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Cannabis Control Division Overview

The Department of Revenue’'s Cannabis Control Division administers the licensing and taxation of medical and
adult-use cannabis in Montana.

The passage of Ballot Initiative-190 in November 2020 legalized adult-use cannabis in Montana. The 2021
Legislature then passed HB 701, which laid out the administrative framework for the department. The
department subsequently created the Cannabis Control Division and assumed the administration of the
medical cannabis program from the Department of Public Health and Human Services on July 1, 2021. Legal
sales of adult-use cannabis began January 1, 2022. There is currently a moratorium on the issuance of new
business licensees, meaning that only previous medical businesses, licensed as of April 27, 2021, may be
licensed to participate in the adult-use market until July 1, 2025.

HB 701 included an opt-in/opt-out provision where counties that voted in favor of 1-190 are automatically
opted-in to allowing dispensaries to sell adult-use and medical cannabis in those counties. Counties that voted
against 1-190 are opted-out and do not allow dispensaries to sell to adult-use consumers within their counties.
All counties still have the opportunity to opt-in/opt-out through a vote of the electorate. Counties and
municipalities are also able to enact a local-option cannabis tax of up to 3% through a vote of the electorate.

Figure 8.1 Cannabis Legality by County

Cannabis Control Division

" No Adult-Use Sales
Adult-Use Sales 7 Local Option Tax - No Adult-Use Sales
M Local Option Tax 7 Local Option Tax on Adult-Use Only

This map shows the current legal status of adult use-cannabis for each county in Montana as of October 2024 and whether
the county has elected a local-option cannabis tax.
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State Comparison

Washington and Colorado were the first states to legalize adult-use cannabis in 2012, with sales beginning in
2014. As of August 2024, twenty four states and the District of Columbia have now fully legalized adult-use
cannabis. An additional thirteen states permit the sale of medical cannabis, while seven only allow CBD oil.
Cannabis remains fully illegal in six states but has been decriminalized in two of those (Nebraska and North
Carolina). The following table 8.1 shows the tax rates for the states with legalized adult-use cannabis.

Table 8.1 Tax Rates for Other States with Legalized Adult-use Cannabis

State Tax Rates
Alaska $50 per oz flowers, $15 per oz stems and leaves, $25 per oz immature flowers/buds
Arizona 16% excise tax

15% excise tax on wholesale and per oz cultivation tax ($9.65 flowers, $2.87 leaves, $1.35
California fresh plant), state sales tax of 7.25% applies
Colorado 15% excise tax on retail and wholesale, local option tax of up to 8%

Connecticut

Tax per milligram of THC: $0.00625 in flowers, $0.0275 in edibles, $0.009 in other
products. 6.35% retail sales tax and 3% municipal sales tax

Delaware 15% retail excise tax. Sales have not yet begun
District of
Columbia Possession of up to 2 oz. legal but no retail sales
7% wholesale tax; Retail tax of 10% on flowers; 20% on cannabis infused products; 25% on
lllinois products > 35% THC; Local option tax up to 3%
10% sales tax plus excise tax of $335/Ib flower; $94/Ib trim; $1.5 per immature plant/
Maine seedling; $0.3 per seed
Maryland 9% retail sales tax
10.75% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6.25% and local option tax of up to 3%, medical
Massachusetts exempt
Michigan 10% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6%. 3% on grower's gross receipts for medical
Minnesota 10% retail excise tax, 6.875% state sales tax, local sales tax
Missouri 16% retail sales tax
Montana 20% sales tax, 4% on medical, local option tax of up to 3%
Nevada 15% excise tax on wholesale and 10% on retail plus state sales tax of 6.85%
State sales tax of 6.625% applies on top of an excise tax of $1.52 per ounce of cannabis.
New Jersey Local option sales tax of up to 2%
New Mexico 12% excise tax, increasing to 18% in 2025 plus state and local sales tax of at least 5%
Tax per milligram of THC: $0.005 in flower, $0.008 in concentrates, $0.03 in edibles. 13%
New York total excise tax
Ohio 10% retail sales tax
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Table 8.1 Tax Rates for Other States with Legalized Adult-use Cannabis continued

State Tax Rates
Oregon 17% sales tax, local option sales tax up to 3%
Rhode Island 10% excise tax plus 3% local excise tax and 7% state sales tax
Vermont 14% excise tax plus state sales tax of 6%
Virginia 21% sales tax, local option sales tax of 3%
37% sales tax plus state and local general sales tax of at least 6.5%. Medical is exempt
Washington from sales taxes

https.//disa.com/marijuana-legality-by-state
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Legislative History

2017 HZEH

2019 EH:FH

2021

2023

HB 903

HB 948

Created a 4 percent tax on medical cannabis, later decreased to 2 percent on July
1, 2018. Implemented a license fee for dispensaries, required providers to obtain
a nursery license, and required implementation of the seed-to-sale tracking
system.

