account 10 percent penalty.
Line 12–Total Additions from Montana Schedule K-1 
(PTE), Part 3, Column I, Line 1. If you received 
Montana Schedules K-1 from a pass-through entity, 
report the total amount of everywhere additions (Column 
I). Do not report these additions separately on the 
Additions Schedule. Include a copy of the Montana 
Schedules K-1 you received.
Line 13–Title Plant Depreciation and Amortization. 
If you are taking a federal deduction for depreciation 
and amortization on a title plant, you must add back 
to your Federal Adjusted Gross Income the amount 
of this depreciation and amortization when you 
determine your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
Line 14–Other Additions. Enter any other additions to 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income not described in lines 1 
through 13. Some examples of other additions include:

	● You may have a passive or rental loss carryover 
that is larger for federal purposes than for 
Montana purposes because of differences in 
state and federal filings in prior years. If this 
results in a larger passive or rental income 
reportable on your Montana tax return, enter the 
additional amount here.

	● You may have a larger capital loss carryover 
for federal purposes than for Montana. If this 
results in larger reportable capital gains, enter 
the additional amount. Note that when computing 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income, you 
can carry over capital losses incurred prior to 
becoming a Montana resident or losses from 
activity in another state.

	● If you are a shareholder in an S corporation 
that is required to pay a federal income tax on 
its income, and this S corporation did not issue 
a Montana Schedule K-1, add to your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income that portion of your 
income that has been reduced by the federal 
income taxes paid by your S corporation. Refer 
to your federal Schedule K-1 to determine the 
amount of income that you must include as an 
addition to your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

	● If you claimed any Montana tax credit and 
calculated your Federal Adjusted Gross Income by 
reducing expenses for qualified expenditures, then 
you must add back these expenses on line 14.
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Retirement
Line 15–Subtotal to Figure Taxable Social Security 
Benefits. Combine lines 1 through 14. This subtotal 
helps you figure your taxable amount of Social 
Security benefits for Montana tax purposes. If you did 
not receive any Social Security benefits in 2021, enter 
the amount on line 15 on line 17.
Line 16–Addition to Federal Taxable Social 
Security. Your Social Security benefits taxable to 
Montana may be different from the amount of taxable 
benefits that you reported on Form 2, line 6b. Determine 
if you must enter an addition by completing the Taxable 
Social Security Benefits Schedule on Form 2, page 6.
Before you can complete your Taxable Social Security 
Benefits Schedule, you must complete your Montana 
Subtractions Schedule up to line 35.

Montana Subtractions Schedule
To determine your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
you may have to make some subtractions from your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

General Subtractions
Line 1–State Income Tax Refunds. Income tax 
refunds received from Montana or another state are 
not taxable. If you are required to include your state 
income tax refund in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 1, you can 
exclude that amount on this line.
Line 2–Interest and Mutual Funds Dividends 
from Federal Bonds, Notes, and Obligations. If 
you received interest on United States government 
obligations and mutual fund dividends attributable 
to that interest, you can subtract these amounts 
from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income if they 
are included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
on Form 2. In addition, if you received interest on 
obligations from U.S. territory or government agency 
obligations that are specifically exempt by federal 
law, or any mutual fund dividends attributable to this 
interest, you can subtract these amounts from your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income if they are included in 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income on Form 2.
Interest on obligations that are only guaranteed by the 
United States government are not tax exempt. If you 
received interest or mutual fund dividends attributable 
to Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie 
Mae) bonds, Federal National Mortgage Association 
(Fannie Mae) bonds, or Federal Home Loan Mortgage 
Corporation (FHLMAC) securities, you cannot 
subtract this interest or mutual fund dividends.

United States obligations that are exempt include:
	● Series E, EE, F, G, H, and I savings bonds
	● U.S. treasury bills
	● U.S. government notes
	● U.S. government certificates.

Refer to your federal Form 1099-DIV to determine 
what percentage of your dividends qualifies for this 
exemption.
Line 3–Partial Interest Exemption for Taxpayers 
65 and Older. If you are single and age 65 or older 
at the end of 2021, you can exempt up to $800 of the 
interest income that you reported in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income.
If you are married and are filing a joint return with your 
spouse and at least one of you is age 65 or older at 
the end of 2021, you can exempt up to $1,600 of the 
interest income that you reported in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income.
If you are married and filing your return separately and 
are age 65 or older at the end of 2021, you can exempt 
up to $800 of the interest income that you reported in your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income. Note, however, that you 
are not allowed to exclude interest income earned by and 
reported by your spouse.
When you determine the amount of your interest 
income subject to this exemption, consider the 
distributions commonly called dividends on deposits or 
share accounts as interest. Under no circumstances 
may you exempt more interest income than what you 
have reported in your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
Line 4–Adjustment for Larger Federal Estate and 
Trust Taxable Distribution. The Montana taxable 
distribution that you received from an estate or trust 
may be less than your federal taxable distribution 
from the same estate or trust. If so, the difference is a 
subtraction from Federal Adjusted Gross Income, and 
you report it on this line.
Caution: Your Montana Schedule K-1 received 
from the trust or estate may show some specific 
subtractions, such as exempt interest. Report them on 
the corresponding lines on the Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, not on this line.
Line 5–Exemption for Certain Income of Your 
Child Taxed to the Parents. If your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income included unearned income of a 
dependent child as determined on federal Form 8814, 
you may be able to exclude the unearned income 
from your Montana Adjusted Gross Income. You can 
exclude the unearned income from your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income if your child’s gross income 
does not exceed $4,830 or if they file their own 
Montana tax return.
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Line 6–Recoveries of Amounts Deducted in Earlier 
Years That Did Not Reduce Montana Income. If you 
are required to include in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income any recovery of amounts that were refunded 
to you after you claimed the deduction of the expense 
on a prior federal income tax return, and if this previous 
deduction did not reduce your Montana income tax 
liability in the year of that deduction, you can subtract 
the amount of this recovery from your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income.
A distribution received from a pension trust or similar tax 
deferral scheme allowed under the Internal Revenue 
Code does not constitute a recovery for federal tax 
purposes, but the amount is included in gross income.

Employment
Line 7–Unemployment Compensation. If you 
received unemployment benefits from Montana or 
from another state, these benefits are exempt from 
Montana tax. If you reported taxable unemployment 
benefits on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 7, enter the 
same amount of these benefits on this line.
Do not report the Montana Return-to-Work Bonus 
payment on this line. This payment is not considered 
unemployment compensation and is not exempt from 
Montana tax.
Line 8–Tribal Income When Exempt. If you are 
an enrolled member of a tribe who lives on the 
reservation governed by your tribe, you can subtract 
the following income that can be sourced to the 
reservation governed by your tribe:

	● wages earned within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● all interest, dividends, pensions, annuities, and 
any income received from the use of intangible 
properties;

	● income, including farming, from real properties 
located within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● any business income from activities carried on 
within the exterior boundaries of your reservation.

If you did not reside on the reservation governed by 
your tribe for the entire year, you can subtract only those 
wages or other income that you earned while you lived 
and worked on your own reservation.
Report the details on Montana Form ETM and include 
it with your Form 2.
Line 9–Certain Taxed Tips and Gratuities. You 
can subtract from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
any tips and gratuities that you have received from 
customers while you worked in the food, beverage, or 
lodging industry that you reported as part of your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income. All other tips and gratuities that 

you received for providing services in other types of 
businesses—such as hair stylists, paper carriers, and 
river guides—cannot be subtracted.
Line 10–Workers’ Compensation Benefits. Benefits 
received under the Workers’ Compensation laws 
are not taxed by Montana. If you reported taxable 
Workers’ Compensation benefits in your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income, enter the amount of these 
benefits on this line.
Line 11–Certain Health Insurance Premiums 
Taxed to Employee. If you are a shareholder in 
an S Corporation, subtract the cost of your health 
insurance premiums to the extent they are included in 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
Your premiums cannot be deducted more than once 
on Form 2. If the premiums were already deducted on 
the Form 2, Schedule 1, line 17, or on the Itemized 
Deductions Schedule, line 2, you cannot report them 
on this line.
Line 12a–Student Loan Repayments Taxed to a 
Health Care Professional. If you are a health care 
professional licensed in Montana, you can exclude from 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income up to $5,000 of any 
health-related student educational loan repayments that 
are paid on your behalf when this repayment is included 
in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
To qualify for this exclusion, you must be a health care 
professional who:

	● is licensed in Montana;
	● participates in a federal, state, or qualified private 

loan repayment program (these repayment 
programs are generally through the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services and 
its Nursing Education Loan Repayment Program, 
the Montana Rural Physician Incentive Program, 
or a qualified private program with a licensed 
health care facility in Montana); and

	● serves a significant portion of a designated 
geographic area, a special population, or a 
facility population in a federally designated 
Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA), 
a Medically Underserved Area (MUA), or a 
Medically Underserved Population (MUP).

You can determine if you are serving in an area listed 
above by contacting your employer or the Montana 
Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Primary Care Office at (406) 444-3934 or go to 
dphhs.mt.gov.
Line 12b–Student Loan Repayments for Educator 
Included in Gross Income. If you are an educator 
who received loan assistance through the Quality 
Educator Loan Assistance Program, you can subtract up 
to $5,000 for the amount of loan repayment assistance 

http://dphhs.mt.gov
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you received during the tax year from your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income. The Quality Educator Loan 
Assistance Program provides paid loan assistance 
to educators who worked in a subject identified as 
a “critical quality educator shortage area” and teach 
or work at an “impacted school.” For information on 
the program, contact the Montana Office of Public 
Instruction at (406) 444-3693 or go to opi.mt.gov.
Note: The amount of employer-paid student loan 
payments that have been excluded from an employee’s 
gross income, are not eligible deductions on lines 12a 
or 12b. Only amounts in excess of the federal exclusion 
are eligible for the deductions on lines 12a and 12b.

Military
Line 13–Military Salary of Active Duty Service 
Person. If you are receiving military compensation as 
a member of the regular U.S. Armed Forces on active 
duty, or as a member of the National Guard under 
Title 10 USC orders, and this compensation is included 
in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income, you can use 
this line to subtract your basic, special, and incentive 
pay from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
If you receive wages under the Combat Zone Exclusion 
that are not included on your Form W-2, Box 1, they will 
not be included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
so do not subtract that pay again. Do not include this 
amount on this line. However, if you are a commissioned 
officer who could not exclude all your wages received 
under the Combat Zone Exclusion because it exceeded 
the highest rate of enlisted pay for each part of the 
month you served in a combat zone, or because you 
were hospitalized as a result of your service there, you 
may include the additional combat pay that was included 
in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income on this line.
If you are a Reserve member, include the salaries you 
received when on active duty in the regular armed forces 
on this line. Compensation received when completing 
your annual training and inactive duty trainings is not 
deductible and must not be included on this line.
If you are a member of the National Guard, you can 
add your compensation received under Title 10 orders, 
or as part of a homeland defense activity as defined 
in 32 USC 901, or as part of a contingency operation 
as defined in 10 USC 101, to this line. Compensation 
received for completing your annual training, inactive 
duty trainings, or when you engaged in “active Guard 
and Reserve duty” as defined in 10 USC 101, is not 
deductible and must not be included on this line.
Do not add any retirement, retainer, equivalent pay, or 
allowances on this line.

If you claim this exemption, include verification of your 
military status (such as your military orders) with your 
income tax return. Contact the department or visit 
MTRevenue.gov for more information.
Line 14–Life Insurance Premiums Reimbursement 
or Death Benefits for National Guard and 
Reservist. If you are a Montana National Guard 
member or Reservist who is serving on active duty in 
a contingency operation and you were reimbursed by 
the U.S. Department of Defense for the life insurance 
premiums that you paid for benefits under the service 
members’ group life insurance program, you do not 
have to add the Department of Defense reimbursement 
when you figure your Montana tax. To the extent this 
federal reimbursement is taxable to you for federal and 
Montana income tax purposes, it has already been 
included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
An adjustment to your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income is needed if you also received a premium 
reimbursement from the Montana Department of 
Military Affairs for additional life insurance premiums 
you paid (up to $17.50 a month). The Montana 
reimbursement is taxable income for federal income 
tax purposes, but it is exempt for Montana income tax 
purposes, so you can deduct these reimbursements 
from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income in arriving 
at your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
If you received a death benefit payment from the 
Montana Department of Military Affairs because you 
are the survivor of a member of the National Guard 
who died while on state active duty orders, and this 
death benefit is included in your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income, that amount is exempt from state taxes 
in Montana and you can subtract it here.

Saving Accounts
Line 15–Medical Care Savings Account (MSA) 
Deposits and Earnings. Report the amount on the 
MSA Schedule, Subtraction section, line 4.
Line 16–First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Deposits and Earnings. Your Montana First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account provides you with the 
opportunity to subtract up to $3,000 of contributions 
plus interest or other earnings on these funds annually.
If you are married filing jointly with your spouse or 
married filing separately with your spouse, both of you 
can qualify for your own Montana First-Time Home 
Buyer savings account and you each can exclude up to 
$3,000 plus interest or other earnings on this principal 
annually. To qualify for this exclusion, establish a 
separate or joint account with another person who also 
qualifies as a First-Time Home Buyer, and contribute to 
your account(s) prior to purchasing your first-time home.

http://opi.mt.gov
https://MTRevenue.gov
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If you file your income tax return separately with your 
spouse and you established a joint First-Time Home 
Buyer Savings Account with your spouse, you cannot 
take this exclusion.
Therefore, we recommend that you and your spouse 
establish separate First-Time Home Buyer Savings 
Accounts instead of a jointly held account. These 
separate accounts qualify both of you for the $3,000 
annual exclusion whether you file jointly or separately 
with your spouse.
The contributed funds can be withdrawn only for 
the down payment and allowable closing costs for 
purchasing your single-family residence in Montana. 
Examples of eligible expenses include down payment, 
closing costs, broker’s fees, appraisal costs, credit 
history report, points, pro-rated property taxes, and loan 
origination fees. If you withdraw any of these funds for 
other purposes, they are subject to tax in the year that 
they are withdrawn, and they may be subject to a 10 
percent penalty if they are withdrawn on any day other 
than the last business day of the year.
For further instructions on the Montana First-Time Home 
Buyer Savings Account, see Montana Form FTB. When 
you claim this exclusion, include a copy of Form FTB 
with your Montana tax return.

Note for lines 17 and 18
If you are planning to deposit all or part of your 
refund for Tax Year 2021 in a 529 account 
(see Form 2, page 12), this contribution will be 
deductible on line 17 or 18 in the tax year the 
contribution was made. For example, if the contribution 
is made in 2022 with the filing of your 2021 tax return, 
it will be deductible on the 2022 return.

Line 17–Family Education Savings Account 
Deposits and Earnings. You can subtract up to $3,000 
of the contributions that you made during 2021 to one or 
more Montana Family Education Savings Accounts.
If you are married, both you and your spouse can 
exclude up to $3,000 for contributions that you made 
to one or more Education Savings Accounts. This 
exclusion is allowed for contributions that you make to 
an Education Savings Account that is owned by you or 
jointly with your spouse. As part of your exclusion, you 
may also be able to include amounts that you use to 
establish a Family Education Savings Account (under 
the Montana Uniform Transfers to Minors Act or another 
state’s Uniform Gifts to Minors Act) for your child or 
stepchild if that child is a Montana resident.

Withdrawals of your contributions and earnings from 
an Education Savings Account are not taxable to you 
if you withdraw them to pay for qualified education 
expenses. Qualified education expenses are defined in 
26 U.S.C. 529 and include:

	● tuition, fees, books, supplies, and equipment 
required for enrollment or attendance at an 
eligible postsecondary school,

	● expenses for special needs services needed 
by a special needs beneficiary in connection 
with enrollment or attendance at an eligible 
postsecondary school,

	● expenses for room and board for students who 
are enrolled at least half-time at an eligible 
postsecondary school,

	● computer or peripheral equipment, software, or 
internet access if it is used by the beneficiary 
while enrolled at an eligible postsecondary school,

	● fees, books, supplies, and equipment related 
to the participation in an eligible apprenticeship 
program certified with the U.S. Secretary of Labor,

	● up to $10,000 of principal or interest on a qualified 
student loan for a designated beneficiary or a 
designated beneficiary’s sibling, or

	● up to $10,000 of tuition for enrollment at an 
elementary or secondary (K-12) public, private, or 
religious school.

