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Your Tax Dollars at Work

What are Montana’s Public Revenues?
Total Montana State and Local Revenue, Fiscal Year Ending 2016
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Where Do Your Public Dollars Go?
Total State and Local Spending in Montana, Fiscal year Ending 2016
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Dear Montana Taxpayer,

Thank you for filing your Montana tax return.
To make filing your tax return as easy as possible, we have made some changes. 
Please see the What’s New section for the changes to our 2019 tax forms.
It is important for Montanans to know where your tax dollars go. In the graphs 
below, you can see where tax revenues come from and how they are used to 
support important services and infrastructure.
We are committed to assisting you with any questions you may have about your 
filing requirements. If you need more information or would like help, please visit 
MTRevenue.gov or call our help line at (406) 444-6900.
Also, we encourage you to file electronically. Last year nearly 90 percent of individual 
taxpayers filed electronically. Taxpayers find that e-filing is easy, and helps ensure 
accurate processing. It can also help you get any refund you are owed more quickly. 
Be sure to visit montanafreefile.org for help with free filing options.

Best regards,

Your Montana Department of Revenue
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These instructions are designed to address the laws for most tax filing situations. If you have a 
unique situation that is not addressed in the booklet, please refer to Title 15 of Montana law found at 
leg.mt.gov or call us with your questions.

What’s New?
Updates and items of interest relating to individual 
income tax.

Federal Changes
Federal Extenders. The year-end federal budget 

bill was signed into law on December 20, 2019, 
which extended certain expired provisions (Federal 
Extenders) that were eliminated in the 2017 Tax Cut 
and Jobs Act. The 2019 Form 2, schedules, and 
worksheets conform to these Federal Extenders.

Legislative Changes
Earned Income Tax Credit. Beginning with 

Tax Year 2019, Montana has enacted a state 
version of the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). 
The Montana EITC is offered at 3 percent of the 
federal credit and is fully refundable. For example, 
if your federal EITC is $1,000, your Montana EITC 
will be $30.
If you are a part-year resident, a member of a 
501(d) organization, or a tribal member, you may 
be entitled to a partial credit. This credit is not 
available for non-residents.
See page 11 for more information about the 
Montana EITC.

Deposits to 529 Accounts. You can now direct part 
or all your overpayment to a Family Education 
Savings account (IRC 529) or an Achieve a Better 
Life Experience account (IRC 529A). Use the 
MT- 529 Schedule to indicate which account you 
want your overpayment to be deposited. This 
deposit is considered a refund to you and will 
be included on federal Form 1099-G.  For more 
information, see Form 2, page 12.

Allowable deductions for contributions to an 
ABLE account expanded.  Beginning with 
Tax Year 2019, the list of family members eligible 
for a tax deduction for contributions to an Achieving 
a Better Life Experience (ABLE) account has 
been expanded to include grandparents, siblings 
or children related to an account owner by blood, 
marriage, or legal adoption.
In addition contributions are eligible for deduction 
regardless of the designated beneficiary’s residency, 
or state in which the account is held or administered.

Business deduction when a federal credit 
is claimed. Beginning with Tax Year 2019, 
businesses that claim a federal credit are allowed 
the corresponding business expense as a 
deduction for Montana tax purposes when this 
deduction is disallowed for federal tax purposes. 
For example, employers receiving the federal credit 
for Social Security and Medicare taxes paid on 
certain employee tips are now allowed to take the 
related expense as a deduction. This deduction is 
limited to business expenses and does not impact 
expenditures that must be capitalized. For more 
information about this income tax deduction, see 
the instructions for Montana Subtractions Schedule, 
line 24, on page 24.

Changes to Form 2
Revisions related to the federal Form 1040. The 

Montana Form 2 was updated to reflect the changes 
made to the 2019 federal Form 1040. These changes 
include moving the capital gains line from federal 
Schedule 1 to the first page as well as the addition of a 
separate line for pensions and annuities.

Payment schedule for married taxpayers filing 
separately on the same form. Married taxpayers 
filing separately on the same form, with one spouse 
owing while the other has an overpayment, must 
use the Status 2a Payment Schedule on page 2 to 
determine whether they have a net amount owed 
or a net overpayment. If you are the spouse with 
the overpayment, you may be able to claim a partial 
refund after applying your overpayment to the 
amount owed by your spouse.

Schedule 1 (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR) 
Additional Income and Adjustment to Income. 
We added a checkbox allowing you to indicate 
write-ins adjustments were included on line 22 of 
federal Schedule 1, page 3.

Montana Schedule K-1. Montana Schedule K-1 was 
revised to simplify both the reporting of Montana 
adjustments and the reporting of Montana source 
income by nonresidents. See the instructions for the 
Montana Additions Schedule, line 12, and Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 32, for additional 
information on how to report these adjustments.

http://leg.mt.gov 
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General Instructions
Filing Requirements
Do You have to File? In general, if during the tax 

year you were a resident or part-year resident of 
Montana, or if you were a nonresident who received 
Montana source income; and, if your federal gross 
income, excluding unemployment compensation, is 
equal to or greater than the threshold for your filing 
status as listed in the chart below, then you must 
file a Montana income tax return.

IF your filing status 
is…

AND at the end of 
2019 you were…

THEN you must 
file a tax return if 

your federal gross 
income, excluding 

unemployment 
compensation was at 

least…

Single, or 
married filing 
separately

Under 65 $4,710

65 or older $7,220

Head of household
Under 65 $9,420

65 or older $11,930

Married filing jointly 
with your spouse

Both under 65 $9,420

One spouse 65 or 
older $11,930

Both spouses 65 or 
older $14,440

You are entitled to an additional exemption if you 
are blind or your spouse is blind. Increase your 
federal gross income in the last column by $2,510 
to determine if you must file.
If you are not sure about your filing status, 
see page 5.

You may qualify for the Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit even if you do not have a 
Montana filing requirement. See page 3 for 
instructions on how to claim this credit. 

To claim the Earned Income Tax Credit, you 
must still complete Form 2, pages 1 and 2, 
even if you do not meet the filing thresholds 
shown above. For more information about the 
Earned Income Tax Credit, see page 11.

Filing requirement for taxpayers with losses. If 
you incurred or reported losses (including passive 
losses and net operating losses), you must file 
a Montana tax return to track the sourcing of the 
losses and to use those losses in calculating your 
tax liability. Unreported losses may lead to the 
disallowance of their use in future years.

Nonresident Military Servicemembers 
and Spouses

In general, if you are a military service member, or 
the spouse of a military service member, located in 
Montana solely in compliance with military orders, 
you do not acquire residency status in Montana.
Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, if you 
are a service member located in Montana solely 
in compliance with military orders, you retain 
residency in the state you were a resident before 
moving to Montana. Your military compensation is 
not Montana source income.

Spouse of Active Duty Servicemember
You qualify for relief under the Military Spouse 
Residency Relief Act if:

	● You are the spouse of a nonresident military 
servicemember; and

	● You are in Montana solely to be with your 
military spouse who is serving in compliance 
with military orders; and

	● Both spouses are residents of the same state.
If you meet all three of these conditions, your 
compensation for personal services earned in 
Montana cannot be sourced to Montana, but 
remains taxable in your state of residency.
If you or your spouse have Montana source 
income, such as rental income from real property 
located in Montana, you must file as nonresidents. 
You must exempt the military compensation on 
the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 13, if 
you included this compensation in your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income.
The compensation for services rendered in 
Montana and received by the nonresident non-
military spouse are not Montana source income 
and are not included on your Nonresident/Part-Year 
Resident Ratio Schedule, line 1.
If you meet the requirements of either situation 
described above and you do not have any 
Montana source income, you do not have a filing 
requirement in Montana.
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Enrolled Member of a Tribe
If you are an enrolled member of a tribe and you 
live on the reservation governed by your tribe, 
you can subtract your income sourced to your 
reservation from your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income. Other items of income are taxable and 
must be reported on Form 2.
Income that can be sourced to the reservation 
governed by your tribe includes:

	● wages earned within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● all interest, dividends, pensions, annuities, and 
any income received from the use of intangible 
properties;

	● income, including farming, from real properties 
located within the exterior boundaries of your 
reservation;

	● business income from activities carried 
on within the exterior boundaries of your 
reservation.

Income sourced elsewhere includes:
	● wages earned outside the exterior boundaries 

of  the reservation governed by your tribe;
	● any income linked to real estate properties 

located outside the exterior boundaries of the 
reservation governed by your tribe;

	● any business income stemming from activities 
carried on outside the exterior boundaries of 
the reservation governed by your tribe.

You may source business income from a pass-
through entity to your reservation using a 
reasonable method suited to the nature of the 
business. Income already sourced to a state 
other than Montana can never be sourced to your 
reservation.
If all your income can be subtracted from Montana 
income tax as a tribal member, you do not have to 
file a Montana income tax return, Form 2. Instead, 
you must file Form ETM.
If only part of your income can be subtracted from 
Montana income tax, and your nonexempt income 
exceeds the filing thresholds, you must file Form 2 with 
Form ETM. When you are required to file a Form 2, 
use the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 8.

If you live outside the boundaries of the 
reservation governed by your tribe, or if you live 
on another reservation that is not governed by 
your tribe, none of the income can be sourced 
to the reservation governed by your tribe.

Income derived directly from allotted or restricted 
lands that are held in trust by the United States 
and exempt from federal income tax is also exempt 
from Montana income tax.

When Must You File?
File Form 2 and pay the tax due by April 15, 2020. 
An automatic extension of six months applies for 
filing your return, but this extension does not apply 
to payments. If you file after the extended due date, 
you may have to pay a penalty for late filing. See 
instructions about interest and penalties on page 47.
If you were serving in, or in support of, the U.S. 
Armed Forces in a designated combat zone or 
contingency operation, the extension of time to 
file your Montana tax return is the same as the 
extension you receive for your federal tax return. 
See the IRS Publication 3 for more information.

How to File

Electronic Filing
Filing electronically is recommended for faster, 
more accurate, and more secure service. If 
receiving a refund, you will receive it more quickly 
by filing electronically than if you file on paper.
You may be eligible for free tax software from 
Free File Alliance. Find Free File Alliance offers 
at MTRevenue.gov.

Paper Filing
If you are filing your return on paper, you must 
include any applicable federal forms and schedules 
we requested on the return. You do not need to 
provide us with your entire federal return when 
you file your Montana return unless you are a 
nonresident or part-year resident. However, you 
should retain your federal return in your tax records 
and be able to provide it to us upon request.
Include only the pages of Form 2 on which you 
entered information. For example, if you are a 
resident and you only had to complete the Form 2, 
Schedule 1, the Montana Subtractions Schedule, 
and you chose the standard deduction, you will only 
need to send pages 1, 2, 3, and 5.
If you choose to file a paper return, you must 
complete your federal Form 1040 first. Use blue or 
black ink to complete Montana Form 2.
You must sign and mail page 1 and 2 to us. Include 
all pages with a completed schedule.

http://MTRevenue.gov
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TIP: You will need to send only pages 1 and 2 of 
Form 2 if:

	● You only received wages, dividends, or 
taxable interest, and

	● You have fewer than four dependents, and
	● You do not report any adjustment to income 

(see page 3), and
	● You do not have any Montana additions or 

subtractions (see pages 4 and 5), and
	● You chose the standard deduction for 2019, 

and
	● You are not claiming any credit in 2019.

If you wish to contribute to a check-off 
program, you will have to use the 
Contributions, Penalties, and Interest 
Schedule, and include page 11 with the return 
you are mailing.

Easy Steps to Assemble Your Return as Shown 
Below – Do Not Staple
From Top to Bottom

1.	 Payment Voucher, if you are making a 
payment

2.	 Forms W-2 and 1099 reporting Montana 
Withholding

3.	 Montana Form 2, pages 1 and 2
4.	 Montana Form 2, other pages with completed 

schedules 
5.	 Copy of your federal tax return:

Nonresident/part-year residents must 
include a copy of their entire federal return.

6.	 Copy of your federal schedules:
Nonresident/part-year residents must include 
a copy of their completed federal schedules.

We have two different mailing addresses for your 
paper return, if you choose not to file electronically. 
We do this so that if you are asking for a refund, 
we can get your refund processed and to you more 
quickly and efficiently.
If you do not owe taxes or are expecting a refund, 
mail your tax return to:

Montana Department of Revenue 
PO Box 6577 
Helena, MT 59604-6577

If you are making a payment with your tax return, 
mail your tax return and check to:

Montana Department of Revenue 
PO Box 6308 
Helena, MT 59604-6308

Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit
Before you begin, gather all the information about 
the income of all the members of your household. 
You will need this information to verify eligibility and 
calculate the credit.
If you are required to file a return, you can calculate 
the credit on page 10 of Form 2 and claim it on the 
Other Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule 
on page 11.
If you are not required to file a return, and you wish 
to claim the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit, 
you can do so on the TransAction Portal (TAP) 
https://tap.dor.mt.gov or on paper by completing just 
Form 2, pages 1, 2, 10, and 11, in the following order:

	● Page 10:
	○ First, complete the Elderly Homeowner/

Renter Credit Schedule (and, if applicable, 
the Long-Term Care Facility Rent 
Calculation Worksheet) to determine 
eligibility and calculate the amount of credit.

	● Page 11:
	○ Enter the amount of credit on the Other 

Payments and Refundable Credits 
Schedule, page 11, line 6.
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	● Page 1:
	○ Provide your identification and filing status 

used to determine your filing requirement;
	○ Check “Resident full-year” or “Resident 

part-year.” (To claim the credit, you must be 
a resident of Montana and have resided in 
the state for at least nine months of 2019);

	○ List dependents, if any;
	○ Mark the box “65 or older” in the exemption 

section if applicable;
	○ Complete lines 1, 4a, 4c, and 5a when 

applicable. (Use any Forms W-2 and 
SSA-1099 or 1099-R you may have 
received to complete those sections);

	○ Report the amount of credit on 
lines 19 and 24.

	● Page 2:
	○ Complete the direct deposit section;
	○ Sign at the bottom.

Nonresident Tax 
Nonresidents are taxed on their Montana source 
income. This tax is first calculated based on taxable 
income determined as if the taxpayer was a resident, 
and then apportioned to the amount of Montana 
source income included in Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income. This apportionment is determined using the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule. 
Do not exempt non-Montana source income on 
Montana Subtractions Schedule.
Example: Marla is a nonresident. Her Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is $50,500 and includes 
$10,000 of rental income from a real property she 
owns in Montana. The rental income is Montana 
source income.

Marla must first calculate her taxable income as 
if she were a resident and calculate her resident 
tax. Her Federal Adjusted Gross Income includes 
$500 of interest that is exempt in Montana. Since 
she reports the same additions and subtractions 
as a resident, she reports this interest on her 
Montana Subtractions Schedule. After additions 
and subtractions, Marla’s Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income is $50,000.
Marla must first calculate her taxable income as 
a resident. After claiming her itemized deductions 
and her personal and dependent exemptions, her 
taxable income is $30,000.
Marla then calculates her nonresident ratio using 
the Nonresident Ratio Schedule on Form 2, 

page 8. She reports $10,000 of rental income 
on line 10 so her nonresident ratio is 20 percent 
($10,000/$50,000).
Marla calculates her tax on the Tax Liability Schedule, 
line 1, which is $1,483. Her nonresident tax is $297 
($1,483 x 0.20). She reports $297 on her Tax Liability 
Schedule, line 3a, and on Form 2, page1, line 15.

Part-year residents calculate their tax like 
nonresidents. However, a part-year resident must 
include in the numerator of their ratio all their 
income received while they were a resident.
See instructions for the residency line on page 7 to 
determine your residency status.

Amending Your 2019 Return
If you are amending your 2019 return, you must 
complete a new Form 2 with all the schedules, 
even if none of the amounts previously reported on 
them have changed, and do the following:

1.	 Mark the box on the top left of page 1.
2.	 Make sure you sign and date your return.
3.	 Complete the Amended Return Information 

section on page 2.
4.	 Include any payments made with or after 

filing the original return on line 7 of the Other 
Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule 
on page 11.

5.	 If you requested a refund or if you carried 
over all or part of the overpayment reported 
on your original return to 2020, make sure 
that you completed line 2 of the Contributions, 
Penalties, and Interest Schedule on page 11.
If you file an amended tax return that reflects 
an increased tax liability, you may have the 
late payment penalty waived. To receive the 
waiver, simply mark the “Amended Return” 
box on the top left-hand corner of the tax 
return and pay the tax and applicable interest 
in full when you file the amended return. By 
marking this box and paying all tax and 
interest, you are treated as having requested a 
waiver of the late payment penalty.

Interest Rate for 2020
Effective January 1, 2020, the annual interest 
rate assessed on outstanding balances is 5 
percent. This rate also applies to underpayment of 
estimated taxes. Interest is calculated daily.



Page 52019 Montana Form 2 Instructions

Line Instructions
Personal Information

Enter your name, address, and Social Security 
Number (SSN) or Individual Tax Identification Number 
(ITIN). An incorrect number may delay your refund.
Enter the address where you receive your mail. We 
will use this address to send correspondence and 
your refund (if applicable).
If either the primary taxpayer or the spouse died 
prior to filing this return, enter the date of death in the 
field next to his or her name. Include a copy of the 
federal Form 1310 unless you use filing Status 2a 
(married filing separately on the same form) or 
Status 4 (married filing jointly) on this return.

Filing Status – (mark only one box)
Montana law does not require you to claim the 
same filing status that you claimed on your federal 
tax return. For example, if you are married and you 
filed your federal income tax return jointly, you and 
your spouse have the option to file your Montana 
tax return either jointly or separately.

TIP: If you are married, and both spouses report 
income, filing separately may result in less tax due.

Filing Separately When Married.
If you and your spouse chose to file separately, you 
and your spouse will each need to report your own 
adjusted gross income. You cannot arbitrarily assign 
income or deductions between the two of you.
When filing separately, you must select whether 
you and your spouse are filing on the same form 
(Status 2a), on separate forms (Status 2b), or 
separately with your spouse not filing (Status 2c).
When you choose to file separately, you are filing a 
separate return from your spouse, even if you file 
on the same form.

How to allocate income and deductions 
when filing separately.

Apply the following general rules as you allocate 
income and deductions between you and your 
spouse.
When filing separately on the same form this 
allocation is done between Columns A and B, with 
each column being a return.

Allocation of income. If you filed your federal tax 
return separately, report the items of income the same 
way you reported them on your federal Form 1040.
Allocate income as follows:

	● Income from wages, salaries, bonuses, 
commissions, and other income that is 
earned from providing personal services as 
an employee or as an independent contractor 
should be reported by the spouse who earned it.

	● Income such as capital gains or losses, rents, 
royalties, dividends, and interest should be 
reported by the spouse who owns the property 
from which the income is derived. If you and 
your spouse jointly hold the property, you must 
split the income equally between both spouses 
unless you and your spouse can show a 
different proportional ownership.

	● Income from your or your spouse’s ownership 
in a sole proprietorship (federal Schedules C 
or F), partnership, S Corporation, or trust must 
be reported by the spouse who is the owner. 
An allocation for services rendered by a spouse 
can also be made (see instructions for Montana 
Additions and Montana Subtractions Schedules.)

Allocation of deductions. In general, if you filed 
your federal return separately, report the items of 
deduction the same way you reported them on your 
federal Form 1040.

	● Spouses must either both claim the standard 
deduction, or both itemize their deductions. 
You are not allowed to claim one method for 
one spouse and another method for the other 
spouse.

	● Deductions that are attributable to only one 
spouse must be claimed by that spouse. This 
includes, for example, federal income tax 
withheld from your wages and the Student 
Loan Interest Deduction.

	● Payments made from accounts owned by both 
spouses and that pertain to expenses that 
are not attributable specifically to one spouse 
can be allocated to either spouse in any 
proportional amount.
Review the following before choosing 
Status 2a (Married Filing Separately on the 
Same Form).
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The Status 2a election includes:
	● An authorization to direct the department to 

automatically apply the tax overpaid reported 
by one spouse to the tax due by the other 
spouse, including when the return is revised. 
For example, if we discover a math or other 
computational error when processing the 
form, the correction may result in our applying 
one spouse’s refund to the other spouse’s 
increased tax automatically, even when neither 
of the spouses were expecting a refund.
	○ If you file separately on the same form, 

before requesting any refund, you must 
apply your overpayment on line 24 to the 
amount owed by your spouse, if any, on 
line 23. See Status 2a Payment Schedule 
on Form 2, page 2.

	● An authorization to allow department 
employees to discuss all information on 
the form with either spouse, as permitted 
by Montana law. The department may also 
discuss any subsequent adjustments with 
either spouse.
	○ The law, however, does not allow you 

to make decisions for your spouse or to 
receive information about an amount your 
spouse may owe.

	● The opportunity to qualify for the Household and 
Dependent Care Services itemized deduction, if 
you are married and you do not file jointly.

	● The requirement to calculate your interest 
on underpayment of estimated tax on a 
combined basis.

If none of the above provisions apply to your tax 
situation and you still want to file separately, you 
must file on separate forms and choose Status 2b.

Status 1 – Single
You can claim this filing status if on December 31, 
2019, you:

	● were single;
	● were legally separated according to your state 

law under a decree of divorce or separate 
maintenance; or

	● were widowed before January 1, 2019, and 
you did not remarry in 2019.

If your filing status is Single, report your income 
and deductions in only column A.

Status 2a – Married Filing Separately on 
the Same Form

You can use Status 2a if both spouses are 
residents or both spouses are nonresidents 
receiving Montana source income.
Although submitted on the same form, married 
taxpayers electing to file using this status are 
submitting two tax returns, so each spouse must 
complete their own column.
Penalties and interest are calculated separately. 
Do not forget to reallocate estimated tax payments 
to your spouse, on your Other Payments and 
Refundable Credits Schedule, page 11, if you 
determine that all or part of these payments should 
be applied to your spouse’s account.

Status 2b – Married Filing Separately on 
Separate Forms

You can choose Status 2b if you are both residents, 
and choose not to file on the same form.
You and your spouse must use filing Status 2b if one 
spouse is a resident of Montana and the other spouse 
is a nonresident who has Montana source income.
When you select this filing status, you must include 
your spouse’s Social Security Number.

Status 2c – Married Filing Separately and 
Spouse Not Filing

You can use filing Status 2c when:
	● Both you and your spouse are nonresidents 

and one spouse has no Montana source 
income;

	● You are a resident and your spouse is a 
nonresident who has no Montana source 
income; or

	● Another taxpayer claims your spouse as 
a dependent. When you select this filing 
status, you must include your spouse’s Social 
Security Number.

Note: When you use this filing status, you cannot 
claim your spouse as an exemption on your return.

Status 3 – Head of Household
You qualify to file as Head of Household on your 
Montana tax return if you qualify as Head of 
Household for federal income tax purposes. When 
you use this filing status, include your federal Form 
1040, page 1, with your Montana tax return.
Generally, when your filing status on your federal Form 
1040 is Qualifying Widow(er), you can use Head of 
Household status. Verify that you qualify using the 
instructions for federal Form 1040 or IRS Publication 17.
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Status 4 – Married Filing Jointly
You can claim this filing status if you were married 
as of December 31, 2019, even if:

	● You did not live with your spouse at the end of 
2019; or

	● Your spouse died in 2019 and you did not 
remarry in 2019; or

	● You were married as of December 31, 2019, 
and your spouse died in 2020 before filing a 
2019 return.

Residency Status
In general, you are a resident of Montana for 
individual income tax purposes if you live in 
Montana or if you maintain a permanent home in 
Montana. A permanent home in Montana means 
a dwelling place you habitually use as your 
home, whether you own it or not, even if you may 
someday leave.
You do not lose your Montana residency if you 
leave the state temporarily for work or other 
purposes with the intention of returning. In general, 
your Montana residency is lost when you move and 
establish residency in another state.
Unless there is a specific exception under Montana 
law, if you establish Montana residency for any 
purpose, you are considered a Montana resident 
for income tax purposes.
You are a full-year nonresident of Montana if you 
were not a resident for whole tax year.
You are a part-year resident of Montana if you 
moved to or from Montana during the tax year with 
the intention of establishing a permanent residence 
in your new state.
Note: If you are married and one of you is a 
resident of Montana and the other is a nonresident 
of Montana, you cannot claim two residency 
statuses on the same return. You must file 
separate Montana tax returns and file using 
Status 2b or 2c described above.

