ALCOHOLIC

Pre-Stocking and Room Service Delivery BEVERAGE

CONTROL
DIVISION

MONTANA

Pre-stocking Alcoholic Beverages for Accommodation Units (i.e.
hotel rooms, cabins, etc.)

Beer, wine, and spirits may be delivered to pre-stock accommodation units by resort retail all-
beverage licenses located within the resort area.

Beer, wine, and spirits (depending on the license type) may be delivered to (such as room
service) or pre-stock in accommodation units by licensees operating within a hotel or similar
short-term lodging facility (i.e. cabins, hotel rooms, etc.) within the property.

The process to get approval before delivering alcohol:

e Fill out the accommodation unit delivery request form.

e Paya $100 application fee.

e Pay a processing fee.

¢ Send the form and fees to the department for approval.

e Resort licensees: Do not begin pre-stocking until the department approval has been
granted and the new license has been printed indicating approval to do so.

e Other licensees: Do not begin pre-stocking or delivering until the department approval
has been granted and the new license has been printed indicating approval to do so.

Requirements:

e Licensee must apply for and get approval from the department prior to delivering
alcoholic beverages to guests and pre-stocking guest rooms.

e Delivery may only occur by licensee or licensee’s employees who are 21 years of age or
older and server trained. You may NOT use 3rd party delivery services to deliver alcohol
(such as Uber Eats, Grubhub, Door Dash, etc.).

e Licensee may deliver to guests in accommodation units within the property.

e Licensee may pre-stock accommodation units within the property.

e Licensee must verify purchaser is 21 years of age or older and not intoxicated.

e If pre-stocking accommodation units, licensee must have adequate safeguards in place
to prevent underage service.

Questions? Contact a licensing specialist for your county.
All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules.

SECTIONS 16-4-105, 16-4-201, 16-3-311, 16-4-213, 16-4-420, MCA , ARM 42.12.301, 42.13.1102,
42.13.1103, and 42.13.1105,

10.2023 Please note the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or
made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify
the current validity of any Department of Revenue communication, please contact us.
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https://mtrevenue.gov/publications/pre-stocking-and-delivery-to-accommodation-units-endorsement-form-form-pre-stock/
https://mtrevenue.gov/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2023/09/Licensing-Specialists-Contact-Sheet.pdf
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0010/section_0050/0160-0040-0010-0050.html
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0020/section_0010/0160-0040-0020-0010.html
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0030/section_0110/0160-0040-0030-0110.html
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0020/section_0130/0160-0040-0020-0130.html
https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0040/section_0200/0160-0040-0040-0200.html
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E12%2E301
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=42.13.1102
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=42.13.1103
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=42.13.1105
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