If you withdraw these contributions for purposes other 
than to pay for qualified education expenses, they are 
subject to a recapture tax of 6.9 percent, which should 
be reported on Tax Liability Schedule, line 1.
To establish your Montana Family Education Savings 
Account or for additional information, call the 
Achieve Montana Program at (877) 486-9271 or visit 
achievemontana.com.
Contributions to another state’s 529 College Savings 
Plan qualify for the deduction. The rules on qualifying 
contributions to the Montana Family Education Savings 
Program apply to these contributions as well. Please 
note that contributions to a state’s prepaid tuition plan 
do not qualify. The department may ask for a copy of 
any statement(s) from the plan administrator after you 
file your return.
Line 18–Exempt Montana Achieving a Better Life 
Experience Act (ABLE) Account Deposits. You can 
subtract contributions that you made to one or more 
qualifying Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 
accounts during the tax year, not to exceed $3,000.
Generally, qualified ABLE accounts are established to 
support another person’s qualified disability expenses 
and meet the requirements of 26 USC 529A. If you 
are married, you and your spouse can each exclude 
up to $3,000 for contributions that you made to one or 

https://achievemontana.com/
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more qualifying ABLE accounts. This exclusion is only 
allowed for contributions that you make to qualifying 
ABLE accounts that are owned by you, your spouse, 
or a child, a grandchild, or a sibling related to you by 
blood, marriage, or legal adoption.

Pre-2007 Status Adjustments
Line 19–Capital Loss Adjustment. You may have 
capital losses previously used on your federal return 
before 2007 but not on your Montana return. This 
occurs with married taxpayers who were limited to 
a net capital loss of $1,500, resulting in different 
carryover amounts. Married couples filing separate 
Montana returns are now allowed a combined net 
capital loss of up to $3,000.
Use this line if you reported capital losses separately 
and individually on tax returns of previous years, 
and you have capital losses carryover for Montana 
tax purposes not included in your federal capital 
losses carryover. The sum of capital losses reported 
on Form 2, line 7, and the amount of capital losses 
reported on this line, cannot exceed the maximum 
capital losses allowable on a joint return or a married 
filing separately return.
Line 20–Passive Loss Adjustment. You may have 
passive losses previously used on your federal return 
before 2007 but not on your Montana return.
This occurs with married taxpayers who were required to 
recompute the allowable passive loss resulting in different 
carryover amounts. Married couples filing separate 
Montana returns are now allowed the same combined 
passive loss amount as if they were filing a joint return.

Business Subtractions
Business subtractions result from differences in the tax 
treatment of business income and business deductions.
Line 21–Allocation of Compensation to Spouse in 
Sole Proprietorship. This subtraction is available to a 
sole proprietor reporting net income on Form 2 from their 
federal Schedules C or F, and who is filing separately 
(Filing Statuses 2a, 2b, or 2c). If you are filing jointly, you 
cannot use this subtraction.
This allocation usually results in less overall taxes for 
the spouses.
If your spouse regularly and systematically provides 
substantial personal services in the operations of 
your business and is not paid a salary or wage, you 
can subtract a reasonable amount of compensation 
equivalent to the services that your spouse provides 
on this line.
This allocation reduces your taxable income as the 
sole proprietor of the business.
When you claim this subtraction to income, be 

prepared to provide us with verification of those 
services performed and the substantial contribution 
made by your spouse. You cannot use services that 
your spouse provides for operating your household 
or services that are incidental to your operations as a 
basis for allocating income to your spouse.
This allocation is considered taxable income to your 
spouse. It must be reported as an addition on your 
Montana Additions Schedule, line 8 (on the spouse’s 
column if your filing status is 2a).
Line 22–Montana Net Operating Loss Carryover. 
The Montana Net Operating Loss (NOL) deduction 
carried over from previous years may be different 
from the amount of your federal Net Operating Loss 
deduction carryover. On this line, enter the amount 
of your Montana NOL deduction from the Class A/B 
NOL Carryover Determination Schedule on the 2021 
Montana Form NOL. For further instructions on how 
to determine your Montana NOL deduction, see the 
Montana Form NOL instructions.
Line 23–Subtraction for Business-Related Expenses 
for Purchasing Recycled Material. You can subtract 
10 percent of the expenses that your business paid 
for purchasing recycled products from your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income. This deduction is allowed only 
to businesses within Montana. It applies to products 
purchased that contain recycled material at a level 
consistent with industry standards or consistent with 
the standards established by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency. If this deduction is passed through 
to you from a partnership, the share of this additional 
deduction is based on the same percentage used to 
report the partnership’s income or loss for Montana tax 
purposes; or, if an S Corporation, the pro rata share of 
the corporation’s cost of investing in equipment.
Line 24–Business expenses not included on Form 2, 
line 11, due to an existing federal credit taken. If you 
incurred a business expense which was disallowed 
because you claimed a federal credit, you can deduct 
this business expense for Montana tax purposes. 
This subtraction includes wage deductions reduced 
by federal targeted jobs credit or the credits for the 
portion of employer Social Security taxes paid with 
respect to employee cash tips.
Do not include any recoveries of capital expenditures 
through depreciation, depletion, or amortization. 
Depreciation, depletion, or amortization deductions 
must be the same for federal and Montana income tax 
purposes.
Line 25–Certain Expenses Incurred by Medical 
Marijuana Providers. If you are a Medical Marijuana 
provider registered in the state of Montana, you can 
subtract on this line your ordinary and necessary 
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business expenses typically disallowed under Internal 
Revenue Code 280E.
Under Internal Revenue Code 280E, providers are 
generally not allowed a deduction on their federal return 
for business expenses associated with the production 
and sale of marijuana other than those directly related to 
the cost of manufacturing the product.
Line 26–Sales of Land to Beginning Farmers. You 
can subtract 100 percent of your income or capital gain 
(up to a maximum of $50,000) that you recognized from 
the sale of at least 80 acres or more of land to a beginning 
farmer at 9 percent or less interest on a long-term 
contract. To qualify for this deduction, you need to apply 
to and be approved by the Agricultural Loan Authority 
of the Montana Department of Agriculture. You need to 
include a copy of this approval with your individual income 
tax return. To learn more about the Montana Beginning 
Farm/Ranch Loan Program, call the agricultural finance 
program manager of the Montana Department of 
Agriculture at (406) 444-5420 or visit https://agr.mt.gov/
Topics/E-G/Grants-Pages/Beginning-Farm-Ranch-Loans.
Line 27–Exempt Capital Gains and Dividends 
from Small Business Investment Companies. If 
you have capital gains or dividend income from an 
investment in a small business investment company 
(SBIC) included in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income, you can exempt these capital gains or 
dividends if all the following conditions are met:

	● The SBIC must be organized with the purpose 
of diversifying and strengthening employment 
opportunities of companies in Montana.

	● Within one year of being licensed by the U.S. Small 
Business Administration, 75 percent of the SBIC’s 
investments must be in manufacturing or timber 
companies located in Montana.

	● The SBIC’s manufacturing and timber companies 
must have at least 50 percent of their employees 
working in Montana.

Line 28–Certain Gains Recognized by a 
Liquidating Corporation. You can subtract from your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income the portion of your 
gain from the liquidation of a reporting corporation 
to the extent that this gain is included in the gross 
income of the liquidating corporation’s Montana 
corporate income tax return.
Line 29–Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account Deposits. You can subtract any deposits you 
made into a Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account 
equal to the lesser of 20 percent of the net income that is 
attributable to your agricultural business, or $20,000. This 
account is designed to be used as a risk management 
tool for your individual or family farm corporation’s 
agricultural business. It is established as a Montana trust 

with your financial institution as the trustee.
Amounts that you contributed to your Farm and Ranch 
Risk Management Account that were excluded from 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income in prior years 
are taxable to you and should be included in your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income when you distribute 
your funds. Amounts that you contributed to your Farm 
and Ranch Risk Management Account that are not 
distributed before the last business day on the fifth 
year from the date that this contribution was deposited 
are considered distributed and are assessed a 10 
percent penalty on the amount of tax resulting from the 
Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account principal. 
For further instructions about the Montana Farm and 
Ranch Risk Management Account, see Montana Form 
FRM. When you claim this exclusion, include a copy of 
Form FRM with your Montana tax return.
Line 30–Donation of Mineral Exploration 
Information. If you received a Montana Schedule K-1 
showing a deduction, or you incurred the expense 
yourself, for the donation of mineral exploration 
information to the Montana Tech Foundation within 
the limitations of 15-32-510, MCA, you can subtract 
this amount on this line. This deduction was repealed 
and will no longer be available after Tax Year 2021.
Line 31– Capital Gain on Eligible Sale of Mobile 
Home Park. If you were the owner of a mobile 
home park and you sold the park to a tenants’ or 
mobile home park residents’ association, a 501(c)(3) 
organization or a county or municipal housing 
authority, you may be able to subtract all of the capital 
gain you recognized.
Line 32–Total subtractions from Montana 
Schedules K-1 (PTE), Part 3, Column I, Line 2. 
If you received Montana Schedules K-1 from a pass-
through entity, report the total amount of everywhere 
subtractions (Column I). Do not report these subtractions 
separately on the Subtractions Schedule. Include a copy 
of the Montana Schedules K-1 you received.

Retirement
Line 33–Partial Retirement Disability Income 
Exemption for Taxpayers Under Age 65. You 
can qualify for a partial retirement disability income 
exemption of up to $5,200 if you are:

	● under the age of 65; and
	● retired as permanent and totally disabled; and
	● not treating your disability income as a pension 

and annuity.
You are permanently and totally disabled if you are 
unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity, if 
you have been medically determined to be physically 
or mentally impaired, and if your condition is expected 

https://agr.mt.gov/Topics/E-G/Grants-Pages/Beginning-Farm-Ranch-Loans
https://agr.mt.gov/Topics/E-G/Grants-Pages/Beginning-Farm-Ranch-Loans
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to last at least 12 months.
Your disability income is generally reported with a 
Distribution Code 3 on your federal Form 1099-R. It 
can also be reported on your Form W-2.
The exemption is phased out when your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income is above $15,000. This 
limitation applies to married couples based on their 
combined Adjusted Gross Income. Complete this 
following worksheet to figure your exemption. When 
married couples are both claiming the exemption, they 
can allocate the exemption amount on line 11 (see 
below) as desired.

Column A Column B
1 Retirement disability benefits received

2 Multiply $100 by the number of weeks 
you received benefits

3 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2
4 Add column A and B
5 Enter the total of Montana Subtractions 

Schedule, line 36, without this exemption
6 Deduct line 5 from Form 2, line 11
7 Add Montana Additions Schedule, 

line 16, to line 6
8 Combine column A and B of line 7
9 Your income limitation $15,000

10 Subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter the 
result, but not less than zero

11 
 
 

Subtract line 10 from line 4 and enter the 
result, but not less than zero. 
This is your partial retirement disability 
income exemption.

Line 34–Subtraction for Federal Taxable Tier 
II Railroad Retirement Benefits. Subtract your 
taxable Tier II Railroad Retirement benefits included 
on Form 2, line 5b, on this line. Your taxable pension 
and annuity income may include your taxable portion 
of Tier II Railroad Retirement benefits that are paid by 
the Railroad Retirement Board. These benefits are 100 
percent exempt from Montana income tax.
Line 35–Partial Pension, Annuity, and IRA Income 
Exemption. If you have reported taxable retirement 
income on your Form 2, line 4b or 5b, you may be 
entitled to a partial exemption of this income. Qualifying 
pension, annuity, and IRA income is reported on federal 
Form 1099-R with distribution code 7.
Premature distributions, death benefits, and early 
withdrawals of retirement income do not qualify for the 
retirement income exemption. Early distributions, which 
require payment of the federal 5 percent or 10 percent 

additional tax, do not qualify for this exemption.
Your retirement exemption is subject to two limitations:

	● First, you cannot exclude more than $4,400 per 
taxpayer for the 2021 tax year;

	● Second, your exclusion is reduced by $2 for 
every dollar your 2021 Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income exceeds $36,700, regardless of your 
filing status.

If you are filing jointly with your spouse, you can 
exclude the lesser of each spouse’s retirement 
income or $4,400 (up to $8,800) if your joint Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is $36,700 or less.

Example: Jim and Pam are married filing jointly 
and have a Federal Adjusted Gross Income of 
$35,400. Jim has a $25,000 retirement distribution 
and Pam has a $2,300 retirement distribution. 
Jim’s retirement exemption is $4,400, which is the 
lesser of $4,400 or his retirement income. Pam’s 
exemption is $2,300, which is the lesser of her 
retirement income or $4,400. Their Partial Pension, 
Annuity, and IRA Income Exemption is $6,700.

If both you and your spouse received retirement income 
and you are filing your income tax return separately 
on the same form or on separate forms, the lesser of 
your retirement income or $4,400 applies separately to 
both spouses as long as your separately stated Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is $36,700 or less.
When your Federal Adjusted Gross Income exceeds 
$36,700, your retirement exemption is reduced $2 for 
every $1 that your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is 
over $36,700.
For example, if your Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
is $37,400, your retirement exemption is $3,000 
($4,400 - ($700 x $2) = $3,000).
If your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is more than 
$38,900 ($4,400 - ($2,200 x $2) = $0), you are not 
eligible for the exemption.

TIP: If you are married and both of you receive 
pension, annuity, or IRA income you are more likely to 
be able to deduct $4,400 each if you file separately.

Complete the Partial Pension, Annuity, and IRA 
Income Exemption Schedule on Form 2, page 6, to 
determine the amount of your exemption.

Line 36–Subtotal to Figure Taxable Social Security 
Benefits. Combine lines 1 through 35. This subtotal 
helps you figure your taxable amount of Social 
Security benefits for Montana tax purposes. If you 
did not receive any Social Security benefits in 2021, 
report 0 (zero) on line 37.



Page 262021 Montana Form 2 Instructions

Line 37–Subtraction to Federal Taxable Social 
Security/Tier I Railroad Retirement. Your Social 
Security benefits taxable to Montana may be different 
from the amount of taxable benefits that you reported 
on Form 2, line 6b. Determine if you must enter a 
subtraction by completing the Taxable Social Security 
Benefits Schedule on Form 2, page 6.
Montana does not tax Tier I Railroad Retirement benefits.
Add your Social Security subtraction from the Taxable 
Social Security Schedule, if any, and any amount of 
Tier I Railroad Retirement benefits included on Form 2, 
line 6b. Report the total on this line.

Partial Pension, Annuity, and IRA Income 
Exemption, and Taxable Social Security 
Benefits Schedules
If you do not need to use these schedules to calculate 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income, do not include 
this page with your return.
Partial Pension, Annuity, and IRA Income 
Exemption Schedule. If you are married filing jointly 
and both spouses have retirement income, complete 
lines 2 and 3a in Columns A and B as if you were filing 
separately. Complete lines 3b – 7 in Column A only. 
All other filing statuses will follow the instructions for 
lines 1 through 7.
Line 2. If you are married filing jointly and both 
spouses have retirement income, enter the primary 
spouse’s retirement income in Column A and the 
secondary spouse’s retirement income in Column B.
Line 3a. If you are married filing jointly and both 
spouses have retirement income, enter the smaller of 
$4,400 or the spouse’s total retirement income in the 
column attributable to each spouse.
Line 3b. Only taxpayers married filing jointly complete 
this line. Combine each spouse’s exemption from 
lines 3a in Columns A and B.
Lines 4 – 7. If you are married filing jointly, complete 
Column A only.

Standard Deduction Worksheet
Use this worksheet to calculate the standard 
deduction you can claim if you do not choose to 
itemize your deductions. Note that if you choose 
to use the standard deduction, you do not need to 
include Form 2, page 7, with your return.

Itemized Deductions Schedule
Use the Itemized Deductions Schedule to calculate 
your itemized deductions. Your Montana itemized 
deductions may be different from your federal itemized 
deductions as some federal deductions are not allowed 

on your Montana tax return, and some state deductions 
are not allowed your federal tax return.
Do not forget to mark the box on Form 2, line 15, if 
you elect to itemize your deductions.