Beginning in 2019, a nonresident spouse of a 
service member who is a resident of Montana may 
choose to become a resident of Montana. This 
change is irrevocable until such time residency is 
established in another state.

North Dakota Reciprocity
Montana has an income tax reciprocity agreement 
with the state of North Dakota that allows a resident 
of one state to be exempt from wage withholding 
and individual income tax on compensation 
received for work performed in the other state.

If you are a resident of North Dakota, wages you 
received in 2019 for work performed in Montana are 
not taxable in Montana. The following instructions 
are for residents of North Dakota whose income 
from Montana is only wages.
If your employer withheld Montana income tax you 
must complete Form 2, pages 1 and 2, to request 
the refund as follows:

1.	 Complete the personal information section at 
the top of page 1, as instructed.

2.	 File this form as a nonresident.
3.	 Mark the box for “North Dakota Reciprocity.”
4.	 Leave the dependents and exemptions 

sections blank.
5.	 Enter the Federal Adjusted Gross Income 

shown on your federal Form 1040, line 8b.
6.	 Fill in the amount of the Montana income tax 

withheld from your wages on line 18, and also 
include this amount on lines 22 and 24.

7.	 File this form with a copy of your federal return 
and Form(s) W-2 showing Montana income 
tax withholding.

If you received wages and other types of income from 
Montana, you must complete Form 2 following the 
instructions. See the Nonresident/Part-Year Resident 
Ratio instructions for the treatment of your wages.
If you do not want your employer to withhold Montana 
income tax from your wages, you must claim the 
North Dakota reciprocity exemption on Montana Form 
MW-4 and give that form to your employer.

Dependents
List each dependent’s first name, last name, 
Social Security Number, and his or her relationship 
to you. If you have more than three dependents, 
you need to include a separate list of these 
additional dependents.
A person who meets all the following requirements 
is considered your dependent for Montana income 
tax purposes. Some of Montana’s dependency 
requirements are different from the federal 
dependency requirements.
Your dependent is an individual:

	● for whom you have provided more than half 
his or her support during the tax year; and

	● who does not have gross income of more than 
$2,510, unless the dependent is a “qualifying 
child” according to the federal rules; and

	● who is not filing a joint tax return with his or 
her spouse during the same tax year.
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In addition to the requirements mentioned 
previously, your dependent must be:

	● a relative to you (or your spouse if you are filing 
a joint return) in one of the following ways:
Child	 Mother	 Aunt
Stepchild	 Grandparent	 Son-in-law
Grandchild	 Stepfather	 Daughter-in-law
Brother	 Stepmother	 Father-in-law
Sister	 Nephew	 Mother-in-law
Stepbrother	 Niece	 Brother-in-law
Stepsister	 Uncle	 Sister-in-law
Father		
or

	● an individual who for the tax year has shared 
your home as his or her principal home, 
and has been considered a member of your 
household;
or

	● a cousin (or other descendant of your uncle 
or aunt) who is receiving institutional care 
because of a physical or mental disability 
and was a member of your household before 
receiving the institutional care.

Note: When the terms nephew, niece, uncle, or 
aunt are used, they mean a direct relative of yours. 
You can claim your uncle as a dependent, but you 
cannot claim your uncle’s spouse. Similarly, you 
cannot claim your spouse’s uncle as a dependent, 
only your spouse can.
A child who is under age 19 at the end of the year 
(or under age 24 and a full-time student) and 
lived with you for more than half the year can be 
considered a dependent even if they have more 
income than is otherwise allowed.

Disabled Child
In addition to the dependent exemption, you are 
entitled to another exemption for a child who is 
disabled. If your child is disabled and you qualify for 
this additional exemption, place an “X” in the “Mark 
if Disabled” column in the same row you listed your 
disabled child.

You are allowed this disabled child exemption if you 
meet all the following requirements:

	● You provide more than half the 
disabled child’s support.

	● Your home is the disabled child’s principal home.
	● The disabled child has a permanent disability 

constituting a disability to 50 percent or more 
of the body. Deafness and blindness do not 
meet this requirement.

	● A licensed physician has certified the child’s 
disability. If this is the first year that you are 
claiming the additional exemption for this child, 
you must include a physician’s certification of 
this qualifying disability with your tax return.

This physician’s certification filed with us during the 
first year of eligibility remains in effect in subsequent 
years. We do not require you to file it again until the 
circumstances of your disabled child change.

Exemptions
You and your spouse are entitled to an additional 
exemption if you are age 65 or older at the end of the 
tax year, and an additional exemption if you are blind.

a – Yourself. You are always allowed one exemption 
for yourself. We placed an “X” in your box for you. 
Even if you are claimed as a dependent on another 
person’s tax return, you are still entitled to your one 
personal exemption.

b – Spouse. Mark the box only if you are married 
and filing jointly with your spouse, or if you file 
separately on the same form. No exemption for 
the spouse is allowed on this form if you and your 
spouse chose Status 2b or 2c.

c – Exemptions for Dependents. You can claim a 
dependent exemption for each person who qualifies 
as your dependent.
If you are filing separately, and the same individual 
is the dependent of both, you must allocate this 
dependent to one or the other spouse. The same 
dependent cannot be claimed twice.
When adding your exemptions for dependents, add 
two exemptions, instead of one, for each dependent 
who is a disabled child in the column or on the form 
of the spouse claiming the dependent.
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Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Your income on your Montana tax return begins 
with your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. You 
need to refer to your federal income tax instructions 
for detailed information about how to complete 
lines 1 through 8b and Form 2, Schedule 1, on 
page 3. Selected lines have been identified in these 
instructions to provide additional information about 
specific Montana tax details.
If you were required to complete and include a 
federal schedule for any of the items on these lines, 
also include those schedules when you submit your 
Montana tax return.

Lines 1 through 8b
On lines 1 through 8b, enter the amounts 
corresponding to your federal tax return Form 1040. 
Complete the Form 2, Schedule 1 on page 3, 
if needed.

Line 3b – Ordinary Dividends. Enter the total 
ordinary dividends that you reported on your federal 
Form 1040, line 3b. Montana taxes all dividends 
as ordinary dividends and does not have a specific 
qualified dividend tax rate.

Lines 4a-4d – IRA Distributions, Pensions and 
Annuities. IRA distributions, pensions, and 
annuities may entitle you to a partial exemption. 
See the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 35, 
and related instructions.

Line 5a and 5b – Taxable Social Security Benefits. 
Your Montana taxable amount of Social Security 
benefits may be different than your federal taxable 
amount if your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
differs from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. 
First, Montana grants a partial exemption for pension 
and annuity income to some taxpayers. Second, the 
state uses the adjusted gross income after Montana 
additions and subtractions, including the exemption 
amount, to determine the taxable and excludable 
portion of your benefits. These adjustments to your 
taxable amount of benefit must be reported on 
the Montana Additions Schedule on page 4 or the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule on page 5.

Line 6 – Capital Gain or (Loss). Enter the same 
amount of your capital gain or loss that you 
reported on your federal income tax return.

Treatment of losses. Married taxpayers who 
are filing jointly for federal tax purposes, but 
separate for Montana tax purposes, may 

allocate the amount of losses shown on the 
federal joint return between the spouses. If 
you and your spouse jointly held the property, 
you must split the income equally between 
both spouses unless you and your spouse can 
show a different proportional ownership.

Example: Jack and June are married and file 
jointly for federal tax purposes and separately for 
Montana. They sold a property they jointly owned. 
They realized a loss and reported $3,000 of capital 
losses directly related to that sale on their federal 
Form 1040. Jack and June can claim $1,500 loss 
each. If June had owned the property, June could 
have reported $3,000 of capital loss and Jack $0.

If you are married and are both residents, and you 
filed a joint return for federal tax purposes, you can 
also report your gains or losses individually and 
separately. You must follow the federal rules for 
filing separately, including the limitation on losses 
in IRC 1211. In addition, reporting your gains and 
losses individually and separately may result in 
short-term gain or losses for one of the spouses. 
When using this method, we recommend each 
spouse recompute their own net gain or loss using 
the federal Schedule D.
Caution: If each spouse has capital gains and 
losses, this method can result in additional Montana 
tax being imposed on some of the gains and/or a 
different amount of carryover losses for Montana tax 
purposes than for federal tax purposes.

TIP: If you are a resident, reporting capital gains 
on this line entitles you to a tax credit of 2 percent of 
the amount reported. See the Nonrefundable Credits 
Schedule, line 1, and related instructions.

Nonresident and part-year residents calculate 
their capital gains credit based on the Nonresident/
Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 7.

Line 8b – Federal Adjusted Gross Income. If you 
are filing Single, Married Filing Jointly, or Head of 
Household, this amount should correspond to the 
amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income you 
reported on your federal Form 1040.
If you file separately, in most cases, the sum of 
both columns equals the Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income reported on your federal Form 1040.
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Montana Taxable Income
Line 9 – Montana Additions. Montana additions are 

all items of income that are not included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income and that must be added 
to determine Montana Adjusted Gross Income. 
To figure the amount of additions you must report 
on this line, see the instructions for the Montana 
Additions Schedule on page 17. If you report one or 
more additions, you must include page 4 of Form 2 
with your return.

Line 10 – Montana Subtractions. Montana 
subtractions are all items of income that are 
included in Federal Adjusted Gross Income and 
that must be deducted to determine Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income. To figure the amount of 
subtractions you must report on this line, see the 
instructions for the Montana Subtractions Schedule 
on page 20. If you report one or more subtractions, 
you must include page 5 of Form 2 with your return.

Line 12 – Standard or Itemized Deductions. You 
must choose between the standard deduction 
or itemized deductions. To figure which is more 
beneficial (generally the larger of the two) complete 
the Standard Deduction Worksheet and the 
Itemized Deductions Schedule on page 7.
When you and your spouse file, you must both use 
the standard deduction or itemize your deductions. 
You cannot use two different methods. If one 
spouse itemizes, the other one will be deemed to 
be itemizing as well.
When you elect to itemize your deductions, you 
must mark the box and include page 7 of Form 2 
with your return. If you do not mark the box or do 
not include page 7, the processing of your return 
may be delayed, or your return may be adjusted 
using the standard deduction.

Line 13 – Exemptions. Multiply $2,510 times the 
number of exemptions that you calculated on the 
Exemptions Section, line d.

Tax, Credits and Payments
Line 15 – Tax Liability Before Credits. Residents: 

If you are a full-year resident, and you do not owe 
any recapture tax (see page 36), nor any taxes on 
lump-sum distributions (see page 37), compute 
your tax using the following table and report the 
result on line 15.

2019 Montana Individual Income Tax Table
If Your 

Taxable 
Income Is 
More Than

But Not 
More Than

Multiply 
Your 

Taxable 
Income By

And 
Subtract

This Is 
Your Tax

$0 $3,100 1% (0.010) $0
$3,100 $5,400 2% (0.020) $31
$5,400 $8,200 3% (0.030) $85
$8,200 $11,100 4% (0.040) $167

$11,100 $14,300 5% (0.050) $278
$14,300 18,400 6% (0.060) $421
More Than $18,400 6.9% (0.069) $587

If you owe recapture taxes or the tax on lump-sum 
distributions, see the instructions on page 36 to 
complete the Tax Liability Schedule on Form 2, page 8, 
to figure the amount you need to report on line 15.
Nonresidents and part-year residents: See the 
instructions on pages 31 through 36 to complete the 
Tax Liability and the Nonresident/Part-Year Resident 
Ratio Schedules and report the amount of tax liability 
on line 15. Include Form 2, page 8, with your return.

Line 16 – Nonrefundable Credits. For information 
about nonrefundable credits, including the capital 
gains credit and credit for taxes paid to another 
state, see the instructions on page 38.
If you are claiming a nonrefundable credit you must 
include Form 2, page 9, with your return.

Line 18 – Montana Tax Withheld on Forms W-2 
and 1099. Enter the sum of all the Montana income 
tax withheld from any Forms W-2 or 1099 you 
received.
This includes, for example, Forms W-2 and any 
1099 received related to wages, pensions, self-
employment, or royalties (including mineral royalties):

	● If you received wages, the Montana tax withheld 
is reported in Box 17 of your federal Form W-2.

	● If you received pensions, the Montana tax 
withheld is reported in Box 12 of your federal 
Form 1099-R.

	● If you received Montana mineral royalties, the 
tax withheld is generally reported in Box 16 
of your federal Form 1099-MISC. Royalty 
payments made to owners of Montana mineral 
rights are subject to state tax withholding if 
certain thresholds are met. This amount is no 
more than 6 percent of your Montana royalty 
payments and should not be confused with the 
production taxes that are also subtracted from 
your royalty payments.
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When you claim Montana income tax withheld, you 
are required to include a copy of your withholding 
statements (federal Forms W-2 or 1099-R) with 
your return.

Line 19 – Other Payments and Refundable Credits. 
This line consists of all other refundable credits, 
including the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. 
See the instructions on page 46 to complete the 
Other Payments and Refundable Credits Schedule. 
Include page 11 of Form 2 with your return.
If you or an entity made estimated tax payments 
on your behalf, pass-through entity withholding 
payments on a Montana Schedule K-1, or any 
other payments not reported on Forms W-2 and 
1099, you must complete the Other Payments and 
Refundable Credits Schedule.

Line 20 – Earned Income Tax Credit. You are 
allowed a Montana Earned Income Tax Credit 
(EITC) of 3 percent of the federal EITC claimed 
on your federal return. Your Montana EITC is 
refundable. This means that if the credit is more 
than your Montana tax liability after applying 
withholding taxes and credits, the difference will be 
refunded to you.
Nonresidents and married taxpayers filing separately 
on separate forms do not qualify for the Montana 
EITC. If you are a nonresident or married filing 
separately on separate forms, enter 0 (zero) on 
line 20a and line 20b.

Line 20a. Enter the federal earned income credit 
amount from your federal Form 1040, page 2, 
line 18a on line 20a.

Line 20b. If you are a full-year resident and you 
are not:

	● an enrolled tribal member living on the 
reservation of your tribe, or

	● a member of an agricultural organization 
provided for in section 501(d) of the 
Internal Revenue Code,

multiply line 20a by 3 percent (0.03) and 
enter the result on line 20b. (Example 1). If 
your filing status is 2a (Married and Filing 
Separately on Same Form), the amount of 
the credit maybe allocated between spouses. 
See Example 2.

Example 1: Filing status is Single, Head of 
Household, or Married Filing Jointly.

Your EITC claimed on your federal return 
is $2,000. Enter $2,000 on line 20a.  Your 
Montana EITC is $60 (3 percent of your 
federal EITC). Enter $60 on line 20b.

Example 2: Filing status is Married Filing 
Separately on the Same Form (Status 2a).

Your EITC claimed on your federal tax return is 
$2,000. Enter $2,000 on line 20a. Your Montana 
EITC is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). 
You may choose to enter any portion of $60 in 
any column of line 20b, and the remainder on 
the other column. For example, you may enter 
$20 on line 20b, column A and $40 on line 20b, 
column B, for a total of $60.

If you are a part-year resident, an enrolled tribal 
member living on the reservation of your tribe, a 
member of an agricultural organization provided 
for in section 501(d) of the Internal Revenue Code, 
or a servicemember of the armed forces, you 
are allowed the Montana EITC in the proportion 
of your Montana earned income over your total 
earned income. Use the Montana EITC Reduction 
Worksheet on page 12 to calculate the amount you 
can claim on line 20b.
On this worksheet, Montana earned income means 
the following:

	● If you are a part-year resident, earned income 
used for the calculation of the federal EITC 
that was earned in Montana while you were a 
resident. In general, Montana earned income 
is the addition of all income reported on the 
Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, lines 1,6, 
and 11. Earned income sourced to Montana 
while you were not a resident is not Montana 
earned income. See example 3.

	● If you are an enrolled tribal member living on 
the reservation of your tribe, the amount of 
earned income received for services performed 
outside the reservation. See Form ETM to 
calculate your Montana earned income.

	● If you are a member of an agricultural 
organization provided for in section 501(d) 
of the Internal Revenue Code, your Montana 
earned income is your federal earned 
income minus any dividends received 
from the agricultural organization that are 
included in the federal earned income used 
to calculate the federal EITC.

	● If you are a servicemember with the armed 
forces, the amount of earned income that 
is not exempt from individual income tax in 
Montana. See Example 6.
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Montana EITC Reduction Worksheet

1 Enter the federal EITC reported on page 1, 
line 20a

2 Multiply line 1 by 3% (0.03)

3 Enter your federal earned income used for the 
calculation of the credit

4 Enter your Montana earned income

5 Divide line 4 by line 3, 

6 
 

Multiply line 2 by line 5. 
This is your Montana EITC.  
Report the result on Form 2, page 1, line 20b.
Example 3: Part-year Resident. You are Married 
Filing Jointly  (Status 4) as part-year residents 
who received $30,000 of earned income including 
$15,000 of wages in Montana while being residents, 
$5,000 of wages earned in Montana while being 
nonresidents, and another $10,000 of wages in 
another state. Your Montana earned income is 
$15,000.  Assume your federal EITC is $2,000. Your 
Montana EITC before reduction is $60 (3 percent 
of your federal EITC). Your Montana EITC after 
reduction is $30 ($60 x $15,000 / $30,000).

Example 4: Enrolled Tribal Member. You are 
single and an enrolled member of a tribe living 
on the reservation of your tribe in Montana. You 
received $30,000 of earned income including: 
$10,000 of wages earned while working outside 
the reservation, and another $20,000 earned on 
your reservation. Your Montana earned income 
is $10,000.  Assume your federal EITC is $2,000. 
Your Montana EITC before reduction is $60 (3 
percent of your federal EITC). Your Montana EITC 
after reduction is $20 ($60 x $10,000 / $30,000). 

Example 5: Member of a 501(d) Organization. 
You are Married Filing Jointly (Status 4), and a 
member of an agricultural organization provided 
for in section 501(d) of the Internal Revenue 
Code, and you received $30,000 of earned 
income. On your federal Form 1040, you included 
$10,000 of dividends received from the agricultural 
organization as earned income for the purpose 

of determining your federal earned income. Your 
Montana earned income is $20,000.  Assume your 
federal EITC is $2,000. Your Montana EITC before 
reduction is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). 
You Montana EITC after reduction is $40 ($60 x 
$20,000/$30,000).

Example 6: Member of the Armed Forces. 
You are a resident member of the armed forces 
Married Filing Jointly (Status 4), who is also a 
resident of Montana.  Your federal earned income 
is $30,000, including wages of $5,000 earned 
by your spouse.  Your military compensation is 
exempt from taxation in Montana.  Assume your 
federal EITC is $2,000. Your Montana EITC before 
reduction is $60 (3 percent of your federal EITC). 
Your Montana EITC after reduction would be $10 
($60 x $5,000/$30,000)

Line 21 – Contributions, Penalties and Interest. 
Complete this schedule if you are:

	● Making one or more contributions to a voluntary 
check-off program (see page 47)
	○ Nongame Wildlife Program
	○ Child Abuse Prevention Program
	○ Agriculture Literacy in Montana Schools 

Program
	○ Montana Military Family Relief Funds 

Program
	● Filing an amended return and your initial return 

showed an overpayment, (see page 47), or
	● Reporting interest or penalties related to 

savings and management accounts (see 
page 49), or

Line 23 – Tax Due. If line 22 is less than line 17, 
subtract line 22 from line 17 and enter the result on 
line 23. This is the amount you owe.

Note: If line 22 is zero or less, add lines 17 
and 21, then subtract the total of lines 18, 19, 
and 20b, and enter the result on line 23.
If your status is 2a (Married Filing Separately 
on the Same Form) and your spouse has an 
amount overpaid on line 24, go to Status 2a 
Payment Schedule before making a payment. 
If you both have an amount owed on line 23, 
you may make two payments.
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You can pay the amount you owe by:
	● Electronic funds withdrawal when e-filing return. 

You can schedule your withdrawal for a later date.
	● E-check or credit/debit card. Visit 

MTRevenue.gov and click on “Filing and 
Payment Options” and choose either 
TransAction Portal (TAP) or Income Tax 
Express, (ITE) e-payment services. There is a 
small fee when paying with a credit or debit card.

	● Personal check, money order, or cashier’s check. 
Include the payment voucher available at 
MTRevenue.gov. Make your check payable 
to the Montana Department of Revenue, 
sign your check, and write your Social Security 
Number and “Tax Year 2019” on the memo line.

Note: If the payment is not in U.S. funds, the bank 
will convert the payment to U.S. funds based 
on the exchange rate, potentially reducing the 
amount credited to your tax account.

Interest and late payment penalties will be 
assessed on any amount not paid when due.
If you cannot pay the entire amount that you 
owe with your tax return, we encourage you 
to file your return on time and pay as much as 
possible. By filing and paying as much as you 
can by April 15, 2020, you may not have to pay a 
late file penalty and you can reduce the amount 
of your late payment penalty and interest. If 
you need to establish a payment plan, visit our 
TransAction Portal at https://tap.dor.mt.gov or 
call us at (406) 444-6964, option 1, as soon as 
possible to discuss your payment options and 
make arrangements.
Taxpayers filing separately on the same form may 
make two payments if both owe taxes.

Line 24 – Tax Overpaid. If you report tax overpaid 
on line 24, go to the Refund Schedule on page 2 
to determine if you want this tax overpaid applied 
to your 2020 estimated tax, deposited onto a 
529 Qualified Tuition Program (Family Education 
Savings Account) or 529A Achieving a Better Life 
Experience Account, or refunded. 

If your status is 2a (Married Filing Separately 
on the Same Form) and your spouse has a tax 
due on line 23, go to Status 2a Payment 
Schedule first. Your tax overpaid must be 
reduced by the tax due by your spouse before 
you can calculate your refund.

Status 2a Payment Schedule
This schedule must be used by taxpayers who are 
married filing separately on the same form and 
when one of the spouses has a tax due while the 
other has a tax overpaid. By choosing Status 2a, 
you elect to have your tax overpaid applied against 
the tax due by your spouse.
Example: Kerri reports tax due of $60 on line 23. 
Steve has an overpayment of $100 on line 24. Kerri 
and Steve must complete the Status 2a Payment 
Schedule to figure if Kerri has a net amount due or 
if Steve has a net overpayment. On the Status 2a 
Payment Schedule, Kerri reports $60 on line 1 and 
Steve reports $100 on line 2. As a result, line 3 
shows zero net amount due, and line 4 shows a 
net overpayment of $40 ($100-$60) that Steve may 
enter on his column of the Refund Schedule, line 1.

Line 1. Enter the amount from page 1, line 23. 
This amount may be in column A or B.

Line 2. Enter the amount from page 1, line 24. 
This amount may be in column A or B.

Line 3. If you are the spouse with an amount on 
line 23, this is the net amount of tax due. See 
instructions for line 23 on how to make a payment.

Line 4. If you are the spouse with an amount on 
line 24, this is the net amount of tax overpaid.  
Go to the Refund Schedule and report this amount 
in your column.

Refund Schedule
Line 1. Enter your tax overpaid here. If your status 

is 2a and part of your tax overpaid was used to 
pay your spouse’s tax due, enter the amount from 
Status 2a Payment Schedule, line 4.

Line 2. This is the amount from your tax overpaid 
you want applied to your 2020 return. The amount 
you carry forward to your 2020 return is applied 
to your first Tax Year 2020 estimated tax quarterly 
payment. See Publication 1 (Prepaying Income 
Tax) for further information on your obligation to 
prepay income tax.

Line 3. If you want all or part of your refund deposited 
into a Family Education Savings account (FES) or 
an Achieve a Better Life Savings (ABLE) account, 
complete Schedule MT-529 and report the total 
amount deposited on this line (See Form 2, page 12, 
for Schedule MT-529 instructions).