Untethered providers from cardholders and established canopy tiers and
licensing fees. Extended the 4 percent tax rate for 2 years, through October 1,
2021, when it was scheduled to decrease to 2 percent.

Laid out licensing and tax requirements for the administration and regulation of
adult-use cannabis by the Department of Revenue following the passage of 1-190.
Administration of the medical cannabis program was moved from DPHHS to the
department and combined with adult-use cannabis licensing. Set the adult-use
tax rate at 20 percent and allowed for a local option tax of up to 3 percent on
adult-use and/ or medical cannabis sales. Eliminated the scheduled reduction in
the medical cannabis tax and kept it at 4 percent going forward.

Clarified many components of the administration of adult-use and medical
marijuana and transferred the administration of marijuana testing labs from
DPHHS to DOR.

Revised the regulations for marijuana testing labs, allowing for a probationary
license for testing labs, and a variance in the measurement of a single-serve
edible marijuana product. The bill also restricted the transportation of samples
to a testing lab, not allowing a commercial testing lab to use a third-party
transporter.

Appropriated $300,000 each year of the 2025 biennium from the marijuana state
special revenue account to the board of crime control for a crisis intervention
team training program.

Revised the combined-use marijuana license laws to allow cultivators to step up
multiple tiers at a time and added preschools to the premises with a distance
requirement for licensed premises.

Prohibited the manufacturing and sales of synthetic marijuana products and
created a synthetic marijuana products advisory council to be established by the
Department of Revenue.
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Medical Cannabis Tax Rate
and Revenue

Statute: 15-64-102, MCA

Table 8.2 Medical Cannabis Collections

Fiscal Year | Total Revenue
2015 $0 .
2016 $0 — e
2017 $0 8
2 5
2018 $1,836,085 E
2019 $1,626,805 -
2 $3
2020 $3,871,936 qC)
2021 $6,319,828 g» $2
2022 $5,595,671 T $1
e)
2023 $3,061,340 F %0 5014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
2024 $2,067,613 Fiscal Year

Table 8.2 and Figure 8.2 above show the medical cannabis tax collections for the last seven fiscal years since
the tax took effect in Fiscal Year 2018. Following the legalization of Adult-use cannabis and the start of sales in
January 2022, the number of medical cannabis cardholders and amount of sales has decreased each year.

The 2017 Legislature enacted a tax on medical cannabis sales as part of their revision of the regulation of
medical cannabis. From July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2018, the tax was 4 percent of gross sales. From July 1,
2018, through September 30, 2020, the tax dropped to 2 percent of gross sales. The tax rate increased back to
4 percent on October 1, 2019, and was kept at 4 percent by the 2021 Legislature.
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Adult-Use Cannabis Tax Rate
and Revenue

Statute: 16-12-102, MCA

Table 8.3 Adult-use Cannabis Collections

Fiscal Year | Total Revenue Figure 8.3
2014 $0
2015 $0 $50
2016 $0 F
2017 $0 2
2018 $0 S $30
2019 $0 3
c $20
2020 $0 0
2021 $0 & $10
2022 $18,816,673 g
2023 $47,613,282 = 30 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
2024 $49,722,303 Fiscal Year

Table 8.3 and Figure 8.3 above shows the adult-use cannabis tax collections for 2022 — 2024. Note that 2022
only includes six months of legal sales, as sales began January 1, 2022. Following the passage of Initiative-190
and HB 701, adult-use cannabis is taxed at a rate of 20 percent of the retail price.

Filing and Payment

The tax is collected by the dispensaries from the consumers at the time of the sale. The dispensaries are
required to file sales reports and remit the tax collections to the department within 15 days of the end of the
quarter. These reports can then be compared with the Metrc seed-to-sale data by the department for auditing
purposes
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Licensing Fee Revenue

Statute: 16-12-201 to 226, MCA

Table 8.4 Cannabis License Fees Collections

Fiscal Year | Total Revenue

2014 $0
2015 $0
2016 $0
2017 $0
2018 $0
2019 $0
2020 $0
2021 $0
2022 $3,482,011
2023 $6,348,382
2024 $6,757,303

$7
w  $6
C
-;—3 $5
2 4
S
2 $3
g
a4
(—3 $1
© s0

Figure 8.4

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024

Fiscal Year

Table 8.4 and Figure 8.4 above show revenue collections from cannabis industry licensees. This license fee
revenue is deposited into the cannabis state special revenue account with the tax revenue from above; all
distributions are made from this account.