Medical and Dental Expenses
Line 1–Medical and Dental Expenses. Enter 
your medical expenses paid in 2021 after you have 
deducted from these expenses any payments that 
you received from your insurance company or other 
sources. The expenses allowed on line 1 are the same 
medical and dental expenses that are allowed under 
the Internal Revenue Code. Do not include expenses 
that are already deductible on another line, such as:

	● Medical insurance and long-term care insurance 
premiums paid in 2021 that are claimed as a 
deduction on lines 2 and 3 below;

	● Health insurance premiums that are paid by 
your employer and are excluded from Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income on your Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 11; or

	● Medical expenses paid with funds withdrawn 
from your Montana Medical Savings Account.

Follow the instructions for lines 1c and 2 to figure the 
amount of your medical and dental expenses you 
can deduct.
Line 2–Medical Insurance Premiums. If you pay 
your own medical insurance premiums for coverage for 
yourself and your family, you may be eligible to deduct 
100 percent of these medical insurance premiums.
In addition, the supplemental part of Medicare insurance 
(Medicare B) and the premiums you pay for Medicare 
Part D insurance from your Social Security benefits are 
100 percent deductible on this line.
To qualify to deduct 100 percent of your medical 
insurance premiums, you must meet all of the 
following criteria:

	● Your premiums must be paid for health and 
medical insurance coverage. Your life insurance 
premiums are not deductible.

	● Your premiums cannot have been paid through 
a federal or state medical care savings account, 
such as the federal Health Savings Account or the 
Montana Medical Care Savings Account.

	● Your premiums cannot have been paid through 
an employer health benefit cafeteria plan in which 
your premium payments are considered “pretax” 
payments and therefore not subject to federal 
or state income tax withholding, federal Social 
Security, or federal Medicare payments. If you are 
unsure whether your medical insurance premiums 
are covered by a health benefit cafeteria plan, 
check with your employer’s payroll office.
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	● Your premiums cannot be deducted as a Self-
Employed Health Insurance Deduction on your 
Form 2, Schedule 1, line 17, or as a subtraction 
from Federal Adjusted Gross Income on your 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 11.

	● Medicare taxes that are withheld from your 
wages or paid as part of your self-employment 
tax are not deductible on this line.

Line 3–Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums. You 
may be eligible to deduct 100 percent of the long-term 
care insurance premiums that are deductible on your 
federal Schedule A (under Internal Revenue Code 213(d)) 
without regard to the federal limitation. You must meet all 
of the following criteria:

	● Your payments must be for long-term care 
policies covering primarily qualified long-
term care services such as the necessary 
diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, curing, 
treating, mitigating, and rehabilitative service and 
personal care that is required for a chronically ill 
individual who is under the prescribed care of a 
licensed health care practitioner.

	● The long-term care policies must be for the 
benefit of you, your dependents, your parents, or 
your grandparents.

	● Your premiums cannot have been deducted 
elsewhere on your tax return when you 
determined your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.

	● Your premiums cannot have been included as 
qualified elderly care expenses when you claimed 
the Elderly Care Credit that you reported on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 9.

Taxes
Line 4–Federal Income Tax. Montana allows federal 
income taxes paid during the year as an itemized 
deduction. This does not include any state income taxes 
you may have paid to Montana or any other state even if 
you were able to deduct them on your federal return.
Enter the total amount of federal income tax paid in 2021.

4a. Enter the income tax withheld that was reported 
to you on your federal Forms W-2 and 1099. If you 
are married filing separately with your spouse, the 
federal income tax withheld should be reported by 
the spouse who earned the income;
4b. Enter the amount of federal estimated income 
tax payments;
4c. Enter the balance of the total amount of the 
2020 federal income tax that you paid in 2021;
4d. Enter the total amount of additional back year 
federal income taxes that you paid in 2021. For 
example, you may have paid additional 2017 
federal income taxes in 2021.

Add lines 4a through 4d. Your federal tax 
deduction is limited as follows:

	● If your filing status is Single, Married Filing 
Separately, or Head of Household, your 
deduction is limited to $5,000.

	● If your filing status is Married Filing 
Separately, you each are limited to the 
$5,000 federal tax deduction and you 
cannot arbitrarily allocate this deduction 
between spouses.

	● If you file your Montana tax return jointly 
with your spouse, your federal income tax 
deduction is limited to $10,000.

Note: The detail provided on line 4 allows you 
to calculate the sum of income tax payments 
made in 2021.

If the combined amount of federal tax withheld on 
line 4a and federal estimated tax payments on line 
4b is more than the sum of all the taxes listed above 
after nonrefundable credits on your 2021 federal 
Form 1040, the difference represents payments 
that are not deductible. To avoid a recovery on your 
Montana income tax return for 2022, you may reduce 
the amount you can report on lines 4a and 4b by the 
amounts you paid for federal liabilities that were not 
income taxes. See page 17 for a list of liabilities that 
are considered federal income taxes.
If the combined amount you paid is less than the sum of 
all taxes listed, part or all your return payment you make 
in 2022 will be deductible on your 2022 tax return.
Make sure that the taxes you paid for other back 
years on line 4d are income taxes. For example, 
back-year self-employment taxes, or additional taxes 
on IRA or other qualified plans distributions are not 
income taxes and cannot be deducted.
Line 5–State and Local Taxes Limited to $10,000. 
You can deduct the state and local taxes you paid 
in 2021, excluding state income taxes. If you are a 
resident, state income taxes paid to another state 
may be claimed as a nonrefundable credit on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, page 9.

5a. General State and Local Sales Taxes: You 
may claim the general state and local sales taxes 
you paid in 2021 as a deduction. Montana does 
not have a general sales tax. None of the resort, 
accommodations, or similar taxes collected in 
Montana qualify as a general sales tax under the 
federal definitions, so they cannot be deducted.
If you are a nonresident and you did not save 
your receipts, you can fill out the worksheet and 
use the optional General Sales Tax Tables in the 
instructions for Form 1040, Schedule A or use the 
Sales Tax Deduction Calculator available on the 
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IRS’s website at apps.irs.gov/app/stdc/.
5b. Local Income Tax: Enter any local income taxes 
that you paid in 2021. No city in Montana imposes 
a local income tax, so a Montana full-year resident 
would be unlikely to take this deduction.
5c. Real estate tax paid: Enter any real estate 
taxes that you paid in 2021 on real estate that you 
own and did not use for business.

TIP: If you apply for the Elderly Homeowner/Renter 
Credit, do not confuse this amount with the amount of 
your property tax billed that is used to determine the 
amount of your Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit.

5d. Value-based personal property taxes: Enter 
any personal property taxes based on value that 
you paid in 2021.
Only personal property taxes that are based 
on value and charged on a yearly basis are 
deductible on this line.

TIP: When registering or renewing a registration of 
a light vehicle in Montana, you pay a registration fee 
and a county option tax. The county option tax is 
value-based and must be reported on line 5d. The light 
vehicle registration fee must be reported on line 6.

Line 6–Montana Light Vehicle Registration Fees. 
You may claim the Montana Light Vehicle Registration 
Fees (LVREG) you paid in 2021. These fees are identified 
on specific lines of your vehicle registration bills.
Line 7–Per Capita Livestock Fees. You may claim 
the per capita livestock fees you paid in Montana in 
2021 as a deduction.
Line 8–Other Deductible Taxes Paid. Enter any 
other deductible taxes that you paid in 2021 and that 
you did not report on lines 4 through 7. When you 
claim these other deductible taxes, list on this line the 
type and amount of tax that you paid.
Taxes you may be able to deduct include generation-
skipping transfer taxes imposed on income 
distributions, environmental taxes imposed under 
Internal Revenue Code 59A, and taxes paid to a 
foreign country. Note that you can only deduct foreign 
taxes on your Montana tax return if you claimed them 
as a deduction on your federal tax return.
You cannot take a deduction on your Montana individual 
income tax return for the following taxes that you paid 
in 2021: state income, federal excise, Social Security, 
Medicare, gasoline, lodging, alcoholic beverage, 
cigarette, tobacco, or selective sales taxes. Also, you 
cannot take a deduction for certain license fees paid in 
2021–such as hunting, fishing, or driver license fees.

Interest
Line 9–Home Mortgage Interest and Points. Enter 
your home mortgage interest and points allowed 
by federal law that were reported to you on your 
federal Form 1098.
Enter any home mortgage interest and points that you 
paid that were not reported on your federal Form 1098.
Note: For acquisition indebtedness incurred after 
Dec. 15, 2017, the deduction of interest is limited to 
the first $750,000.
Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums. Include 
the amount you claim on your federal tax return on line 9. 
If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal 
return, complete the Qualified Mortgage Insurance 
Premiums Deduction Worksheet on page 50. Married 
taxpayers filing separately in Montana may allocate the 
total allowable amount between both spouses.
If you bought your home from another person, write 
that person’s name, Social Security Number and 
address in the space provided.
Line 10–Investment Interest. Determine your Montana 
Investment Interest Expense Deduction by following 
the computation on federal Form 4952, but include 
any Montana adjustments to income. You cannot use 
interest expense related to income that is exempt 
from Montana tax when computing your Investment 
Interest Deduction. If you and your spouse are 
filing separately, compute your Investment Interest 
Deduction on federal Form 4952 separately.

Gifts or Charity
The charitable contributions allowed as a deduction 
in computing your net income for Montana income tax 
purposes are those same contributions allowed as a 
deduction for federal income tax purposes and the 
same documentation rules apply. Montana does have 
the following exceptions:

	● You can include your contributions made in 
2021 to the Montana Veterans’ Service Special 
Revenue Account or the Montana State Veterans’ 
Cemetery Program, or the surcharge you paid for 
purchasing a Montana patriotic specialty license 
plate, as itemized deductions on your Montana 
income tax return even if they are not allowed as 
itemized deductions on your federal return. For 
further instructions about this contribution, see 
Montana Form VT, available at MTRevenue.gov.

	● Any portion of a contribution that you used 
to calculate your Qualified Endowment Tax 
Credit, College Contribution Credit, Innovative 
Educational Program Credit, or Student 
Scholarship Organization Credit, cannot also be 
claimed as a contribution deduction. You can 

http://apps.irs.gov/app/stdc/
https://MTRevenue.gov
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claim a charitable deduction for that portion of 
the contribution not used to calculate this credit.

	● Qualified charitable contributions from an IRA are 
not deductible.

In general, excess charitable contributions can be 
carried over five years.
You may deduct your 2021 contributions to the 
Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Program on 
line 11 or 12. If you decide to use the checkoff 
provided on your Contributions, Penalties, and Interest 
Schedule, line 1b, you may deduct this contribution on 
the 2021 return. Just add it to line 11.
Make sure this deduction matches the contribution 
you are going to report on the checkoff box.
Line 11–Contributions Made by Cash or Check. 
The federal Taxpayer Certainty and Disaster Tax 
Relief Act extended the 100% cash contribution limit 
to charitable organizations listed in Internal Revenue 
Code 170(b)(1)(A) to the extent that the deduction 
does not exceed the taxpayer’s Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income. The amount on this line may not exceed 
the taxpayer’s Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
Line 12–Contributions Made Other Than by 
Cash or Check. Enter your non-cash contributions 
on this line. Non-cash contributions are subject 
to the federal substantiation requirements. 
(See IRS Pub. 526 and 561 for details.)
Note: The contribution limit to charitable organizations 
listed in Internal Revenue Code 170(b)(1)(A) remains 
50 percent of the Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
when the contribution is made with property other 
than cash or check.
If you are filing on paper and making a non-cash 
contribution of over $500, include a copy of your 
federal Form 8283 with your return.
Line 13–Contribution Carryover from the Prior Year. 
Enter any contribution carryover amounts that you 
were not allowed to deduct in an earlier year because 
they exceeded your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
limitation.

Miscellaneous Deductions
Line 14–Child and Dependent Care Expenses. If 
you pay for household or dependent care services 
for a child under the age of 15, or for a disabled 
dependent while you are searching for gainful 
employment or while you and your spouse both were 
at work, you can qualify for a child and dependent 
care expense deduction.

To qualify for this deduction, you must maintain a 
household for a child under the age of 15 or for a 
dependent or spouse who is unable to care for himself 
or herself. You also must meet the following income 
level requirements:
You qualify if you and your spouse’s total Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income is:

Under And You Have
$22,800 1 child
$25,200 2 children
$27,600 3 or more children

To qualify for this deduction if you are married, you 
must either file Married Filing Jointly (Filing Status 4) 
or file Married Filing Separately on the Same Form 
(Filing Status 2a). When you file separately on the 
same form, your deduction must be divided equally 
between both spouses. If you are married and filing 
separately on separate forms, or your spouse is not 
filing, you cannot qualify for this deduction.
If you are a licensed and registered daycare operator 
who operates a family daycare home or a group daycare 
home, and if you care for your own child in addition to 
at least one other unrelated child, you can deduct the 
employment-related expenses considered to have been 
paid by you for the care of your own child.
For further information on the Child and Dependent 
Care Expense Deduction, see the instructions 
on Montana Form 2441-M. When you claim this 
deduction, complete Form 2441-M and include a copy 
with your Montana tax return.
Line 15–Casualty and Theft Loss. You may deduct 
a casualty loss and theft from a federally declared 
disaster (other than net qualified disaster losses). If 
you have a casualty and/or theft loss, complete federal 
Form 4684 to figure the amount of the Montana loss 
that you can enter on this line. To determine your 
casualty and/or theft loss, use your Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income in place of the Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income. If you and your spouse are filing separately, 
you each should complete a separate federal 
Form 4684 to determine the amount of your separate 
casualty and/or theft loss.
Deductions for all other casualty loss and theft 
are suspended until tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2026.
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Line 16–Political Contributions. When you compute 
your net income, you can take a deduction for political 
contributions that you made during the year. These 
contributions are limited to a total of $100 for yourself 
and $100 for your spouse. To qualify for this deduction, 
your contribution of money must be made to:

	● an individual who is a candidate for nomination 
or election to any federal, state, or local public 
office in a primary, general, or special election;

	● a committee, association, or organization set up 
to campaign for the nomination or election to any 
federal, state, or local public office in a primary, 
general, or special election;

	● a national committee or a national political party;
	● a state committee of a national political party; or
	● a local committee of a national political party.

Line 17–Gambling Losses. You can take a deduction for 
gambling losses that you incurred during the year.
This deduction for losses is allowed only to the extent 
of the amount of gambling winnings that you have 
reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 8b. If you are 
married and you and your spouse are filing your 
Montana tax return separately, the spouse who claims 
the gambling winnings should report the gambling 
losses on this line.
Note: Gambling losses include any expense otherwise 
allowable under the Internal Revenue Code in 
conducting gambling activities. These expenses must 
not be reported or included on any other line of Form 2.
Line 18–Other Miscellaneous Deductions. These 
deductions are the same deductions that are allowed 
on your federal Form 1040, Schedule A, line 16.
They include a deduction for amounts you paid to 
purchase organic fertilizer and inorganic fertilizer that 
is produced as a by-product of mining or industrial 
operations in Montana.

Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio 
Schedule
If you are a nonresident or part-year resident, you 
must complete this schedule. Up to this point, you 
have reported your income as if you were a resident 
because you need to first calculate the tax as if you 
were a resident. This tax is reduced to your portion 
of Montana source income included in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income by applying the nonresident/
part-year resident ratio. See below for an example.

Reporting Your Montana Source Income
Montana source income is the income or loss you 
received for work that you performed in Montana, from 
real or personal property located in Montana, and 
income or loss you received from business conducted 

in Montana. Your Montana source income also includes 
your distributive share of the Montana source income 
or loss from an S Corporation, partnership, or other 
pass-through entity.
If you are a part-year resident, your Montana source 
income includes all the income you received during 
the part of the year you were a Montana resident, no 
matter where you earned it.
For example, you relocated to Montana and established 
your residency on July 1. You are filing your Montana tax 
return as a part-year resident reporting wages earned 
both within and outside of Montana, along with interest 
and dividends that you earned throughout the year. For 
the period of January 1 through June 30, your wages, 
interest, and dividends are not considered Montana 
source income. The wages, interest, and dividends that 
you received on or after July 1 are Montana source 
income and are taxable to Montana.

Adjusting for Montana Additions and 
Subtractions
Amounts reported on lines 1 through 15 must 
include any related Montana sourced additions and 
subtractions. If you are a part-year resident, this 
means that you must prorate your income received 
as a resident after you adjust for any related Montana 
additions and subtractions. Adjustments from pass-
through entities are reported on line 13.