Line 4. This is your refund. This amount cannot be 
less than zero.

http://MTRevenue.gov
http://MTRevenue.gov
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Direct Deposit
If you would like to use direct deposit, enter your 
financial institution’s routing number (RTN#) 
and your account number (ACCT#) in the space 
provided. Your routing number is nine digits and 
your account number can be up to 17 characters, 
including numbers and letters. Mark whether 
your account is a checking or savings account 
and if your refund will go to a bank outside of the 
United States and its territories (Midway Islands, 
Puerto Rico, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, 
Federated States of Micronesia, and Guam).
If you and your spouse are due a refund, each of 
you will get a direct deposit.
If your financial institution does not accept the 
direct deposit, we will mail you a refund check. If 
both you and your spouse are due a refund, you 
will each receive a refund check.
A sample of a personal check is provided for your 
reference.

Signature, Paid Preparer, and 
Third-Party Designee

Your tax return is not complete unless you sign it. If 
your filing status is Married Filing Jointly or Married 
Filing Separately on the Same Form, your spouse 
must also sign.
Incomplete returns cannot be processed and 
require us to contact you for additional information.
If you have someone prepare your return, you are 
still responsible for the correctness of the return.

Electronic Return Signatures
If you are filing your return electronically, the act 
of filing your return electronically signifies your 
declaration, under the penalty of false swearing, that:

	● You are the taxpayer identified in the return; and
	● The information in the return is true, correct, 

and complete.
Your filing electronically, with this declaration, is 
your signature.

Daytime Phone Number
Providing your daytime phone number may help 
speed the processing of your return. We may have 
questions about items on your return and if you 
are able to answer our questions over the phone, 
we may be able to continue processing your return 
without mailing you a letter. If you are filing a joint 
return, you can enter either your or your spouse’s 
daytime phone number.
If your paid preparer is also a third-party designee 
(see below), you can enter your paid preparer 
phone number here.

Paid Preparer
Signature. Anyone you pay to prepare your return 

must sign it. Someone who prepares your return but 
does not charge you should not sign your return.

PTIN/SSN. The paid preparer must include his or her 
Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) in the 
space provided.

FEIN. The paid preparer must also include his or 
her firm’s Federal Employer Identification Number 
(FEIN), if applicable.

Third-Party Designee Box. You (not the paid 
preparer) must mark the box if you want the paid 
preparer to be a third-party designee. When the 
third-party designee box is not checked, we cannot 
talk to the paid preparer about your return, which 
may delay the process of the return. For more 
information about third-party designees, see below.
The paid preparer must give you a copy of the 
return for your records.

Third-Party Designee
To allow us to discuss your 2019 Form 2 return 
with your paid preparer and/or your friend, family 
member, or any other person you choose, mark 
the appropriate boxes and provide the required 
information on Form 2, page 2, Signature, Paid 
Preparer, and Third-Party Designee section.  
The Paid Preparer designation box is located to the 
right of the “Firm’s FEIN” boxes. You must include 
the Preparer’s daytime phone number.
To designate someone other than, or in addition 
to, the paid preparer, mark the box below the “Paid 
preparer’s signature” field and above the “Name” 
field.  You must include your designee’s name and 
phone number.
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By selecting a Third-Party Designee, you are 
authorizing the designee to:

	● Discuss your 2019 Form 2 return;
	● Give us any information that is missing from 

your return, such as a missing Form W-2;
	● Call us for information about the processing 

of your return or the status of your refund or 
payments; and

	● Respond to notices from us about math errors, 
offsets, and return preparation. Note: the 
department will only send notices directly to 
you, not to the third-party designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to discuss any 
other tax year, receive any refund check, bind you 
to anything, or otherwise represent you before us.
The designation automatically ends no later than the 
due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your 
2020 return.  This is April 15, 2021, for most people.
Please be aware that you cannot revoke this 
authorization.
If you want to expand the third-party designee’s 
authorization (for example, to verify any estimated 
payments you’ll be making in the future or to 
discuss other tax years), use Form POA (Power of 
Attorney, Authorization to Disclose Tax Information). 
Form POA is available at MTRevenue.gov, or you 
can submit a POA through our TransAction Portal 
(TAP) at https://tap.dor.mt.gov.
If you are married filing separately on the same 
form or filing a joint return, review the following 
instructions carefully:

	● If you and your spouse are filing separately 
on the same form or filing a joint return, and a 
Third-Party Designee is marked, each of you 
is authorizing us to discuss the return with 
the designee.

	● If you are filing a joint return, you are 
automatically authorizing us to discuss the 
joint return with either spouse.

Amended Return Information
When amending a return, check the appropriate 
box(es) reflecting the reason(s) why you are 
amending your return. In the table, provide 
information about the lines you corrected that 
result in a change to your taxable income or to the 
credit(s) you are claiming.

Form 2, Schedule 1
Additional Income and Adjustments to Income
Line 1 – Taxable Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of 

State and Local Income Taxes. Enter the same 
amount that you reported on your federal tax return. 
You need to include your state tax refund here and 
then report it as a subtraction from income on your 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 1, to calculate 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.

Line 7 – Unemployment Compensation. Enter the 
same amount of the unemployment compensation 
that you reported on your federal tax return. 
Unemployment compensation is exempt from 
Montana tax. Subtract this same amount on the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 7.

Line 8 – Other Income.
Global Intangible Low-taxed Income (GILTI): 
Include the same amount of GILTI that you included 
on your federal income tax return. If you made 
the election to have your GILTI taxed at corporate 
rate for federal tax purposes under IRC 962, this 
election does not apply for Montana individual 
income tax. Your GILTI will be taxed at the 
individual income tax rate.
Excess business losses: This line may contain 
an add-back resulting from the limitation on excess 
business losses in IRC 461(l).
The loss limitation and this add-back must 
be recalculated for Montana tax purposes 
based on your filing status and the business 
additions and subtractions used in determining 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
To recalculate the loss limitation add-back, use 
federal Form 461 and related definitions for the 
current tax year and:

1.	 Deduct the federal add-back reported on Form 
2, Schedule 1, line 8, by reporting it on the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 22;

2.	 Add any Business Additions from the Montana 
Additions Schedule to federal Form 461, 
Part I, line 9;

3.	 Subtract any Business Subtractions reported 
on Montana Subtractions Schedule from 
federal Form 461, Part I, line 9;

4.	 Recalculate federal Form 461, Part III, with the 
recomputed figures above and the threshold 
related to the filing status claimed on Form 
2. Report the recomputed add-back on the 
Montana Additions Schedule, line 14.

See Montana Form NOL for instructions on how to 
carry over the disallowed losses under IRC 461(l).

http://MTRevenue.gov
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Line 12 – Health Savings Account Deduction. 
Enter the same amount of federal health savings 
account contributions that you reported on your 
federal tax return.
Note: Be careful not to confuse this deduction with the 
Montana Medical Care Savings Account subtraction.

Line 21 – Tuition and Fees. Enter the same amount 
of tuition and fees that you reported on your 
federal tax return.

Line 22 – Combine lines 10 through 21. Include in 
the total of line 22 any of the write-in adjustments 
allowed on your federal Form 1040.

Net Operating Loss Election for 
Farming Losses

If you chose to forgo a carryback of the Montana 
NOL resulting from farming losses you calculated 
on Schedule A of the Form NOL, you must 
make this election by the due date, including the 
extension for filing Form 2. You cannot revoke this 
election after filing your return.

Montana Medical Savings Account 
(MSA) Schedule

An account holder who establishes a Medical 
Savings Account (or whose employer establishes an 
account for them) to pay for eligible expenses can 
exclude contributions plus interest and other income 
earned on the account during the year. In 2019 the 
contributions allowed are limited to $4,000.
Do not confuse this Montana MSA with the federal 
Health Savings Account (HSA) that is deductible 
on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 12. You can participate 
in both programs. See your federal income tax 
instructions for information on your federal HSA.
MSA accounts are usually self-administered. If you are 
married filing jointly with your spouse or married filing 
separately with your spouse, each of you can qualify 
for your own Montana MSA and you each can exclude 
up to $4,000 plus interest or other earnings earned on 
this account during the year. You must each establish 
a separate account. In addition, you cannot commingle 
other funds with an MSA account.

Subtraction
Each MSA account holder must report their 
beginning and ending balance in this section.

Line 2 - Total Contributions for the year. Report the 
total amount of contributions for the year, limited to 
$4,000 in 2019.

Line 3 - Earnings from the account: interest, 

dividends, capital gains, etc. Report the earnings 
for 2019 on line 3. Earnings can be found on 
the Form 1099 you received from the financial 
institution where the account is held.
Only residents of Montana are eligible to be account 
holders. If you established residency in another state, 
your ending balance must show 0 (zero) on line 5.

Nonqualified Withdrawal and Penalty
When you withdraw funds from your Montana 
Medical Savings Account for some purpose other 
than payment of eligible expenses, you must add 
this nonqualified withdrawal to Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 6. You incur a 10 percent penalty on 
these withdrawals, unless you withdraw them on 
the last business day of your tax year.
Eligible expenses mean: medical and dental 
expenses usually allowed as itemized deduction 
under IRC 213(d); long-term care expenses; 
annuities and insurance; and family leave expenses. 
An eligible expense can be withdrawn from the 
account until January 15 of the following tax year, 
even if you established residency in another state.
A family leave expense means an expense, 
calculated monthly, approximating wages lost by an 
immediate family member for the purposes allowed 
under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. 
The approximation is reached by multiplying the 
hourly wage that the caregiver would have been 
paid by the number of hours of work lost.

Line 1 - Total withdrawals made during the year. 
Report your total withdrawals made during the year. 
This line must equal the beginning balance minus 
the ending balance, plus the subtraction calculated 
for the year.

Line 2 - Withdrawals for eligible expenses. Report 
your withdrawals of eligible expenses on line 2. You 
must be able to substantiate your eligible expenses 
with appropriate documentation. Any expense not 
substantiated by invoice, receipts, or employer’s 
statement, depending on the circumstances, is not an 
eligible withdrawal and cannot be reported on this line.

Line 3 - Nonqualified withdrawals. Nonqualified 
total withdrawal is calculated by subtracting eligible 
withdrawals on line 2 from total withdrawals on line 1.

Line 4 - Nonqualified withdrawals not subject to 
the 10 percent penalty. Report your nonqualified 
withdrawal not subject to the 10 percent penalty. It 
includes nonqualified withdrawals made on the last 
business day of the year, and, if you established 
residency in another state, the balance on your 
account on the date you became nonresident.
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Line 5 - Nonqualified withdrawals subject to 
penalty. The nonqualified withdrawal subject to 
penalty is calculated by subtracting line 4 from 
line 3. If you established residency in another state 
during the year and the result is less than zero, 
enter 0 (zero).
Your penalty on nonqualified withdrawals must 
be reported on your Contributions, Penalties, and 
Interest Schedule, line 5.

Montana Additions Schedule
To determine your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
you may have to make some additions to your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

General Additions
Line 1 – Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted 

in 2018. If you received a federal income tax refund 
in 2019 from federal taxes you claimed as an itemized 
deduction on your 2018 Montana tax return, you may 
need to report a portion or all your federal refund as 
income on your Montana tax return.
No addition is necessary if you claimed the standard 
deduction on your Form 2 for 2018, or if you limited 
your deduction to the amount of income tax after 
nonrefundable credit included on your 2018 return.
If you did not limit your 2018 deduction to 
federal income taxes assessed on your federal 
Form 1040, after nonrefundable credits, 
you may have to include a recovery on your 
Montana Additions Schedule. Payments of 
refundable credits are not included in this 
calculation because these refundable credits are 
not deductible as itemized deductions.
If your deduction for federal taxes paid in 2018 was 
limited to $5,000, or $10,000 if you filed jointly, your 
refund may or may not be taxable.

TIP: Use the Recovery of Federal Income Tax 
Deducted in 2018 Worksheet on Form 2, page 4, 
to figure how much of your refund is taxable.

If you and your spouse filed your federal tax return 
jointly and are now filing your Montana tax return 
separately, you each need to complete a separate 
Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted in 2018 
Worksheet. Prorate your federal income tax refund 
between you and your spouse by applying the ratio 
of your 2017 federal income tax deduction to the 
total federal tax deducted.

If you received a refund for an amount deducted 
in 2018 other than federal income tax, you must 
report any recovery of that refund on Montana 
Additions Schedule, line 2.
Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted in 
2018 Worksheet

Line 2. Include in your federal refund the portion 
of payments that you deducted as payments of 
federal income tax but that were used to pay 
taxes which were not income taxes.
Some of the payments included on line 4a and 
4b of your 2018 return may be pre-payments 
of taxes other than federal income tax. For the 
purpose of the federal income tax deduction, 
federal income tax means:

	● tax calculated on line 12b of your federal 
Form 1040, excluding any repayment 
of excess advance payments of the 
Health Coverage Tax Credit from federal 
Form 8885;

	● line 45 of the federal Form 1040, 
Schedule 2 (Alternative Minimum Tax, 
federal Form 6251);

	● Healthcare Individual Shared 
Responsibility Tax reported on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule 4, line 61;

	● Net Investment Income Tax reported on your 
federal Form 1040, Schedule 4, line 62;

	● any recapture tax based on any federal 
credit or deduction;

	● IRC 965 net tax liability reported on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule 4, Part II, line 63;

	● tax on excess golden parachute 
payments, Form W-2, code K; and

	● tax on accumulation distribution of trusts, 
federal Form 4970.

If the combined amount of federal tax withheld 
(line 4a) and the federal estimated tax payments 
(line 4b) reported in 2018 is more than the sum 
of all the taxes listed above after deduction of all 
federal credits on your 2018 federal Form 1040, 
enter this excess on line 2 of the worksheet. This 
amount includes the refund you received in 2019 
and the payment that you were not allowed to 
deduct in 2018 that did not result in a refund of 
your federal taxes.

Line 6. If you claimed nonrefundable credits, reduce 
the amount of your income taxes included on your 
2018 federal Form 1040, line 11, by the amount 
of nonrefundable credits reported on your 2018 
federal Form 1040, line 12.
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Line 2 – Other Recoveries of Amounts Deducted 
in Earlier Years that Reduced Montana Taxable 
Income. To the extent that an itemized deduction 
you claimed on one of your previous Montana 
returns reduced the amount of your Montana 
income tax liability, any subsequent refund of the 
amount deducted is considered income in the year 
the refund is received.
If you received a refund of an expense you could have 
claimed as an itemized deduction in the year you used 
the standard deduction, your refund is not taxable.
For example, you may have received a refund in 
2019, such as a federal income tax refund from 
2016 and a casualty loss reimbursement for a loss 
claimed as a deduction in 2018. You elected to 
use the standard deduction in 2016. No addition 
is needed related to your refund from 2016 federal 
income tax return. To the extent that your deduction 
for casualty loss reduced your 2018 tax liability, you 
must include this reimbursement as income in 2019.
Recoveries must be added to your Montana income 
in the year you received the funds, up to the amount 
that the deductions reduced your Montana tax in 
the earlier year. To calculate your recovery, you will 
need to use the Tax Benefit Rule for Recoveries of 
Itemized Deductions Worksheet, on page 52 of the 
instructions. This worksheet helps you determine the 
amount of this addition for each previous tax year 
that some recovered funds were itemized. Complete 
a separate worksheet for each year.

Line 5 – Adjustment for Smaller Federal Estate 
and Trust Taxable Distributions. The Montana 
taxable distribution that you received from an estate 
or trust may be greater than your federal taxable 
distribution from the same estate or trust. If so, the 
difference is an addition to Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income and you report it on this line.
Caution: Your Montana Schedule K-1 received 
from the trust or estate may show some specific 
additions, such as interest and mutual fund 
dividends from state bonds. Report these 
additions to the corresponding lines on the 
Montana Additions Schedule, not on this line.

Savings Accounts
Line 6 – Medical Savings Account. If you made 

some nonqualified withdrawals from your 
account in 2019, report the amount here. See 
the Montana Medical Savings Account Schedule 
instructions on page 16.

Line 7 – First-time Home-Buyer Savings Account 
Nonqualified Withdrawals. If you made 
nonqualified withdrawals from your account in 
2019, report the amount here. Refer to Montana 
Form FTB for detailed instructions.

Business Additions
Line 8 – Allocation of Compensation to Spouse 

in Sole Proprietorship. If you are the spouse of 
a sole proprietor reporting net income on your 
federal Schedules C or F, and you regularly and 
systematically provide substantial personal services 
in the operations of the business and are not 
paid a salary or wage, your spouse can allocate 
a reasonable amount of compensation to you to 
reduce his or her taxable income.
This allocation of income is available only if you file 
separately (Statuses 2a, 2b, or 2c).
Your spouse must base this allocation on an 
amount that is equivalent to the value of the 
services that you provide. It is considered taxable 
income to you.
Services that you provided for operating your 
household or services that are incidental to your 
spouse’s operations cannot be used as a basis for 
allocation of income.
Report on this line the amount of income allocated 
to you corresponding to the subtraction on the 
Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 21 (on the 
spouse’s column if using Status 2a).

Line 9 – Federal Net Operating Loss Deduction. 
The federal Net Operating Loss deduction that 
you reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 8, may 
be different from the amount of your Montana 
Net Operating Loss deduction calculated on 
Form NOL. Enter the amount of your federal Net 
Operating Loss carryover from line 8. You will need 
to determine your Montana Net Operating Loss 
deduction using Montana Form NOL and report it 
on the Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 22.

Line 10 – Addition for Dependent Care Assistance 
Credit Adjustment. If you claimed business 
expenses for providing dependent care assistance 
on your federal Schedules C, E, or F and now are 
claiming the Montana Dependent Care Assistance 
Credits on the Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, 
line 20, you must add the amount of the dependent 
care assistance expenses used to calculate your 
Montana Dependent Care Assistance credits on 
Montana Form DCAC as an addition to Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income on this line.
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Line 11 – Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account Taxable Distributions. A distribution from 
your Montana Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account is taxable in either of the following situations:

	● The distribution is from a fund that was 
previously excluded from Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income as a Farm and Ranch Risk 
Management Account deposit; or

	● The distribution was not distributed within five 
years from the date the original deposit was made.

Refer to Montana Form FRM for detailed 
instructions. Report your Montana Farm and Ranch 
Risk Management Account taxable distributions as 
an addition to your Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
on this line.
You may also be subject to a penalty on your Farm 
and Ranch Management Account distribution if it 
is not distributed within five years from the date 
of the original deposit. See the instructions for 
Contributions, Penalties, and Interest Schedule, 
line 5, for more information on the Farm and Ranch 
Risk Management Account 10 percent penalty.

Line 12 – Total Additions from Montana 
Schedule K-1 (PTE), Part 3, Column I, Line 1. 
If you received Montana Schedules K-1 from a 
pass-through entity, report the total amount of 
everywhere additions (Column I). Do not report 
these additions separately on the Additions 
Schedule. Include a copy of the Montana 
Schedules K-1 you received.

Line 13 – Title Plant Depreciation and 
Amortization. If you are taking a federal deduction 
for depreciation and amortization on a title plant, 
you must add back to your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income the amount of this depreciation and 
amortization when you determine your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income.

Line 14 – Other Additions. Enter any other additions 
to Federal Adjusted Gross Income not described 
in lines 1 through 13. Some examples of other 
additions include:

	● You may have a passive or rental loss 
carryover that is larger for federal purposes 
than for Montana purposes because of 
differences in state and federal filings in prior 
years. If this results in a larger passive or 
rental income reportable on your Montana tax 
return, enter the additional amount here.

	● You may have a larger capital loss carryover 
for federal purposes than for Montana. If 
this results in larger reportable capital gains, 
enter the additional amount. Note that when 
computing your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income, you can carryover capital losses 
incurred prior to becoming a Montana resident 
or losses from activity in another state.

If you are a shareholder in an S corporation that is 
required to pay a federal income tax on its income, 
and this S corporation did not issue a Montana 
Schedule K-1, add to your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income that portion of your income that has been 
reduced by the federal income taxes paid by your 
S corporation. Refer to your federal Schedule K-1 
to determine the amount of income that you must 
include as an addition to your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income.

Excess business loss limitation. Enter the 
amount of add-back you reported on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, line 8. See instructions on how to 
recompute the limitation on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 8, on page 15 of these instructions.

Retirement
Line 15 – Subtotal to Figure Taxable Social 

Security Benefits. Combine lines 1 through 14. 
This subtotal helps you figure your taxable 
amount of Social Security benefits for Montana 
tax purposes. If you did not receive any Social 
Security benefits in 2019 (line 16), enter the 
line 15 amount on line 17.

Line 16 – Addition to Federal Taxable Social 
Security. Your Social Security benefits taxable to 
Montana may be different from the amount of taxable 
benefits that you reported on Form 2, page 1, line 5b. 
Determine if you must enter an addition by completing 
the Taxable Social Security Benefits Worksheet on 
Form 2, page 6.
Before you can complete your Taxable Social 
Security Benefits Worksheet, you must complete 
your Montana Subtractions Schedule up to line 35.
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Montana Subtractions Schedule
To determine your Montana Adjusted Gross Income 
you may have to make some subtractions from 
your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

General Subtractions
Line 1 – State Income Tax Refunds. Income tax 

refunds received from Montana or another state are 
not taxable. If you are required to include your state 
income tax refund in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 1, you can 
exclude that amount on this line.

Line 2 – Interest and Mutual Funds Dividends 
from Federal Bonds, Notes, and Obligations. If 
you received interest on United States government 
obligations and mutual fund dividends attributable 
to that interest, you can subtract these amounts 
from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income if they 
are included in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income on Form 2. In addition, if you received 
interest on obligations from U.S. territory or 
government agency obligations that are specifically 
exempt by federal law, or any mutual fund 
dividends attributable to this interest, you can 
subtract these amounts from your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income if they are included in your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income on Form 2.
Interest on obligations that are only guaranteed by 
the United States government are not tax exempt. 
If you received interest or mutual fund dividends 
attributable to Government National Mortgage 
Association (Ginnie Mae) bonds, Federal National 
Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) bonds, 
or Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation 
(FHLMAC) securities, you cannot subtract this 
interest or mutual fund dividends.
United States obligations that are exempt include:

	● Series E, EE, F, G, and H savings bonds
	● U.S. treasury bills
	● U.S. government notes
	● U.S. government certificates.

Refer to your federal Form 1099-DIV to determine 
what percentage of your dividends qualifies for this 
exemption.

Line 3 – Partial Interest Exemption for Taxpayers 
65 and Older. If you are single and age 65 or older 
at the end of 2019, you can exempt up to $800 
of the interest income that you reported in your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
If you are married and are filing a joint return with 
your spouse and at least one of you is age 65 or 
older at the end of 2019, you can exempt up to 

$1,600 of the interest income that you reported in 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
If you are married and filing your return separately and 
are age 65 or older at the end of 2019, you can exempt 
up to $800 of the interest income that you reported in 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income. Note, however, 
that you are not allowed to exclude interest income 
earned by and reported by your spouse.
When you determine the amount of your interest 
income subject to this exemption, consider the 
distributions commonly called dividends on 
deposits or share accounts as interest. Under 
no circumstances may you exempt more interest 
income than what you have reported in your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income.

Line 4 – Adjustment for Larger Federal Estate and 
Trust Taxable Distribution. The Montana taxable 
distribution that you received from an estate or trust 
may be less than your federal taxable distribution 
from the same estate or trust. If so, the difference is 
a subtraction from Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
and you report it on this line.
Caution: Your Montana Schedule K-1 received 
from the trust or estate may show some specific 
subtractions, such as exempt interest. Report 
them on the corresponding lines on the Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, not on this line.

Line 5 – Exemption for Certain Income of Your 
Child Taxed to the Parents. If your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income included unearned income 
of a dependent child as determined on federal Form 
8814, you may be able to exclude the unearned 
income from your Montana Adjusted Gross Income. 
You can exclude the unearned income from your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income if your child’s 
gross income does not exceed $4,710 or if they file 
their own Montana tax return.

