eStop Business Licenses Online Service lets you apply for and renew up to eight state licenses all in one simple, convenient, and secure service.
eStop lets you maintain:
Montana Lottery Licenses
|License||Application Fee||Renewal Fee|
|Traditional Lottery License||$50||$0|
|Board of Horse Racing/Fantasy Games||$75||$75|
A nursery license lets you distribute, sell, or resell nursery stock.
A landscaping or lawn maintenance business needs a nursery license if it provides, plants, or installs new plants or turf and charges for the plants.
Businesses or individuals that sell or distribute nursery stock at more than one location only need one nursery license per tax identification number.
More information is available from the Montana Department of Agriculture.
|License Type||License Fees|
|New Business Application Fee||$25|
|Nursery||Under $5,000 Gross Annual Sales||$25|
|$5,001—$75,000 Gross Annual Sales||$135|
|$75,001—$150,000 Gross Annual Sales||$200|
|$150,001—$250,000 Gross Annual Sales||$300|
|Over $250,000 Gross Annual Sales||$400|
|Nursery licenses are subject to a $25 late fee for renewals after the due date.|
Retail Food Establishment Licenses
A retail food establishment license lets you sell ready-to-eat food and drinks.
License fees are based on the number of employees working at a time.
When applying for a new license or renewing an existing license, you will need approval from a registered sanitarian.
|Number of Employees||Fee|
|Two or Fewer Employees||$85|
|Three or More Employees||$115|
|Retail Food Licenses have a $25 per day late fee for payments made after the due date.|
Measuring Device Licenses (Meters)
A Measuring Device License lets you sell petroleum products.
License fees are based on the meter’s gallons per minute capacity.
More information is available from the Montana Department of Labor and Industry.
|Gallons Per Minute||Fee|
|LPG (Propane) Meters||$102|
|Measuring Device Licenses are subject to a 50% late fee if they are 60 days or more overdue.
Measuring devices may be removed from service for continued non-payment.
Weighing Device Licenses (Scales)
|Under 500 pounds||$20|
|Over 60,000 pounds||$280|
|Weighing device licenses are subject to a 50% late fee if they are 60 days or more overdue.
Weighting devices may be removed from service for continued non-payment.
Underground Storage Tank Licenses
You must pay an annual fee for owning and operating and underground storage tank.
License fees are based on tank capacity.
Learn more about underground storage tanks from the Montana Department of Environmental Quality.
|Tank Cpacity||Fee per Tank|
|Up to 1,110 gallons||$36|
|Over 1,110 gallons||$108|
eStop Board of Review
The Department of Revenue administers eStop, but it is made possible by the combined effort of the
- Department of Agriculture
- Department of Labor and Industry
- Department of Environmental Quality
- Department of Livestock
- Department of Justice
- Department of Public Health and Human Services
- The Montana Lottery.
The directors of these agencies and two representatives appointed by the legislature make up the eStop Licensing Board of Review. The board sets policy direction for the program. (30-16-302, MCA)