The Cannabis Control Division is responsible for the licensing of all participants in the cannabis industry

in Montana. There are different license types for each stage within the industry, spanning cultivation,
manufacturing, and dispensary. Table 8.5 below lists the license types required for participation in the cannabis
industry with the corresponding license fees.

Table 8.5 Cannabis License Types and Fees

License Type # Licensees | # Locations Fee (initial & renewal)
Cultivator 228 343 | Tier based - see cultivator tiers
Dispensary 214 465 | $5,000 per licensed premises
Manufacturer 159 180 | Tier based - see manufacturer tiers
Testing Lab 3 3| $5,000 per licensed premises
Testing Lab Storage Facility 2 2|1 $1,000 per licensed storage facility
Transporter 9 n/a | $10,000 (2-year)
Transporter Storage Facility 1 1
Combined-use Marijuana 0 0| $7,500
Cannabis Medical Registry ID 14,930 n/a | $20; $10 for a replacement card

$50; $10 for a replacement permit; $30
Cannabis Worker Permit 5,834 n/a | background check fee for lab workers
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Table 8.6 Cultivator License Tiers and Fees

Fee
canopy Size (Initial &
Cultivator Tiers (max square feet and facilities) Licensees # Facilities Renewal)
250 square feet at one indoor
Micro tier cultivation facility 9 9 $1,000
1,000 square feet at one indoor
Tier 1 cultivation facility 60 60 $2,500
2,500 square feet at up to two indoor
Tier 2 cultivation facilities 45 56 $5,000
5,000 square feet at up to three
Tier 3 indoor cultivation facilities 38 49 $7,500
7,500 square feet at up to four
Tier 4 indoor cultivation facilities 13 24 $10,000
10,000 square feet at up to five
Tier 5 indoor cultivation facilities 26 46 $13,000
13,000 square feet at up to five
Tier 6 indoor cultivation facilities 18 43 $15,000
15,000 square feet at up to five
Tier 7 indoor cultivation facilities 5 15 $17,500
17,500 square feet at up to five
Tier 8 indoor cultivation facilities 1 4 $20,000
20,000 square feet at up to six indoor
Tier 9 cultivation facilities 2 8 $23,000
30,000 square feet at up to seven
Tier 10 indoor cultivation facilities 6 12 $27,000
40,000 square feet at up to eight
Tier 11 indoor cultivation facilities 2 6 $32,000
50,000 square feet at up to nine
Tier 12 indoor cultivation facilities 3 11 $37,000
Table 8.7 Manufacturer License Tiers and Fees
Manufacturer Tiers Tier Parameters Count Fee (Initial & Renewal)
Produces less than ten pounds of
Tier 1 concentrate per month 133 $5,000
Produces between 10 and 15 pounds of
Tier 2 concentrate per month 13 $10,000
Produces 15 or more pounds of
Tier 3 concentrate per month 34 $20,000

*Licensing data as of August 2024

Penalties and Fees

Licensees who are out of compliance with the department may be subject to civil penalties. The department
collected approximately $375,000 in civil penalties in FY 2024 but anticipates the amount of penalties to
decrease moving forward.
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Tax Revenue Distribution

Statute: 16-12-111, MCA

The process of distributing cannabis tax and license fee revenue begins with the revenue collected from adult-
use and medical cannabis taxes and license fees. This revenue is deposited in the state’s cannabis special

revenue account.

The cannabis special revenue account is first used to cover the administrative costs of the department. At the
end of the fiscal year, the remaining account balance is distributed as follows:

+  $6 million to the marijuana Healing and Ending Addiction through Recovery and Treatment (HEART)
fund account. established in MCA, 17-6-606

« 20% to FWP for wildlife habitat. as provided in MCA, 87-1-209

« 4% each to the state park account, trails and recreational facilities account, and the nongame wildlife

account

« 3%, up to $200,000, to veterans and surviving spouses state special revenue account

« $300,000 each year of the 2025 biennium to the board of crime control for crisis intervention team
training program; this distribution is intended to be part of the ongoing budget

« The remaining funds are placed in the general fund.