Line 6 – Recoveries of Amounts Deducted in Earlier 
Years That Did Not Reduce Montana Income. If 
you are required to include in your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income any recovery of amounts that were 
refunded to you after you claimed the deduction of the 
expense on a prior federal income tax return, and if 
this previous deduction did not reduce your Montana 
income tax liability in the year of that deduction, you 
can subtract the amount of this recovery from your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income.
A distribution received from a pension trust or 
similar tax deferral scheme allowed under the 
Internal Revenue Code does not constitute a 
recovery for federal tax purposes, but the amount is 
included in gross income.
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Employment
Line 7 – Unemployment Compensation. If you 

received unemployment benefits from Montana or 
from another state, these benefits are exempt from 
Montana tax. If you reported taxable unemployment 
benefits on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 7, enter the 
same amount of these benefits on this line.

Line 8 – Tribal Income When Exempt. If you 
are an enrolled member of a tribe who lives on 
the reservation governed by your tribe, you can 
subtract the following income that can be sourced 
to the reservation governed by your tribe:

	● wages earned within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● all interest, dividends, pensions, annuities, and 
any income received from the use of intangible 
properties;

	● income, including farming, from real properties 
located within the exterior boundaries of 
your reservation;

	● any business income from activities carried 
on within the exterior boundaries of your 
reservation.

If you did not reside on the reservation governed by 
your tribe for the entire year, you can subtract only 
those wages or other income that you earned while 
you lived and worked on your own reservation.
Report the details on Montana Form ETM and 
include it with your Form 2.

Line 9 – Certain Taxed Tips and Gratuities. You 
can subtract from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
any tips and gratuities that you have received from 
customers while you worked in the food, beverage, 
or lodging industry that you reported as part of your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income. All other tips and 
gratuities that you received for providing services in 
other types of businesses—such as hair stylists, paper 
carriers, and river guides—cannot be subtracted.

Line 10 – Workers’ Compensation Benefits. 
Benefits received under the Workers’ 
Compensation laws are not taxed by Montana. 
If you reported taxable Workers’ Compensation 
benefits in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
enter the amount of these benefits on this line.

Line 11 – Certain Health Insurance Premiums 
Taxed to Employee. If you are a shareholder in 
an S Corporation, subtract the cost of your health 
insurance premiums to the extent they are included 
in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

Your premiums cannot be deducted more than 
once on Form 2. If the premiums were already 
deducted on the Form 2, Schedule 1, line 16, or 
on the Itemized Deductions Schedule, line 2, you 
cannot report them on this line.

Line 12 – Student Loan Repayments Taxed to a 
Health Care Professional. If you are a health care 
professional licensed in Montana, you can exclude 
from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income up to 
$5,000 of any health-related student educational 
loan repayments that are paid on your behalf when 
this repayment is included in your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income.
To qualify for this exclusion, you must be a health 
care professional who:

	● is licensed in Montana;
	● participates in a federal, state, or qualified 

private loan repayment program (these 
repayment programs are generally through 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services and its Nursing Education Loan 
Repayment Program, the Montana Rural 
Physician Incentive Program, or a qualified 
private program with a licensed health care 
facility in Montana); and

	● serves a significant portion of a designated 
geographic area, a special population, or a 
facility population in a federally designated 
Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA), 
a Medically Underserved Area (MUA), or a 
Medically Underserved Population (MUP).

You can determine if you are serving in an area 
listed above by contacting your employer or the 
Montana Department of Public Health and Human 
Services Primary Care Office at (406) 444-3934 or 
go to dphhs.mt.gov.

Military
Line 13 – Military Salary of Active Duty Service 

Person. If you are receiving military compensation 
as a member of the regular U.S. Armed Forces on 
active duty, or as a member of the National Guard 
under Title 10 USC orders, and this compensation 
is included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
you can use this line to subtract your basic, special, 
and incentive pay from your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income.
If you receive wages under the Combat Zone 
Exclusion that are not included in your Form 
W-2, Box 1, it will not be included in your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income, so do not subtract that 
pay again. Do not include this amount on this line. 
However, if you are a commissioned officer who 

http://dphhs.mt.gov
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could not exclude all your wages received under 
the Combat Zone Exclusion because it exceeded 
the highest rate of enlisted pay for each part of the 
month you served in a combat zone, or because 
you were hospitalized as a result of your service 
there, you may include the additional combat pay 
that was included in your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income on this line.
If you are a Reserve member, include on this line 
the salaries you received when on active duty in 
the regular armed forces. Compensation received 
when completing your annual training and inactive 
duty trainings is not deductible and must not be 
included on this line.
If you are a member of the National Guard, you can 
add to this line your compensation received under 
Title 10 orders, or as part of a homeland defense 
activity as defined in 32 USC 901, or as part of a 
contingency operation as defined in 10 USC 101. 
Compensation received for completing your annual 
training, inactive duty trainings, or when you 
engaged in “active Guard and Reserve duty” as 
defined in 10 USC 101, is not deductible and must 
not be included on this line.
Do not add any retirement, retainer, equivalent pay, 
or allowances on this line.
If you claim this exemption, include verification of 
your military status (such as your military orders) 
with your income tax return. Contact the department 
or visit MTRevenue.gov for more information.

Line 14 – Life Insurance Premiums 
Reimbursement or Death Benefits for National 
Guard and Reservist. If you are a Montana 
National Guard member or Reservist who is serving 
on active duty in a contingency operation and 
you were reimbursed by the U.S. Department of 
Defense for the life insurance premiums that you 
paid for benefits under the service members’ group 
life insurance program, you do not have to add the 
Department of Defense reimbursement when you 
figure your Montana tax. To the extent this federal 
reimbursement is taxable to you for federal and 
Montana income tax purposes, it has already been 
included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.
An adjustment to your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income is needed if you also received a premium 
reimbursement from the Montana Department 
of Military Affairs for additional life insurance 
premiums you paid (up to $17.50 a month). The 
Montana reimbursement is taxable income for 
federal income tax purposes, but it is exempt for 
Montana income tax purposes, so you can deduct 
these reimbursements from your Federal Adjusted 

Gross Income in arriving at your Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income.
If you received a death benefit payment from the 
Montana Department of Military Affairs because you 
are the survivor of a member of the National Guard 
who died while on state active duty orders, and this 
death benefit is included in your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income, that amount is exempt from state 
taxes in Montana and you can subtract it here.

Saving Accounts
Line 15 – Medical Care Savings Account (MSA) 

Deposits and Earnings. Report the subtraction 
calculated on the MSA Schedule, Subtraction 
section, line 4.

Line 16 – First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Deposits and Earnings. Your Montana First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account provides you with the 
opportunity to subtract up to $3,000 of contributions 
plus interest or other earnings on these funds 
annually.
If you are married filing jointly with your spouse or 
married filing separately with your spouse, both of 
you can qualify for your own Montana First-Time 
Home Buyer savings account and you each can 
exclude up to $3,000 plus interest or other earnings 
on this principal annually. To qualify for this 
exclusion, establish a separate or joint account with 
another person who also qualifies as a First-Time 
Home Buyer, and contribute to your account(s) 
prior to purchasing your first-time home.
If you file your income tax return separately with 
your spouse and you established a joint First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account with your spouse, 
you cannot take this exclusion.
Therefore, we recommend that you and your 
spouse establish separate First-Time Home Buyer 
Savings Accounts instead of a jointly held account. 
These separate accounts qualify both of you for the 
$3,000 annual exclusion whether you file jointly or 
separately with your spouse.
The contributed funds can be withdrawn only for 
the down payment and allowable closing costs for 
purchasing your single-family residence in Montana. 
Examples of eligible expenses include down 
payment, closing costs, broker’s fees, appraisal costs, 
credit history report, points, pro-rated property taxes, 
and loan origination fees. If you withdraw any of these 
funds for other purposes, they are subject to tax in the 
year that they are withdrawn, and they may be subject 
to a 10 percent penalty if they are withdrawn on any 
day other than the last business day of the year.

http://MTRevenue.gov
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For further instructions on the Montana 
First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account, 
see Montana Form FTB. When you claim this 
exclusion, include a copy of Form FTB with your 
Montana tax return.

Note for lines 17 and 18

If you are planning to deposit all or part of 
your refund for Tax Year 2019 in a 529 account 
(see Form 2, page 12), this contribution will 
be deductible on line 17 or 18 in the tax year 
the contribution was made. For example, if the 
contribution is made in 2020 with the filing of 
your 2019 tax return, it will be deductible on 
the 2020 return. 

Line 17 – Family Education Savings Account 
Deposits and Earnings. You can subtract up to 
$3,000 of the contributions that you made during 
2019 to one or more Montana Family Education 
Savings Accounts.
If you are married, both you and your spouse can 
exclude up to $3,000 for contributions that you made 
to one or more Education Savings Accounts. This 
exclusion is allowed for contributions that you make to 
an Education Savings Account that is owned by you or 
jointly with your spouse. As part of your exclusion, you 
may also be able to include amounts that you use to 
establish a Montana family Education Savings Account 
(under the Montana Uniform Transfers to Minors Act 
or another state’s Uniform Gifts to Minors Act) for your 
child or stepchild if that child is a Montana resident.
Withdrawals of your contributions and earnings 
from an Education Savings Account are not taxable 
to you if you withdraw them to pay for qualified 
higher educational expenses defined under 
federal law. If you withdraw these contributions 
for purposes other than to pay for qualified higher 
educational expenses, they are subject to a 
recapture tax of 6.9 percent, which should be 
reported on Tax Liability Schedule, line 1.
To establish your Montana Family Education 
Savings Account or for additional information, call 
the Achieve Montana Program at (877) 486-9271 or 
visit achievemontana.com.
Contributions to another state’s 529 College Savings 
Plan may qualify for the deduction. The rules for which 
contributions to the Montana Family Education Savings 
Program qualify for the deduction apply to these 
contributions as well. Please note that contributions 
to a state’s prepaid tuition plan do not qualify. The 
department may ask for a copy of any statement(s) 
from the plan administrator after you file your return.

Caution:  Expenses for K-12 education are 
not qualified withdrawals for Montana Family 
Education Savings Accounts. Taxpayers who are 
using these funds for K-12 education must pay 
recapture tax on any amount withdrawn that was 
deducted on prior returns.

Line 18 – Exempt Montana Achieving a Better Life 
Experience Act (ABLE) Account Deposits.  
You can subtract contributions that you made to 
one or more qualifying Achieving a Better Life 
Experience (ABLE) accounts during the tax year, 
not to exceed $3,000.
Generally, qualified ABLE accounts are established 
to support another person’s qualified disability 
expenses and meet the requirements of 26 USC 
529A. If you are married, you and your spouse 
can each exclude up to $3,000 for contributions 
that you made to one or more qualifying ABLE 
accounts. This exclusion is only allowed for 
contributions that you make to qualifying ABLE 
accounts that are owned by you, your spouse, or 
a child, a grandchild, or a sibling related to you by 
blood, marriage, or legal adoption.

Pre-2007 Status Adjustments
Line 19 – Capital Loss Adjustment. You may have 

capital losses previously used on your federal 
return before 2007 but not on your Montana return. 
This occurs with married taxpayers who were 
limited to a net capital loss of $1,500, resulting 
in different carryover amounts. Married couples 
filing separate Montana returns are now allowed a 
combined net capital loss of up to $3,000.
Use this line if you reported capital losses separately 
and individually on tax returns of previous years, and 
you have capital losses carryover for Montana tax 
purposes not included in your federal capital losses 
carryover. The sum of capital losses reported on 
Form 2, page 1, line 6, with the amount of capital 
losses reported on this line, cannot exceed the 
maximum capital losses allowable on a joint return 
or a married filing separately return.

Line 20 – Passive Loss Adjustment. You may have 
passive losses previously used on your federal 
return before 2007 but not on your Montana return.
This occurs with married taxpayers who were 
required to re-compute the allowable passive loss 
resulting in different carryover amounts. Married 
couples filing separate Montana returns are now 
allowed the same combined passive loss amount 
as if they were filing a joint return.

http://achievemontana.com
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Business Subtractions
Business subtractions result from differences 
in the tax treatment of business income and 
business deductions.

Line 21 – Allocation of Compensation to Spouse 
in Sole Proprietorship. This subtraction is available 
to a sole proprietor reporting net income on Form 2 
from their federal Schedules C or F, and who is filing 
separately (Statuses 2a, 2b, or 2c). If you are filing 
jointly, you cannot use this subtraction.
This allocation usually results in less overall taxes 
for the spouses.
If your spouse regularly and systematically provides 
substantial personal services in the operations of 
your business and is not paid a salary or wage, you 
can subtract a reasonable amount of compensation 
equivalent to the services that your spouse 
provides on this line.
This allocation reduces your taxable income as the 
sole proprietor of the business.
When you claim this subtraction to income, be 
prepared to provide us with verification of those 
services performed and the substantial contribution 
made by your spouse. You cannot use services that 
your spouse provides for operating your household, 
or services that are incidental to your operations, as 
a basis for allocating income to your spouse.
This allocation is considered taxable income to 
your spouse. It must be reported as an addition on 
your Montana Additions Schedule, line 8 (on the 
spouse’s column if your status is 2a).

Line 22 – Montana Net Operating Loss Carryover. 
The Montana Net Operating Loss (NOL) deduction 
carried over from previous years may be different 
from the amount of your federal Net Operating Loss 
deduction carryover. On this line, enter the amount 
of the Montana Net Operating Loss deduction 
carried over as determined on Montana Form NOL. 
For further instructions on how to determine your 
Montana NOL deduction, and how to limit your 
deduction to 80 percent of your taxable income, 
see Montana Form NOL.

Carryback of farming losses. If you are carrying back 
a Montana source farming loss, do not forget to check 
the amended return box on the top of page 1 and 
complete the Amended Return section on page 2.
Excess business losses limitation: Add to this line 
any add-back computed on federal Form 461 that 
you reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 8.

Line 23 – Subtraction for Business-Related 
Expenses for Purchasing Recycled Material. 
You can subtract 10 percent of the expenses 
that your business paid for purchasing recycled 
products from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. 
This deduction is allowed only to businesses within 
Montana. It applies to products purchased that 
contain recycled material at a level consistent with 
industry standards or consistent with the standards 
established by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency. If this deduction is passed through to you 
from a partnership, the share of this additional 
deduction is based on the same percentage used 
to report the partnership’s income or loss for 
Montana tax purposes; or if an S Corporation, the 
pro rata share of the corporation’s cost of investing 
in equipment.

Line 24 –Business expenses not included on 
Form 2, line 8b, due to an existing federal credit 
taken. If you incurred a business expense which 
was disallowed because you claimed a federal 
credit, you can deduct this business expense for 
Montana tax purposes. This subtraction includes 
wage deductions reduced by federal targeted jobs 
credit or the credits for the portion of employer 
Social Security taxes paid with respect to employee 
cash tips.
Do not include any recoveries of capital 
expenditures through depreciation, depletion, 
or amortization. Depreciation, depletion, or 
amortization deductions must be the same for 
federal and Montana income tax purposes.

Line 25 – Certain Expenses Incurred by Medical 
Marijuana Providers. If you are a Medical 
Marijuana provider registered in the state of 
Montana, you can subtract on this line your 
ordinary and necessary business expenses 
typically disallowed under IRC 280E.
Under IRC 280E, providers are generally not 
allowed a deduction on their federal return for 
business expenses associated with the production 
and sale of marijuana other than those directly 
related to the cost of manufacturing the product.

Line 26 – Sales of Land to Beginning Farmers. 
You can subtract 100 percent of your income or 
capital gain (up to a maximum of $50,000) that 
you recognized from the sale of at least 80 acres 
or more of land to a beginning farmer at 9 percent 
or less interest on a long-term contract. To qualify 
for this deduction, you need to apply to and be 
approved by the Agricultural Loan Authority of the 
Montana Department of Agriculture. You need to 
include a copy of this approval with your individual 
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income tax return. To learn more about the 
Montana Beginning Farm/Ranch Loan Program, 
call the agricultural finance program manager 
of the Montana Department of Agriculture at 
(406) 444-5420 or visit agr.mt.gov/agr/Programs/
GrantsLoans/beginFarmRanch/.

Line 27 – Exempt Capital Gains and Dividends 
from Small Business Investment Companies. 
If you have capital gains or dividend income from 
an investment in a small business investment 
company (SBIC) included in your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income, you can exempt these capital gains 
or dividends if all the following conditions are met:

	● The SBIC must be organized with the purpose 
of diversifying and strengthening employment 
opportunities of companies in Montana.

	● Within one year of being licensed by the federal 
Small Business Administration, 75 percent of the 
SBIC’s investments must be in manufacturing or 
timber companies located in Montana.

	● The SBIC’s manufacturing and timber 
companies have at least 50 percent of their 
employees working in Montana.

Line 28 – Certain Gains Recognized by a 
Liquidating Corporation. You can subtract 
that portion of your gain from the liquidation of a 
reporting corporation to the extent that this gain 
is included in the gross income of the liquidating 
corporation’s Montana corporate income tax return 
from your Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

Line 29 – Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account Deposits. You can subtract any deposits 
you made into a Farm and Ranch Risk Management 
Account equal to the lesser of 20 percent of the 
net income that is attributable to your agricultural 
business, or $20,000. This account is designed to be 
used as a risk management tool for your individual 
or family farm corporation’s agricultural business. It 
is established as a Montana trust with your financial 
institution as the trustee.
Amounts that you contributed to your Farm and 
Ranch Risk Management Account that were 
excluded from your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income in prior years are taxable to you and should 
be included in your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income when you distribute your funds. Amounts 
that you contributed to your Farm and Ranch Risk 
Management Account that are not distributed 
before the last business day on the fifth year from 
the date that this contribution was deposited are 
considered distributed and are assessed a 10 
percent penalty on the amount of tax resulting from 
the Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account 

principal. For further instructions about the Montana 
Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account, 
see Montana Form FRM. When you claim this 
exclusion, include a copy of Form FRM with your 
Montana tax return.

Line 30 – Donation of Mineral Exploration 
Information. If you received a Montana Schedule 
K-1 showing a deduction, or you incurred the 
expense yourself, for the donation of mineral 
exploration information to the Montana Tech 
Foundation within the limitations of 15-32-510, 
MCA, you can subtract this amount on this line.

Line 31 – Gain on Eligible Sale of Mobile Home 
Park. If you were the owner of a mobile home park 
and you sold the park to a tenants’ or mobile home 
park residents’ association, a 501(c)(3) organization 
or a county or municipal housing authority, you may 
be able to subtract all or a portion of the gain you 
recognized. Complete Montana Form MHPE to 
determine the amount of the exclusion.

Line 32 – Total subtractions from Montana 
Schedules K-1 (PTE), Part 3, Column I, Line 2. 
If you received Montana Schedules K-1 from a 
pass-through entity, report the total amount of 
everywhere subtractions (Column I). Do not report 
these subtractions separately on the Subtractions 
Schedule. Include a copy of the Montana 
Schedules K-1 you received.

Retirement
Line 33 – Partial Retirement Disability Income 

Exemption for Taxpayers Under Age 65. You 
can qualify for a partial retirement disability income 
exemption of up to $5,200 if you are:

	● under the age of 65; and
	● retired as permanent and totally disabled; and
	● not treating your disability income as a 

pension and annuity.
You are permanently and totally disabled if you 
are unable to engage in any substantial gainful 
activity, if you have been medically determined 
to be physically or mentally impaired, and if your 
condition is expected to last at least 12 months.
Your disability income is generally reported with a 
Distribution Code 3 on your federal Form 1099-R. It 
can also be reported on your Form W-2.

http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Programs/GrantsLoans/beginFarmRanch/
http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Programs/GrantsLoans/beginFarmRanch/
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The exemption is phased out when your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income is above $15,000. This 
limitation applies to married couples based on 
their combined Adjusted Gross Income. Complete 
this following worksheet to figure your exemption. 
When married couples are both claiming the 
exemption, they can allocate the exemption 
amount on line 11 as desired.

Column A Column B
1 Retirement disability benefits received

2 Multiply $100 by the number of weeks 
you received benefits

3 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2
4 Add column A and B
5 Enter the total of Montana Subtractions 

Schedule, line 36, without this exemption
6 Deduct line 5 from Form 2, line 8b
7 Add Montana Additions Schedule, 

line 16, to line 6
8 Combine column A and B of line 7
9 Your income limitation $15,000

10 Subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter the 
result, but not less than zero

11 
 
 

Subtract line 10 from line 4 and enter the 
result, but not less than zero. 
This is your partial retirement disability 
income exemption.

Line 34 – Subtraction for Federal Taxable Tier 
II Railroad Retirement Benefits. Subtract your 
taxable Tier II Railroad Retirement benefits 
included on Form 2, line 4d, on this line. Your 
taxable pension and annuity income may include 
your taxable portion of Tier II Railroad Retirement 
benefits that are paid by the Railroad Retirement 
Board. These benefits are 100 percent exempt from 
Montana income tax.

Line 35 – Partial Pension and Annuity Income 
Exemption. If you have reported taxable retirement 
income on your Form 2, line 4c, you may be entitled 
to a partial exemption of this income.
Make sure you do not exclude again your Tier II 
Railroad Retirement benefits, or your disability 
pensions.
Distributions of your retirement income that are 
considered early or premature according to federal 
regulations do not qualify for the retirement income 
exemption, whether or not payment of the federal 5 
percent or 10 percent additional tax was required.

Your retirement exemption is subject to two 
limitations:

	● First, you cannot exclude more than $4,300 
per taxpayer for the 2019 tax year;

	● Second, your exclusion is reduced by $2 for 
every dollar your 2019 Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income exceeds $35,800, regardless of your 
filing status.

TIP: If you are married and both of you receive 
pensions or annuities, you are more likely to be 
able to deduct $4,300 each if you file separately.

Complete the Partial Pension and Annuity Income 
Exemption Worksheet on Form 2, page 6, 
to determine the amount of your exemption.

Line 36 – Subtotal to Figure Taxable Social 
Security Benefits. Combine lines 1 through 35. 
This subtotal helps you figure your taxable 
amount of Social Security benefits for Montana tax 
purposes. If you did not receive any Social Security 
benefits in 2019, report 0 (zero) on line 37.

Line 37 – Subtraction to Federal Taxable Social 
Security/Tier I Railroad Retirement. Your Social 
Security benefits taxable to Montana may be 
different from the amount of taxable benefits that you 
reported on Form 2, line 5b. Determine if you must 
enter a subtraction by completing the Taxable Social 
Security Benefits Worksheet on Form 2, page 6.
Montana does not tax Tier I Railroad Retirement 
benefits.
Add your Social Security subtraction from the Taxable 
Social Security Worksheet, if any, and any amount 
of Tier I Railroad Retirement benefits included on 
Form 2, line 5b. Report the total on this line.

Partial Pension and Annuity Income 
Exemption, and Taxable Social 
Security Benefits Worksheets

If you do not need to use these worksheets to 
calculate your Montana Adjusted Gross Income, do 
not include this page with your return.

Standard Deduction Worksheet
Use this worksheet to calculate the standard 
deduction you can claim if you do not choose to 
itemize your deductions. Note that if you choose 
to use the standard deduction, you do not need to 
include Form 2, page 7, with your return.
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Itemized Deductions Schedule
Use the Itemized Deductions Schedule to calculate 
your itemized deductions. Your Montana itemized 
deductions may be different from your federal 
itemized deductions as some federal deductions 
are not allowed on your Montana tax return, and 
some state deductions are allowed only on the 
Montana tax return.
Do not forget to mark the box on Form 2, line 12, if 
you elect to itemize your deductions.

