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Report of Property Presumed Unclaimed

. e UCH-2
Report Contenta of Saf Deposit Boxes V2 102010
REVENUE P P
Name of Holder Name of Contact
Address Address
Address Address
City, ST, Zip City, ST, Zip
Phone E-Mail Phone
1. FEIN: Ext #: 2. Account ID:
3. Report Year: 4. Report #: Your original report is

Enter final date.

5. If you are no longer in business and want your
account cancelled, check here. O

considered report #1, please see instructions.
If this is an amended return, check here. O

6. If your address has changed, check here. O

Section I:
7.|Safe Deposit Box or Safekeeping Number
8.[Social Security Number of Owner
9.[Name (last, first, middle initial) of Owner
10.|Address of Owner Address
Address
City State Zip Code
11.|Date Rental Expired
12.|Rental Charges $
13.|Drilling or Opening Fees $
14.|Total Bank Charges $

I, the undersigned, declare under penalty of perjury, that to the best of my knowledge and belief, the following
is a true and complete report of unclaimed property now in possession or under control of the holder, which is
presumed unclaimed in accordance with Montana law, 70-9-801 through 70-9-829, MCA.. Written notice has

been sent to the apparent owner as prescribed under Montana law, 70-9-808(5), MCA.

Name of Officer or Holder Authorized to Sign Report (please print)

Signature

Date

Title

Phone Fax

Mail this report to:

Montana Department of Revenue
Attn: Unclaimed Property
PO Box 5805, Helena MT 59604-5805

Ship the safe deposit property to:

Helena, MT 59601

Montana Department of Revenue
Attn: Unclaimed Property Team - Tangible Contents
125 N. Roberts ST 3rd Floor Receptions Desk

Questions? Call us at (406) 444-6900, or Montana Relay at 711 for the hearing impaired.


http://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0700/chapter_0090/part_0080/sections_index.html
http://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0700/chapter_0090/part_0080/section_0080/0700-0090-0080-0080.html

Inventory Listing Sheet

Section ll:

ltem

Number Description of Unclaimed Property Being Reported

1.

2.

3.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.




Report of Property Presumed Unclaimed
Instructions for Reporting Property

If you have questions, please call us at (406) 444-6900.

General Information

What is Unclaimed Property? Any financial asset for which an owner has not generated activity during
a period of time (see reporting requirements below). These assets may include uncashed checks,
savings, checking, payroll (wages, bonuses, commissions), credit balances, money orders, customer
deposits, travelers checks, stocks and bonds (uncashed dividends, interest checks, underlying shares
principle), insurance proceeds, certificates of deposit, and other intangible interests or benefits.

What is the Holder’s Responsibility? The holder of unclaimed property must send written notice to the
apparent owner of property with a value exceeding $50, not more than 120 days or less than 60 days
before filing the report.

Reporting Requirements
(70-9-803, MCA)

1 Year 5 Years

Company dissolution Stock or equity interest

Class action court judgment Debt/interest payment

Court or government agency Demand, savings of time deposit
Wages and bonuses *Contents of safe deposit boxes
Utility deposits from customers Cashier’s checks

3 Years Commissions

Credit memo or refund 7 Years

Gift certificate Money orders

Life insurance
IRA/earliest date of distribution

4 Years
Stale state warrants

15 Years
Traveler’s checks

*Contents of Safe Deposit Boxes: All contents of the safety deposit box must be reported and
delivered to us. Nothing may be destroyed. Contents could include, for example, money, jewels, stock
certificates, bonds, life insurance policies, promissory notes, deeds, leases, mortgages, contracts,
wills or, automobile ownership certificates.

Filing Options
Electronic Filing: A holder report can be filed electronically through a secure file transfer process. To

learn more, please go to MTRevenue.gov, click on “For Businesses”, and select “Unclaimed Property
Holders” from the drop down list.

Please follow these instructions when submitting your report electronically:

» The report must be in a text file. Do not provide your report in an executable file format, as a
statewide policy for Montana will not allow us to accept this format from an external source.

» The text file must be in the current NAUPAII format, which may be obtained at
http://www.wagers.net/hrs.

» Do not encrypt the file.

» Do not password-protect the file.



http://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0700/chapter_0090/part_0080/section_0030/0700-0090-0080-0030.html
http://revenue.mt.gov
http://www.wagers.net/hrs

Paper Filing: Please follow the instructions below.

Instructions for Page 1

Line 1  Enter your federal employer identification number (FEIN) on line 1. If you are filing for more than
one location, please include your extension number for the specific location that is reporting.

Line 2 If you know your Account ID, please provide on line 2.

Line 3 Enter the report year that applies to this report.

Life insurance companies’ report year for unclaimed property is the period of January 1
through December 31. The report is due on May 1st of the following year.

All other holders’ report year for unclaimed property is the period of July 1 through June 30;
the report is due on November 1 of that year.

Line 4 You may report more than once a year. In order to correctly process the additional reports as
such, please indicate the report number on line 4. Your original report is always considered
report #1. If you are amending a prior-period report check the box on line 4. Amended is
defined as notification that the original report was invalid and the amended report replaces
that report in its entirety.

Line 5 If you are no longer in business and are filing a final report, check the box on line 5 and
enter the date that your business ceased operations.

Line 6 If your address has changed from the last report filed; check the box on line 6.

Section I:

Line 7 Enter the safe deposit box or safekeeping number.

Line 8 Enter the social security number or federal identification number of the owner.

Line 9 Enter the owner’s by last name, first name, middle initial.

Line 10 Enter the owner’s last known mailing address including street, city, state, and zip code.
Line 11 Enter the date the rental expired.

Line 12 Enter, if applicable, any rental charges.

Line 13 Enter, if applicable, any drilling or opening fees.

Line 14 Enter the total bank charges.

Instructions for Page 2

You may photo copy page 2 of this report if additional space is needed. A computer printout is
acceptable in place of section Il of this report. The printout must contain the same information in the
same format as this report. If a printout is used, the print size must be at least a 10-point font. Attach
a copy of the printout to page 1 of this report.

Section Il:
Please provide a detailed description of each item being reported.

NAUPA Adopted Standard Property Type Codes

The following codes have been endorsed by NAUPA for use by each state in the development of
standard reporting; however, some states do not currently accept these codes. The State of Montana’s
agreement to utilize these codes is a step toward standardization in unclaimed property reporting.

Safe Deposit Boxes and Safekeeping
Code [Description
SD01 [Safe Deposit Box Contents
SDO02 | Other Safekeeping
SD03 [ Other Tangible property
SD04 | Unclaimed Loan Collateral
SDO05 [Liquidated Asset