Example 1: You relocated to Montana and 
established your residency July 1, 2021. You are filing 
your 2021 Montana tax return as a part-year resident 
of Montana reporting wages earned both within and 
outside of Montana, along with interest and dividends 
that you earned throughout the year. For the period 
of January 1 through June 30, your wages, interest 
and dividends are not considered Montana source 
income. The wages, interest and dividends that you 
received on or after July 1, 2021, are Montana source 
income and are taxable to Montana.

Example 2: You worked in Montana and earned 
$15,000 in wages included in the amount on 
Form 2, line 1. If those wages include $2,000 in 
eligible tips that can be subtracted by reporting 
them on the Montana Subtractions Schedule, 
line 9, the amount to report on line 1 is $13,000 
($15,000 - $2,000).

Example 3: You were a resident of Michigan 
in 2021 and must file a Montana return due to 
royalty income from wells located in Montana. 
Additionally, on the Montana Additions Schedule, 
line 3, you reported $1,500 in interest income 
received evenly throughout the year. This interest 
is exempt from federal tax but is included in 
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income taxable to Montana because the interest 
is from bonds issued by the State of Ohio. Yet 
this interest is not Montana source income. All 
the royalty income is reported on line 10, but the 
$1,500 of interest is not included on line 2.

Example 4: Assume the same facts as Example 3 
except that you became a Montana resident on 
July 1. The appropriate amount to include on the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio, line 2, is 
$750 because one-half of the interest was earned 
while you were a Montana resident.

Example 5: You received federally taxable 
pension distributions evenly throughout the year 
totaling $28,000 and became a Montana resident 
on March 31. Because your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income is low enough, you are eligible 
for the maximum Partial Pension, Annuity, and 
IRA Income Exemption (see page 23) of $4,400. 
That results in $23,600 ($28,000 - $4,400) being 
included in Montana Adjusted Gross Income. The 
appropriate amount to include on line 9 is $17,700 
because you were a Montana resident for only 
three-fourths of the year.

Example 6: You were a Montana resident for 
several years and had been making deposits into 
a Montana Medical Care Savings Account (MSA) 
and claiming your contributions as a subtraction. 
On July 15, you moved to Arizona and became 
a resident of that state. Because your MSA had 
a balance when you established residency in 
another state, you must report an amount on the 
Montana Additions Schedule, line 6, as a Montana 
addition to federal income. The same amount is 
included on line 14 as Montana source income.

Reporting Montana Source Losses
Montana source losses all stem from business carried 
on in the state directly or through a pass-through entity, 
from the sale of tangible assets located in the state or 
used or held in connection with a trade or business, 
or from any losses incurred or received from a pass-
through entity while a resident of the state.
You must report your Montana source losses on this 
schedule if you took them for federal tax purposes 
(except Net Operating Losses; see below.)
Any suspended losses or capital losses carried over to 
another year can only be taken as Montana source losses 
on this schedule until such time when you use them on 
your federal return. When a loss is taken on the federal 
return in a given year, it cannot be taken a second time 
in a subsequent year on this schedule. Consequently, a 
taxpayer cannot “reserve” a loss for future years.

Example: Daniel is a resident of Washington state, 
and he owns interests in two partnerships. In 2019, 
Partnership A, doing business inside and outside 
Montana, reported a large loss, part of which was 
Montana source. In 2020, Daniel acquired an 
interest in Partnership B, doing business only in 
Washington State. Assume that in 2020, Partnership 
A had nearly no income, and Partnership B’s income 
is more than Partnership A’s loss from 2019.

On his 2020 federal return, Daniel uses the 2020 
loss from Partnership A to reduce the 2020 income 
from Partnership B. If in 2021, Partnership A has 
Montana source income, Daniel cannot use the 
Montana source loss from 2019 to reduce his 
2021 Montana source income because that loss 
was taken on his federal return in 2020.

Montana Net Operating Losses (NOL)
A Class A NOL is incurred from losses in a tax year 
beginning before January 1, 2018.

A Class B NOL is incurred from losses in tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2017. These NOLs 
cannot be carried back unless they were incurred 
in 2018, 2019, and 2020 (see the CARES Act for 
more information). They can be carried forward 
indefinitely. Class B NOLs resulting from farming 
losses can be carried back two years. Class B 
NOLs are subject to the federal NOL limitations.

See the Montana Form NOL for more information.

If your Montana Adjusted Gross Income includes any 
Montana Class A NOL carryover, you must remove 
it from your Montana Adjusted Gross Income on the 
Nonresident/Part-year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 17.
Line 1–Montana Source Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc. 
If you are a nonresident, enter the amount of your 
wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation for 
services that you performed in Montana and that are 
included in your total on Form 2, line 1.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the wages, 
salaries, tips, and other compensation that you 
earned during the period of the year you were a 
resident, regardless of where you earned this income. 
Also include, where applicable, the portion of your 
wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation that 
you received for services in Montana during the part 
of the year that you were a nonresident.
Do not include compensation that is exempt from 
Montana tax on this line. This includes exempt tribal 
income, unemployment compensation, Workers’ 
Compensation benefits, military salary of residents 
on active duty, exempt income of nonresident military 
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servicepersons and their spouses when protected 
by the Service Members Civil Relief Act (see page 1 
of the instructions), some federally taxed tips and 
gratuities, health insurance premiums taxed to the 
employee, student loan repayments taxed to a health 
care professional, or wages covered by the Montana/
North Dakota reciprocal agreement.
Line 2–Montana Source Interest. If you are a 
nonresident, enter the amount of your interest that 
you received from an installment sale of real property 
or tangible commercial or business personal property 
located in Montana. As a nonresident, you do not have 
to include as Montana source income any personal 
interest that you received on an account in a financial 
institution located in Montana, or from notes (other than 
for the installment sales or notes for loans made during 
the usual course of business in Montana).
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the interest 
that you received or accrued during the period you 
were a resident and that is included in the totals 
on Form 2, line 2b, and on your Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 3.
Line 3–Montana Source Ordinary Dividends. If you 
are a nonresident, generally your dividends are not 
considered Montana source income and should not 
be included on this line. If you are a part-year resident, 
enter all the dividends that you received or accrued 
during the period you were a Montana resident in 2021 
and that are included in your total on Form 2, line 3b.
Line 4–Montana Source Refunds, Credits, or Offsets 
of Local Income Tax. If you are a nonresident or a 
part-year resident and you have a taxable income tax 
refund or a recovery of an amount deducted in 2020 that 
is reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 10 or line 25, 
enter that portion of your taxable refund and/or recovery 
that is determined to be Montana source income. Do not 
include any state income tax refund in this amount.
To determine that portion of your refund and/or recovery 
that is Montana source income, use the ratio of your 
Montana source income to total income that you reported 
on your 2020 refund. If you did not have any Montana 
source income in 2020 and you were not required to file a 
2020 Montana tax return, your income tax refund and/or 
recovery is not Montana source income.
If, in 2021, you received a refund and/or recovery 
of a prior-year deduction from a year other than Tax 
Year 2020, use the ratio of your Montana source 
income to total income that was determined in the 
year of the deduction.
Line 5–Montana Source Alimony Received. If you 
are a nonresident, the alimony that you reported on 
Schedule 1, line 2a, is not Montana source income 
and is not taxable to Montana.

If you are a part-year resident, enter the amount of the 
alimony that you received during the period that you 
were a Montana resident in 2021 and that is included 
in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, line 2a.
Line 6–Montana Source Business Income or 
(Loss). If you are a nonresident, enter the net income 
or loss that is included in the amount reported on 
Form 2, Schedule 1, line 3, that you received from a 
trade, business, profession, or occupation carried on 
in Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter the net income 
or loss received from any trade, business, profession 
or occupation during the period you were a resident 
that is included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 3. Also include, where applicable, the portion of 
any net income or loss you received from a trade, 
business, profession, or occupation that is carried on 
in Montana during the period you were a nonresident.
Line 7–Montana Source Capital Gain or (Loss). If 
you are a nonresident, enter the Montana source gains 
or losses used in the determination of your net gains or 
losses reported on Form 2, line 7.

Example: If you reported a loss of ($3,000) on 
Form 2, line 7, which is the result of a capital loss 
of ($13,000) from Oregon, and a capital gain of 
$10,000 of Montana source income, you must report 
the $10,000 of Montana source income on this line.

Montana source capital gains or losses are those from 
the sale or transfer of your tangible property located 
in Montana or for your tangible property used or held 
in connection with your trade, business, or occupation 
that is carried on in Montana. Tangible property 
includes real property and tangible personal property.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all your gains or 
losses included in your net gains or losses reported 
on Form 2, line 7, received during the period you were 
a resident. Make sure to reduce any net capital gains 
by the amount of capital loss carryovers for Montana 
purposes you may have reported on the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 19.
Where applicable, include the portion of any gains or 
losses received during the part of the year in which 
you were a nonresident for the sale or transfer of your 
tangible property located in Montana, or for the sale 
or transfer of any tangible property used or held in 
connection with your trade, business, or occupation 
that is carried on in Montana.
In general, if you are a nonresident who sold an interest 
in a publicly traded partnership doing business in 
Montana, some or all of the gain is Montana source 
income. Multiply your gain by the partnership’s 
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apportionment factor for the year you sold your interest. 
If the apportionment factor was not reported to you by 
the partnership, you need to contact them.
If you sold an interest in a single-member limited liability 
company or any disregarded entity, it is considered a 
sale of the assets of the company, not as the sale of an 
interest in an entity. Report any capital gain related to the 
sale of tangible assets located in Montana on this line. 
If you sold your interest while a resident (or a part-year 
resident) report the entire gain.
Report your distributable share of any separately stated 
Montana source capital gain from a pass-through entity 
on this line. Only capital gains reported on this line will 
be used for the computation of the Capital Gains Tax 
Credit if you are a nonresident or part-year resident. 
Your distributable share of Montana source capital gain 
or loss is computed using lines 8 through 9 of your 
Montana Schedules K-1.
If you reported an exemption on Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 27, you must reduce the capital gains 
sourced to Montana by the same amount.
Report the net amount of your Internal Revenue 
Code 1231 gain or loss sourced to Montana on this line 
if it is a gain. To figure if you have an Internal Revenue 
Code 1231 overall gain, you must add all your Montana 
source Internal Revenue Code 1231 gains and losses 
from your Montana Schedules K-1 and your federal 
Form 4797 you filed as a sole proprietor.
A gain or loss from the disposition of an Internal 
Revenue Code 1231 property is sourced to Montana 
when the property is located in Montana.
If the overall net amount of your Internal Revenue 
Code 1231 gains or losses is a loss, report this loss 
on line 8.
Line 8–Montana Source Other Gains or (Losses). 
If you are a nonresident, enter the amount of gains or 
losses included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 
4, related to what you received from the sale or exchange 
of business property located in Montana. This gain is an 
ordinary gain as determined on your federal Form 4797.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the gains 
and losses included in your total on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, line 4, received during the part of 
the year you were a resident. Also include, where 
applicable, any gains or losses from the sale or 
exchange of business property located in Montana 
during the period you were a nonresident.
The sale of your interest in a single-member limited 
liability company is treated as if you sold the assets 
of the company.

Line 9–Montana Source IRA, Pensions, and 
Annuities. If you are a nonresident, the IRA 
distributions on Form 2, line 4b, and pensions and 
annuities that you reported on Form 2, line 5b, are not 
Montana source income and are not taxable to Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the taxable 
IRA distributions on Form 2, line 4b, and pensions 
and annuities included in your total on Form 2, 
line 5b, received during the part of the year that you 
were a resident.
Line 10–Montana Source Rental Real Estate, 
Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, Trusts, 
etc. If you are a nonresident, enter the following 
income or losses that you used to determine the total 
on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 5:

	● Net rental income or loss from real property and 
tangible personal property located in Montana;

	● Net royalties from real property and tangible 
personal property to the extent that this property 
is used in Montana;

	● Patent royalties to the extent that the income that 
you received is for the production, fabrication, 
manufacturing, or other processing in Montana, 
or the patented product is produced in Montana;

	● Net copyright royalties to the extent that the printing 
and other publication originated in Montana;

	● Partnership and/or S Corporation income derived 
from a trade, business, occupation, or profession 
carried on in Montana. This is the amount 
reported as Total Montana Source Income on your 
Montana Schedules K-1. Do not include the gains 
or losses you already reported on lines 7 and 8;

	● Montana source trust income.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the income or 
losses included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 5, received during the part of the year that you 
were a resident. Where applicable, include the portion 
of any income or loss attributable to Montana (as 
described in the preceding paragraph) during the 
period you were a nonresident.

Example: You are a part-year resident who was a 
resident of Montana for three months in 2021. You 
reported $12,000 from a partnership on Schedule 1, 
line 5. You received a Montana Schedule K-1 from this 
partnership showing $5,000 of Montana source income 
on Part 5, line 1. The amount to report on line 10 is 
$6,750 ($3,000 from the three first months of the year 
you were a resident, plus 3/4 of $5,000 ($3,750) for the 
nine months of the year you were a nonresident).

Mark the box if you have Montana source losses 
that you are carrying over to Tax Year 2022 on your 
federal return. This information will help us process 
your return faster.
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Line 11–Montana Source Farm Income or (Loss). 
If you are a nonresident, enter the portion of your net 
income or loss reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 6, 
received from the farming activity carried on in Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter your net income 
or loss included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 6, received from any farming activity during 
the period that you were a resident. Also include, 
where applicable, the portion of any net income or 
loss received from the farming activity carried on in 
Montana during the period you were a nonresident.
Line 12–Montana Source Taxable Social Security 
Benefits. If you are a nonresident, the taxable 
Social Security benefits that you reported on Form 2, 
line 6b, are not Montana source income and are not 
taxable to Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter only the portion 
of the taxable Social Security benefits received during 
the part of the year that you were a resident. You 
need to complete the Taxable Social Security Benefits 
Schedule on Form 2, page 6, first, and report the 
required addition or subtraction, whichever applies. 
Then you need to calculate your portion of taxable 
Social Security benefits sourced to Montana by dividing 
the amount calculated on line 20 of the schedule by 12 
months, and then multiply this result by the number of 
months you were a resident of Montana in 2021. You 
can use a similar calculation based on the number of 
weeks if this gives you a better result.
Line 13–Other Income and Adjustments to 
Income. Enter any other amounts of your income 
not included above that are derived from Montana 
sources. This includes, but is not limited to:

	● Montana Lottery winnings
	● Nonemployee compensation

Federal Adjustments to Income
Your Montana Adjusted Gross Income includes 
deductions taken on federal Schedule 1. Deductions 
directly related to the production of Montana source 
income also reduce Montana source income. Voluntary 
expenses, such as contributions to a health savings 
account or contributions to a pension plan, are not 
considered directly related to the production of Montana 
source income and do not result in an adjustment.
Deductions taken as a part-year resident while a 
resident can reduce Montana source income.

Example 1: You are an educator and a part-year 
resident. You can reduce your Montana source 
wages derived from your activity as an educator 
by the portion of Educator Expenses allowed on 
federal Schedule 1 that is related to your Montana 
source wages received as an educator.

Example 2: You are a nonresident and self-employed, 
and you must pay self-employment tax (SE Tax) on 
your self-employment income. You can reduce your 
Montana source self-employment income by the 
portion of SE tax related to your Montana source 
self-employment income. The portion related to your 
Montana source self-employment income is the ratio 
of Montana source self-employment over your self-
employment from all sources.

Example 3: You are a nonresident and 
self-employed. You took a deduction for a 
contribution to a self-employed qualified plan. Your 
self-employment Montana source income is NOT 
adjusted, because this deduction is voluntary.

Example 4: You are a part-year resident, you can 
deduct the portion of interest expenses paid while 
a resident.

Montana Adjustments from Montana Schedule K-1
Report your total Montana source adjustments from 
Part 3 of your Montana Schedules K-1 on line 13. 
Subtract column II, line 2, from line 1 and report the result. 
This amount may be a positive or a negative number.
Line 14–Montana Source Additions to Income. If 
you are a nonresident, enter any amount of income 
not included above that you reported on your Montana 
Additions Schedule derived from Montana sources. 
This includes, but is not limited to:

	● Federal Tax Refunds and Other Recoveries
If you received a federal income tax refund 
or a refund that is required to be included 
in Montana Adjusted Gross Income as an 
addition on the Montana Additions Schedule, 
lines 1 and 2, a portion of such additions may 
be considered Montana source income. To 
determine this portion for each addition, multiply 
the amount of your addition by the nonresident/
part-year resident ratio of the year you took the 
deduction. Add the results to this line.

