
 

 

 

 

 30-Day Rolling Period for Cardholders  

Medical marijuana cardholders can purchase up to 5 ounces of usable marijuana (8 ounces with an 

approved physician’s petition) in a rolling 30-day period. The rolling 30-day period tracks purchases that 

are similar to normal purchasing habits. This process allows for purchases to be added and removed over 

the course of 30 days, and not based on each calendar month. 

 
 

 

Tax Rate 

State taxes that are imposed upon 

marijuana sales are determined by the 

Montana Legislature. This tax is applied at 

the retail-level only. 

 

 

 

Local option tax rates are set by each 

Montana county, up to a maximum of 

3%, on adult use sales, medical sales, or 

both.  

Allowable Amounts 

Administrative Rule of Montana 

42.39.118(2) establishes allowable  

amounts of marijuana  

and marijuana products: 

 

• 1 ounce of marijuana flower. 

 

• 800 milligrams of THC in marijuana 

products, including edibles. 

 

• 8 grams/8 milliliters of marijuana 

concentrate. 

 
 

Medical Delivery & Designated 

Purchaser(s) 

 

 

Medical cardholders are eligible to have their 

marijuana delivered to them. They are also 

permitted to have their marijuana delivered to  

them via curbside from the dispensary.  

 

 

 

A cardholder may designate up to  

two (2) other individuals to  

acquire, and deliver their  

medical marijuana to them.   

 

Designated purchasers must be  

21 years of age or older. 

  Qualifying for a Medical Card 

• Individuals must be a Montana resident. 

 

• Individuals must have a qualifying 

medical condition. 

 

• For more information on applying 

for a medical card, please visit 

this link.  

 
 

   Cannabis Control Division  
                Montana Medical Marijuana Cardholders 

 

02/2024 CCD Contact Info: 

(406) 444-0596 

DORCCD@MT.GOV 

Delivery 

Designated Purchaser(s) 

The state tax rate for medical 

marijuana is 4%. 

https://mtrevenue.gov/publications/cardholder-petition-for-exception-to-monthly-purchase-limits/
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E39%2E118
https://mtrevenue.gov/cannabis/cardholder-information/
mailto:DORCCD@MT.GOV