Medical and Dental Expenses
Line 1 – Medical and Dental Expenses. Enter your 

medical expenses paid in 2019 after you have 
deducted from these expenses any payments that 
you received from your insurance company or 
other sources. The expenses allowed on line 1 are 
the same medical and dental expenses that are 
allowed under the Internal Revenue Code. Do not 
include expenses that are already deductible on 
another line, such as:

	● Medical insurance and long-term care 
insurance premiums paid in 2019 that are 
claimed as a deduction on lines 2 and 3 below;

	● Health insurance premiums that are paid by 
your employer and are excluded from Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income on your Montana 
Subtractions Schedule, line 11; or

	● Medical expenses paid with funds withdrawn 
from your Montana Medical Savings Account.

Follow the instructions for lines 1c and 2 to figure 
the amount of your medical and dental expenses 
you can deduct.

Line 2 – Medical Insurance Premiums. If you pay 
your own medical insurance premiums for coverage for 
yourself and your family, you may be eligible to deduct 
100 percent of these medical insurance premiums.
In addition, the supplemental part of Medicare 
insurance (Medicare B) and the premiums you pay for 
Medicare Part D insurance from your Social Security 
benefits are 100 percent deductible on this line.
To qualify to deduct 100 percent of your medical 
insurance premiums, you must meet all of the 
following criteria:

	● Your premiums must be paid for health 
and medical insurance coverage. Your life 
insurance premiums are not deductible.

	● Your premiums cannot have been paid through 
a federal or state medical care savings account, 
such as the federal Health Savings Account or 
the Montana Medical Care Savings Account.

	● Your premiums cannot have been paid through 
an employer health benefit cafeteria plan in 
which your premium payments are considered 
“pretax” payments and therefore not subject 
to federal or state income tax withholding, 
federal Social Security, or federal Medicare 
payments. If you are unsure whether your 
medical insurance premiums are covered by a 
health benefit cafeteria plan, check with your 
employer’s payroll office.

	● Your premiums cannot be deducted as a 
Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction 
on your Form 2, Schedule 1, line 16, or as 
a subtraction from Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income on your Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 11.

	● Medicare taxes that are withheld from your 
wages or paid as part of your self-employment 
tax are not deductible on this line.

Line 3 – Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums. You 
may be eligible to deduct 100 percent of the long-term 
care insurance premiums that are deductible on your 
federal Schedule A (under IRC 213(d)) without regard 
to the 10 percent floor limitation. You must meet all of 
the following criteria:

	● Your payments must be for long-term care 
policies covering primarily qualified long-
term care services such as the necessary 
diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, curing, 
treating, mitigating, and rehabilitative service 
and personal care that is required for a 
chronically ill individual who is under the 
prescribed care of a licensed health care 
practitioner.

	● The long-term care policies must be for the 
benefit of you, your dependents, your parents 
or your grandparents.

	● Your premiums cannot have been deducted 
elsewhere on your tax return when you 
determined your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income.

	● Your premiums cannot have been included 
as qualified elderly care expenses when you 
claimed the Elderly Care Credit that you reported 
on the Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 9.
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Taxes
Line 4 – Federal Income Tax. Montana allows 

federal income taxes paid during the year as an 
itemized deduction. This does not include any state 
income taxes you may have paid to Montana or any 
other state even if you were able to deduct them on 
your federal return.
Enter the total amount of federal income tax paid 
in 2019.

4a. Enter the income tax withheld that was 
reported to you on your federal Forms W-2 
and 1099. If you are married filing separately 
with your spouse, the federal income tax 
withheld should be reported by the spouse 
who earned the income;

4b. Enter the amount of federal estimated 
income tax payments;

4c. Enter the balance of the total amount of the 
2018 federal income tax that you paid in 2019;

4d. Enter the total amount of additional back year 
federal income taxes that you paid in 2019. 
For example, you may have paid additional 
2016 federal income taxes in 2019.
Add lines 4a through 4d. Your federal tax 
deduction is limited as follows:

	● If your filing status is Single, Married 
Filing Separately, or Head of Household, 
your deduction is limited to $5,000.

	● If your status is Married Filing Separately, 
you each are limited to the $5,000 federal 
tax deduction and you cannot arbitrarily 
allocate this deduction between spouses.

	● If you file your Montana tax return jointly 
with your spouse, your federal income tax 
deduction is limited to $10,000.

Note: The detail provided on line 4 allows 
you to calculate the sum of income tax 
payments made in 2019.

If the combined amount of federal tax withheld 
(line 4a) and the federal estimated tax payments 
(line 4b) is more than the sum of all the taxes 
listed above after nonrefundable credits on your 
2019 federal Form 1040, the difference represents 
payments that are not deductible. To avoid a 
recovery on your Montana income tax return for 
2020, you may reduce the amount you can report 
on lines 4a and 4b by the amounts you paid for 
federal liabilities that were not income taxes. See 
page 17 for a list of liabilities that are considered 
federal income taxes.

If the combined amount you paid is less than 
the sum of all taxes listed, part or all your return 
payment you make in 2020 will be deductible on 
your 2020 tax return.
Make sure that the taxes you paid for other back 
years on line 4d are income taxes. For example, 
back-year self-employment taxes, or additional 
taxes on IRA or other qualified plans distributions 
are not income taxes and cannot be deducted.

Line 5 – State and Local Taxes Limited to $10,000. 
You can deduct the state and local taxes you paid 
in 2019, excluding state income taxes. If you are a 
resident, state income taxes paid to another state 
may be claimed as a nonrefundable credit on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, page 9.

5a. General State and Local Sales Taxes: You may 
claim the general state and local sales taxes 
you paid in 2019 as a deduction. Montana does 
not have a general sales tax. None of the resort, 
accommodations, or similar taxes collected in 
Montana qualify as a general sales tax under the 
federal definitions, so they cannot be deducted.
If you are a nonresident and you did not save 
your receipts, you can fill out the worksheet 
and use the optional General Sales Tax Tables 
in the instructions for federal Schedule A 
(Form 1040) or use the Sales Tax Deduction 
Calculator available on the Internal Revenue 
Service’s website at apps.irs.gov/app/stdc/.

5b. Local Income Tax: Enter any local income taxes 
that you paid in 2019. No city in Montana imposes 
a local income tax, so a Montana full-year 
resident would be unlikely to take this deduction.

5c. Real estate tax paid: Enter any real estate 
taxes that you paid in 2019 on real estate that 
you own and did not use for business.

Tip: If you apply for the Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit, do not confuse this amount with the 
amount of your property tax billed that is used to 
determine the amount of your Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit.

5d. Value-based personal property taxes: Enter 
any personal property taxes based on value 
that you paid in 2019.
Only personal property taxes that are based 
on value and charged on a yearly basis are 
deductible on this line.

http://apps.irs.gov/app/stdc/
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Tip: When registering or renewing a registration 
of a light vehicle in Montana, you pay a 
registration fee and a county option tax. The 
county option tax is value-based and must be 
reported on line 5d. The light vehicle registration 
fee must be reported on line 6.

Line 6 – Montana Light Vehicle Registration 
Fees. You may claim the Montana Light Vehicle 
Registration Fees (LVREG) you paid in 2019. 
These fees are identified on specific lines of your 
vehicle registration bills.

Line 7 – Per Capita Livestock Fees. You may claim 
the per capita livestock fees you paid in Montana in 
2019 as a deduction.

Line 8 – Other Deductible Taxes Paid. Enter any 
other deductible taxes that you paid in 2019 and 
that you did not report on lines 4 through 7. When 
you claim these other deductible taxes, list on this 
line the type and amount of tax that you paid.
Taxes you may be able to deduct include generation-
skipping transfer taxes imposed on income 
distributions, environmental taxes imposed under IRC 
59A of the Internal Revenue Code, and taxes paid to a 
foreign country. Note that you can only deduct foreign 
taxes on your Montana tax return if you claimed them 
as a deduction on your federal tax return.
You cannot take a deduction on your Montana 
individual income tax return for the following taxes 
that you paid in 2019: state income, federal excise, 
Social Security, Medicare, gasoline, lodging, 
alcoholic beverage, cigarette, tobacco, or selective 
sales taxes. Also, you cannot take a deduction for 
certain license fees paid in 2019 – such as hunting, 
fishing, or driver license fees.

Interest
Line 9 – Home Mortgage Interest and Points. Enter 

your home mortgage interest and points allowed 
by federal law that were reported to you on your 
federal Form 1098.
Enter any home mortgage interest and points that you 
paid that were not reported on your federal Form 1098.
Note that:

	● For acquisition indebtedness incurred after 
Dec. 15, 2017, the deduction of interest is 
limited to the first $750,000.

	● You cannot deduct interest paid on home 
equity indebtedness for tax years beginning 
after Dec. 31, 2017 and before Jan. 1, 2026.

Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums. Include 
on line 9 the deduction amount you can claim on 
your federal tax return. If you did not itemize your 
deductions on your federal return, complete the 
Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums Deduction 
Worksheet on page 52. Married taxpayers filing 
separately in Montana may allocate the total 
allowable amount between both spouses.
If you bought your home from another person, write 
that person’s name, Social Security Number and 
address in the space provided.

Line 10 – Investment Interest. Determine your Montana 
Investment Interest Expense Deduction by following 
the computation on federal Form 4952, but include 
any Montana adjustments to income. You cannot use 
interest expense related to income that is exempt from 
Montana tax when computing your Investment Interest 
Deduction. If you and your spouse are filing separately, 
compute your Investment Interest Deduction on federal 
Form 4952 separately.

Gifts or Charity
The charitable contributions allowed as a deduction 
in computing your net income for Montana income 
tax purposes are those same contributions allowed 
as a deduction for federal income tax purposes, 
with the following exceptions:

	● You can include your contributions made in 
2019 to the Montana Veterans’ Service Special 
Revenue Account or the Montana State Veterans’ 
Cemetery Program, or the surcharge you paid for 
purchasing a Montana patriotic specialty license 
plate, as itemized deductions on your Montana 
income tax return even if they are not allowed as 
itemized deductions on your federal return. For 
further instructions about this contribution, see 
Montana Form VT, available at MTRevenue.gov.

	● When you apply the federal 60 percent, 
50 percent, 30 percent, and 20 percent 
contribution limitations, use your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income instead of your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income when you 
determine your contributions that are allowed.

	● Any portion of a contribution that you used 
to calculate your Qualified Endowment Tax 
Credit, College Contribution Credit, Innovative 
Educational Program Credit, or Student 
Scholarship Organization Credit, cannot also be 
claimed as a contribution deduction. You can 
claim a charitable deduction for that portion of the 
contribution not used to calculate this credit.

In general, excess charitable contributions can be 
carried over five years.
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You may deduct your 2019 contributions to the 
Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Program on 
line 11 or 12. If you decide to use the checkoff 
provided on your Contributions, Penalties, and 
Interest Schedule, line 1b, you may deduct this 
contribution on the 2019 return. Just add it to line 11.
Make sure this deduction matches the contribution 
you are going to report on the checkoff box.

Line 11 – Contributions Made by Cash or Check. 
The cash contribution limit to charitable organizations 
listed in IRC 170(b)(1)(A) was increased to 60 percent 
starting with the 2018 tax year.

Line 12 – Contributions Made Other Than by 
Cash or Check. Enter your non-cash contributions 
on this line. Non-cash contributions are subject 
to the federal substantiation requirements. 
(See IRS Pub. 526 and 561 for details.)
Note: The contribution limit to charitable 
organizations listed in IRC 170(b)(1)(A) remains 
50 percent of AGI when the contribution is made 
with property other than cash or check.

If you are filing on paper and making a non-cash 
contribution of over $500, include a copy of your 
federal Form 8283 with your return.

Line 13 – Contribution Carryover from the Prior Year. 
Enter any contribution carryover amounts that 
you were not allowed to deduct in an earlier year 
because they exceeded your Montana Adjusted 
Gross Income limitation.

Miscellaneous Deductions
Line 14 – Child and Dependent Care Expenses. 

If you pay for household or dependent care 
services for a child under the age of 15, or for a 
disabled dependent while you are searching for 
gainful employment or while you and your spouse 
both were at work, you can qualify for a child and 
dependent care expense deduction.
To qualify for this deduction, you must maintain a 
household for a child under the age of 15 or for 
a dependent or spouse who is unable to care for 
himself or herself. You also must meet the following 
income level requirements:
You qualify if you and your spouse’s total Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income is:

Under And You Have
$22,800 1 child
$25,200 2 children
$27,600 3 or more children

To qualify for this deduction if you are married, you 
must either file Married Filing Jointly (Status 4) or 

file Married Filing Separately on the Same Form 
(Status 2a). When you file separately on the same 
form, your deduction must be divided equally between 
both spouses. If you are married and filing separately 
on separate forms, or your spouse is not filing, you 
cannot qualify for this deduction.
If you are a licensed and registered daycare 
operator who operates a family daycare home or 
a group daycare home, and if you care for your 
own child in addition to at least one other unrelated 
child, you can deduct the employment-related 
expenses considered to have been paid by you for 
the care of your own child.
For further information on the Child and Dependent 
Care Expense Deduction, see the instructions 
on Montana Form 2441-M. When you claim this 
deduction, complete Form 2441-M and include a 
copy with your Montana tax return.

Line 15 – Casualty and Theft Loss. You may 
deduct a casualty loss and theft from a federally 
declared disaster (other than net qualified disaster 
losses). If you have a casualty and/or theft loss, 
complete federal Form 4684 to figure the amount 
of the Montana loss that you can enter on this line. 
To determine your casualty and/or theft loss, use 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income in place of 
the Federal Adjusted Gross Income. And if you 
and your spouse are filing separately, you each 
should complete a separate federal Form 4684 to 
determine the amount of your separate casualty 
and/or theft loss.
Deductions for all other casualty loss and theft 
are suspended until tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2026.

Line 16 – Political Contributions. When you 
compute your net income, you can take a deduction 
for political contributions that you made during 
the year. These contributions are limited to a total 
of $100 for yourself and $100 for your spouse. 
To qualify for this deduction, your contribution of 
money must be made to:

	● an individual who is a candidate for nomination 
or election to any federal, state, or local public 
office in a primary, general, or special election;

	● a committee, association, or organization set 
up to campaign for the nomination or election 
to any federal, state, or local public office in a 
primary, general, or special election;

	● a national committee or a national political 
party;

	● a state committee of a national political party; 
or

	● a local committee of a national political party.
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Line 17 – Gambling Losses. You can take a deduction for 
gambling losses that you incurred during the year.
This deduction for losses is allowed only to the 
extent of the amount of gambling winnings that you 
have reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 8. If you 
are married and you and your spouse are filing your 
Montana tax return separately, the spouse who 
claims the gambling winnings should report the 
gambling losses on this line.
Note: Gambling losses include any expense 
otherwise allowable under the Internal Revenue 
Code in conducting gambling activities. These 
expenses must not be reported or included on any 
other line of Form 2.

Line 18 – Other Miscellaneous Deductions. These 
deductions are the same deductions that are allowed 
on your federal Form 1040, Schedule A, line 16.
They include a deduction for amounts you paid to 
purchase organic fertilizer and inorganic fertilizer 
that is produced as a by-product of mining or 
industrial operations in Montana.

Nonresident/Part-Year Resident 
Ratio Schedule

If you are a nonresident or part-year resident, you 
must complete this schedule. Up to this point, 
you have reported your income as if you were a 
resident because you need to first calculate the 
tax as if you were a resident. This tax is reduced to 
your portion of Montana source income included in 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income by applying 
the nonresident/part-year resident ratio. See below 
for an example.

Reporting Your Montana Source Income 
Montana source income is the income or loss you 
received for work that you performed in Montana, 
from real or personal property located in Montana, 
and income or loss you received from business 
conducted in Montana. Your Montana source income 
also includes your distributive share of the Montana 
source income or loss from an S Corporation, 
partnership, or other pass-through entity.
If you are a part-year resident, your Montana 
source income includes all the income your 
received during the part of the year you were a 
Montana resident, no matter where you earned it.
For example, you relocated to Montana and 
established your residency on July 1. You are filing 
your Montana tax return as a part-year resident 
reporting wages earned both within and outside 
of Montana, along with interest and dividends that 

you earned throughout the year. For the period of 
January 1 through June 30, your wages, interest 
and dividends are not considered Montana source 
income. The wages, interest, and dividends that 
you received on or after July 1 are Montana source 
income and are taxable to Montana.

Adjusting for Montana Additions and 
Subtractions

Amounts reported on lines 1 through 15 must 
include any related Montana sourced additions and 
subtractions. If you are a part-year resident, this 
means that you must prorate your income received 
as a resident after you adjust for any related 
Montana additions and subtractions. Adjustments 
from pass-through entities are reported on line 13.
Example 1: You relocated to Montana and 
established your residency July 1, 2019. You are 
filing your 2019 Montana tax return as a part-year 
resident of Montana reporting wages earned both 
within and outside of Montana, along with interest 
and dividends that you earned throughout the 
year. For the period of January 1 through June 30, 
your wages, interest and dividends are not 
considered Montana source income. The wages, 
interest and dividends that you received on or 
after July 1, 2019, are Montana source income 
and are taxable to Montana.

Example 2: You worked in Montana and earned 
$15,000 in wages included in the amount on 
Form 2, page 1, line 1. If those wages include 
$2,000 in eligible tips that can be subtracted 
by reporting them on the Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 9, the amount to report on line 1 is 
$13,000 ($15,000 - $2,000).

Example 3: You were a resident of Michigan 
in 2019 and must file a Montana return due to 
royalty income from wells located in Montana. 
Additionally, on the Montana Additions Schedule, 
line 3, you reported $1,500 in interest income 
received evenly throughout the year. This interest 
is exempt from federal tax but is included in 
income taxable to Montana because the interest 
is from bonds issued by the State of Ohio. Yet 
this interest is not Montana source income. All 
the royalty income is reported on line 10, but the 
$1,500 of interest is not included on line 2.

Example 4: Assume the same facts as Example 3 
except that you became a Montana resident on 
July 1. The appropriate amount to include on the 
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio, line 2, is 
$750 because one-half of the interest was earned 
while you were a Montana resident.
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Example 5: You received federally taxable 
pension distributions evenly throughout the year 
totaling $28,000 and became a Montana resident 
on March 31. Because your Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income is low enough, you are eligible for 
the maximum Partial Pension and Annuity Income 
Exemption (see page 26) of $4,180. That results 
in $23,820 ($28,000 - $4,180) being included in 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income. The appropriate 
amount to include on line 9 is $17,865 because 
you were a Montana resident for only three-
fourths of the year.

Example 6: You were a Montana resident for 
several years and had been making deposits into 
a Montana Medical Care Savings Account (MSA) 
and claiming your contributions as a subtraction. 
On July 15, you moved to Arizona and became 
a resident of that state. Because your MSA had 
a balance when you established residency in 
another state, you must report an amount on the 
Montana Additions Schedule, line 6, as a Montana 
addition to federal income. The same amount is 
included on line 14 as Montana source income.

Reporting Montana Source Losses
Montana source losses all stem from business 
carried on in the state directly or through a pass- 
through entity, from the sale of tangible assets 
located in the state or used or held in connection 
with a trade or business, or from any losses 
incurred or received from a pass-through entity 
while a resident of the state.
You must report your Montana source losses on this 
schedule if you took them for federal tax purposes 
(except Net Operating Losses; see below.)
Any suspended losses or capital losses carried 
over to another year can only be taken as Montana 
source losses on this schedule until such time when 
you use them on your federal return. When a loss is 
taken on the federal return in a given year, it cannot 
be taken a second time in a subsequent year on this 
schedule. Consequently, a taxpayer cannot “reserve” 
a loss for future years.
Example: Daniel is a resident of the State 
of Washington, and he owns interest in two 
partnerships. In 2017, Partnership A, doing 
business inside and outside Montana, reported a 
large loss, part of which was Montana source. In 
2018, Daniel acquired interest in Partnership B, 
doing business only in Washington State. Assume 
that in 2018, Partnership A had nearly no income, 
and Partnership B’s income is more than the 
Partnership A’s loss from 2017.

On his 2018 federal return, Daniel uses the 
2017 loss from Partnership A to reduce the 
2018 income from Partnership B. If in 2019, 
Partnership A has Montana source income, 
Daniel cannot use the Montana source loss 
from 2017 to reduce that 2019 Montana 
source income because that loss was taken on 
his federal return in 2018.

Special Rule for Net Operating Losses (NOL)
For the purpose of these instructions, Montana 
Class A NOLs are considered NOLs generated 
in tax years ending before January 1, 2018, and 
Montana Class B NOLs are NOLs generated in 
tax years after December 31, 2017.

If you deducted a Montana Class A NOL, you do 
not have to track the losses included in your NOL 
deduction. However, you must add back the amount 
of NOL deduction you took in calculating your 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income, to the Nonresident/
Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, line 17.
If you deduct a Montana Class B NOL, you may 
reduce the numerator of your nonresident/part-year 
resident ratio by the amount of Montana source 
losses included in your NOL deduction on line 15. 
See Montana Form NOL to figure the amount of 
Montana source losses you can deduct.
Excess business losses limitation: If some of your 
loss is disallowed by IRC 461(l), you may only reduce 
the numerator of the ratio by the amount of Montana 
source losses multiplied by the ratio of the amount of 
loss that is reducing federal taxable income after the 
limitation over the overall amount of losses for the 
year before the limitation. We recommend you use 
the figures calculated on federal Form 461 you used 
to limit your losses for Montana tax purposes.

Line 1 – Montana Source Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc. 
If you are a nonresident, enter the amount of your 
wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation for 
services that you performed in Montana and that 
are included in your total on Form 2, line 1.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the wages, 
salaries, tips, and other compensation that you 
earned during the period of the year you were a 
resident, regardless of where you earned this income. 
Also include, where applicable, the portion of your 
wages, salaries, tips, and other compensation that 
you received for services in Montana during the part 
of the year that you were a nonresident.
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Do not include compensation that is exempt from 
Montana tax on this line. This includes exempt tribal 
income, unemployment compensation, Workers’ 
Compensation benefits, military salary of residents 
on active duty, exempt income of nonresident 
military servicepersons and their spouses when 
protected by the Service Members Civil Relief Act 
(see page 1 of the instructions), some federally 
taxed tips and gratuities, health insurance 
premiums taxed to the employee, student loan 
repayments taxed to a health care professional, 
or wages covered by the Montana/North Dakota 
reciprocal agreement.

Line 2 – Montana Source Interest. If you are a 
nonresident, enter the amount of your interest 
that you received from an installment sale of 
real property or tangible commercial or business 
personal property located in Montana. As a 
nonresident, you do not have to include as 
Montana source income any personal interest that 
you received on an account in a financial institution 
located in Montana, or from notes (other than for 
the installment sales or notes for loans made during 
the usual course of business in Montana).
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the interest 
that you received or accrued during the period you 
were a resident and that is included in the totals 
on Form 2, line 2b, and on your Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 3.

Line 3 – Montana Source Ordinary Dividends. If 
you are a nonresident, generally your dividends are 
not considered Montana source income and should 
not be included on this line. If you are a part-year 
resident, enter all the dividends that you received 
or accrued during the period you were a Montana 
resident in 2018 and that are included in your total 
on Form 2, line 3b.

Line 4 – Montana Source Refunds, Credits, 
or Offsets of Local Income Tax. If you are a 
nonresident or a part-year resident and you have 
a taxable income tax refund or a recovery of an 
amount deducted in 2018 that is reported on 
Form 2, Schedule 1, line 10 or line 21, enter that 
portion of your taxable refund and/or recovery that 
is determined to be Montana source income. Do not 
include any state income tax refund in this amount.
To determine that portion of your refund and/
or recovery that is Montana source income, use 
the ratio of your Montana source income to total 
income that you reported on your 2018 refund. 
If you did not have any Montana source income 
in 2018 and you were not required to file a 2018 
Montana tax return, your income tax refund and/or 

recovery is not Montana source income.
If, in 2019, you received a refund and/or recovery 
of a prior-year deduction from a year other than Tax 
Year 2018, use the ratio of your Montana source 
income to total income that was determined in the 
year of the deduction.

Line 5 – Montana Source Alimony Received. If you 
are a nonresident, the alimony that you reported on 
Schedule 1, line 2a, is not Montana source income 
and is not taxable to Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter the amount of 
the alimony that you received during the period that 
you were a Montana resident in 2019 and that is 
included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income on 
Form 2, Schedule 1, line 2a.