	● Medical Care Savings Account Nonqualified 
Withdrawals

Include on this line the entire amount you reported 
on the Montana Additions Schedule, line 6.

	● First-time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Nonqualified Withdrawals

Include on this line the entire amount you reported 
on the Montana Additions Schedule, line 7.

Line 15–Montana Source Net Operating Loss. 
Enter the amount of Montana source losses included 
in the Montana NOL deduction reported on the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule of this return for your 
Montana Class B NOL.
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Tax Liability Schedule
If you are a full-year resident, and you do not have to 
pay any recapture taxes, line 2, nor any taxes on lump-
sum distributions, line 4, you do not need to complete 
this page. For instructions on how to calculate your 
income tax, see page 9, line 15–Tax Liability Before 
Credits. Enter the result on Form 2, line 18.
Line 1 –Tax from Tax Table. Use the income tax 
table at the bottom of Form 2, page 8, to calculate the 
tax. Use your taxable income you reported on Form 2, 
line 17, to determine your tax.
Line 2–Recapture Taxes. Some Montana code 
sections that allow deductions and/or tax credits have 
provisions requiring a recapture of the tax benefit 
you received in an earlier tax year, when you do not 
meet certain requirements in succeeding tax years. All 
taxpayers, resident or not, can be subject to recapture tax.
If you must report a recapture, report the appropriate 
two-letter code and amount on this line. If your filing 
status is 2a, and each spouse is subject to a different 
recapture tax, or several recapture taxes applies to the 
same spouse, provide a statement with your return to 
indicate to which spouses the recapture are applied.
The four possible recapture taxes are:

BD–Biodiesel/Bio-lubricant Production Facility, 
Biodiesel Blending and Storage, and 
Oilseed Crushing Credit Recapture Tax. If 
you previously claimed any of the tax credits for 
biodiesel or bio-lubricant production, biodiesel 
blending and storage, or oilseed crushing, 
and have ceased operations for a period of 12 
consecutive months within five years of claiming 
the credit, the credit is subject to recapture. On 
this line, enter the amount of your Biodiesel/Bio-
lubricant Production Facility, Biodiesel Blending 
and Storage, or Oilseed Crushing Credit 
Recapture Tax and enter the code “BD” in the 
space indicated.

EC–Endowment Credit Recapture Tax. If you 
previously claimed an Endowment Credit 
for a gift that you contributed to a qualified 
endowment and you now have received the gift 
back, you must recapture that previous credit to 
the extent it reduced your income tax liability in 
a previous year and to include in your income 
any amounts that you previously deducted as an 
itemized deduction.

On this line, enter the amount of your Endowment 
Credit Recapture Tax and enter the code “EC” in 
the space indicated. If, in addition to your recapture 
tax, part of the amount that is recaptured was 
claimed as a charitable contribution in a prior year, 

include in your income on the Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 2, any recoveries of this prior-year 
deduction that reduced your tax liability in the year 
of that deduction. Complete the Taxable Recovery 
for Itemized Deductions Worksheet to determine if 
you must recapture any amount of your prior-year 
deduction. See the worksheet at the end of these 
instructions.

FE–Family Education Savings Account 
Recapture Tax. If you have a recapturable 
withdrawal from your Family Education 
Savings Account, you must pay a 6.9 percent 
recapture tax on this withdrawal instead of 
including this withdrawal in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income.

A recapturable withdrawal is a withdrawal from 
your Family Education Savings Account within 
one year from the date you opened the account, 
or a withdrawal of contributions that reduced 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income in previous 
years that is not used to pay for qualified 
education expenses.
To determine the portion of withdrawal that reduced 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income you must:

1.	 Take your total contributions divided by 
the total account balance before the 
withdrawal. This is your ratio.

2.	 Multiply the amount of the withdrawal 
by the ratio. This is the amount of 
contribution included in the withdrawal.

3.	 If the amount from step 2 is more than 
the contributions that have not been 
previously used to reduce Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income, the difference 
is subject to recapture.

Example: Brenda is the account owner of a 
Family Education Savings Account. The balance 
on the account is $20,000, including $12,000 of 
contributions that were claimed as deductions 
over the years, $4,000 of contributions that did 
not reduce Montana Adjusted Gross Income, 
and $4,000 of earnings (20 percent of the total). 
Brenda makes a withdrawal of $10,000 to 
pay for nonqualified education expenses. The 
recapturable withdrawal is $4,000 ($10,000 - 
$2,000 of earnings - $4,000 of contributions that 
did not reduce Montana Adjusted Gross Income).

Multiply your recapturable withdrawal by 6.9 
percent, enter the result on this line, and enter 
the code “FE” in the space indicated. This is your 
Family Education Savings Account recapture tax.
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AB–Montana Achieving a Better Life Experience 
(ABLE) Recapture Tax. If you have a recapturable 
withdrawal from your Montana ABLE account, 
you must pay a 6.9 percent recapture tax on this 
withdrawal instead of including this withdrawal in 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.

A recapturable withdrawal is a withdrawal from 
contributions that reduced Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income that is not used to pay for qualified disability 
expenses of the beneficiary of the account.
The portion of the withdrawal that is from 
contributions that reduced Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income is calculated the same way as for 
the Family Education Savings Plan.
Multiply your recapturable withdrawal by 6.9 
percent, enter the result on this line and enter 
the code “AB” in the space indicated. This is your 
Montana ABLE account recapture tax.

Line 3a–Nonresident Tax. Nonresidents must 
calculate their nonresident tax using the nonresident 
ratio determined on Form 2, page 8, and add the 
recapture tax from line 2 if applicable. Enter the result 
on this line and on Form 2, line 18.
Line 3b–Alternative tax method for certain 
nonresidents. You may elect to pay a tax of 0.5 
percent on the gross receipts made in Montana in lieu 
of paying the individual income tax that is based on 
net income.
You may make this election if you meet all the 
following criteria:

	● Your only activities in Montana consist of receipts.
	● Your Montana activities do not include owning or 

renting real or tangible personal property.
	● The dollar volume of gross receipts made during the 

tax year within Montana did not exceed $100,000.
If you elect to pay the alternative tax, enter the calculated 
tax liability, and include a statement showing the detailed 
calculation. See 15-30-2104, MCA.
If you elected to pay the alternative tax but also owed 
some recapture tax, add the amount reported on 
lines 3a and 3b and report this sum on Form 2, line 18.
Line 4–Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions. If you qualify 
on your federal return for special averaging of your lump-
sum distribution and have not included it as ordinary 
pension income in Federal Adjusted Gross Income, you 
must pay Montana income tax on this distribution.
Your Montana tax liability on the lump-sum distribution 
is 10 percent of the federal tax calculated on federal 
Form 4972. Part-year residents must calculate the tax 
on all lump-sum distributions received while residing 
in Montana. Include a copy of federal Form 4972.

Line 5–Part-Year Resident Tax. Part-year residents 
must calculate their Part-Year Resident tax using 
the Part-Year Resident Ratio determined on Form 2, 
page 8, and add the recapture tax from line 2 and/or 
the tax on lump-sum distributions on line 4 if applicable. 
Enter the result on this line and on Form 2, line 18.
Line 6–Resident Tax. Residents who owe recapture 
taxes and/or lump-sum distribution tax, and income tax 
from the tax table must add lines 1, 2, and 4. Enter the 
result on this line and on Form 2, line 18.

Nonrefundable Credits Schedule
	● Nonrefundable Single-Year Credits

Your nonrefundable single-year credits can only 
be used to offset your 2021 tax and cannot 
reduce your tax liability below zero. The unused 
portion of your nonrefundable single-year 
credits cannot be carried forward or carried 
back to other tax years.

	● Nonrefundable Carryover Credits
Your nonrefundable carryover credits can be 
used to offset your 2021 tax. These credits 
cannot reduce your tax liability below zero. Your 
excess nonrefundable carryover credits that 
were not applied against your 2021 income 
tax liability can be carried forward and used to 
offset future year tax liabilities.

Nonrefundable Single-Year Credits (Lines 1-13)
Line 1–Resident Capital Gains Credit. If you are 
a resident, you can claim a credit against the taxes 
imposed. This credit is equal to 2 percent of your net 
capital gains reported on Form 2, line 7.
Before calculating the credit, you must reduce the 
amount of net capital gains reported on Form 2, line 7, 
by any amount of capital loss carryover for Montana 
purposes you may have reported on your Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, lines 19 or 27.
Part-year residents must use line 2.
Line 2–Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Capital Gains 
Credit. If you are a nonresident or a part-year resident, 
you can claim a credit against the taxes imposed on your 
Montana source income. This credit is equal to 2 percent 
of your Montana source net capital gains reported on the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 7.
Line 3–Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another 
State or Country. You can claim this credit only if you 
are filing as a full-year or part-year resident, and you 
paid income tax to another state or country on an item 
of income included in your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income while a resident of Montana.
To compute this credit, use the Credit for Income Tax 
Paid to Another State or Country Schedule on page 9. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0300/part_0210/section_0040/0150-0300-0210-0040.html
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You must complete a new schedule for taxes paid to 
each state or country for which you are claiming a credit.
Include as many copies of page 9 as needed. Complete 
the Nonrefundable Credits Schedule only once.
Wages for work performed in North Dakota: If you 
worked in North Dakota while a resident of Montana, 
the wages you receive for this work are not taxable 
by North Dakota under the income tax reciprocity 
agreement between the two states.
If this applies to you, but your employer withheld 
North Dakota income tax from the wages, you 
cannot take this credit. Instead, file a North Dakota 
individual income tax return to obtain a refund of the 
North Dakota income tax withheld.
Income other than wages from North Dakota 
sources: You may be eligible for this credit if you 
must pay income tax to North Dakota on income other 
than wages, provided you earn or receive the income 
while a Montana resident.
Line 4–College Contribution Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability for 
contributions that you made in 2021 to a foundation 
or general endowment fund of the Montana university 
system, a private college in Montana, a community 
college, or a tribal college. Your credit is equal to 10 
percent of the contribution that you made, up to a 
maximum credit of $500.
To qualify for this credit, you must make your 
contribution to a Montana college or university that 
offers an associate or baccalaureate degree level 
education program.
For further instructions on the College Contribution 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form CC. When you claim this credit, include a copy 
of Form CC with your tax return.
The College Contribution Credit was repealed and will 
no longer be available after Tax Year 2021.
Line 5–Qualified Endowment Credit. You can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for contributions 
made to a qualified Montana endowment held by a 
Montana corporation or established organization that 
is tax-exempt under Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3) 
or is held by a bank or trust company in Montana on 
behalf of the tax-exempt organization.
Your credit is equal to 40 percent of the present value 
of a planned gift that you personally made during 
the year to the qualified Montana endowment. If you 
are a shareholder in an S Corporation, a partner in 
a partnership, or a member or manager of a limited 
liability company, and your entity contributed to a 
qualified Montana endowment, you are entitled to a 
credit equal to 20 percent of your share of the entity’s 

outright gift or 40 percent of your share of the entity’s 
planned gift. In no case can your credit be larger than 
$10,000 for your contribution and, when applicable, 
$10,000 for your spouse.
When claiming this credit, you cannot claim a 
charitable contribution deduction on the Itemized 
Deductions Schedule for the contribution that you 
used to calculate this credit.
For further instructions on the Qualified Endowment 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form QEC. Visit mtnonprofit.org/endow-montana to 
learn more about the endowments statewide. When 
you claim this credit, include a copy of Form QEC 
with your tax return.
Line 6–Energy Conservation Installation Credit. 
If you are a resident of Montana, you can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for energy 
conservation investments that you made to your home 
or other buildings. Your credit is equal to 25 percent 
of your expenses, for a maximum credit of up to $500 
for the capital investments you made to your home or 
another building for energy conservation purposes, or 
for the installation or replacement of a hot water heater 
or household heating or cooling system. If you are 
married, your spouse may also qualify for a credit of up 
to $500 if you both made qualifying capital investments.
You will not qualify for this credit by simply switching 
to an energy source that is less expensive or free. 
Investments of this nature may qualify for the 
alternative energy system credit.
For further instructions and a list of investments 
that qualify for the energy conservation credit, 
see Montana Form ENRG-C. In addition, refer to 
MTRevenue.gov for more information such as specific 
examples of what investments may or may not qualify. 
When you claim this credit, include a copy of Form 
ENRG-C with your tax return.
The Energy Conservation Installation Credit was repealed 
and will no longer be available after Tax Year 2021.
Line 7–Alternative Fuel Credit. You can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for the cost 
of converting your motor vehicle to operate on an 
alternative fuel. Your credit is equal to 50 percent of 
the cost to convert your motor vehicle for a maximum 
credit of up to $1,000.
To qualify for this credit, your motor vehicle has to be 
licensed in Montana and the conversion has to be 
from gasoline to an alternative fuel, such as natural 
gas, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas, 
hydrogen, electricity, or other combinations.
For further instructions on the alternative fuel credit 
and to calculate this credit, see Montana Form AFCR. 

https://www.mtnonprofit.org/endow-montana
https://MTRevenue.gov
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When you claim this credit, include a copy of Form 
AFCR with your tax return.
The Alternative Fuel Credit was repealed and will no 
longer be available after Tax Year 2021.
Line 8–Health Insurance for Uninsured Montanans 
Credit. You can claim a credit against your income 
tax liability if your business provides health insurance 
coverage for its employees. Your credit is a 
percentage of the premium payments that you made 
throughout the year for a maximum credit of up to 
$3,000 per year.
To qualify for this credit, as an employer you must 
meet the following criteria:

	● You have been in business in Montana for at 
least 12 months; and

	● You employ at least two but not more than 20 
employees who work at least 20 hours a week; and

	● You pay at least 50 percent of each of your 
employees’ health insurance premiums.

Your credit is limited to a maximum of 10 employees 
and should include small employer group health 
insurance under the Small Employer Health Insurance 
Availability Act.
Your eligibility for this credit is not affected if you claimed 
the federal Small Business Health Care Tax Credit.
For further instructions on the Health Insurance for 
Uninsured Montanans Credit, and to calculate this credit, 
see Montana Form HI. When you claim this credit, 
include a copy of Form HI with your tax return.
The Health Insurance for Uninsured Montanans Credit 
was repealed and will no longer be available after 
Tax Year 2021.
Line 9–Elderly Care Credit. You can claim a credit 
against your income tax liability for paying certain 
expenses to provide care to an elderly family member. 
Your credit cannot exceed $5,000 for one qualifying 
family member, or $10,000 for the care of two or more 
qualifying family members.
To qualify for this credit, you need to care for an elderly 
family member who is at least 65 or has been determined 
to be disabled by the Social Security Administration, and 
who has a family income of $15,000 or less if not married, 
or $30,000 or less if married. In addition, your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income must be less than $55,000 if your 
filing status is single or married filing jointly, or $27,500 if 
your filing status is married filing separately.
For further instructions on the Elderly Care Credit 
and to calculate this credit, see Montana Form ECC. 
When you claim this credit, include a copy of 
Form ECC with your tax return.
The Elderly Care Credit was repealed and will no 
longer be available after Tax Year 2021.