Table 8.8 Distribution of Cannabis Taxes and Fees

Fund FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024
HEART fund $0 $0 $6,000,000 $6,000,000 $6,000,000
Wildlife Habitat $0 $0 $4,437,772 $8,756,701 $9,545,259
State Parks $0 $0 $887,554 $1,751,340 $1,909,052
Trails and Recreation $0 $0 $887,554 $1,751,340 $1,909,052
Nongame Wildlife $0 $0 $887,554 |  $1,751,340 $1,909,052
Veteran's Affairs $0 $0 $200,000 $200,000 $200,000
DOJ Grant Funding and Board of

Crime Control $0 $0 $450,000 $150,000 $450,000
General Fund $0 $0| $14,238,426 | $29,422,782 $31,803,882
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Local-Option Cannabis Taxes

Statute: 16-12-309 - 317, MCA

Individual municipalities can require a 3 percent local option cannabis tax be collected in addition to the state
tax for adult-use cannabis, medical cannabis, or both.

Table 8.9 Counties That Currently Have a Local Option Tax

County Tax on Medical and/or Adult Use Effective Date
Beaverhead Medical only* 3/1/2023
Big Horn Both 10/29/2022
Cascade Both 2/6/2023
Blaine Both 9/1/2022
Carbon Both 9/5/2022
Dawson Both 4/2/2022
Deer Lodge Both 9/5/2022
Flathead Adult-use only 3/1/2023
Gallatin Both 3/1/2023
Granite Medical only* 2/20/2023
Hill Both 2/6/2023
Lake Both 9/5/2022
Lewis & Clark Both 10/1/2022
Lincoln Both 2/5/2024
Madison Both 2/7/2023
Mineral Both 1/1/2023
Missoula Adult-use only 1/31/2022
Park Both 2/11/2022
Powell Both 10/1/2022
Ravalli Adult-use only 10/1/2022
Richland Both 1/1/2023
Roosevelt Both 1/31/2023
Rosebud Both 9/1/2022
Sanders Adult-use only 2/8/2023
Sheridan Both 1/31/2023
Silver Bow Both 10/6/2022
Valley Both 2/21/2023
Yellowstone Both 1/31/2022

* Adult-use sales prohibited in those counties
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Table 8.10 below includes the local-option cannabis tax distributions to each county, as well as the county
share and municipalities share of that distribution. The Department of Revenue retains 5% of the collections for
administrative purpose and distributes 50% back to the counties and 45% to the municipalities in each county

based on population.

Table 8.10 Local Option Collections and Distributions by County

FY 2023 FY 2024
Total from | County Munici- Total from | County Munici-

County DOR Share palities DOR Share palities

Beaverhead $1,436 $756 $680 $13,877 $7,304 $6,573
Big Horn $47,548 $25,025 $22,523 $116,617 $61,377 $55,240
Blaine $0 $0 $0 $11,566 $6,087 $5,479
Carbon $65,238 $34,336 $30,902 $140,665 $74,034 $66,631
Cascade $59,611 $31,374 $28,237 $509,574 $268,197 $241,377
Dawson $167,397 $88,104 $79,293 $176,048 $92,657 $83,391
Deer Lodge $16,501 $8,685 $7,816 $33,328 $17,541 $15,787
Flathead $52,565 $27,666 $24,899 $660,697 $347,735 $312,962
Gallatin $87,821 $46,222 $41,599| $1,161,916 $611,535 $550,381
Granite $0 $0 $0 $606 $319 $287
Hill $33,244 $17,497 $15,747 $168,737 $88,809 $79,928
Lake $70,091 $36,890 $33,201 $150,811 $79,374 $71,437
Lewis & Clark $288,148 $151,657 $136,491 $592,978 $312,094 $280,884
Lincoln $0 $0 $0 $14,581 $7,674 $6,907
Madison $3,012 $1,585 $1,427 $49,766 $26,193 $23,573
Mineral $1,727 $909 $818 $17,997 $9,472 $8,525
Missoula $816,285 $429,624 $386,661 $846,398 $445,473 $400,925
Park $165,228 $86,962 $78,266 $170,527 $89,751 $80,776
Powell $0 $0 $0 $1,109 $584 $525
Ravali $73,522 $38,696 $34,826 $195,799 $103,052 $92,747
Richland $67,686 $35,624 $32,062 $283,350 $149,132 $134,218
Roosevelt $7,769 $4,089 $3,680 $81,942 $43,127 $38,815
Rosebud $47,398 $24,946 $22,452 $87,803 $46,212 $41,591
Sanders $1,457 $767 $690 $41,888 $22,046 $19,842
Sheridan $4,318 $2,273 $2,045 $23,078 $12,146 $10,932
Silver Bow $172,552 $90,817 $81,735 $364,814 $192,007 $172,807
Valley $5,687 $2,993 $2,694 $52,256 $27,503 $24,753
Yellowstone $1,421,672 $748,248 $673,424 | $1,445,470 $760,774 $684,696
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