Line 6 – Montana Source Business Income or 
(Loss). If you are a nonresident, enter the net 
income or loss that is included in the amount 
reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 3, that you 
received from a trade, business, profession, or 
occupation carried on in Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter the net 
income or loss received from any trade, business, 
profession or occupation during the period you 
were a resident that is included in your total on 
Form 2, Schedule 1, line 3. Also include, where 
applicable, the portion of any net income or loss 
you received from a trade, business, profession, or 
occupation that is carried on in Montana during the 
period you were a nonresident.

Line 7 – Montana Source Capital Gain or (Loss). If 
you are a nonresident, enter the Montana source gains 
or losses used in the determination of your net gains or 
losses reported on Form 2, page 1, line 6.
Example: If you reported a loss of ($3,000) on 
Form 2, page 1, line 6, which is the result of 
a capital loss of ($13,000) from Oregon, and 
a capital gain of $10,000 of Montana source 
income, you must report the $10,000 of Montana 
source income on this line.

Montana source capital gains or losses are 
those from the sale or transfer of your tangible 
property located in Montana or for your tangible 
property used or held in connection with your 
trade, business, or occupation that is carried on in 
Montana. Tangible property includes real property 
and tangible personal property.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all your gains 
or losses included in your net gains or losses 
reported on Form 2, page 1, line 6, received 
during the period you were a resident. Make sure 
to reduce any net capital gains by the amount of 
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capital losses carryover for Montana purposes you 
may have reported on the Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 19.
Also, where applicable, include the portion of any 
gains or losses received during the part of the year 
in which you were a nonresident for the sale or 
transfer of your tangible property located in Montana, 
or for the sale or transfer of any tangible property 
used or held in connection with your trade, business, 
or occupation that is carried on in Montana.
In general, if you are a nonresident who sold an 
interest in a publicly traded partnership doing 
business in Montana, some or all the gain is Montana 
source income. Multiply your gain by the partnership’s 
apportionment factor for the year you sold your 
interest. If the apportionment factor was not reported 
to you by the partnership, you need to contact them.
If you sold an interest in a single-member limited 
liability company or any disregarded entity, it is 
considered a sale of the assets of the company, not 
as the sale of an interest in an entity. Report any 
capital gain related to the sale of tangible assets 
located in Montana on this line. If you sold your 
interest while a resident (or a part-year resident) 
report the entire gain.
Report your distributable share of any separately 
stated Montana source capital gain from a 
pass-through entity on this line. Only capital 
gains reported on this line will be used for the 
computation of the Capital Gains Tax Credit if 
you are a nonresident or part-year resident. Your 
distributable share of Montana source capital gain 
or loss is computed using lines 8 through 9 of your 
Montana Schedules K-1.
If you reported an exemption on Montana Subtractions 
Schedule, line 27, you must reduce the capital gains 
sourced to Montana by the same amount.
Report the net amount of your IRC 1231 gain or loss 
sourced to Montana on this line if it is a gain. To figure 
if you have an IRC 1231 overall gain, you must add 
all your Montana source IRC 1231 gains and losses 
from your Montana Schedules K-1 and your federal 
Form 4797 you filed as a sole proprietor.
A gain or loss from the disposition of an IRC 1231 
property is sourced to Montana when the property 
is located in Montana.
If the overall net amount of your IRC 1231 gains or 
losses is a loss, report this loss on line 8.

Line 8 – Montana Source Other Gains or (Losses). 
If you are a nonresident, enter the amount of 
gains or losses included in your total on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, line 4, related to what you received 

from the sale or exchange of business property 
located in Montana. This gain is an ordinary gain as 
determined on your federal Form 4797.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the gains 
and losses included in your total on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, line 4, received during the part of 
the year you were a resident. Also include, where 
applicable, any gains or losses from the sale or 
exchange of business property located in Montana 
during the period you were a nonresident.
The sale of your interest in a single-member limited 
liability company is treated as if you sold the assets 
of the company.

Line 9 – Montana Source IRA, Pensions, and 
Annuities. If you are a nonresident, the IRA 
distributions on Form 2, page 1, line 4b, and 
pensions and annuities that you reported on 
Form 2, page 1, line 4d, are not Montana source 
income and are not taxable to Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter all the taxable 
IRA distributions on Form 2 page 1, line 4b, and 
pensions and annuities included in your total on 
Form 2, page 1, line 4d, received during the part of 
the year that you were a resident.

Line 10 – Montana Source Rental Real Estate, 
Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, Trusts, 
etc. If you are a nonresident, enter the following 
income or losses that you used to determine the 
total on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 5:

	● Net rental income or loss from real property 
and tangible personal property located in 
Montana;

	● Net royalties from real property and tangible 
personal property to the extent that this 
property is used in Montana;

	● Patent royalties to the extent that the income 
that you received is for the production, 
fabrication, manufacturing, or other processing 
in Montana, or the patented product is 
produced in Montana;

	● Net copyright royalties to the extent that the 
printing and other publication originated in 
Montana;

	● Partnership and/or S Corporation income 
derived from a trade, business, occupation, 
or profession carried on in Montana. This is 
the amount reported as Total Montana Source 
Income on your Montana Schedules K-1. Do 
not include the gains or losses you already 
reported on lines 7 and 8;

	● Montana source trust income.
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If you are a part-year resident, enter all the income or 
losses included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 5, received during the part of the year that you 
were a resident. Where applicable, include the portion 
of any income or loss attributable to Montana (as 
described in the preceding paragraph) during the 
period you were a nonresident.
Example: You are a part-year resident who 
was a resident of Montana for three months in 
2019. You reported $12,000 from a partnership 
on Schedule 1, line 5. You received a Montana 
Schedule K-1 from this partnership showing $5,000 
of Montana source income on Part 5, line 1. The 
amount to report on line 10 is $6,750 ($3,000 
from the three first months of the year you were a 
resident, plus 3/4 of $5,000 ($3,750) for the nine 
months of the year you were a nonresident).

Mark the box if you have Montana source losses 
that you are carrying over to Tax Year 2020 on your 
federal return. This information will help us process 
your return faster.

Line 11 – Montana Source Farm Income or (Loss). 
If you are a nonresident, enter the portion of your 
net income or loss reported on Form 2, Schedule 1, 
line 6, received from the farming activity carried on 
in Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter your net 
income or loss included in your total on Form 2, 
Schedule 1, page 1, line 6, received from any 
farming activity during the period that you were a 
resident. Also include, where applicable, the portion 
of any net income or loss received from the farming 
activity carried on in Montana during the period you 
were a nonresident.

Line 12 – Montana Source Taxable Social Security 
Benefits. If you are a nonresident, the taxable 
Social Security benefits that you reported on 
Form 2, line 5b, are not Montana source income 
and are not taxable to Montana.
If you are a part-year resident, enter only the 
portion of the taxable Social Security benefits 
received during the part of the year that you were a 
resident. You need to complete the Taxable Social 
Security Benefits Worksheet on Form 2, page 6, 
first, and report the required addition or subtraction, 
whichever applies. Then you need to calculate your 
portion of taxable Social Security benefits sourced 
to Montana by dividing the amount calculated on 

line 20 of the worksheet by 12 months, and then 
multiply this result by the number of months you 
were a resident of Montana in 2018. You can use a 
similar calculation based on the number of weeks if 
this gives you a better result.

Line 13 – Other Income and Adjustments to 
Income. Enter any other amounts of your income 
not included above that are derived from Montana 
sources. This includes, but is not limited to:

	● Montana Lottery winnings
	● Nonemployee compensation

Federal Adjustments to Income
Your Montana Adjusted Gross Income includes 
deductions taken on federal Schedule 1. 
Deductions directly related to the production of 
Montana source income also reduce Montana 
source income. Voluntary expenses, such as 
contributions to a health savings account or 
contributions to a pension plan, are not considered 
directly related to the production of Montana source 
income and do not result in an adjustment.
Deductions taken as a part-year resident while a 
resident can reduce Montana source income.
Example 1: You are an educator and a part-year 
resident. You can reduce your Montana source 
wages derived from your activity as an educator 
by the portion of Educator Expenses allowed on 
federal Schedule 1 that is related to your Montana 
source wages received as an educator.

Example 2: You are a nonresident self-employed, 
and you must pay self-employment tax (SE Tax) on 
your self-employment income. You can reduce your 
Montana source self-employment income by the 
portion of SE tax related to your Montana source 
self-employment income. The portion related to 
your Montana source self-employment income is 
the ratio of Montana source self-employment over 
your self-employment from all sources.

Example 3: You are a nonresident self-employed. 
You took a deduction for a contribution to a self-
employed qualified plan. Your self-employment 
Montana source income is NOT adjusted, 
because this deduction is voluntary.

Example 4: You are a part-year resident, you 
can deduct the portion of interest expenses paid 
while a resident.
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Montana Adjustments from Montana 
Schedule K-1

Report your total Montana source adjustments 
from Part 3 of your Montana Schedules K-1 on 
line 13. Subtract column II, line 2, from line 1 
and report the result. This amount may be a 
positive or a negative number.

Line 14 – Montana Source Additions to Income. If 
you are a nonresident, enter any amount of income 
not included above that you reported on your 
Montana Additions Schedule derived from Montana 
sources. This includes, but is not limited to:

	● Federal Tax Refunds and Other Recoveries
If you received a federal income tax refund 
or a refund that is required to be included 
in Montana Adjusted Gross Income as 
an addition on the Montana Additions 
Schedule, lines 1 and 2, a portion of such 
additions may be considered Montana 
source income. To determine this portion 
for each addition, multiply the amount of 
your addition by the nonresident/part-year 
resident ratio of the year you took the 
deduction. Add the results to this line.

	● Medical Care Savings Account Nonqualified 
Withdrawals

Include on this line the entire addition 
you reported on the Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 6.

	● First-time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Nonqualified Withdrawals

Include on this line the entire addition 
you reported on the Montana Additions 
Schedule, line 7.

Line 15 – Montana Source Net Operating Loss. 
Enter here the amount of Montana source losses 
included in the Montana NOL deduction reported on 
the Montana Subtractions Schedule of this return 
for Montana Class B NOL.

Tax Liability Schedule
If you are a full-year resident, and you do not 
have to pay any recapture taxes, line 2, nor any 
taxes on lump-sum distributions, line 4, you do not 
need to complete this page. For instructions on 
how to calculate your income tax, see page 10, 
line 15 – Tax Liability Before Credits. Enter the 
result on Form 2, page 1, line 15.

Line 1 –Tax from Tax Table. Use the income tax 
table at the bottom of Form 2, page 8, to calculate 
the tax. Use your taxable income you reported on 

Form 2, page 1, line 14, to determine your tax.
Line 2 – Recapture Taxes. Some Montana code 

sections that allow deductions and/or tax credits 
have provisions requiring a recapture of the 
tax benefit you received in an earlier tax year, 
when you do not meet certain requirements in 
succeeding tax years. All taxpayers, resident or not, 
can be subject to recapture tax.
If you must report a recapture, report the 
appropriate two-letter code and amount on this line. 
If your status is 2a, and each spouse is subject to 
a different recapture tax, or several recapture taxes 
applies to the same spouse, provide a statement 
with your return to indicate to which spouses the 
recapture are applied.
The four possible recapture taxes are:
BD – Biodiesel/Bio-lubricant Production Facility, 

Biodiesel Blending and Storage, and 
Oilseed Crushing Credit Recapture Tax. If 
you previously claimed any of the tax credits for 
biodiesel or bio-lubricant production, biodiesel 
blending and storage, or oilseed crushing, 
and have ceased operations for a period of 
12 consecutive months within five years of 
claiming the credit, the credit is subject to 
recapture. On this line, enter the amount of 
your Biodiesel/Bio-lubricant Production Facility, 
Biodiesel Blending and Storage, or Oilseed 
Crushing Credit Recapture Tax and enter the 
code “BD” in the space indicated.

EC – Endowment Credit Recapture Tax. If you 
previously claimed an Endowment Credit 
for a gift that you contributed to a qualified 
endowment and you now have received the gift 
back, you must recapture that previous credit to 
the extent it reduced your income tax liability in 
a previous year and to include in your income 
any amounts that you previously deducted as 
an itemized deduction.
On this line, enter the amount of your 
Endowment Credit Recapture Tax and enter the 
code “EC” in the space indicated. If, in addition 
to your recapture tax, part of the amount that 
is recaptured was claimed as a charitable 
contribution in a prior year, include in your 
income on the Montana Additions Schedule, 
line 2, any recoveries of this prior-year deduction 
that reduced your tax liability in the year of that 
deduction. Complete the Tax Benefit Rule for 
Recoveries of Itemized Deductions Worksheet to 
determine if you must recapture any amount of 
your prior-year deduction. See the worksheet at 
the end of these instructions.
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FE – Family Education Savings Account 
Recapture Tax. If you have a recapturable 
withdrawal from your Family Education Savings 
Account, you must pay a 6.9 percent recapture 
tax on this withdrawal instead of including this 
withdrawal in your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income (AGI).
A recapturable withdrawal is a withdrawal 
from your Family Education Savings Account 
within three years from the date you opened 
the account, or a withdrawal of contributions 
that reduced Montana AGI in previous years 
that is not used to pay for qualified higher 
education expenses.
To determine the portion of withdrawal that 
reduced Montana AGI you must:

1.	 Take your total contributions divided by 
the total account balance before the 
withdrawal. This is your ratio.

2.	 Multiply the amount of the withdrawal 
by the ratio. This is the amount of 
contribution included in the withdrawal.

3.	 If the amount from step 2 is more than 
the contributions that have not been 
previously used to reduce AGI, the 
difference is subject to recapture.

Note: Payments for K-12 education are not 
qualified higher education expenses under 
Montana law. Withdrawals of contributions 
that reduced Montana AGI use to pay for such 
expenses are subject to recapture.
Example: Brenda is the account owner of a 
Family Education Savings Account. The balance 
on the account is $20,000, including $12,000 of 
contributions that were claimed as deductions 
over the years, $4,000 of contributions that did 
not reduce Montana AGI, and $4,000 of earnings 
(20 percent of the total). Brenda makes a 
withdrawal of $10,000 to pay for K-12 education. 
The recapturable withdrawal is $4,000 ($10,000 - 
$2,000 of earnings - $4,000 of contributions that 
did not reduce AGI).

Multiply your recapturable withdrawal by 6.9 
percent, enter the result on this line, and enter 
the code “FE” in the space indicated. This 
is your Family Education Savings Account 
recapture tax.

AB – Montana Achieving a Better Life Experience 
Recapture Tax. If you have a recapturable 
withdrawal from your Montana ABLE account, 
you must pay a 6.9 percent recapture tax on this 
withdrawal instead of including this withdrawal in 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income (AGI).

A recapturable withdrawal is a withdrawal 
from contributions that reduced Montana AGI 
that is not used to pay for qualified disability 
expenses of the beneficiary of the account.
The portion of the withdrawal that is from 
contributions that reduced Montana AGI is 
calculated the same way as for the Family 
Education Savings Plan.
Multiply your recapturable withdrawal by 6.9 
percent, enter the result on this line and enter 
the code “AB” in the space indicated. This is 
your Montana ABLE account recapture tax.

Line 3a – Nonresident Tax. Nonresidents must 
calculate their nonresident tax using the nonresident 
ratio determined on Form 2, page 8, and add the 
recapture tax from line 2 if applicable. Enter the 
result on this line and on Form 2, page 1, line 15.

Line 3b – Alternative tax method for certain 
nonresidents. You may elect to pay a tax of 0.5 
percent on the gross receipts made in Montana 
in lieu of paying the individual income tax that is 
based on net income.
You may make this election if you meet all the 
following criteria:

	● Your only activities in Montana consist of 
receipts.

	● Your Montana activities do not include owning 
or renting real or tangible personal property.

	● The dollar volume of gross receipts made 
during the tax year within Montana did not 
exceed $100,000.

If you elect to pay the alternative tax, enter the 
calculated tax liability and include a statement showing 
the detailed calculation. See 15-31-122, MCA.
If you elected to pay the alternative tax but also 
owed some recapture tax, add the amount reported 
on lines 3a and 3b and report this sum on Form 2, 
page 1, line 15.

Line 4 – Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions. If you 
qualify on your federal return for special averaging 
of your lump-sum distribution and have not included 
it as ordinary pension income in Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income, you must pay Montana income tax 
on this distribution.
Your Montana tax liability on the lump-sum 
distribution is 10 percent of the federal tax 
calculated on federal Form 4972. Part-year 
residents must calculate the tax on all lump-sum 
distributions received while residing in Montana. 
Include a copy of federal Form 4972.
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Line 5 – Part-Year Resident Tax. Part-year residents 
must calculate their Part-Year Resident tax using 
the Part-Year Resident Ratio determined on 
Form 2, page 8, and add the recapture tax from 
line 2 and/or the tax on lump-sum distributions on 
line 4 if applicable. Enter the result on this line and 
on Form 2, page 1, line 15.

Line 6 – Resident Tax. Residents who owe recapture 
taxes and/or lump-sum distribution tax, and income 
tax from the tax table must add lines 1, 2, and 4. Enter 
the result on this line and on Form 2, page 1, line 15.

Nonrefundable Credits Schedule
	● Nonrefundable Single-Year Credits

Your nonrefundable single-year credits can 
only be used to offset your 2019 tax and 
cannot reduce your tax liability below zero. 
The unused portion of your nonrefundable 
single-year credits cannot be carried forward 
or carried backward to other tax years.

	● Nonrefundable Carryover Credits
Your nonrefundable carryover credits can be 
used to offset your 2019 tax. These credits 
cannot reduce your tax liability below zero. 
Your excess nonrefundable carryover credits 
that were not applied against your 2019 
income tax liability can be carried forward 
and used to offset future year tax liabilities.

Nonrefundable Single-Year Credits 
(Lines 1-13)
Line 1 – Resident Capital Gains Credit. If you are 

a resident, you can claim a credit against the taxes 
imposed. This credit equals 2 percent of your net 
capital gains reported on Form 2, page 1, line 6.
Before calculating the credit, you must reduce the 
amount of net capital gains reported on Form 2, 
page 1, line 6, by any amount of capital losses 
carryover for Montana purposes you may have 
reported on your Montana Subtractions Schedule, 
line 19 or 27.
Part-year residents must use line 2.

Line 2 – Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Capital 
Gains Credit. If you are a nonresident or a part-year 
resident, you can claim a credit against the taxes 
imposed on your Montana source income. This 
credit equals 2 percent of your Montana source net 
capital gains reported on the Nonresident/Part-Year 
Resident Ratio Schedule, line 7.

Line 3 – Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another 
State or Country. You can claim this credit only 
if you are filing as a full-year or part-year resident, 
and you paid income tax to another state or country 
on an item of income included in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income while a resident of Montana.
To compute this credit, use the Credit for Income 
Tax Paid to Another State or Country Schedule on 
page 9. You must complete a new schedule for 
taxes paid to each state or country for which you 
are claiming a credit.
Include as many copies of page 9 as needed. 
Complete the Nonrefundable Credits Schedule 
only once.
Wages for work performed in North Dakota: 
If you worked in North Dakota while a resident of 
Montana, the wages you receive for this work are 
not taxable by North Dakota under the income tax 
reciprocity agreement between the two states.
If this applies to you, but your employer withheld 
North Dakota income tax from the wages, you 
cannot take this credit. Instead, file a North Dakota 
individual income tax return to obtain a refund of 
the North Dakota income tax withheld.
Income other than wages from North Dakota 
sources: You may be eligible for this credit if you 
must pay income tax to North Dakota on income 
other than wages, provided you earn or receive the 
income while a Montana resident.

Line 4 – College Contribution Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability for 
contributions that you made in 2019 to a foundation 
or general endowment fund of the Montana 
university system, a private college in Montana, a 
community college, or a tribal college. Your credit 
is equal to 10 percent of the contribution that you 
made with a maximum credit allowed of $500.
To qualify for this credit, you must make your 
contribution to a Montana college or university that 
offers an associate or baccalaureate degree level 
education program.
For further instructions on the College Contribution 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form CC. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form CC with your tax return.
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Line 5 – Qualified Endowment Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability 
for contributions made to a qualified Montana 
endowment held by a Montana corporation or 
established organization that is tax-exempt under 
IRC 501(c)(3) or is held by a bank or trust company 
in Montana on behalf of the tax-exempt organization.
Your credit is equal to 40 percent of the present value 
of a planned gift that you personally made during 
the year to the qualified Montana endowment. If you 
are a shareholder in an S Corporation, a partner in 
a partnership, or a member or manager of a limited 
liability company, and your entity contributed to a 
qualified Montana endowment, you are entitled to a 
credit equal to 20 percent of your share of the entity’s 
outright gift or 40 percent of your share of the entity’s 
planned gift. In no case can your credit be larger than 
$10,000 for your contribution and, when applicable, 
$10,000 for your spouse.
When claiming this credit, you cannot claim a 
charitable contribution deduction on the Itemized 
Deductions Schedule for the contribution that you 
used to calculate this credit.
For further instructions on the Qualified Endowment 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form QEC. Visit mtnonprofit.org/endowMontana to 
learn more about the endowments statewide. When 
you claim this credit, include a copy of Form QEC 
with your tax return.

Line 6 – Energy Conservation Installation Credit. 
If you are a resident of Montana, you can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for energy 
conservation investments that you made to your 
home or other buildings. Your credit is equal to 25 
percent of your expenses, for a maximum credit 
of up to $500 for the capital investments you 
made to your home or another building for energy 
conservation purposes, or for the installation or 
replacement of a hot water heater or household 
heating or cooling system. If you are married, your 
spouse may also qualify for a credit of up to $500 if 
you both made qualifying capital investments.
You will not qualify for this credit by simply 
switching to an energy source that is less 
expensive or free (investments of this nature may 
qualify for the alternative energy system credit).
For further instructions and a list of investments 
that qualify for the energy conservation credit, 
see Montana Form ENRG-C. In addition, refer 
to MTRevenue.gov for more information such as 
specific examples of what investments may or may 
not qualify. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form ENRG-C with your tax return.

Line 7 – Alternative Fuel Credit. You can claim a 
credit against your income tax liability for the cost 
of converting your motor vehicle to operate on an 
alternative fuel. Your credit is equal to 50 percent 
of the cost to convert your motor vehicle for a 
maximum credit of up to $1,000.
To qualify for this credit, your motor vehicle has to be 
licensed in Montana and the conversion has to be 
from gasoline to an alternative fuel, such as natural 
gas, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas, 
hydrogen, electricity, or other combinations.
For further instructions on the alternative fuel 
credit and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form AFCR. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form AFCR with your tax return.

Line 8 – Health Insurance for Uninsured 
Montanans Credit. You can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability if your business provides 
health insurance coverage for its employees. Your 
credit is a percentage of the premium payments 
that you made throughout the year for a maximum 
credit of up to $3,000 per year.
To qualify for this credit, as an employer you must 
meet the following criteria:

	● You have been in business in Montana for at 
least 12 months; and

	● You employ at least two but not more than 20 
employees who work at least 20 hours a week; 
and

	● You pay at least 50 percent of each of your 
employees’ health insurance premiums.

Your credit is limited to a maximum of 10 
employees and should include small employer 
group health insurance under the Small Employer 
Health Insurance Availability Act.
Your eligibility for this credit is not affected if you 
claimed the federal Small Business Health Care 
Tax Credit.
For further instructions on the Health Insurance for 
Uninsured Montanans Credit, and to calculate this 
credit, see Montana Form HI. When you claim this 
credit, include a copy of Form HI with your tax return.