Line 10–Recycle Credit. You can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability for the investment that your 
business makes in depreciable equipment or machinery 
that you use to collect, process, or manufacture a product 
from reclaimed material. Your credit is equal to 25 percent 
of the first $250,000 invested in the property, 15 percent 
of the next $250,000 invested, and 5 percent of the next 
$500,000 invested. You are not entitled to any additional 
credit for investment that exceeds $1 million.
For further instructions on the recycle credit, and to 
calculate this credit, see Montana Form RCYL. When 
you claim this credit, include a copy of Form RCYL 
with your tax return.
Line 11–Innovative Educational Program Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your tax liability for 
donations made to the Innovative Educational Program. 
Your credit cannot exceed $150. If you file a joint tax 
return, each taxpayer can receive a credit up to $150.
You are not allowed to take this credit if you deducted 
the same amount as a charitable contribution on your 
Itemized Deductions Schedule.
To qualify for the credit, your donation must have 
been preapproved on the Education Donations Portal, 
svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations.
Line 12–Student Scholarship Organization Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your tax liability for 
donations made to a Student Scholarship Organization. 
Your credit cannot exceed $150. If you file a joint tax 
return, each taxpayer can receive up to $150.
You may not take this credit if you deducted the same 
amount as a charitable contribution on your Itemized 
Deductions Schedule.
To qualify for the credit, your donation must have 
been preapproved on the Education Donations Portal, 
svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations.
Line 13–Apprenticeship Credit. If you are a 
Montana employer who is a Montana Registered 
Apprenticeship Program sponsor, you may be eligible 
to receive a tax credit for any new position hired for 
on-the-job training.
For more information visit apprenticeship.mt.gov.
Applications for the credit must be submitted to the 
Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Workforce 
Services Division.
The credit equals:

	● $750 for each new registered apprentice, or
	● $1,500 for each new registered apprentice who 

is a veteran.
If the employer is a pass-through entity, the credit 
is calculated first at the entity level and owners may 
claim their distributive share of credit on this line.

https://svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations
https://svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations
https://apprenticeship.mt.gov/
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The credit must be claimed on the income tax return 
of the year it is approved by DLI.
Line 14 – Trades Education and Training Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your tax liability for the 
expenses incurred in providing education and training 
in a trade profession for an employee. The credit is 
equal to 50 percent of the cost of the qualifying trade 
profession education or training expenses, not to 
exceed $2,000 per employee and $25,000 total. The 
credit is claimed in the year the cost is incurred. The 
employee must work or plan to work in Montana for at 
least 6 months of the year in which the education or 
training occurs. When you claim this credit, include a 
statement with your return listing the following:

	● Name of each employee for which the credit is 
claimed,

	● Lasts four digits of each employee’s SSN,
	● Cost of the education or training for each employee,
	● Trade profession (found on MTRevenue.gov),
	● Name, address, and FEIN of each institution 

providing the education or training, and
	● Method of training

If the employer is a pass-through entity, the credit 
is calculated first at the entity level and owners may 
claim their distributive share of credit on this line.

Nonrefundable Carryover Credits (Lines 15-28)
Line 15–Biodiesel Blending and Storage Credit. 
You can claim a credit for the cost of investments 
in depreciable property used for storing or blending 
biodiesel made from Montana products with petroleum 
diesel for sale. This credit can be carried over for seven 
succeeding tax years if the facility is blending or storing 
biodiesel for blending. If the facility ceases blending 
biodiesel for sale for a period of 12 consecutive months 
within five years of claiming the credit, the credit is 
subject to recapture. If the facility’s biodiesel sales are 
not at least 2 percent of all diesel sales by the end of 
the third year after the credit is initially claimed, the 
credit is subject to recapture. For detailed instructions, 
see Montana Form BBSC. If you claim this credit, 
include a copy of Form BBSC with your tax return.
The Biodiesel Blending and Storage credit was 
repealed and may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. 
You may carry forward any unused portion of your 
credit for up to 7 years, until Tax Year 2028, or until it 
has been exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 16–Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your income tax liability 
for the Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax that your 
business has paid, or has been withheld and remitted 
on your behalf, throughout the year. The amount of 
credit cannot exceed your tax liability, and any credit 

balance remaining can be carried forward for up to five 
subsequent years. If you are carrying forward a credit, 
the oldest gross receipts tax amounts will be used first to 
offset credit claims.
When you claim this credit, you must provide your 
Contractor’s Gross Receipts (CGR) Account ID in 
the space provided. This Account ID was created 
when your CGR account was registered with the 
department and is where your gross receipts tax has 
been deposited. If you are requesting credit from 
more than one CGR account, mark the box indicating 
multiple accounts and include a statement detailing 
how much credit should be taken from each CGR 
account. If you do not know your CGR Account ID, 
call us at (406) 444-6900 and we will provide it to you.
Line 17–Geothermal Systems Credit. If you are a 
resident of Montana, you can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability for the cost of purchasing and 
installing a geothermal system in your principal home. 
The amount of the credit cannot exceed $1,500 and is 
applied in the year that you installed your geothermal 
system. The balance of your credit that is not used can 
be carried forward and applied against subsequent 
income tax liabilities for a period of seven years. You 
cannot claim both the Alternative Energy Systems 
Credit and the Geothermal Systems Credit for the 
same investment.
For further instructions on the Geothermal Systems 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana Form 
ENRG-A. When you claim this credit, include a copy of 
Form ENRG-A with your tax return.
The Geothermal Systems Credit was repealed and 
may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. You may 
carry forward any unused portion of your credit for 
up to seven years, until Tax Year 2028, or until it has 
been exhausted, whichever comes first.
Lines 18 and 19–Alternative Energy Systems 
Credit. When you claim one of these credits, include 
a copy of Form ENRG-B with your tax return. The 
Alternative Energy Systems Credit was repealed and 
may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. You may 
carry forward any unused portion of your credit for up 
to four years, until Tax Year 2025, or until it has been 
exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 18–Nonfossil Form of Energy. If you are a 
resident of Montana, you can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability for the cost of purchasing and 
installing an energy system in your principal home 
that uses a recognized non-fossil form of energy such 
as, but not limited to, solar energy, wind energy, solid 
waste, and organic waste. Your total credit cannot 
exceed $500 per taxpayer. Any balance of your credit 
that is not used in 2021 can be carried forward and 

https://MTRevenue.gov
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applied to future income tax liabilities for a period 
of four succeeding tax years. You cannot claim 
both the Alternative Energy Systems Credit and the 
Geothermal Systems Credit for the same investment.
Line 19–Low-emission Wood or Biomass 
Combustion. If you are a resident of Montana, you 
can claim a credit against your income tax liability for 
the cost of purchasing and installing an energy system 
using a low-emission wood or biomass combustion 
device, such as a pellet or wood stove, in your principal 
home. You can also claim the credit for installing 
certain outdoor hydronic heaters or masonry heaters. 
Your total credit cannot exceed $500 per taxpayer. 
Any balance of your credit that is not used in 2021 can 
be carried forward and applied to future income tax 
liabilities for a period of four succeeding tax years.
For further instructions on the Alternative Energy 
Systems Credit, and to calculate this credit, see 
Montana Form ENRG-B.
Line 20–Alternative Energy Production Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your income tax 
liability for an investment of $5,000 or more that your 
business makes in depreciable property for the use 
of a commercial system or a net metering system that 
is located in Montana and that generates energy by 
means of an alternative renewable energy source.
The amount of your credit is limited to 35 percent of the 
eligible cost associated with the purchasing, installing, and 
upgrading of the alternative energy system. Your credit 
is further limited in that it can only be applied against 
the tax liability due as a consequence of the alternative 
energy system generating taxable or net income. Your 
credit cannot exceed that portion of your tax liability that 
results from taxable or net income generated as a result 
of the system. Your unused credit can be carried forward 
and applied to future income tax liabilities for a period of 
seven years. An exception to the seven-year carryforward 
period applies when your investment is located within the 
exterior boundaries of a Montana Indian reservation.
For further instructions on the Alternative Energy 
Production Credit and to calculate this credit, see 
Montana Form AEPC. When you claim this credit, 
include a copy of Form AEPC with your tax return.
The Alternative Energy Production Credit was 
repealed and may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. 
You may carry forward any unused portion of your 
credit for up to seven years, until Tax Year 2028, or 
until it has been exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 21–Dependent Care Assistance Credit. If 
you are an employer in Montana, you can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for the amount 
that you paid or incurred during the year to provide 
dependent care assistance to your employees. There 

are two programs that are available to you that qualify 
for this credit, including:

	● Dependent Care Assistance Credit.
	● Dependent Care Information and Referral 

Service Credit.
For further instructions about the amount of the credit 
that is available, the carryforward provisions, and how 
to calculate these credits, see Montana Form DCAC. 
When you claim these credits, include a copy of 
Form DCAC with your tax return.
The Dependent Care Assistance Credit was repealed 
and may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. You may 
carry forward any unused portion of your credit for up 
to five years, until Tax Year 2026, or until it has been 
exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 22–Historic Property Preservation Credit. You 
can claim a credit against your income tax liability for 
your own qualified rehabilitation expenditures. The 
allowable Montana credit is 25 percent of the federal 
rehabilitation credit provided for in Internal Revenue 
Code 47(a)(2). The credit may not be allocated between 
spouses unless the property is used by a S corporation 
or a partnership in which they are shareholders or 
partners. When you claim this credit, include a copy 
of your federal Form 3468 with your tax return. If the 
federal credit was transferred to you, the owner who 
transferred it, not you, must claim the Montana credit.
Line 23–Infrastructure User Fee Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability for the 
fees attributable to the use of the infrastructure.
Your credit is the total of the interest and principal 
paid as reported in the letter from the Montana Board 
of Investments.
When you claim this credit, include a copy of the letter 
from the Montana Board of Investments detailing 
the principal and interest paid. You can carry back 
three years or carry forward seven years any of your 
unused Infrastructure User Fee Credit.
For further instructions on the Infrastructure User 
Fee Credit, and to calculate the credit, see Montana 
Form IUFC. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form IUFC with your tax return.
Line 24–Empowerment Zone Credit. You can claim 
a credit against your income tax liability if you are an 
employer who has a business in an empowerment 
zone. The credit is based on the number of qualifying 
new employees and is equal to $500 for each 
qualifying employee in the first year of employment, 
$1,000 for each qualifying employee in the second 
year of employment, and $1,500 for each qualifying 
employee in the third year of employment. To be 
eligible for this credit, you must be certified by the 
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Montana Department of Labor and Industry.
Your credit can be carried back three years and carried 
forward seven years. The entire amount of your credit 
that you do not use in the year that you earned it must 
be carried first to the earliest tax year that the credit 
can be applied and then to each succeeding tax year.
The Empowerment Zone Credit was repealed and 
may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. You may 
carry forward any unused portion of your credit for 
up to seven years, until Tax Year 2028, or until it has 
been exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 25–Increasing Research Activities Credit. The 
Increasing Research and Development Activities Credit 
expired on December 31, 2010. Therefore, a current 
year credit cannot be claimed for periods beginning 
after that date. Any unused credit from a prior period 
can be carried forward for up to 15 tax years. If you are 
claiming unused credit carryforward, include a detailed 
schedule of the credit carryforward with your tax return.
Line 26–Mineral and Coal Exploration Incentive 
Credit. You can claim a credit against your income 
tax liability for the certified expenditures for mining 
exploration activities involving mineral and coal deposits. 
In determining your credit, your qualified expenditures 
include those costs that you incurred for activities that 
directly support the exploration at a specific site. Your 
credit cannot exceed 50 percent of that portion of your tax 
liability that is related to the production from the mining 
operation for which the exploration activity occurred.
You need to apply for the certification of expenditures 
incurred by sending the Montana Form MINE-CERT 
to the department within 60 days after the close 
of the calendar year. The department will make 
a determination about the certification of the 
expenditures by September 30.
For further instructions on the Mineral and Coal 
Exploration Incentive Credit, and to calculate this credit, 
see Montana Form MINE-CRED. When you claim 
this credit, include copies of Forms MINE-CRED and 
MINE-CERT with your tax return.
The Mineral and Coal Exploration Incentive Credit was 
repealed and may not be claimed after Tax Year 2021. 
You may carry forward any unused portion of the credit 
for up to 15 years, until Tax Year 2036, or until it has 
been exhausted, whichever comes first.
Line 27–Adoption Credit. You can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability if you finalized the adoption of an 
eligible child in 2021 and the adoption qualified for the 
federal adoption credit. An eligible child is:

	● any child under age 18, or
	● any disabled person physically or mentally 

unable to take care of himself or herself.

The amount of the credit is $1,000 per child. If the 
amount of the credit exceeds your tax liability for 2021, 
you can carry forward the unused credit to the next five 
tax years. Also, the legal adoption of a stepchild does 
not qualify for the federal or Montana credit. Include a 
copy of federal Form 8839 for the year of the adoption 
with your tax return.
The Adoption Credit was repealed and may not be 
claimed after Tax Year 2021. You may carry forward 
any unused portion of the credit for up to five years, 
until Tax Year 2026, or until it has been exhausted, 
whichever comes first.
Line 28–Media Credit. You can claim the Media 
Credit against your income tax liability if you received a 
validation letter from the Department of Revenue with 
your approved Media Credit amount, or a Form MEDIA 
CLAIM with your Montana Schedule K-1 from a pass-
through entity or trust or estate. You may also claim the 
Media Credit if you received the credit via a registered 
transfer. The Media Credit may be carried forward up to 
five years from the date of issuance. If you are claiming 
the Media Credit, you must submit Form MEDIA CLAIM 
with your tax return. Please see Form MEDIA CLAIM 
and its instructions for the submission process.

Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another 
State or Country Schedule
If you are filing as a full-year or part-year resident and 
paid income tax to another state or country, use this 
schedule to determine the amount of nonrefundable credit 
that you may be able to claim on your Montana tax return.
You are not entitled to this credit if the other state or 
country in which you filed an income tax return has 
allowed you a credit against the taxes that they have 
imposed on your net income, because you are also 
subject to income tax on the same income in Montana.
Owners of a pass-through entity (S Corporation or 
Partnership). If you are an owner of a pass-through 
entity and your entity pays an income tax to another state 
(including composite tax paid on your behalf) or country, 
you can claim a credit for your share of these income 
taxes paid by the entity. The income tax paid by the S 
Corporation or partnership must be measured by and 
imposed on net income. This credit also applies to excise 
taxes or franchise taxes that are paid by the pass-through 
entity if they are imposed on and measured by net 
income. However, you are not allowed to use other taxes 
paid by your S Corporation or partnership such as, but 
not limited to, franchise or license taxes or fees that are 
not imposed on or measured by net income, gross receipt 
taxes, or gross sales taxes.
When you claim this credit for the taxes paid by your 
S Corporation or partnership, in determining your 
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Montana Adjusted Gross Income, you must add back 
your share of the S Corporation’s or partnership’s 
federal tax deduction that may be included in your 
total on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 5, to your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income on Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 12. This is required whether or not 
your S Corporation or partnership separately or non-
separately stated the income tax deduction on your 
federal Schedule K-1.
Sourced and Taxable. In the following instructions, 
sourced and taxable means any income that must 
be reported to another state or foreign country in 
accordance with the other state’s or country’s rules, 
and that is not subject to an exemption. If the income 
is partially exempt, only the part that is nonexempt can 
be used for the calculation of this credit. On a practical 
level, income that is sourced and taxable to another 
state is found on the line after state-specific additions 
and subtractions to Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
but before state standardized or itemized deductions 
and personal exemptions. In general, this line is 
labeled as the state-specific Adjusted Gross Income.
Taxes Paid to Another Country. Individuals are not 
entitled to a Montana tax credit for taxes paid to a 
foreign country when they claim a federal Foreign Tax 
Credit the same year. For example, if you received 
Canada source income, you paid income tax to 
Canada, and you claimed the federal foreign tax credit 
on federal Form 1116, then you cannot claim any 
foreign tax credit on your Montana return.
You can claim a credit for foreign taxes paid to 
another country if you did not claim the federal 
Foreign Tax Credit, if you do not take the foreign 
taxes as a deduction on your Itemized Deductions 
Schedule, and if the foreign country does allow a 
credit for taxes paid to Montana.
Line 1. Enter the total income sourced and taxable 
to the other state that is also included in your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income (Form 2, line 14) if 
you are a resident, or your Montana source income 
(Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, 
line 16) if you are a part-year resident.
Only report the part that is included in Montana taxable 
income and in the taxable income of the other state 
or country. Make sure that exemptions of any kind are 
accounted for before completing this schedule.

Example: If you worked in both Utah and Montana 
while a resident of Montana during the year, and 
your total wages were $50,000, with $10,000 earned 
in Utah, then enter $10,000 on line 1.

