Clear Form
“ Property Tax Assistance Program Form PTAP
MONTANA Application for Tax Year 2024 V16/2023

DEPARTMENT OF

REVENUE
15-6-305. MCA, ARM 42.19.401, ARM 42.19.402 ASSESSMENT CODE:

Part I. General Information

e Apply by April 15.
e You must meet income and property ownership/occupancy requirements every year.

e The benefit only applies to the first $350,000 of value of your primary residence. For agricultural and timber
parcels, the only eligible land is the one-acre home site.

e Once you have applied for the program, we will notify you each year whether you qualify. You will be included in
the program’s annual income verification until you move from your residence.

Part ll. Required Information

Property Owner Name Spouse’s Name

Birth Date D Male D Female Birth Date D Male D Female
Social Security Number - - Social Security Number - -

Contact Phone Number Contact Phone Number

County

Applicant’s Mailing Address Applicant’s Primary Residence Physical Address

Did you file a Montana income tax return for Tax Year 20227 ..........c.oooeiiiiiiiiiiiiiieieeeee e D Yes D No
Provide your 2022 Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI), excluding capital and income losses.

If you are married, include your spouse’s income whether or not the spouse is an owner of the property ........ $

If you are new to Montana, provide a copy of your 2022 federal income tax return.

Is your only income from Social Security, veterans’ benefits and/or other nontaxable sources?................ |:| Yes |:| No
If yes, include a copy of your Social Security statement and/or other income documentation with this
completed application form.

If this application is for a mobile or manufactured home, do you own the land upon which your
aTo] TR TSR (o Tor=1 (=Y AR |:| Yes |:| No

Return your completed and signed application to your local Department of Revenue field office. Your application must be
postmarked or hand delivered by April 15. Go to MTRevenue.gov for the mailing addresses of our field offices, or call us at
(406) 444-6900 or Montana Relay at 711 for hearing impaired. (If you miss the deadline, apply as soon as possible to ensure
you are included in the program'’s verification process for the following tax year.)

Important! Your signature is required in Part IV.


https://MTRevenue.gov
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0060/part_0030/section_0050/0150-0060-0030-0050.html#:~:text=Or%20Limited%20Income-,15%2D6%2D305.,of%2015%2D6%2D302.
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E19%2E402
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E19%2E401

Part Ill. Qualifying Criteria

You must own or currently be under contract to purchase your home or mobile/manufactured home and live in the home
as your primary residence for at least seven months of the year.

For Tax Year 2024, the income guidelines are:

e Asingle applicant’s 2022 Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI), excluding capital and income losses, must be less
than $27,621.

e Head of household and married applicants’ 2022 FAGI must be less than $37,019.
e Spouses’ incomes are included regardless of whether they are owners of the property.

You only need to report your income one time. In future years, we will determine your eligibility through our annual
verification process.

Part IV. Affirmation and Signature(s)

Under penalty of law, I/we affirm that I/we are owners of the property on which we are applying for the property tax benefit,
that I/we occupied the property as my/our primary residence for at least seven months of a calendar year, and that the
information provided in this application form is true and correct.

X Property Owner Signature Date

X Property Owner’s Spouse Signature Date

X Signature of Person Completing this Form

(if other than applicant) Date
Printed Name Phone
Relationship to Applicant Email or Other Contact Information

Please let us know how you heard about the Property Tax Assistance Program (PTAP).

Questions? Call us at (406) 444-6900 or Montana Relay at 711 for the hearing impaired, or visit our website at MTRevenue.gov

2024 Income Guidelines for the Property Tax Assistance Program

. Married or .
Single Person Filing Head of Household Percent Reduction
$0 - $13,590 $0 - $18,310 80%
$13,591 — $18,580 $18,311 — $27,667 50%

$18,581 — $27,621 $27,668 — $37,019 30%


https://MTRevenue.gov
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