Line 9 – Elderly Care Credit. You can claim a credit 
against your income tax liability for paying certain 
expenses to provide care to an elderly family 
member. Your credit cannot exceed $5,000 for one 
qualifying family member, or $10,000 for the care of 
two or more qualifying family members.
To qualify for this credit, you need to care for an 
elderly family member who is at least 65 or has been 
determined to be disabled by the Social Security 
Administration, and who has a family income of 

http://mtnonprofit.org/endowMontana/
http://MTRevenue.gov
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$15,000 or less if not married, or $30,000 or less if 
married. In addition, your Montana Adjusted Gross 
Income must be less than $55,000 if your filing 
status is single or married filing jointly, or $27,500 if 
your filing status is married filing separately.
For further instructions on the Elderly Care Credit 
and to calculate this credit, see Montana Form ECC. 
When you claim this credit, include a copy of Form 
ECC with your tax return.

Line 10 – Recycle Credit. You can claim a credit 
against your income tax liability for the investment 
that your business makes in depreciable equipment 
or machinery that you use to collect, process, or 
manufacture a product from reclaimed material. Your 
credit is equal to 25 percent of the first $250,000 
invested in the property, 15 percent of the next 
$250,000 invested, and 5 percent of the next $500,000 
invested. You are not entitled to any additional credit for 
investment that exceeds $1 million.
For further instructions on the recycle credit, and 
to calculate this credit, see Montana Form RCYL. 
When you claim this credit, include a copy of Form 
RCYL with your tax return.

Line 11 – Innovative Educational Program Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your tax liability 
for donations made to the Innovative Educational 
Program. Your credit cannot exceed $150. If you 
file a joint tax return, each taxpayer can receive a 
credit up to $150.
You are not allowed to take this credit if you 
deducted the same amount as a charitable 
contribution on Itemized Deductions Schedule.
To qualify for the credit, you must preapprove 
your donation on the Education Donations Portal, 
svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations. Once your 
donation is preapproved, you will receive a 
confirmation code that you must keep in your records.

Line 12 – Student Scholarship Organization 
Credit. You can claim a credit against your 
tax liability for donations made to a Student 
Scholarship Organization. Your credit cannot 
exceed $150. If you file a joint tax return, each 
taxpayer can receive up to $150.
You are not allowed to take this credit if you 
deducted the same amount as a charitable 
contribution on Itemized Deductions Schedule.
To qualify for the credit, you must preapprove 
your donation on the Education Donations Portal, 
svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations/. Once your 
donation is preapproved, you will receive a 
confirmation code that you must keep in your 
records.

Line 13 – Apprenticeship Credit. If you are a 
Montana employer who is a Montana Registered 
Apprenticeship Program sponsor, you may be 
eligible to receive a tax credit for any new position 
hired for on-the-job training.
For more information visit apprenticeship.mt.gov.
Applications for the credit must be submitted to the 
Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Workforce 
Services Division.
The credit equals:

	● $750 for each new registered apprentice, or
	● $1,500 for each new registered apprentice 

who is a veteran.
If the employer is a pass-through entity, the credit 
is calculated first at the entity level and owners may 
claim their distributive share of credit on this line.
The credit must be claimed on the income tax 
return of the year it is approved by DLI.

Nonrefundable Carryover Credits 
(Lines 14-26)
Line 14 – Biodiesel Blending and Storage Credit. 

You can claim a credit for the cost of investments 
in depreciable property used for storing or blending 
biodiesel made from Montana products with 
petroleum diesel for sale. This credit can be carried 
over for seven succeeding tax years if the facility 
is blending or storing biodiesel for blending. If the 
facility ceases blending biodiesel for sale for a 
period of 12 consecutive months within five years of 
claiming the credit, the credit is subject to recapture. 
If the facility’s biodiesel sales are not at least 2 
percent of all diesel sales by the end of the third year 
after the credit is initially claimed, the credit is subject 
to recapture. For detailed instructions, see Montana 
Form BBSC. If you claim this credit, include a copy 
of Form BBSC with your tax return.

Line 15 – Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your income tax liability 
for the Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax that 
your business has paid, or has been withheld and 
remitted on your behalf, throughout the year. The 
amount of credit cannot exceed your tax liability, and 
any credit balance remaining can be carried forward 
for up to five subsequent years. If you are carrying 
forward a credit, the oldest gross receipts tax amounts 
will be used first to offset credit claims.
When you claim this credit, you must provide your 
Contractor’s Gross Receipts (CGR) Account ID in 
the space provided. This Account ID was created 
when your CGR account was registered with the 
department and is where your gross receipts 

http://svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations
http://svc.mt.gov/dor/educationdonations/
http://apprenticeship.mt.gov
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tax has been deposited. If you are requesting 
credit from more than one CGR account, mark 
the box indicating multiple accounts and include 
a statement detailing how much credit should be 
taken from each CGR account. If you do not know 
your CGR Account ID, call us at (406) 444-6900 
and we will provide it to you.

Line 16 – Geothermal Systems Credit. If you are a 
resident of Montana, you can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability for the cost of purchasing 
and installing a geothermal system in your principal 
home. The amount of the credit cannot exceed 
$1,500 and is applied in the year that you installed 
your geothermal system. The balance of your credit 
that is not used can be carried forward and applied 
against subsequent income tax liabilities for a period 
of seven years. You cannot claim both the Alternative 
Energy Systems Credit and the Geothermal 
Systems Credit for the same investment.
For further instructions on the Geothermal Systems 
Credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form ENRG-A. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form ENRG-A with your tax return.

Lines 17 and 18 – Alternative Energy Systems 
Credit. When you claim one of these credits, include 
a copy of Form ENRG-B with your tax return.

Line 17 – Nonfossil Form of Energy. If you are a 
resident of Montana, you can claim a credit against 
your income tax liability for the cost of purchasing 
and installing an energy system in your principal 
home that uses a recognized nonfossil form of 
energy such as, but not limited to, solar energy, 
wind energy, solid waste, and organic waste. Your 
total credit cannot exceed $500 per taxpayer. Any 
balance of your credit that is not used in 2019 can 
be carried forward and applied to future income 
tax liabilities for a period of four succeeding tax 
years. You cannot claim both the Alternative Energy 
Systems Credit and the Geothermal Systems 
Credit for the same investment.

Line 18 – Low-emission wood or biomass 
Combustion. If you are a resident of Montana, you 
can claim a credit against your income tax liability 
for the cost of purchasing and installing an energy 
system using a low-emission wood or biomass 
combustion device, such as a pellet or wood stove, 
in your principal home. You can also claim the 
credit for installing certain outdoor hydronic heaters 
or masonry heaters. Your total credit cannot exceed 
$500 per taxpayer. Any balance of your credit that 
is not used in 2019 can be carried forward and 
applied to future income tax liabilities for a period of 
four succeeding tax years.

For further instructions on the Alternative Energy 
Systems Credit, and to calculate this credit, see 
Montana Form ENRG-B.

Line 19 – Alternative Energy Production Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your income tax 
liability for an investment of $5,000 or more that 
your business makes in depreciable property 
for the use of a commercial system or a net 
metering system that is located in Montana and 
that generates energy by means of an alternative 
renewable energy source.
The amount of your credit is limited to 35 percent 
of the eligible cost associated with the purchasing, 
installing, and upgrading of the alternative energy 
system. Your credit is further limited in that it can 
only be applied against the tax liability due as a 
consequence of the alternative energy system 
generating taxable or net income. Your credit 
cannot exceed that portion of your tax liability that 
results from taxable or net income generated as 
a result of the system. Your unused credit can be 
carried forward and applied to future income tax 
liabilities for a period of seven years. An exception 
to the seven-year carryforward period applies 
when your investment is located within the exterior 
boundaries of a Montana Indian reservation.
For further instructions on the Alternative Energy 
Production Credit and to calculate this credit, see 
Montana Form AEPC. When you claim this credit, 
include a copy of Form AEPC with your tax return.

Line 20 – Dependent Care Assistance Credit. If you 
are an employer in Montana, you can claim a credit 
against your income tax liability for the amount 
that you paid or incurred during the year to provide 
dependent care assistance to your employees. 
There are two programs that are available to you 
that qualify for this credit, including:

	● Dependent Care Assistance Credit.
	● Dependent Care Information and Referral 

Service Credit.
For further instructions about the amount of the 
credit that is available, the carryforward provisions, 
and how to calculate these credits, see Montana 
Form DCAC. When you claim these credits, include 
a copy of Form DCAC with your tax return.

Line 21 – Historic Property Preservation Credit. 
You can claim a credit against your income 
tax liability for your own qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures. The allowable Montana credit is 25 
percent of the federal rehabilitation credit provided 
for in IRC 47(a)(2). The credit may not be allocated 
between spouses unless the property is used by 
a small business corporation or a partnership in 
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which they are shareholders or partners. When 
you claim this credit, include a copy of your federal 
Form 3468 with your tax return. If the federal credit 
was transferred to you, the owner who transferred it, 
not you, must claim the Montana credit.

Line 22 – Infrastructure User Fee Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability for 
the fees attributable to the use of the infrastructure.
Your credit is the total of the interest and principal 
paid as reported in the letter from the Montana 
Board of Investments.
When you claim this credit, include a copy of the 
letter from the Montana Board of Investments 
detailing the principal and interest paid. You can 
carry back three years or carry forward seven years 
any of your unused Infrastructure User Fee Credit.
For further instructions on the infrastructure user 
fee credit, and to calculate the credit, see Montana 
Form IUFC. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form IUFC with your tax return.

Line 23 – Empowerment Zone Credit. You can 
claim a credit against your income tax liability if 
you are an employer who has a business in an 
empowerment zone. The credit is based on the 
number of qualifying new employees and is equal 
to $500 for each qualifying employee in the first 
year of employment, $1,000 for each qualifying 
employee in the second year of employment, and 
$1,500 for each qualifying employee in the third 
year of employment. To be eligible for this credit, 
you must be certified by the Montana Department 
of Labor and Industry.
Your credit can be carried back three years and 
carried forward seven years. The entire amount of 
your credit that you do not use in the year that you 
earned it must be carried first to the earliest tax 
year that the credit can be applied and then to each 
succeeding tax year.

Line 24 – Increasing Research Activities Credit. 
The Increasing Research and Development 
Activities Credit expired on December 31, 2010. 
Therefore, a current year credit cannot be claimed 
for periods beginning after that date. Any unused 
credit from a prior period can be carried forward for 
up to 15 tax years. If you are claiming unused credit 
carryforward, include a detailed schedule of the 
credit carryforward with your tax return.

Line 25 – Mineral and Coal Exploration Incentive 
Credit. You can claim a credit against your income 
tax liability for the certified expenditures for mining 
exploration activities involving mineral and coal 
deposits. In determining your credit, your qualified 
expenditures include those costs that you incurred 

for activities that directly support the exploration 
at a specific site. Your credit cannot exceed 50 
percent of that portion of your tax liability that is 
related to the production from the mining operation 
for which the exploration activity occurred.
You need to apply for the certification of 
expenditures incurred by sending the Montana 
Form MINE-CERT to the department within 60 days 
after the close of the calendar year. The department 
will make a determination about the certification of 
the expenditures by September 30.
For further instructions on the Mineral and Coal 
Exploration Incentive Credit, and to calculate this 
credit, see Montana Form MINE-CRED. When you 
claim this credit, include copies of Forms MINE-CRED 
and MINE-CERT with your tax return.

Line 26 – Adoption Credit. You can claim a credit 
against your income tax liability if you finalized 
the adoption of an eligible child in 2019 and the 
adoption qualified for the federal adoption credit. An 
eligible child is:

	● any child under age 18, or
	● any disabled person physically or mentally 

unable to take care of himself or herself.
The amount of the credit is $1,000 per child. If the 
amount of the credit exceeds your tax liability for 
2019, you can carry forward the unused credit to 
the next five tax years. Also, the legal adoption of a 
stepchild does not qualify for the federal or Montana 
credit. Include a copy of federal Form 8839 for the 
year of the adoption with your tax return.

Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Another State or Country Schedule

If you are filing as a full-year or part-year resident 
and paid income tax to another state or country, 
use this schedule to determine the amount of 
nonrefundable credit that you may be able to claim 
on your Montana tax return.
You are not entitled to this credit if the other state or 
country in which you filed an income tax return has 
allowed you a credit against the taxes that they have 
imposed on your net income, because you are also 
subject to income tax on the same income in Montana.

Owners of a pass-through entity (S Corporation 
or Partnership). If you are an owner of a pass-
through entity and your entity pays an income tax to 
another state (including composite tax paid on your 
behalf) or country, you can claim a credit for your 
share of these income taxes paid by the entity. The 
income tax paid by the S Corporation or partnership 
must be measured by and imposed on net income. 
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This credit also applies to excise taxes or franchise 
taxes that are paid by the pass-through entity if 
they are imposed on and measured by net income. 
However, you are not allowed to use other taxes 
paid by your S Corporation or partnership such 
as, but not limited to, franchise or license taxes or 
fees that are not imposed on or measured by net 
income, gross receipt taxes, or gross sales taxes.
When you claim this credit for the taxes paid by 
your S Corporation or partnership, in determining 
your Montana Adjusted Gross Income, you must 
add back your share of the S Corporation’s or 
partnership’s federal tax deduction that may be 
included in your total on Form 2, Schedule 1, line 5, 
to your Federal Adjusted Gross Income on Montana 
Additions Schedule, line 12. This is required 
whether or not your S Corporation or partnership 
separately or non-separately stated the income tax 
deduction on your federal Schedule K-1.

Sourced and Taxable. In the following instructions, 
sourced and taxable means any income that must 
be reported to another state or foreign country in 
accordance with the other state’s or country’s rules, 
and that is not subject to an exemption. If the income 
is partially exempt, only the part that is nonexempt can 
be used for the calculation of this credit. On a practical 
level, income that is sourced and taxable to another 
state is found on the line after state-specific additions 
and subtractions to Federal Adjusted Gross Income, 
but before state deductions (standardized or itemized) 
and personal exemptions. In general, this line is 
labeled as the state-specific Adjusted Gross Income.

Taxes Paid to Another Country. Individuals are not 
entitled to a Montana tax credit for taxes paid to a 
foreign country when they claim a federal foreign tax 
credit the same year. For example, if you received 
Canada source income, you paid income tax to 
Canada, and you claimed the federal foreign tax 
credit on federal Form 1116, then you cannot claim 
any foreign tax credit on your Montana return.
You can claim a credit for foreign taxes paid to 
another country if you did not claim the federal 
Foreign Tax Credit, if you do not take the foreign 
taxes as a deduction on your Itemized Deductions 
Schedule, and if the foreign country does allow a 
credit for taxes paid to Montana.

Line 1. Enter the total income sourced and taxable to 
the other state that is also included in your Montana 
Adjusted Gross Income (Form 2, page 1, line 11) if 
you are a resident, or your Montana source income 
(Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Ratio Schedule, 
line 16) if you are a part-year resident.

Only report the part that is included in Montana taxable 
income and in the taxable income of the other state 
or country. Make sure that exemptions of any kind are 
accounted for before completing this schedule.
Example: If you worked in both Utah and Montana 
while a resident of Montana during the year, and 
your total wages were $50,000, with $10,000 earned 
in Utah, then enter $10,000 on line 1.

Do not include income on this line that is not taxable 
in Montana. For example, if a portion of your total 
wages came from $2,000 you earned in tips in Utah 
and you included that portion in the subtraction you 
claim on Montana Subtractions Schedule, line 9, 
then do not report the tip income on this line.

Line 2. Enter the total income sourced and taxable 
to the other state or country. See “Sourced and 
Taxable” above to find the appropriate amount of 
income on another state return.

Line 4. Enter the actual tax liability paid by you or 
on your behalf to the other state or country. This 
amount comes from either an individual income tax 
return you filed, or a composite tax return filed on 
your behalf by a partnership or S Corporation.
Do not include any penalties and interest paid to 
the other state or country.

Line 5. If you are a resident, and you do not have 
to complete the Tax Liability Schedule on Form 2, 
page 8, your tax liability can be found on Form 2, 
page 1, line 15.
If you are a resident, and you must complete the 
Tax Liability Schedule because you must pay either 
a recapture tax or a tax on lump-sum distribution, 
your tax liability can be found on the Tax Liability 
Schedule, line 2.
If you are a part-year resident, report the tax liability 
you reported on the Tax Liability Schedule, line 5, 
without regard to the taxes on lump-sum distribution 
or recapture taxes.

Line 9. If you have capital gains included on 
line 1 and you claimed a capital gains credit on the 
Nonrefundable Credits Schedule, line 1, multiply 
line 5 by line 8, and then reduce this amount 
by 2 percent of the capital gains included on line 1.
Example: Brian is a resident of Montana and 
sold a house in Idaho. Brian is reporting a capital 
gain of $10,000 for the sale of this house, which 
is included on line 1. Brian is claiming $200 of 
capital gains credit (2 percent of $10,000) related 
to the sale of this house. Brian’s tax liability before 
credits is $2,500 and the ratio calculated on line 
8 is 15 percent. The amount to report on line 9 is 
$175 ($2,500 x 15%) - $200).
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Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit 
Schedule

If you claim the credit, you must include a copy of 
your 2019 property tax bill and/or your signed rent 
receipts. If you are unable to get signed rent receipts, 
a statement detailing the rent paid during the year 
signed by your landlord is an acceptable substitute. If 
you are filing electronically, you do not need to send 
us your property tax bill or rent receipts. When you 
file electronically, you represent that you retained 
the required documents in your tax records and will 
provide those documents to us upon request.
When you claim this credit, you attest that:

	● Age 62 Test – You are 62 or older as of 
December 31, 2019.

If you are married and both spouses own or 
rent your residence, only one of you must 
meet the age requirement.

	● Six-Month Test – You occupied a Montana 
residence as a renter, owner or lessee for at 
least six months during the tax year.

	● Nine-Month Test – You have lived in Montana 
for at least nine months during the tax year.

	● Gross Household Income Test – Your total 
household income of all household members 
is less than $45,000 for the tax year. 

A household means an association of persons 
who live in the same dwelling, sharing its 
furnishings, facilities, accommodations or 
expenses. You do not need to be related to be 
in the same household.

If you are the personal representative of the estate 
of an eligible individual who died during the year, 
you cannot claim this credit if that individual died 
before October 1, 2019.
If you are married filing this claim with your spouse 
and if your spouse, who would have been the only 
eligible individual, died before October 1, 2019, you 
are not eligible for this credit. You are eligible only 
if, as a surviving spouse, you are age 62 or older as 
of December 31, 2019.
Note: If either spouse died during the claim year, 
enter the date of death in the appropriate box on 
top of page 1.

If you do not meet all these requirements, you 
cannot take the credit.
Note: Only one claim is allowed per household 
and that married taxpayers who are living apart 
may qualify for only one credit per year.

Enter the physical address of the residence 
related to your claim in the specified space at the 
beginning of the Schedule, if it is different than the 
mailing address shown on Form 2, page 1. If you 
had multiple residences during the year, enter the 
address of the one you occupied the longest.

Gross Household Income
The Gross Household Income is the sum of all the 
incomes received by the members of the household.
If members of your household, including the 
claimant, are filing a Montana Form 2 for 2019, 
use the information on each Form 2 to complete 
lines 1 through 4. If a member of your household 
is not filing a Montana Form 2 for 2019, but is filing 
a federal Form 1040, use the information on this 
federal Form 1040 to complete lines 1 through 4.
If members of the household, including the 
claimant, are not filing a Form 2 nor a federal 
Form 1040 for Tax Year 2019, report the incomes of 
these household members on lines 6 through 9.

Line 1 – Enter the federal adjusted gross income 
from line 8b. The calculation starts with the Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) of each member of 
the household. Combine the amounts reported on 
Form 2, Page 1, line 8b, of each 2019 Montana 
individual income tax return or federal Form 1040 
completed by each member of the household.

Line 2 – Enter the exempt interest from line 2a. 
Your federal AGI does not include tax-exempt 
interest reported on line 2a of Form 2 or federal 
Form 1040. Combine all the amounts reported 
on lines 2a of all Forms 2 or federal Forms 1040 
completed by each member of the household.

Line 3 – Enter any IRA distribution reported on 
line 4a not included on line 4b. Do not include any 
rollover. Your federal AGI only includes the taxable 
amount of the income reported on Form 2, page 1, 
lines 4b. However, some amounts may be reported 
on Form 2, page 1, line 4a, and must be added back 
to your federal AGI for the purpose of the calculation 
of the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit.
Amounts reported on Form 2, page 1, line 4a, that 
are not reported on Form 2, page 1, line 4b, and 
must be reported on this line are:

	● qualified charitable distributions made by the 
trustee of your IRA;

	● health funding distributions you elected to exclude 
from gross income for federal tax purposes; and

	● a conversion from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA.
Do not include non-taxable rollovers.
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Line 4 – Enter any pensions and annuities 
reported on line 4c not included on line 4d. Do 
not include your cost or net investment (federal 
Form 1099-R, box 9) in your annuity. 

Line 6 - Social Security payment not reported, 
except when paid directly to a nursing home. 
If you received Social Security benefits that are not 
included on lines 1, 3, and 4, report them here, even if 
the funds were ultimately used to pay a nursing home.
If members of the household are not required to 
file a Form 2, nor a federal Form 1040, enter all 
the Social Security benefits received that were 
not reported on previous lines, and that were not 
directly paid to a nursing home.

Line 7 – Refundable credits received, including 
the Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. Combine 
all the refundable credits received by the members of 
the household in 2019. Refundable credits include the 
federal Earned Income Tax Credit, the federal Child 
Tax Credits, the state Emergency Lodging Credit, 
the Unlocking Public Land Credit, and the Elderly 
Homeowner/Renter Credit.

Line 8 – Other income not listed above. Enter all 
items of income received by the members of the 
household that were not reported on lines 1 through 7.
Such items of income may include:

	● Pension and annuity income. If you received 
pension or annuity income or a distribution 
from a traditional IRA, include the federally 
taxable amount as shown on your Form 1099.

	● Disability benefits including, but not limited 
to, veteran’s disability, SSI payments, and 
workers’ compensation.

	● Capital gains. Report capital gains that 
members of the household excluded from their 
Montana Adjusted Gross Income, such as the 
gain from the sale of your primary residence.

	● Interest on federal, state, county, and 
municipal bonds.

	● Long-term care insurance benefits.
In addition, members of the household who are 
not filing a Form 2 or a federal Form 1040 must 
report all wages, business income, and investment 
income not listed above.
A household member may have a basis (the amount 
you invested) in some items above. If applicable, 
the amount received as an item of income may 
be reduced by the household member’s basis in 
that item. For example, if you paid $50,000 for the 
ownership of a primary residence, $50,000 is your 
basis. If you sell that residence for $80,000, your 
gross household income only includes the gain of 
$30,000 ($80,000 sales price minus $50,000 basis).

Line 9 – Enter all losses included on page 1, 
Line 8b. The gross household income cannot be 
reduced by any losses. If losses are included on 
line 1, you must add them back here as a positive 
number. Include net operating losses deductions 
taken on federal Schedule 1 on this line.

Line 10 – Gross Household Income. The total 
amount of income from all household members 
used to determine your eligibility is called “Gross 
Household Income.” Gross household income does 
not always equal the taxable income that individuals 
report on their Montana income tax return. It also 
includes income that is normally not taxable.
If the gross income of the household is more than 
$45,000, stop here. You cannot claim the credit.

Net Household Income
Complete lines 11 through 14 to calculate your 
net household income. The net household income 
represents the amount of your gross household 
income you can use to pay for part of the property tax. 
This amount is determined through a formula.
You must first deduct $6,300 from your gross 
household income. Then multiply the result by the 
corresponding multiplier in the Household Income 
Reduction Table on page 10.