Do not include income on this line that is not taxable 
in Montana. For example, if a portion of your total 
wages came from $2,000 you earned in tips in Utah 

and you included that portion in the subtraction you 
claim on Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 9, then 
do not report the tip income on this line.
Line 2. Enter the total income sourced and taxable to 
the other state or country. See “Sourced and Taxable” 
above to find the appropriate amount of income on 
another state return.
Line 4. Enter the actual tax liability paid by you or on 
your behalf to the other state or country. This amount 
comes from either an individual income tax return you 
filed, or a composite tax return filed on your behalf by 
a partnership or S Corporation.
Do not include any penalties and interest paid to the 
other state or country.
Line 5. If you are a resident, and you do not have to 
complete the Tax Liability Schedule on Form 2, page 8, 
your tax liability can be found on Form 2, line 18.
If you are a resident, and you must complete the Tax 
Liability Schedule because you must pay either a 
recapture tax or a tax on lump-sum distribution, your tax 
liability can be found on the Tax Liability Schedule, line 2.
If you are a part-year resident, report the tax liability 
you reported on the Tax Liability Schedule, line 5, 
without regard to the taxes on lump-sum distribution or 
recapture taxes.
Line 9. If you have capital gains included on 
line 1 and you claimed a capital gains credit on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 1, complete the 
worksheet and enter the result on line 9.

Capital Gains Tax Credit Adjustment for Credit for 
Income Tax Paid to Another State or Country

1 
 

Enter your Montana tax liability from Credit for 
Income Tax Paid to Another State or Country 
Schedule, line 5. 

2 
 

Enter your percentage from Credit for 
Income Tax Paid to Another State or Country 
Schedule, line 8. 

3 Multiply line 1 by line 2.
4 
 

Enter the amount of capital gain income 
included on Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Another State or Country Schedule, line 1.

5 Multiply line 4 by 2% (0.02).
6 
 

Subtract line 5 from line 3. Enter this amount 
on the Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another 
State or Country Schedule, line 9.
Example: Brian is a resident of Montana and 
sold a house in Idaho. Brian is reporting a capital 
gain of $10,000 for the sale of this house, which 
is included on line 1. Brian is claiming $200 of 
capital gains credit (2 percent of $10,000) related 
to the sale of this house. Brian’s tax liability before 
credits is $2,500 and the ratio calculated on line 8 
is 15 percent. The amount to report on line 9 is 
$175 (($2,500 x 15%) - $200).
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Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit 
Schedule
If you claim the credit, you must include a copy of 
your 2021 property tax bill and/or your signed rent 
receipts. If you are unable to get signed rent receipts, 
a statement detailing the rent paid during the year 
signed by your landlord is an acceptable substitute. If 
you are filing electronically, you do not need to send 
us your property tax bill or rent receipts. When you 
file electronically, you represent that you retained 
the required documents in your tax records and will 
provide those documents to us upon request.
When you claim this credit, you attest that you meet 
the following tests:

	● Age 62 Test: You are 62 or older as of 
December 31, 2021.

If you are married and both spouses own or 
rent your residence, only one of you must 
meet the age requirement.

	● Six-Month Test: You occupied a Montana 
residence as a renter, owner or lessee for at 
least six months during the tax year.

	● Nine-Month Test: You have lived in Montana for 
at least nine months during the tax year.

	● Gross Household Income Test: Your total 
household income of all household members is 
less than $45,000 for the tax year.

	● A household means an association of persons who 
live in the same dwelling, sharing its furnishings, 
facilities, accommodations or expenses. You do not 
need to be related to be in the same household.

If you are the personal representative of the estate 
of an eligible individual who died during the year, you 
cannot claim this credit if that individual died before 
October 1, 2021.
If you are married filing this claim with your spouse 
and if your spouse, who would have been the only 
eligible individual, died before October 1, 2021, you 
are not eligible for this credit. You are eligible only if, 
as a surviving spouse, you are age 62 or older as of 
December 31, 2021.
Note: If either spouse died during the claim year, 
enter the date of death in the appropriate box on top 
of page 1.
If you do not meet all these requirements, you cannot 
take the credit.
Note: Only one claim is allowed per household, and 
married taxpayers who are living apart may qualify for 
only one credit per year.
Enter the physical address of the residence related 
to your claim in the specified space at the beginning 
of the Schedule, if it is different than the mailing 

address shown on Form 2, page 1. If you had multiple 
residences during the year, enter the address of the 
one you occupied the longest.

Gross Household Income
The gross household income is the sum of all the 
incomes received by the members of the household.
If members of your household, including the claimant, are 
filing a Form 2 for Tax Year 2021, use the information on 
each Form 2 to complete lines 1 through 4. If a member 
of your household is not filing a Form 2 for Tax Year 2021, 
but is filing a federal Form 1040, use the information on 
this federal Form 1040 to complete lines 1 through 4.
If members of the household, including the claimant, 
are not filing a Form 2 nor a federal Form 1040 for 
Tax Year 2021, report the incomes of these household 
members on lines 6 through 9.
Line 1–Enter the Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
from Form 2, line 11. The calculation starts with the 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income of each member of the 
household. Combine the amounts reported on Form 2, 
line 11, of each 2021 Montana individual income 
tax return or Federal Form 1040 completed by each 
member of the household.
Line 2–Enter the exempt interest from line 2a. 
Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income does not include 
tax-exempt interest reported on line 2a of Form 2 or 
federal Form 1040. Combine all the amounts reported 
on lines 2a of all Forms 2 or federal Forms 1040 
completed by each member of the household.
Line 3–Enter any IRA distribution reported on line 4a 
not included on line 4b. Do not include any rollover. 
Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income only includes the 
taxable amount of the income reported on Form 2, line 4b. 
However, some amounts may be reported on Form 2, 
line 4a, and must be added back to your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income for the purpose of the calculation of the 
Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit.
Amounts reported on Form 2, line 4a, that are not 
reported on Form 2, line 4b, and must be reported on 
this line are:

	● Qualified charitable distributions made by the 
trustee of your IRA;

	● Health funding distributions you elected to exclude 
from gross income for federal tax purposes; and

	● A conversion from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA.
Line 4–Enter any pensions and annuities reported on 
Form 2, line 5a not included on line 5b. Do not include 
your cost or net investment (federal Form 1099-R, box 9b) 
in your annuity. Do not include non-taxable rollovers.
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Line 6–Social Security payment not reported, 
except when paid directly to a nursing home. If you 
received Social Security benefits that are not included 
on lines 1, 3, and 4, report them here, even if the funds 
were ultimately used to pay a nursing home.
If members of the household are not required to file a 
Form 2, nor a federal Form 1040, enter all the Social 
Security benefits received that were not reported on 
previous lines, and that were not directly paid to a 
nursing home.
Line 7–Refundable credits received, including the 
Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. Combine all the 
refundable credits received by the members of the 
household in 2021. Refundable credits include the federal 
and Montana Earned Income Tax Credit, the federal 
Child Tax Credits, Economic Impact Payments, the state 
Emergency Lodging Credit, the Unlocking Public Land 
Credit, and the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit.
Line 8–Other income not listed above. Enter 
all items of income received by the members of the 
household that were not reported on lines 1 through 7.
Such items of income may include:

	● Pension and annuity income. If you received 
pension or annuity income or a distribution from 
a traditional IRA, include the federally taxable 
amount as shown on your Form 1099.

	● Disability benefits including, but not limited to, 
veteran’s disability, SSI payments, and workers’ 
compensation.

	● Capital gains. Report capital gains that members 
of the household excluded from their Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income, such as the gain from 
the sale of your primary residence.

	● Interest on federal, state, county, and municipal 
bonds.

	● Long-term care insurance benefits.
In addition, members of the household who are not 
filing a Form 2 or a Federal Form 1040 must report all 
wages, business income, and investment income not 
listed above.
A household member may have a basis (the amount 
you invested) in some items above. If applicable, the 
amount received as an item of income may be reduced 
by the household member’s basis in that item. For 
example, if you paid $50,000 for the ownership of a 
primary residence, $50,000 is your basis. If you sell 
that residence for $80,000, your gross household 
income only includes the gain of $30,000 ($80,000 
sales price minus $50,000 basis).
Line 9–Enter all losses included on Form 2, line 11. 
The gross household income cannot be reduced by 
any losses. If losses are included on line 1, you must 
add them back here as a positive number. Include net 

operating losses taken on federal Schedule 1, line 8a.
Line 10–Gross Household Income. The total 
amount of income from all household members 
used to determine your eligibility is called “Gross 
Household Income.” Gross household income does 
not always equal the taxable income that individuals 
report on their Montana income tax return. It also 
includes income that is normally not taxable.
If the gross income of the household is more than 
$45,000, stop here. You cannot claim the credit.

Net Household Income
Complete lines 11 through 14 to calculate your 
net household income. The net household income 
represents the amount of your gross household income 
you can use to pay for part of the property tax. This 
amount is determined through a formula.
You must first deduct $6,300 from your gross 
household income. Then multiply the result by the 
corresponding multiplier in the Household Income 
Reduction Table on page 10.

Credit Computation
Line 15–Property Tax Billed. Report the amount 
of taxes, special assessments and fees that were 
billed on the property tax statement. Do not report the 
amount of property tax you paid.
You are allowed only the property tax billed on your 
primary residence and up to one acre of land that 
is associated with this residence. If the one-acre 
farmstead or primary acre is not separately identified 
on your tax bill and if your ownership is less than 
20 acres, your property tax to be used in the credit 
calculation is the larger of: 80 percent of the total 
amount of property tax billed; or the total amount of 
property tax billed divided by the total acreage.
If your property tax bill is on property that you held 
in a revocable trust and if you are the grantor(s) and 
trustee(s) of that property, you can qualify for this 
credit. If your property taxes are billed to your living 
trust or life estate, you can qualify for this credit. If the 
property occupied by you is in a name other than your 
own, the property taxes billed for that property can 
qualify as rent only.
Line 16–Rent Equivalent Paid. Your rent is only the 
amount of money that you paid to occupy your home.
If you live in a health care, long-term care, personal care, 
or residential care facility, the rent allowed is the actual 
out-of- pocket rent that you paid, excluding services 
provided by staff, such as board expenses including 
meals, housekeeping, and transportation, and medical 
or paramedical expenses such as nursing care, assisted 
living care, and memory care. The out-of-pocket rent 
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can be determined using a facility statement providing 
the breakdown between rent and these amenities. If you 
do not receive a statement from your facility, use the 
Long-Term Care Facility Rent Calculation Worksheet to 
determine the amount that would be considered board 
for purposes of calculating the credit.
If you wish to claim the credit for a previous tax year still 
open and you were living in a long-term care facility, you 
must use the rules that applied during these years. Refer 
to the instructions of each tax year.
Do not use rent you pay for an apartment or a facility 
that is exempt from property tax because the credit 
is not allowed in these situations. Verify with your 
landlord or facility that the property is subject to 
property taxes beyond assessments such as sewer 
and garbage fees. You may also contact us for 
assistance in determining if the property is exempt 
from property tax. Items that also should not be 
included as rent equivalent paid on line 15 are as 
follows (this list is not all-inclusive):

	● Mortgage payments, including mortgage interests;
	● Nursing home costs that are paid directly from 

Social Security to the facility;
	● Rent paid for you by a rental assistance program 

(this amount should also not be included in your 
gross household income).

Other Payments and Refundable 
Credits Schedule
Payments
If you file separately you may reallocate part or all of 
your estimated tax payments to your spouse to reduce 
the assessment of any interest and penalties. Only 
estimated payments (line 1), and overpayments from 
2020 (line 2), can be reallocated. Withholding must be 
reported by the spouse whose name appears on the 
federal Forms W-2 or 1099.
Line 1–2021 Estimated Tax Payments. If you made 
estimated income tax payments for Tax Year 2021, 
enter the amount of these estimated tax payments. 
Estimated tax payments include any payment you 
made on or before April 18.
Line 2–Overpayment applied from 2020 return. 
Report the amount of the 2020 overpayment that you 
requested us to apply to your 2021 estimated income 
tax payments. Do not include in this total any income 
taxes paid for a previous year since these are not 
estimated taxes paid for Tax Year 2021. You can view 
your payment history on our TransAction Portal (TAP), 
at https://tap.dor.mt.gov.

Line 3–Total Withholding from Montana Schedules 
K-1. Report the amount of withholding taxes shown 
on the Montana Schedules K-1 you received from 
pass-through entities.
Combine the total pass-through withholding on Part 5, 
line 3c, and the mineral royalty withholding reported 
on Part 5, line 4, of the Montana Schedule K-1, and 
report the total here.

Refundable Credits
Line 4–Emergency Lodging Credit. A refundable tax 
credit is available for licensed establishments that provide 
short-term emergency lodging under the Emergency 
Lodging Program. The program helps provide lodging 
for individuals or families who have been displaced 
from their residence and have been referred to the 
establishment by a charitable organization approved by 
the Montana Department of Public Health and Human 
Services. Visit https://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fcss/
publicaccommodations/emergencylodging for additional 
information regarding participation in this program.
The credit is $30 for each night of lodging provided 
by the establishment with a maximum of five nights’ 
lodging for each individual or family. An individual 
may claim the credit if they are the owner of the 
establishment or they have an ownership interest 
in the partnership or S Corporation that owns the 
establishment.
For further instructions on the emergency lodging credit, 
and to calculate this credit, see Montana Form ELC. 
When you claim this credit, include a copy of Form ELC 
with your tax return.
The Emergency Lodging Credit was repealed and will 
no longer be available after Tax Year 2021.
Line 5–Unlocking Public Lands Credit. The Unlocking 
Public Lands Program allows a landowner to enter into 
a contractual agreement with the Montana Department 
of Fish, Wildlife and Parks to provide public recreational 
access where no legal public access currently exists. 
The landowner may receive an annual tax credit in the 
amount of $750 per agreement (up to a maximum of 
$3,000 tax credit per year) for allowing such access. For 
additional information, refer to fwp.mt.gov.
Line 6–Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. The 
Montana Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit is a property 
tax relief program that provides a refundable tax credit 
of up to $1,000. To claim this credit, you must live in 
a household where the total income of all household 
members is less than $45,000 for that year, be 62 or 
older, have lived in Montana for more than nine months 
during the tax year, and occupied a Montana residence 
as a renter, owner, or lessee for a total of six months or 
more during the year.

https://tap.dor.mt.gov
https://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fcss/publicaccommodations/emergencylodging
https://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fcss/publicaccommodations/emergencylodging
https://fwp.mt.gov/
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To calculate this credit, use the Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit Schedule on Form 2, page 10. See 
instructions on pages 40 through 42.
If you do not have a filing requirement and you wish to 
claim the credit, see page 3.
Line 7–Other Payments. Use this line if you made 
any payment after April 18. This line does not include 
payments you make with your return.
If you are filing an amended return, include on this line 
any payment made with your original return.

Contributions, Penalties, and Interest 
Schedule
This schedule includes all the adjustments that reduce 
your overpayment, or increase your amount owed.
Line 1–Voluntary Contributions. Per Montana law, 
you can use your tax return to donate any amount to the 
following programs. Your contribution will increase the 
amount you owe or reduce the amount of your refund. 
Each taxpayer can contribute. When married filing 
jointly, all contributions must be made on Column A.
If you are amending your return, your original donations 
to voluntary contribution programs no longer apply. You 
can confirm or modify your contributions by marking 
one of the boxes or entering the dollar amount you 
wish to donate for any program you choose.

Line a–Nongame Wildlife Program. Your 
contributions to this program are used to ensure 
the well-being of Montana’s watchable wildlife 
species, such as eagles, herons, bluebirds, great 
horned owls, loons, chipmunks, pikas, flying 
squirrels, and painted turtles.

Line b–Child Abuse Prevention. Your contributions 
to this program fund services and activities 
related to the prevention of child abuse and 
neglect. In addition, if you enclose a separate 
check with your timely filed return, you can take 
an itemized deduction for this contribution on the 
tax return you are filing with this contribution.

Line c–Agriculture Literacy in Montana Schools. 
Your contributions to this program fund the 
development and presentation of educational 
programs. This program ensures Montana’s 
young people have a better understanding of 
agriculture in our state and how it relates to the 
rest of the world.

Line d–Montana Military Family Relief Fund. 
Your contributions to this program help provide 
funding for grants that aid Montana families in 
defraying the costs of food, housing, utilities, 
medical services, and other expenses when a 
wage earner has been called to active military 
duty. Calculate the total of your contributions and 
enter the result on this line.

