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Nonuse Request/Resume Operations Nonuse Req 
V2 8/2023

Note: A licensee who is unable to maintain a “going establishment” (as defined in ARM 42.13.111), must 
submit a written request for the department’s approval to close the establishment for a period longer than 
90 days pursuant to ARM 42.13.108.

1. Name of Licensee(s)

2. Business Name

3. Account ID

4. License Number

5. Detailed Reason for Nonuse Request

Date when license stopped operating as a going establishment
(Date)

Resume Operations
(Date)

Verify Address of licensed premises

Was an alteration performed during nonuse? Yes No

Were there any changes made to your property ownership or lease during nonuse? Yes No

Declaration and Affidavit
I declare under penalty of false swearing that I am the applicant or the duly authorized representative of the 
entity making this application, and that the responses provided, including any accompanying information, 
are true, correct and complete.

Signature Date

Printed Name Title

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E111
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E108


Nonuse Request/Resume Operations 
Instructions

These instructions will help you prepare your request. If you have questions about the nonuse request, 
please call us at (406) 444-6900, or Montana Relay at 711 for hearing impaired.

How to File Your Request
E-file your nonuse request using your 
TransAction Portal (TAP) at TAP.DOR.MT.gov. 
You will need your Account ID, account type 
(e.g., on-premises) and ZIP code. Once you are 
registered, you will be able to electronically file and 
view your past requests.

If you choose not to file electronically, complete 
the nonuse form using blue or black ink. Print 
your Account ID and License Number in the 
blocks provided.

Mail your form to:
Montana Department of Revenue
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division
PO Box 1712
Helena, MT 59604-1712.

Line Instructions
Line 1–Provide your name as the entity or individual 

that owns the license.

Line 2–Provide your business name for the license.

Line 3–Provide your Account ID.

Line 4–Provide your license number.

Line 5–Input the date you stopped operating as 
a going establishment. If you would like your 
license removed from nonuse status, input the 
date you will resume operations.

Please be sure to sign and date your request if 
you are planning to mail it.

The department may grant nonuse status not to 
exceed a one year period.

Relevant Law and Rules
16-3-310, MCA

ARM 42.13.107, ARM 42.13.108, and ARM 42.13.112

https://tap.dor.mt.gov
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0030/part_0030/section_0100/0160-0030-0030-0100.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E107
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E108
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E13%2E112
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