Credit Computation
Line 15– Property Tax Billed. Report the amount of 

taxes, special assessment and fees that were billed 
on the property tax statement. Do not report the 
amount of property tax you paid.
You are allowed only the property tax billed on 
your primary residence and up to one acre of land 
that is associated with this residence. If the one-
acre farmstead or primary acre is not separately 
identified on your tax bill and if your ownership is 
less than 20 acres, your property tax to be used 
in the credit calculation is the larger of: the total 
amount of property tax billed multiplied by 80 
percent, or the total amount of property tax billed 
divided by the total acreage.
If your property tax bill is on property that you held 
in a revocable trust and if you are the grantor(s) 
and trustee(s) of that property, you can qualify for 
this credit. If your property taxes are billed to your 
living trust or life estate, you can qualify for this 
credit. If the property occupied by you is in a name 
other than your own, the property taxes billed for 
that property can qualify as rent only.
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Line 16 – Rent Equivalent Paid. Your rent is only the 
amount of money that you paid to occupy your home.
If you live in a health care, long-term care, personal 
care, or residential care facility, the rent allowed is 
the actual out-of- pocket rent that you paid, excluding 
services provided by staff, such as board expenses 
including meals, housekeeping, and transportation, 
and medical or paramedical expenses such as nursing 
care, assisted living care, and memory care. The 
out-of-pocket rent can be determined using a facility 
statement providing the breakdown between rent 
and these amenities, or by deducting from your total 
payments some proportional amount representing 
board and/or care as follows. If you use the second 
method, complete the Long-Term Care Facility Rent 
Calculation Worksheet.
If you wish to claim the credit for a previous tax year 
still open and you were living in a long-term care 
facility, you must use the rules that applied during 
these years. Refer to the instructions of each tax year.
Do not use rent you pay for an apartment or a 
facility that is exempt from property tax because the 
credit is not allowed in these situations. Verify with 
your landlord or facility that the property is subject 
to property taxes beyond assessments such as 
sewer and garbage fees. You may also contact 
us for assistance in determining if the property is 
exempt from property tax. Items that also should 
not be included as rent equivalent paid on line 15 
are as follows (this list is not all-inclusive):

	● Mortgage payments, including mortgage interests;
	● Nursing home costs that are paid directly from 

Social Security to the facility;
	● Rent paid for you by a rental assistance 

program (this amount should also not be 
included in your Gross Household Income).

Other Payments and Refundable 
Credits Schedule

Payments
If you file separately you may reallocate part or all 
your estimated tax payments to your spouse to 
reduce the assessment of any interest and penalties. 
Only estimated payments (line 1), and overpayments 
from 2018 (line 2), can be reallocated. Withholding 
must be reported by the spouse whose name 
appears on the federal Forms W-2 or 1099.

Line 1 – 2019 Estimated Tax Payments. If you made 
estimated income tax payments for Tax Year 2019, 
enter the amount of these estimated tax payments. 
Estimated tax payments include any payment you 
made on or before April 15.

Line 2 – Overpayment applied from 2018 return. 
Report the amount the 2018 overpayment that 
you requested us to apply to your 2019 estimated 
income tax payments. Do not include in this total any 
income taxes paid for a previous year since these 
are not estimated taxes paid for Tax Year 2019. You 
can view your payment history on our TransAction 
Portal (TAP), at https://tap.dor.mt.gov.

Line 3 – Total Withholding from Montana 
Schedules K-1. Report the amount of withholding 
taxes shown on the Montana Schedules K-1 you 
received from pass-through entities.
Combine the total pass-through withholding on 
Part 5, line 3c, and the mineral royalty withholding 
reported on Part 5, line 4, of the Montana 
Schedule K-1, and report the total here.

Refundable Credits
Line 4 – Emergency Lodging Credit. A refundable 

tax credit is available for licensed establishments 
that provide short-term emergency lodging under 
the Emergency Lodging Program. The program 
helps provide lodging for individuals or families who 
have been displaced from their residence and have 
been referred to the establishment by a charitable 
organization approved by the Montana Department 
of Public Health and Human Services. Visit dphhs.
mt.gov/ publichealth/FCSS/PublicAccommodations/
emergencylodging for additional information 
regarding participation in this program.
The credit is $30 for each night of lodging 
provided by the establishment with a maximum 
of five nights’ lodging for each individual or 
family. An individual may claim the credit if they 
are the owner of the establishment or they have 
an ownership interest in the partnership or 
S Corporation that owns the establishment.
For further instructions on the emergency lodging 
credit, and to calculate this credit, see Montana 
Form ELC. When you claim this credit, include a 
copy of Form ELC with your tax return.

Line 5 – Unlocking Public Lands Credit. The 
Unlocking Public Lands Program allows a landowner 
to enter into a contractual agreement with the 
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks 
to provide public recreational access where no 
legal public access currently exists. The landowner 
may receive an annual tax credit in the amount of 
$750 per agreement (up to a maximum of $3,000 
tax credit per year) for allowing such access. For 
additional information, refer to fwp.mt.gov.

http://dphhs.mt.gov/ publichealth/FCSS/PublicAccommodations/emergencylodging
http://dphhs.mt.gov/ publichealth/FCSS/PublicAccommodations/emergencylodging
http://dphhs.mt.gov/ publichealth/FCSS/PublicAccommodations/emergencylodging
http://fwp.mt.gov
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Line 6 – Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit. The 
Montana Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit is a 
property tax relief program that provides a refundable 
tax credit of up to $1,000. To claim this credit, you 
must live in a household where the total income of 
all household members is less than $45,000 for that 
year, be 62 or older, have lived in Montana for more 
than nine months during the tax year, and occupied a 
Montana residence as a renter, owner, or lessee for a 
total of six months or more during the year.
To calculate this credit, use the Elderly Homeowner/
Renter Credit Schedule on Form 2, page 10. See 
instructions on pages 44 through 46.
If you do not have a filing requirement and you wish 
to claim the credit, see page 3.

Line 7 – Other Payments. Use this line if you made 
any payment after April 15. This line does not 
include payments you make with your return.
If you are filing an amended return, include on this 
line any payment made with your original return.

Contributions, Penalties, and 
Interest Schedule

This schedule includes all the adjustments that reduce 
your overpayment, or increase your amount owed.

Line 1 – Voluntary Contributions. Per Montana law, 
you can use your tax return to donate any amount 
to the following programs. Your contribution will 
increase the amount you owe or reduce the amount 
of your refund. Each taxpayer can contribute. When 
married filing jointly, all contributions must be made 
on Column A.
If you are amending your return, your original 
donations to voluntary contribution programs 
no longer apply. You can confirm or modify your 
contributions by marking one of the boxes or 
entering the dollar amount you wish to donate for 
any program you choose.
Line a – Nongame Wildlife Program. Your 

contributions to this program are used to ensure 
the well-being of Montana’s watchable wildlife 
species, such as eagles, herons, bluebirds, 
great horned owls, loons, chipmunks, pikas, 
flying squirrels, and painted turtles.

Line b – Child Abuse Prevention. Your 
contributions to this program fund services 
and activities related to the prevention of child 
abuse and neglect. In addition, if you enclose 
a separate check with your timely filed return, 
you can take an itemized deduction for this 
contribution on the tax return you are filing with 
this contribution.

Line c – Agriculture Literacy in Montana Schools. 
Your contributions to this program fund the 
development and presentation of educational 
programs. This program ensures Montana’s 
young people have a better understanding of 
agriculture in our state and how it relates to the 
rest of the world.

Line d – Montana Military Family Relief Fund. 
Your contributions to this program help provide 
funding for grants that aid Montana families in 
defraying the costs of food, housing, utilities, 
medical services, and other expenses when a 
wage earner has been called to active military 
duty. Calculate the total of your contributions 
and enter the result on this line.

Line 2 – If Filing an Amended Return, enter 
Overpayments Already Refunded or 
Applied to Tax Year 2019. If you are filing an 
amended return and you had an overpayment on 
your original Tax Year 2019 return, or on the last 
amended return filed for 2019 if this is not your 
first amendment, report this overpayment here. 
You may have chosen to apply this overpayment 
to your Tax Year 2020 estimated taxes.

If you made a payment with any of your previous 
return(s) filed for Tax Year 2019, report that 
payment on the Other Payments and Refundable 
Credits Schedule, line 7.

Line 3 – Interest on Underpayment of Estimated 
Taxes. You must pay your income tax liability 
throughout the year. You can make your payments 
through employer withholding, installment 
payments of estimated taxes, or a combination of 
both. (See Publication 1 for more information about 
the Montana pay-as-you-go system.)
If you did not pay at least 90 percent of your 2019 
income tax liability in advance (after applying 
your credits) or 100 percent of your 2018 income 
tax liability (after applying your credits), you may 
have to pay interest on the underpayment of your 
estimated tax with your return.
You do not have to make estimated tax payments 
if at least 2/3 of your gross income is derived from 
farming or ranching operations. Mark the “2/3 
farming gross income” box if this applies to you.
Mark the “estimated payments were made using 
the annualization method” box if you used the 
annualization method to make your estimated tax 
payments for 2019.
Taxpayers filing separately on the same form 
must calculate their interest on underpayment of 
estimated taxes on a combined basis. This often 
results in having less interest to pay.
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To calculate your interest, complete either the 
Calculation of Interest of Underpayment of 
Estimated Taxes – Short Method Worksheet 
on Form 2, page 11, or Form EST-I 
(2018 Underpayment of Estimated Tax by 
Individuals, Estates and Trusts). This form 
is available at MTRevenue.gov or call us at 
(406) 444-6900.
You can use the short method to determine your 
interest only if your taxable year was 12 full months 
and one of the following conditions applies to you:

	● You made no estimated tax payments (in other 
words, your only payments were Montana 
withholding); or

	● You made four equal estimated payments by 
the required due dates.

Line 4 –Late File Penalty, Late Payment Penalty, 
and Interest. This line allows you to use a 
simplified worksheet to estimate the penalties and 
interest you may owe.
Caution: The calculation of penalties and interest 
you report on your return is an approximation. 
The department will recalculate this amount and 
adjust penalties and interest if necessary. This 
adjustment may result in more or less penalties 
and interest owed.

If you and your spouse are filing on separate 
returns, penalties and interest are based on the 
amount that each spouse owes. If both spouses 
owe additional tax, penalties, or interest, they will 
receive individual Notices of Assessment for the 
amount they owe.

Interest. If you do not pay 100 percent of your 
income tax liability by April 15, 2020, you must 
pay 5 percent annual interest, computed daily on 
the amount you owe. Multiply your amount owed 
by 0.000137 for each day your payment is late. 
If you made payments after April 15, you must 
adjust the amount owed after each payment for 
the calculation of interest. You must calculate the 
interest between each payment separately and add 
the interest owed for each period on this line.

Example: George owed $2,000 on April 15. He 
made a payment of $1,000 on June 14. He pays 
the remaining $1,000 with his return on October 
15. George has two interest calculation periods. 
He must first calculate the interest for 60 days 
based on $2,000. Then, he calculates the interest 
for 123 days based on $1,000. His interest is 
($16.44 + $16.85 = $33.29).

Late File Penalty. If you file your return after 
October 15, you must pay a late file penalty. The 
penalty is equal to 5 percent per month on the 
amount owed on the extended due date, up to 25 
percent of the amount owed on October 15, until 
the return is filed. The minimum penalty is $50, 
even if you are claiming a refund.
If the taxes and interest are paid within 30 days 
of the first Notice of Assessment sent by the 
department, the late file penalty may be waived.

Late Payment Penalty. The late payment penalty is 
equal to 0.5 percent per month, calculated daily, 
on the unpaid amount from April 15, 2020, until it 
is paid. The daily rate is 0.0164 percent. Your late 
payment penalty will never exceed 12 percent (24 
months x 0.5 percent) of the unpaid tax. Late pay 
penalty is automatically waived if you pay all the tax 
and interest with your return, or within 30 days of 
the first notice from the department.
If you are planning to pay the entire amount owed 
with the tax return, you do not need to calculate late 
payment penalty.
If you are not able to pay the entire amount owed 
with your tax return, use the calculation worksheet 
below to determine an estimation of the late 
payment penalty accumulated up until the date you 
file your return.
The total amount to report on line 4 can 
be figured using the Penalties and Interest 
Worksheet on page 49.

http://MTRevenue.gov
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Line 5 – Other Penalties. Include on this line the sum 
of the following penalties if they apply to your situation.

	● First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account 10 
percent Penalty

If you withdrew funds from your First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account for purposes 
other than to pay for eligible costs for the 
purchase of a single- family residence, 
you must pay a 10 percent penalty on this 
withdrawal unless the withdrawal was on the 
last business day in December. Complete 
the penalty calculation on Montana Form 
FTB, 2019 First-Time Home Buyers Savings 
Account. Enter the amount of the penalty 
on this line and include a copy of Form FTB 
with your tax return.

	● Medical Care Savings Account 10 percent 
Penalty

If you withdrew funds from your Medical Care 
Savings Account for purposes other than to 
pay for eligible medical costs, you must pay a 
10 percent penalty on this withdrawal unless 
you made this withdrawal on the last business 
day in December. Enter the penalty calculated 
on the Montana MSA Schedule, Nonqualified 
Withdrawal and Penalty section, line 6.

	● Farm and Ranch Risk Management Account 
10 percent Penalty

If you have not distributed your deposits 
and income from your Farm and Ranch 
Risk Management Account within five years, 
they are considered distributed. You must 
pay a 10 percent penalty on the amount of 
tax due on this amount that is considered 
distributed. On this line, enter the amount 
of your farm and ranch risk management 
account 10 percent penalty.

Penalties and Interest Worksheet 
Instructions 

If you are paying or filing late, use the instructions 
for this worksheet to calculate any penalties and 
interest you may owe.

Line 4. Net amount owed on April 15: If you make 
payments after April 15, 2020, these payments are 
reported on the Other Payments and Refundable 
Credits Schedule, line 7. You must subtract these 
payments from the net amount owed and report the 
result on this line.

Line 6. This worksheet assumes you have not 
made any payment since April 15, 2020. If you 
made payments after April 15, you must adjust 
the amount owed after each payment for the 
calculation of interest. You must calculate the 
interest between each payment separately and add 
the interest owed for each period on this line.
Example: George owed $2,000 on April 15. He 
made a payment of $1,000 on June 14. He pays 
the remaining

$1,000 with his return on October 15. George 
has two interest calculation periods. He must 
first calculate the interest for 60 days based 
on $2,000. Then, he calculates the interest 
for 123 days based on $1,000. His interest is 
$33.29 ($16.44 + $16.85).

Line 7. Report the amount from line 4 on this line. 
If you made payments between April 15 and 
October 15, you must deduct them from the amount 
reported on line 4.

Penalties and Interest Worksheet
Penalties and Interest Worksheet

1 Form 2, line 17
2 Form 2, line 18
3 Form 2, line 19
4 Net amount owed on April 15: subtract 

lines 2 and 3 from line 1.
5 Number of days since April 15, 2020
6 
 
 

Interest: multiply line 4 by line 5, and 
by 0.000137 
(if you made payments after April 15, 
see instructions)

7 Net amount owed on October 15
8 Divide line 7 by 4
9 
 

If the return is late, (filed after 
October 15,) number of months and 
parts of a month the return is late

10 
 
 

Late file penalty: Enter the greater  of 
$50 or your base amount, which is the 
lesser of 5% of line 7 multiplied by line 9, 
or line 8.

11 
 
 

Late payment penalty: If applicable, 
multiply line 7 by line 5, and by 
0.000164. Enter the result or 12% of 
line 4, whichever is smaller, on this line.

12 
 

Total: combine lines 6, 10, and 11, and 
report this total on the Contributions, 
Penalties, and Interest Schedule, line 4.
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Tax Benefit Rule for Recoveries 
of Itemized Deductions Long 
Worksheet Instructions
What documentation will you need to complete 

this worksheet?
You will need the original Form 2 or 2M, the 
Itemized Deduction Schedule when applicable, and 
documentation recording the original deductions. 
You will also need any document or worksheet you 
used to record refunds related to expenses you 
itemized or any recoveries already reported on a 
previous return plus any form or worksheet that 
was used to limit allowable deductions.

Federal Income Tax Refund Section
This section helps you calculate the recovery for a 
refund of federal income tax received in 2019 if you 
deducted these payments of federal income tax on a 
prior return. If, in 2019, you only received a refund of 
federal income taxes paid in 2018, you must use the 
Recovery of Federal Income Tax Deducted in 2018 
Worksheet on Form 2, page 4, of the return to figure 
how much of your refund is taxable.

Other (recoveries)
Enter the amount of refund of expenses, other than 
federal income tax, that you deducted in the year 
for which you are completing this worksheet. If you 
received refunds for several items you deducted 
that year, enter the sum of these refunds.
Note: When the original deduction was limited to 
a portion of the expense you originally incurred, 
either because of a floor (such as for medical 
expenses) or a ceiling (such as for the overall 
limitation on itemized deductions) the amount 
of your recovery is limited to the amount you 
effectively deducted. To determine how much of 
your refund was effectively deducted you may 
have to recalculate your itemized deduction for the 
year of the deduction using the original expense 
reduced by the amount of refund you received. 
Your recovery would be the difference between 
the original deduction taken and the deduction 
calculated after taking the refunds into account.

Standard Deduction Benefit Rules and Rates
When you deduct an expense as an itemized 
deduction, the amount of taxes you must pay is 
reduced, this reduction in tax is the tax benefit 
of the deduction. If you receive a refund of that 
expense in a following year, that refund is income 
in the year it is received. This recovery may be 
less than the amount of refund you received. 
This happens when the deduction you took on 
your previous return, reduced by the refund you 
received, would have resulted in more tax than 
choosing standard deduction. The worksheet 
compares whether the itemized deductions net of 
the refund or the standard deduction would have 
been more advantageous and reduces the recovery 
accordingly. This tax benefit rule is applied on an 
individual basis regardless of your filing status. It 
does not constitute a change to your election to use 
itemized deductions in either year.
Example: Assume Anna, a single taxpayer, chose 
to itemize her deduction in 2012 and recorded 
$3,000 of property tax deduction and $7,000 of 
casualty loss.  In 2019, Anna received a refund of 
the $7,000 that she deducted as casualty loss in 
2012. That refund is a recovery. In 2012, without 
the casualty loss, her itemized deduction would 
have been $3,000. Yet, she would have been 
able to deduct $4,200 if she had elected for the 
standard deduction. That is $1,200 more than the 
itemized deduction considered after the refund. As 
a result, her taxable recovery is limited to $5,800 
($7,000 - $1,200).

Do not use this worksheet if you received a refund 
for a given tax year and a previous recovery for the 
same tax year was already limited by the tax benefit 
rule. This may occur when, over the course of several 
years, you receive several refunds of expenses 
reported as deductions for that given tax year.
For purposes of the worksheet, “deduction year” 
means the year you took an itemized deduction 
for the expense you incurred. You must use a new 
worksheet for each deduction year for which you 
may have to report a recovery.
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Standard Deduction for Past Years
Multiply the amount on the worksheet, line 13 by 
20 percent (0.20). Enter this amount on line 14 of the 
worksheet, but not more than the maximum amount 
or less than the minimum amount reported below 
that corresponds with the tax year for which you are 
calculating your tax benefit rule recovery amount.
In the following table statuses are referenced as:

	● Single: S
	● Married Filing Jointly: MFJ
	● Married Filing Separately: MFS
	● Head of Household: HoH

Tax Year Status Minimum Maximum

2018
S or MFS $2,030 $4,580

MFJ or HoH $4,060 $9,160

2017
S or MFS $2,000 $4,510

MFJ or HoH $4,000 $9,020

2016
S or MFS $1,980 $4,460

MFJ or HoH $3,960 $8,920

2015
S or MFS $1,940 $4,370

MFJ or HoH $3,880 $8,740

2014
S or MFS $1,940 $4,370

MFJ or HoH $3,880 $8,740

2013
S or MFS $1,900 $4,270

MFJ or HoH $3,800 $8,540

2012
S or MFS $1,860 $4,200

MFJ or HoH $3,720 $8,400

2011
S or MFS $1,820 $4,110

MFJ or HoH $3,640 $8,220
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Taxable Recovery for Itemized Deductions 
from Tax Year _________

Column A 
(for single, joint, 

separate, or head 
of household) 

Column B 
(for spouse when 
filing separately 

using filing 
Status 2a)

Fe
de

ra
l I

nc
om

e 
Ta

x 
Re

fu
nd

1 Enter the total of your federal income tax deducted on Form 2, Schedule III or Form 2M, Schedule I, lines 7a 
to 7d, for the deduction year (indicated above). 1

2 Enter the total refund(s) you received in 2019 and prior years from the federal income tax reported on line 1. 
This amount should not include any refundable credits that are not attributable to income taxes you paid.

 
2

3 Deduct line 2 from line 1. This is your federal income tax not refunded. 3
4 Enter the federal income taxes you deducted on Form 2, Schedule III or Form 2M, Schedule I, line 7e, in the 

deduction year.
 

4
5 Is line 3 larger than line 4? If yes, enter 0 here. If no, subtract line 3 from line 4 and enter the result here. 

This is the amount of taxes you deducted that were refunded to you.
 

5
6 Enter the total of all taxable recoveries of federal income tax already reported in previous year returns, if you 

received consecutive refunds for the deduction you took.
 

6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 5. This is your federal income tax recovery for 2019. 7

Other 8 Enter the total of all other itemized deductions recovered in 2019. 8
Total 9 Add lines 7 and 8 9

St
an

da
rd

 D
ed

uc
tio

n 
Be

ne
fit

 R
ul

e

10 Enter the total Montana allowable itemized deductions for the deduction year 10
11 Enter any taxable recovery you reported on returns prior to the 2019 and related to the deduction year. These 

recoveries must not be included in lines 7 or 8.
 

11
12 Subtract line 11 from line 10 12
13 Montana Adjusted Gross Income for the deduction year 13
14 Enter the standard deduction for the deduction year. (See instructions) 14
15 Subtract line 14 from line 12. If the result is zero or less, stop here. The amount on line 9 is not taxable. 15
16 Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 15. 16

Ta
xa

bl
e 

Re
co

ve
ry 17 Enter your Montana taxable income for the deduction year. 17

18 
 

If line 17 is zero or more, enter the amount from line 16. If line 17 is a negative amount, add lines 16 and 17 
and enter the result, but not less than zero. This is your recovery amount. You must follow the instructions 
below to include this amount in your income for 2019

 
 

18

Al
lo

ca
tio

n

If line 18 equals line 9, enter the amount from line 7 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1, and 
enter the amount from line 8 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
If line 18 is less than line 9, and either line 7 or line 8 is zero:
If there is an amount on line 7, enter the amount from line 18 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1.
If there is an amount on line 8, enter the amount from line 18 on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
If line 18 is less than line 9 and there are amounts on both lines 7 and 8, complete lines A, B, and C below.

A Divide the amount on line 7 by the amount on line 9. Enter the percentage here. A
B Multiply the amount on line 18 by the percentage on line A. 

Enter the result here and on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 1.
 

B
C Subtract the amount on line B from the amount on line 18. 

Enter the result here and on Form 2, Montana Additions Schedule, line 2.
 

C

Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums Deduction
If you have completed the Qualified Mortgage Insurance Premiums Deduction Worksheet for your federal return, you do not need to complete this worksheet.  
You are allowed the same deduction. If you did not complete the federal worksheet, use this worksheet to calculate the amount you are allowed to deduct.

1 Enter the total premiums you paid in 2019 for qualified mortgage insurance for a contract issued after December 31, 2006 1
2 Enter your federal adjusted gross income from Form 2, page 1, line 8b 2
3 Enter $100,000 3
4 
 
 

Is the amount on line 2 more than the amount on line 3?  
 
 

4

No	 ►	 Your deduction is not limited. Enter the amount from line 1 above on Form 2, page 7, Itemized Deductions Schedule, line 9.
Yes	►	 Subtract line 3 from line 2. If the result is not a multiple of $1,000, increase it to the next multiple of $1,000. 

For example, increase $425 to $1,000; increase $2,025 to $3,000. Enter the result here.
5 Divide line 4 by $10,000. Enter the result as a decimal. If the result is 1.0 or more, enter 1.0.	 5
6 Multiply line 1 by line 5 and enter the result here 6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 1. Enter the result here and on Form 2, page 7, Itemized Deductions Schedule, line 9. 

This is your qualified mortgage insurance premiums deduction.
 

7
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