Line 2–If Filing an Amended Return, enter 
Overpayments Already Refunded or Applied to 
Tax Year 2021. If you are filing an amended return and 
you had an overpayment on your original Tax Year 2021 
return, or on the last amended return filed for 2021 if this 
is not your first amendment, report this overpayment here. 
You may have chosen to apply this overpayment to your 
Tax Year 2022 estimated taxes.
If you made a payment with any of your previous 
return(s) filed for Tax Year 2021, report that payment 
on the Other Payments and Refundable Credits 
Schedule, line 7.
Line 3–Interest on Underpayment of Estimated 
Taxes. You must pay your income tax liability 
throughout the year. You can make your payments 
through employer withholding, installment payments 
of estimated taxes, or a combination of both. (See 
Publication 1 for more information about the Montana 
pay-as-you-go system.)
If you did not pay at least 90 percent of your 2021 
income tax liability in advance (after applying your 
credits) or 100 percent of your 2020 income tax 
liability (after applying your credits), you may have to 
pay interest on the underpayment of your estimated 
tax with your return.
You do not have to make estimated tax payments if at 
least two-thirds of your gross income is derived from 
farming or ranching operations. Mark the “2/3 farming 
gross income” box if this applies to you.
Mark the “estimated payments were made using 
the annualization method” box if you used the 
annualization method to make your estimated tax 
payments for 2021.
Taxpayers filing separately on the same form must 
calculate their interest on underpayment of estimated 
taxes on a combined basis. This often results in 
having less interest to pay.
To calculate your interest, complete either the 
Calculation of Interest of Underpayment of Estimated 
Taxes–Short Method Worksheet on Form 2, page 11, 
or Form EST-I (2021 Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Individuals, Estates and Trusts). This 
form is available at MTRevenue.gov or call us at 
(406) 444-6900.

https://MTRevenue.gov
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You can use the short method to determine your 
interest only if your taxable year was 12 full months 
and one of the following conditions applies to you:

	● You made no estimated tax payments (in other 
words, your only payments were Montana 
withholding); or

	● You made four equal estimated payments by the 
required due dates.

Line 4 –Late Filing Penalty, Late Payment Penalty, 
and Interest. This line allows you to use a simplified 
worksheet to estimate the penalties and interest you 
may owe.
Caution: The calculation of penalties and interest 
you report on your return is an approximation. The 
department will recalculate this amount and adjust 
penalties and interest if necessary. This adjustment 
may result in more or less penalties and interest owed.
If you and your spouse are filing on separate returns, 
penalties and interest are based on the amount that 
each spouse owes. If both spouses owe additional 
tax, penalties, or interest, they will receive individual 
Notices of Assessment for the amount they owe.
Interest. If you do not pay 100 percent of your income 
tax liability by April 18, 2022, you must pay 3 percent 
annual interest, computed daily on the amount you 
owe. Multiply your amount owed by 0.0000822 for 
each day your payment is late. If you made payments 
after April 18, you must adjust the amount owed after 
each payment for the calculation of interest. You must 
calculate the interest between each payment separately 
and add the interest owed for each period on this line.

Example: George owed $2,000 on April 18. 
He made a payment of $1,000 on June 14. He 
pays the remaining $1,000 with his return on 
October 17. George has two interest calculation 
periods. He must first calculate the interest for 60 
days based on $2,000. Then, he calculates the 
interest for 123 days based on $1,000. His interest 
is ($9.86 + $10.11 = $19.97).

Late Filing Penalty. If you file your return after 
October 17, you must pay a late filing penalty. The 
penalty is equal to 5 percent per month on the amount 
owed on the extended due date, up to 25 percent of 
the amount owed on October 17, until the return is 
filed. The minimum penalty is $50, even if you are 
claiming a refund.
If the taxes and interest are paid within 30 days of the 
first Notice of Assessment sent by the department, the 
late filing penalty may be waived.
Late Payment Penalty. The late payment penalty is 
equal to 0.5 percent per month, calculated daily, on 
the unpaid amount from April 18, 2022, until it is paid. 

The daily rate is 0.0164 percent. Your late payment 
penalty will never exceed 12 percent (24 months x 0.5 
percent) of the unpaid tax. Late payment penalty is 
automatically waived if you pay all the tax and interest 
with your return, or within 30 days of the first notice 
from the department.
If you are planning to pay the entire amount owed with 
the tax return, you do not need to calculate the late 
payment penalty.
If you are not able to pay the entire amount owed with 
your tax return, use the calculation worksheet below 
to determine an estimation of the late payment penalty 
accumulated up until the date you file your return.
The total amount to report on line 4 can be figured 
using the Penalties and Interest Worksheet below.
Line 5–Other Penalties. Include on this line the sum 
of the following penalties if they apply to your situation.

	● First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account 10 
percent Penalty

If you withdrew funds from your First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account for purposes 
other than to pay for eligible costs for the 
purchase of a single-family residence, 
you must pay a 10 percent penalty on this 
withdrawal unless the withdrawal was on the 
last business day in December. Complete 
the penalty calculation on Montana Form 
FTB, 2021 First-Time Home Buyers Savings 
Account. Enter the amount of the penalty on 
this line and include a copy of Form FTB with 
your tax return.

	● Medical Care Savings Account 10 percent 
Penalty

If you withdrew funds from your Medical Care 
Savings Account for purposes other than to 
pay for eligible medical costs, you must pay a 
10 percent penalty on this withdrawal unless 
you made this withdrawal on the last business 
day in December. Enter the penalty calculated 
on the Montana MSA Schedule, Nonqualified 
Withdrawal and Penalty section, line 6.

	● Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account 
10 percent Penalty

If you have not distributed your deposits 
and income from your Farm and Ranch Risk 
Management Account within five years, they 
are considered distributed. You must pay a 10 
percent penalty on the amount of tax due on 
this amount that is considered distributed. On 
this line, enter the amount of your farm and 
ranch risk management account 10 percent 
penalty.
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Penalties and Interest Worksheet
Penalties and Interest Worksheet

1 Form 2, line 20
2 Form 2, line 21
3 Form 2, line 22
4 Net amount owed on April 18: subtract lines 

2 and 3 from line 1.
5 Number of days since April 18, 2022
6 
 
 

Interest: multiply line 4 by line 5, and by 
0.0000822 
(if you made payments after April 18, 
see instructions)

7 Net amount owed on October 17
8 Divide line 7 by 4
9 
 

If the return is late, (filed after 
October 17), enter the number of months 
and parts of a month the return is late

10 
 
 

Late filing penalty: Enter the greater of $50 
or your base amount, which is the lesser of 
5% of line 7 multiplied by line 9, or line 8.

11 
 
 

Late payment penalty: If applicable, 
multiply line 7 by line 5, and by 0.000164. 
Enter the result or 12% of line 4, whichever 
is smaller, on this line.

12 
 

Total: combine lines 6, 10, and 11, and 
report this total on the Contributions, 
Penalties, and Interest Schedule, line 4.

Penalties and Interest Worksheet Instructions
If you are paying or filing late, use the instructions for 
this worksheet to calculate any penalties and interest 
you may owe.
Line 4. Net amount owed on April 18: If you make 
payments after April 18, 2022, these payments are 
reported on the Other Payments and Refundable 
Credits Schedule, line 7. You must subtract these 
payments from the net amount owed and report the 
result on this line.
Line 6. This worksheet assumes you have not made 
any payment since April 18, 2022. If you made 
payments after April 18, you must adjust the amount 
owed after each payment for the calculation of 
interest. You must calculate the interest between each 
payment separately and add the interest owed for 
each period on this line.

Example: George owed $2,000 on April 18. 
He made a payment of $1,000 on June 14. He 
pays the remaining $1,000 with his return on 
October 17. George has two interest calculation 
periods. He must first calculate the interest for 60 
days based on $2,000. Then, he calculates the 
interest for 123 days based on $1,000. His interest 
is ($9.86 + $10.11 = $19.97).

Line 7. Report the amount from line 4 on this 
line. If you made payments between April 18 and 
October 17, you must deduct them from the amount 
reported on line 4.

Tax Benefit Rule for Recoveries of 
Itemized Deductions Long Worksheet 
Instructions
What documentation will you need to complete 
this worksheet?
You will need the original Form 2, the Itemized 
Deduction Schedule when applicable, and 
documentation recording the original deductions. You 
will also need any document or worksheet you used 
to record refunds related to expenses you itemized or 
any recoveries already reported on a previous return 
plus any form or worksheet that was used to limit 
allowable deductions.

Federal Income Tax Refund Section
This section helps you calculate the recovery for a 
refund of federal income tax received in 2021 if you 
deducted these payments of federal income tax on a 
prior return. If, in 2021, you only received a refund of 
federal income taxes paid in 2020, you must use the 
Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted in 2020 
Worksheet on Form 2, page 4, of the return to figure 
how much of your refund is taxable.

Other (recoveries)
Enter the amount of refund of expenses, other than 
federal income tax, that you deducted in the year 
for which you are completing this worksheet. If you 
received refunds for several items you deducted that 
year, enter the sum of these refunds.
Note: When the original deduction was limited to a 
portion of the expense you originally incurred, either 
because of a floor (such as for medical expenses) or 
a ceiling (such as for the overall limitation on itemized 
deductions) the amount of your recovery is limited to 
the amount you effectively deducted. To determine 
how much of your refund was effectively deducted you 
may have to recalculate your itemized deduction for 
the year of the deduction using the original expense 
reduced by the amount of refund you received. Your 
recovery would be the difference between the original 
deduction taken and the deduction calculated after 
taking the refunds into account.
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Standard Deduction Benefit Rules and Rates
When you deduct an expense as an itemized 
deduction, the amount of taxes you must pay is 
reduced. This reduction in tax is the tax benefit of the 
deduction. If you receive a refund of that expense in 
a following year, that refund is income in the year it is 
received. This recovery may be less than the amount 
of refund you received. This happens when the 
deduction you took on your previous return, reduced 
by the refund you received, would have resulted in 
more tax than choosing the standard deduction. The 
worksheet compares whether the itemized deductions 
net of the refund or the standard deduction would 
have been more advantageous, and reduces the 
recovery accordingly. This tax benefit rule is applied 
on an individual basis regardless of your filing status. 
It does not constitute a change to your election to use 
itemized deductions in either year.

Example: Assume Anna, a single taxpayer, chose 
to itemize her deductions in 2012 and recorded 
$3,000 of property tax deduction and $7,000 of 
casualty loss. In 2021, Anna received a refund of 
the $7,000 that she deducted as a casualty loss in 
2012. That refund is a recovery. In 2012, without 
the casualty loss, her itemized deduction would 
have been $3,000. Yet, she would have been 
able to deduct $4,200 if she had elected for the 
standard deduction. That is $1,200 more than the 
itemized deduction considered after the refund. As 
a result, her taxable recovery is limited to $5,800 
($7,000 - $1,200).

Do not use this worksheet if you received a refund 
for a given tax year and a previous recovery for the 
same tax year was already limited by the tax benefit 
rule. This may occur when, over the course of several 
years, you receive several refunds of expenses 
reported as deductions for that given tax year.
For purposes of the worksheet, “deduction year” 
means the year you took an itemized deduction 
for the expense you incurred. You must use a new 
worksheet for each deduction year for which you may 
have to report a recovery.

Standard Deduction for Past Years
Multiply the amount on the worksheet, line 13 by 
20 percent (0.20). Enter this amount on line 14 of the 
worksheet, but not more than the maximum amount 
or less than the minimum amount reported below 
that corresponds with the tax year for which you are 
calculating your tax benefit rule recovery amount.
In the following table statuses are referenced as:

	● Single: S
	● Married Filing Jointly: MFJ
	● Married Filing Separately: MFS
	● Head of Household: HoH

Tax Year Status Minimum Maximum

2020
S or MFS $2,130 $4,790

MFJ or HoH $4,260 $9,580

2019
S or MFS $2,090 $4,710

MFJ or HoH $4,180 $9,420

2018
S or MFS $2,030 $4,580

MFJ or HoH $4,060 $9,160

2017
S or MFS $2,000 $4,510

MFJ or HoH $4,000 $9,020

2016
S or MFS $1,980 $4,460

MFJ or HoH $3,960 $8,920

2015
S or MFS $1,940 $4,370

MFJ or HoH $3,880 $8,740

2014
S or MFS $1,940 $4,370

MFJ or HoH $3,880 $8,740

2013
S or MFS $1,900 $4,270

MFJ or HoH $3,800 $8,540

2012
S or MFS $1,860 $4,200

MFJ or HoH $3,720 $8,400
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Taxable Recovery for Itemized Deductions
from Tax Year _______

Column A 
(for single, joint, 

separate, or head 
of household) 

Column B 
(for spouse when 
filing separately 

using filing 
Status 2a)

Fe
de

ra
l I

nc
om

e 
Ta

x 
Re

fu
nd

1 Enter the total of your federal income tax deducted on Form 2, Itemized Deductions Schedule, for the 
deduction year (indicated above). 1

2 Enter the total refund(s) you received in 2021 and prior years from the federal income tax reported on line 1. 
This amount should not include any refundable credits that are not attributable to income taxes you paid.

 
2

3 Subtract line 2 from line 1. This is your federal income tax not refunded. 3
4 Enter the federal income taxes you deducted on Form 2, Itemized Deductions Schedule, in the

deduction year.
 

4
5 Is line 3 larger than line 4? If yes, enter 0 here. If no, subtract line 3 from line 4 and enter the result here. 

This is the amount of taxes you deducted that were refunded to you.
 

5
6 Enter the total of all taxable recoveries of federal income tax already reported in previous year returns, if you 

received consecutive refunds for the deduction you took.
 

6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 5. This is your federal income tax recovery for 2021. 7

Other 8 Enter the total of all other itemized deductions recovered in 2021. 8
Total 9 Add lines 7 and 8 9

St
an

da
rd

 D
ed

uc
tio

n 
Be

ne
fit

 R
ul

e

10 Enter the total Montana allowable itemized deductions for the deduction year 10
11 Enter any taxable recovery you reported on returns prior to the 2021 and related to the deduction year. These 

recoveries must not be included in lines 7 or 8.
 

11
12 Subtract line 11 from line 10 12
13 Montana Adjusted Gross Income for the deduction year 13
14 Enter the standard deduction for the deduction year. (See instructions) 14
15 Subtract line 14 from line 12. If the result is zero or less, stop here. The amount on line 9 is not taxable. 15
16 Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 15. 16

Ta
xa

bl
e 

Re
co

ve
ry 17 Enter your Montana taxable income for the deduction year. 17

18 
 

If line 17 is zero or more, enter the amount from line 16. If line 17 is a negative amount, add lines 16 and 17 
and enter the result, but not less than zero. This is your recovery amount. You must follow the instructions 
below to include this amount in your income for 2021

 
 

18

Al
lo

ca
tio

n

If line 18 equals line 9, enter the amount from line 7 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1, and 
enter the amount from line 8 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
If line 18 is less than line 9, and either line 7 or line 8 is zero:
If there is an amount on line 7, enter the amount from line 18 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1.
If there is an amount on line 8, enter the amount from line 18 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
If line 18 is less than line 9 and there are amounts on both lines 7 and 8, complete lines A, B, and C below.

A Divide the amount on line 7 by the amount on line 9. Enter the percentage here. A
B Multiply the amount on line 18 by the percentage on line A. 

Enter the result here and on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1.
 

B
C Subtract the amount on line B from the amount on line 18. 

Enter the result here and on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
 

C

Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums Deduction
If you have completed the Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums Deduction Worksheet for your federal return, you do not need to complete this worksheet.  
You are allowed the same deduction. If you did not complete the federal worksheet, use this worksheet to calculate the amount you are allowed to deduct.

1 Enter the total premiums you paid in 2021 for qualified mortgage insurance for a contract issued after December 31, 2006 1
2 Enter your Federal Adjusted Gross Income from Form 2, page 1, line 11 2
3 Enter $100,000 3
4 
 
 

Is the amount on line 2 more than the amount on line 3?  
 
 

4

No	 ►	 Your deduction is not limited. Enter the amount from line 1 above on Form 2, page 7, Itemized Deductions Schedule, line 9.
Yes	►	 Subtract line 3 from line 2. If the result is not a multiple of $1,000, increase it to the next multiple of $1,000. 

For example, increase $425 to $1,000; increase $2,025 to $3,000. Enter the result here.
5 Divide line 4 by $10,000. Enter the result as a decimal. If the result is 1.0 or more, enter 1.0.	 5
6 Multiply line 1 by line 5 and enter the result here 6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 1. Enter the result here and on Form 2, page 7, Itemized Deductions Schedule, line 9. 

This is your qualified mortgage insurance premiums deduction.
 

7
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