

Special Mobile Equipment Reporting Form

Spec Mobile V1 12/2023

61-3-431, MCA

A person, firm, partnership, or corporation that owns, leases, or rents special mobile equipment, as defined in <u>61-1-101</u>, <u>MCA</u>, must annually submit this reporting form to the county treasurer with payment of a \$5.00 fee in order to receive a special mobile equipment permit decal for the current tax year.

The permit decal must be:

- purchased at the county treasurer's office prior to moving equipment on the highways; and
- displayed on each piece of special mobile equipment that moves on, over, or across Montana highways.

The decal expires on December 31 of each year.

Property Owner Information

Name	FEIN FEIN
Mailing Address	SSN SSN
Contact Information	If 50 percent of the business is owned by a parent company, you must provide the business name and FEIN of the parent company.
Name	Parent Company Information
Email	Name
Phone	FEIN TO THE TOTAL PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY OF

In-State Special Mobile Equipment Instructions – To obtain the permit decal, complete this reporting form and submit it to the county treasurer's office with the \$5.00 payment. **Note:** All information requested in the reporting table must be provided. A separate asset data spreadsheet may be attached to this form in lieu of filling out the reporting table, provided the spreadsheet includes all of the information requested.

Migratory Special Mobile Equipment Instructions – For migratory special mobile equipment brought into the state of Montana, the personal property taxes assessed for the equipment must be paid to the county treasurer **before** the \$5.00 permit decal may be issued.

Follow these steps:

- 1. Complete this form. **Note:** All information requested in the reporting table must be provided. A separate asset data spreadsheet may be attached to the form in lieu of filling out the reporting table, provided the spreadsheet includes all of the information requested.
- 2. Submit the completed form to the Department of Revenue field office servicing the county where the special equipment is first used. Contact information for the department's field offices can be found at mtrevenue.gov/contact/field-office-locations/.

 Department of Revenue field office staff will calculate the taxable value and tax amount due for each piece of special mobile equipment and send the information to the county treasurer's office.
- 3. Pay the personal property tax due and purchase the \$5.00 permit decal by visiting the county treasurer's office in the county where the equipment is first used.

Special Mobile Equipment Reporting Table – Provide the information requested below for each piece of special mobile equipment.

Note: If the equipment was brought into the state after January 1, enter Yes in the "Migratory" column, and provide the date the equipment entered the state.

Physical Location	Asset Number	Description (including options and attachments)	Year	Make	Model	Serial or	A	cquired Total Cost	Migratory Yes or No	Entry Date
Location		(including options and attachments)	MFD		or Size	VIN Number	Year	Total Cost	Yes or No	

i anirm, under penalty of law, that the information provided in this special mobile equipment reporting	j form is true, correct, and complete.
Preparer's Signature	Date
Print Preparer's Name	Phone
Email	