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ooy Cannabis Control Division
Adult-Use Marijuana

Green Counties versus Red Counties

The sale of adult-use marijuana & marijuana products commenced on January 1, 2022. There are 56
counties within the state of Montana. In counties where the majority of voters supported Initiative 190 in
November 2020, adult sales is allowed. These counties are referred to as green counties.

In counties where the majority of voters opposed Initiative 190, adult sales are prohibited. These counties
are referred to as red counties; only medical marijuana sales are permitted within their boundaries. To
view the map, click here.

Tax Rate THC Limits on Marijuana &

Marijuana Products-Adult Consumers
State taxes that are imposed upon

marijuana sales are determined by the There are THC limits for adult consumers.
Montana Legislature. This tax is applied at These limits are determined by the Montana
the retail-level only. Legislature & can be found in statute.

_ * Total potential psychoactive THC for marijuana
flower may not exceed 35%.
* Edible marijuana products may contain up to

10mg of THC per serving, and up to 100 mg THC
in an entire package.

Local option tax rates are set by each
Montana county, up to a maximum of

3%, on adult use sales, medical sales, or * A marijuana product sold as a capsule, transdermal
both. patch, or suppository, may not contain more than
100 mg THC, and no more than 800 mg THC per
Allowable Amounts ) 9P
package.
o _ * Topical products may contain no more than 6%
Administrative Rule of Montana THC, and no more than 800 mg THC per package.
42.39.118(2) establishes allowable * For any other marijuana product, including
possession amounts of marijuana and concentrates and extracts, no more than 800 mg
marijuana products: THC per package.
1 ounce of marijuana flower. Adult-Use Reminders
* 800 milligrams of THC in marijuana e Individuals must be 21 years of age and older.

products, including edibles.
e Individuals must present a qualifying form of
» 8 grams/8 milliliters of marijuana identification to purchase marijuana &
concentrate. marijuana prOdUCtS.

e Consuming marijuana in a
public place is prohibited by law.

CCD Contact Info:

(406) 444-0596



https://mtrevenue.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/CCD-Local-Option-Map.png
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E39%2E118
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0120/part_0020/section_0240/0160-0120-0020-0240.html
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